QUOTE(rednails @ Mar 11 2009, 09:49 PM)
I've read someone asking this before but can't find it now...anyway, just would like to ask, which is more important:- the agent OR the insurance company?
I'm asking this because I prefer GE as it has been around for more than 100 yrs. However, the agent was so so only coz he didn't really tell me wat the pros and cons of the plans that he proposed to me. I am the one who had to ask him after I found out from other agents. Example (This, I found out from an AIA agent):- for ILP, the amount that I pay now may not be enough when I'm old and I may have to fork out more if my savings is not enough to cover my premium. This GE agent just tell me that I have the choice to decide when I wanna stop paying. If I stop paying, then the money will be able to cover for my premium. Although wat he said is true, I just feel the info that he gave is not ample and have to wait for me to ask...I know that as a customer I have the right to ask but as I'm new in insurance, sometimes, I don't know wat to ask.
On the other hand, this AIA agent explained to me the pros and cons coz he don't want me to have the shock of my life when I reach the age of 55 and find out that I still have to go on paying for my insurance and maybe at a higher cost. He really tried to understand my needs and tried to match it as close as possible. The problem is that, I'm still abit worried about the AIA and AIG issue thingy altho I've been told by the agent that there's nothing to worry about as AIA is a separate company from AIG.
Anyone from a neutral party who can help me out? I need to make up my mind by this week from who I should buy the insurance from
Thank you very much
Actually in Malaysia, AIA is not affected as all insurance companies in M'sia are regulated by Bank Negara Msia. So dun worry at all.I'm asking this because I prefer GE as it has been around for more than 100 yrs. However, the agent was so so only coz he didn't really tell me wat the pros and cons of the plans that he proposed to me. I am the one who had to ask him after I found out from other agents. Example (This, I found out from an AIA agent):- for ILP, the amount that I pay now may not be enough when I'm old and I may have to fork out more if my savings is not enough to cover my premium. This GE agent just tell me that I have the choice to decide when I wanna stop paying. If I stop paying, then the money will be able to cover for my premium. Although wat he said is true, I just feel the info that he gave is not ample and have to wait for me to ask...I know that as a customer I have the right to ask but as I'm new in insurance, sometimes, I don't know wat to ask.
On the other hand, this AIA agent explained to me the pros and cons coz he don't want me to have the shock of my life when I reach the age of 55 and find out that I still have to go on paying for my insurance and maybe at a higher cost. He really tried to understand my needs and tried to match it as close as possible. The problem is that, I'm still abit worried about the AIA and AIG issue thingy altho I've been told by the agent that there's nothing to worry about as AIA is a separate company from AIG.
Anyone from a neutral party who can help me out? I need to make up my mind by this week from who I should buy the insurance from
Thank you very much
So now it comes back to what you want actually.In ILP plans, the cash values will be eaten up when you the agents attach a lot of riders in it and most importantly the market sentiment la.
So now the decision for you is - RM 100K for life/TPD/C.I - is this what u want or the agent propose to you? N how did the proposal was done - you giving them the budget or they sit down n find your needs?
Frankly speaking, for medical card coverage, pls go for at least a RM200/day room and board as many of the hospitals are charging around RM 135 to RM 160 for a 2 bedded room (2009). What is the rate in 5 yrs? You do the calculation ok?
The other very important issue in the medical card where it shall cover outpaitent cancer and kidney dialysis treatment in full (as charged). As far as i'm concern, AIA calims for the above outpatient cancer and kidney dialysis is very limited. GE plans are as charged! So in my personal point of view, given RM 200 for AIA and GE, I go for GE.
Anyway i'm attached to ALLIANZ. Here's an ILP quote for RM200/mth.
Assuming female non smoker 30yrs old.
Life/TPD = RM100K
C.Illness = RM100K (critical illness and life are separate entities - meaning total claimable is RM200K)
Medical Card:
Room and Board RM300/day
Annual limit RM100K
Lifetime limit RM1M (10x)
Out-patient cancer treatment and kidney dialysis (as charged)
No co-insurance applicable
90 panel hospitals in whole M'sia
Do some shopping around and if you need my assistance, do pm or email chew_ronnie@hotmail.com
Cheers,
Ronnie
Mar 11 2009, 11:33 PM

0.0189sec