INSURANCE TALK, ok let start
jhan_ong
Feb 2 2007, 09:32 AM
QUOTE(mucklampir @ Feb 1 2007, 05:34 PM) just want to know ur side story. do u will help all ur client when the commit to hospital? how if ur client far from u let say from other state? normally i ill serve my customer by my own lah or ask for help from other agents located in that particular state if i really cannot get there immediately. coz we are working in a super group and helping each other loh. Added on February 5, 2007, 1:05 amQUOTE(mucklampir @ Feb 1 2007, 05:34 PM) just want to know ur side story. do u will help all ur client when the commit to hospital? how if ur client far from u let say from other state? have your agent contact you ? what is the status of your policy? This post has been edited by jhan_ong: Feb 5 2007, 01:05 AM
mucklampir
Feb 5 2007, 12:54 PM
QUOTE(jhan_ong @ Feb 2 2007, 09:32 AM) normally i ill serve my customer by my own lah or ask for help from other agents located in that particular state if i really cannot get there immediately. coz we are working in a super group and helping each other loh. Added on February 5, 2007, 1:05 amhave your agent contact you ? what is the status of your policy? the status is i'm still in the dark and she never contact me i realise there r couple of insurance company that is onli agent to others insurance company. i mean insurance (medical card) from ambank, maa and, allianz, rhb and so on actually are under mediexpress. so is there any difference when we compare these insurance with insurance company that are on their own let say ing, aia and others? from my comparison, the benefit for insurance under mediexpress is higher but how about convenience? is it more complicated since it involve two party? and when we make a claim, actually we do it through the company we paid or directly to the mediexpress? thanks.. Added on February 5, 2007, 5:53 pmohhh one more thing.. if i want to terminate the policy within the waiting period, how would they refund my money? bank in directly to my bank account or give a check through my agent? This post has been edited by mucklampir: Feb 5 2007, 05:53 PM
jhan_ong
Feb 6 2007, 06:12 PM
QUOTE(mucklampir @ Feb 5 2007, 12:54 PM) the status is i'm still in the dark and she never contact me i realise there r couple of insurance company that is onli agent to others insurance company. i mean insurance (medical card) from ambank, maa and, allianz, rhb and so on actually are under mediexpress. so is there any difference when we compare these insurance with insurance company that are on their own let say ing, aia and others? from my comparison, the benefit for insurance under mediexpress is higher but how about convenience? is it more complicated since it involve two party? and when we make a claim, actually we do it through the company we paid or directly to the mediexpress? thanks.. Added on February 5, 2007, 5:53 pmohhh one more thing.. if i want to terminate the policy within the waiting period, how would they refund my money? bank in directly to my bank account or give a check through my agent? you didnt contact your insurance agent ? hm ... you still can refund your premium within 30 days after your policy being in force. your money might be refunded through your banl account if you have one or cheque. are you planning to terminate this policy ? have you bought another new policy for backup ?
mucklampir
Feb 7 2007, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(jhan_ong @ Feb 6 2007, 06:12 PM) you didnt contact your insurance agent ? hm ... you still can refund your premium within 30 days after your policy being in force. your money might be refunded through your banl account if you have one or cheque. are you planning to terminate this policy ? have you bought another new policy for backup ? terminate? yeah sort of.. well seems dis topic becomes ours. hope others forumer don mind  neway thanks for spend ur time for me
jhan_ong
Feb 7 2007, 02:36 PM
QUOTE(mucklampir @ Feb 7 2007, 12:12 PM) terminate? yeah sort of.. well seems dis topic becomes ours. hope others forumer don mind  neway thanks for spend ur time for me   you are welcomed lah, all the question you asked would be a good knowledge to my lah. i think other forumer should thank us lah coz we are the one who keep ths topic running which insurance company you are plannig to buy your new policy ? if you face any pblm, let me know Happy Chinese New Year
semang
Feb 19 2007, 08:06 PM

hello....just wanna ask u guys outthere.... does anybody knows about takaful? care to give any advice on this? which is better..takaful or conventional insurance? thanx in advance for your replies..
nicholas84
Feb 26 2007, 03:01 PM
QUOTE(semang @ Feb 19 2007, 08:06 PM) hello....just wanna ask u guys outthere.... does anybody knows about takaful? care to give any advice on this? which is better..takaful or conventional insurance? thanx in advance for your replies..  in what aspect would you like to know more in detail? care to elaborate more detail so we know how to explain?
alqa
Feb 26 2007, 05:29 PM
QUOTE(mucklampir @ Feb 5 2007, 12:54 PM) the status is i'm still in the dark and she never contact me i realise there r couple of insurance company that is onli agent to others insurance company. i mean insurance (medical card) from ambank, maa and, allianz, rhb and so on actually are under mediexpress. so is there any difference when we compare these insurance with insurance company that are on their own let say ing, aia and others? from my comparison, the benefit for insurance under mediexpress is higher but how about convenience? is it more complicated since it involve two party? and when we make a claim, actually we do it through the company we paid or directly to the mediexpress? thanks.. actually Mediexpress is not an insurer... they are merely a Managed Care Organisation (MCO in insurance term). they have the network that manages the medical card. the actual paymaster to whom you pay your premium and from whom claims are paid out are the respective insurance companies or called underwriters. many insurers like rhb, amassurance, maa and allianz relies on MCOs to manage their clients card system, to minimize cost. specialised companies like ING (previously Aetna), Prudential and AIA on the other hands are each a very large and specialised group with their own in house department that perform the MCO function. in fact Aetna used to offer their Genesis (Aetna's subsidiary MCO) cards to be used by other insurance companies, but have since stopped just before they become ING.
humbble
Aug 28 2008, 09:08 PM

QUOTE(mucklampir @ Jan 28 2007, 10:25 AM) why we need a gud agents when buying insurans? doesn't our relationship just goes after we receive the medical card. anything happen we just contact the centre and no need to call through the agent. am i correct? or should keep in touch with the agent Of course you need a good agent to service you. In the event if there are any claims,change of address,change of payment mode or change of nominee etc...you need him/her to come and let you sign the request for change form. If you bought PA when you worked as a Supervisor,and climb though the career ladder over the years to be a Manager, you are in different occupation class and you deserve a cheaper premium. If your relationship with your agent is come and go, the timbang is not balance enough.Hope my opinion makes sense to you. Humbble
drezzay
Aug 31 2008, 01:41 AM
QUOTE(semang @ Feb 19 2007, 08:06 PM) hello....just wanna ask u guys outthere.... does anybody knows about takaful? care to give any advice on this? which is better..takaful or conventional insurance? thanx in advance for your replies..  bro,if u would like to know bout takaful i can assist u...... care to arrange for a meeting? a face to face meeting will make u understand better the difference between conventional n takaful.....
humbble
Sep 1 2008, 01:18 AM

QUOTE(drezzay @ Aug 31 2008, 01:41 AM) bro,if u would like to know bout takaful i can assist u...... care to arrange for a meeting? a face to face meeting will make u understand better the difference between conventional n takaful..... I personally attended a session of Etiqa BOP.It seems the trend is good for Islamic banking.Easier to be accepted by the Public because of the Maybank logo.The only thing is the returns are not guaranteed.(These were usually not emphasized during sales talk).The speaker is an NLP certified speaker and he condemned about insurance. Which I find it is a bit of contradiction as Etiqa's biggest partners are Insurance companies. He said he earn a lot of money but he lapsed all his policies. Somehow not very convincing for me enough to be part of their team. I do know of colleagues in my Insurance company joining Etiqa but it seems Etiqa agents could be seen anywhere,even setting counters outside Maybank branches where customers go in and out depositing/withdrawing cash.Good business and Etiqa Sales are booming according to my bro-in-law who is their Lean consultant. humbble
untouchable
Jan 10 2009, 11:18 PM
hi i dunno if im at the right sub forum
pls do move if im wrong
lets say i wanna take
life insurance 36 critical illness insurance personal accident health and medical insurance
how much is the annual premium???
dun have to be underwriter specific, jus average can aredi
or u can share wat insurance u have and how much you are paying and ammount insured
i would like to know the average ammount, cant seem to find this in other threads,it would be good to have a number of ppl contribute to this section to have a general overview
mtsen
Jan 12 2009, 09:52 AM
MYR 1,228 can get MYR 100,000 on life, 36ill and pa, MYR 25,000 on medical. full details at http://safepay.com.my/ins101.asp
shiewwai85
Jan 12 2009, 05:16 PM

actually the basic of insurance is depend on you. you can fix an amount of installment every month or annualy then the agent will do a quote base on your commitment figure. is actually a mix and max game for insurance. is depend on what you need and what you want. if you want protection, pay more on medical and life, if saving, pay more on saving. as long as does not exceed you expected commitment per month. if you really want to know more detail, you can call me at 017-3282011 to fax u the quotation and explain to you more detail. coz it is difficult to explain through here.
jeff_v2
Jan 12 2009, 09:24 PM
life insurance 100k 36 critical illness insurance 50k personal accident 50k
monthly premium around 100++
cherroy
Mar 8 2009, 06:17 PM
Lately, moderating team found that there are lot of topic on insurance related issue which cross linked one to another which resulted redundancy and duplicating answer and discussion in between, so in order to concentrate general issue related to insurance, in the future, this thread will be served as insurnace general talk issue for any discussion for insurance related manner mainly because it holds most of discussion and information.
Specific topic still being allowed which talk about special and specific condition. But forumers can do a favour by posting general issue in this thread which not only ease for reading, posting and discussion, it also will be benefitted to all as a platform of source of information regarding insurance.
Currently, most previous insurance topics are being closed, so that traffic of discussion being diverted to this topic, but any TS or forumers can PM moderator if really needing those thread to be re-opened or merged into this thread or any other reason.
Your cooperation is appreciated.
This post has been edited by cherroy: Mar 8 2009, 06:26 PM
Colaboy
Mar 8 2009, 08:23 PM
QUOTE(cherroy @ Mar 8 2009, 06:17 PM) Lately, moderating team found that there are lot of topic on insurance related issue which cross linked one to another which resulted redundancy and duplicating answer and discussion in between, so in order to concentrate general issue related to insurance, in the future, this thread will be served as insurnace general talk issue for any discussion for insurance related manner mainly because it holds most of discussion and information. Specific topic still being allowed which talk about special and specific condition. But forumers can do a favour by posting general issue in this thread which not only ease for reading, posting and discussion, it also will be benefitted to all as a platform of source of information regarding insurance. Currently, most previous insurance topics are being closed, so that traffic of discussion being diverted to this topic, but any TS or forumers can PM moderator if really needing those thread to be re-opened or merged into this thread or any other reason. Your cooperation is appreciated. Thanks. yea. . . good job
dreamer101
Mar 8 2009, 10:58 PM
All,
Let me REPEAT what I told many people before:
1) Insurance is NOT savings.
2) Insurance is NOT a substitute for emergency fund. It does not cover ALL financial emergencies.
3) If you do not have 3 to 6 months of expense as emergency fund, you are spending too much money.
4) If you are not saving 10% to 15% of your gross income, you CANNOT afford your current level of expense / life style. Aka, you are spending TOO MUCH money.
So, if after paying for insurance, you NO LONGER save 10% to 15% of your gross income, you CANNOT afford the insurance.
We have a lot of YOUNG and NAIVE people that blah blah blah: we will NEVER lose our jobs for a long time. We could always find a new job and so on. Then, they find out how wrong they are during a recession. And, this is a VERY BIG and BAD recession heading our way NOW.
A) They find out that insurance does not help them to pay for food when they have NO INCOME.
B) They find out that they have to TERMINATE insurance because they have NO EMERGENCY FUND to pay for insurance.
Insurance agent's main job is to SELL INSURANCE. Some of them are good enough to check whether you can afford and should buy the insurance to begin with. But, they ONLY make money when you buy insurance. So, buyer beware.
Insurance is ONE of the largest purchase in a person's life. You EARN your money in the hard way. So, spend it WISELY.
Dreamer
This post has been edited by dreamer101: Mar 8 2009, 10:59 PM
wkf
Mar 9 2009, 01:51 AM
thanks dreamer yr advise.... the insurance co are fallen now because of they invested in those risky investment. their main source of income should be premium charged, but they are in trouble now because of the big loss on the investment they took. so aia may be sold out if its parent co got better offer from any interested co. what do u think?
dreamer101
Mar 9 2009, 03:43 AM
QUOTE(wkf @ Mar 9 2009, 01:51 AM) thanks dreamer yr advise.... the insurance co are fallen now because of they invested in those risky investment. their main source of income should be premium charged, but they are in trouble now because of the big loss on the investment they took. so aia may be sold out if its parent co got better offer from any interested co. what do u think? wkf, I BELIEVE normal insurance are quite safe since they are HIGHLY regulated in Malaysia. But, many people will be hit on Investment Linked Policy. Dreamer