207 Pages « < 193 194 195 196 197 > » Bottom

Choosing The Right PSU, Discussions about power supply units.

Wii_hunter
post Jul 1 2011, 07:06 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jul 1 2011, 07:04 PM)
You can turn your extension upside down and see what is the max input current it can handle. Then with the information gathered, see how much (A) does the input current of your power supply and the rest of the items have. For example, at 230V my Aurum Gold 700 has an input current ampere (A) of 5A or below, and assuming that the extension can only handle a max load of 13A, you have 8A to support the rest of the devices.
Ouh I get, thanks a lot for the advice.
5p3ak
post Jul 1 2011, 07:10 PM

CPE, FIG Certified Gymnastics Coach
5,648 posts

QUOTE(TechnoG @ Jul 1 2011, 07:01 PM)
I think this will cost a bomb laugh.gif
But it will cut electric bills... biggrin.gif
cardin
post Jul 3 2011, 01:15 PM

..::unobtrusive::..
1,256 posts

anyone using cooler master silent pro M500? im looking for new PSU...my budget is around RM200-300...or any other suggestion for me? prefer silent operation, min 450W and must have 80plus certified...
carnine9
post Jul 3 2011, 02:00 PM

142 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Jun 2 2011, 07:32 PM)
Are you really sure that PSU has 430W true power?  blink.gif   Take a photo and let me have a look, just to be sure.
Don't skimp on PSU.  Get a reliable one like the Gigabyte PoweRock 390W for RM69 or Gigabyte N400A PSU for RM100.
Cheap PSUs usually don't have protection features like Over Current Protection (OCP) and Over Voltage Protection (OVP).
What AMD card are you talking about?
i dont know i only bought RM50 at Perlis shop ...huhu this one : http://techkiehouse.com/main/index.php?mai...products_id=245

My spec biasa2 sahaja. AMD Athlon XP 2000 ( will upgrade soon ) huhu but im use two HDD, SC Creative Live 24 bit, GC Ati 256mb, Casing CM , RAM DDR1 2gb, Cooler Fan CM 12cm, Subwoofer Sonic Gear A5, LCD 19 Inci View Sonic, using Os Ubuntu n Windows xp...sorry i'm noob about pc..but i will learn..its ok, i already bought Gigabyte 550w Sleeve Cable (black) for my system (Old PC) RM195 at Perlis.

Gigabyte 550w Sleeve Cable it is good psu ? http://www.microdirect.co.uk/Home/Product/...SATA-active-PFC

thanks..

This post has been edited by carnine9: Jul 3 2011, 02:01 PM
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 3 2011, 02:00 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(cardin @ Jul 3 2011, 01:15 PM)
anyone using cooler master silent pro M500? im looking for new PSU...my budget is around RM200-300...or any other suggestion for me? prefer silent operation, min 450W and must have 80plus certified...
You can consider the Silverstone Strider Essential 500W for RM199. An alternative would be the Corsair Gaming Series 600W power supply for RM299. Your system's power consumption is estimated to be around 250W or so, so with a 500W power supply you should have it running at close to its best efficiency since it's being half loaded. Most power supplies have the best efficiency at half load. smile.gif You can go with the Corsair Gaming Series 600W power supply if you intend to use the system for a long time and plan to upgrade in the future.

This post has been edited by TDUEnthusiast: Jul 3 2011, 02:01 PM
cardin
post Jul 3 2011, 07:34 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jul 3 2011, 02:00 PM)
You can consider the Silverstone Strider Essential 500W for RM199. An alternative would be the Corsair Gaming Series 600W power supply for RM299. Your system's power consumption is estimated to be around 250W or so, so with a 500W power supply you should have it running at close to its best efficiency since it's being half loaded. Most power supplies have the best efficiency at half load. smile.gif You can go with the Corsair Gaming Series 600W power supply if you intend to use the system for a long time and plan to upgrade in the future.
thanks for your suggestion i think i'll go for silversone strider essential 500W...it will give me more value for money i guess...smile.gif TDUEnthusiast, mind to share where did you quote the price for silverstone strider essential 500W at RM199? i've checked out most of LY Plaza pricelist is at RM230++... sad.gif
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 3 2011, 07:57 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(cardin @ Jul 3 2011, 07:34 PM)
thanks for your suggestion i think i'll go for silversone strider essential 500W...it will give me more value for money i guess...smile.gif TDUEnthusiast, mind to share where did you quote the price for silverstone strider essential 500W at RM199? i've checked out most of LY Plaza pricelist is at RM230++... sad.gif
hmm.gif. It looks like the price has increased for that power supply.

Anyway, you can get it for RM219 from Viewnet. smile.gif
cardin
post Jul 3 2011, 08:23 PM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jul 3 2011, 07:57 PM)
hmm.gif. It looks like the price has increased for that power supply.

Anyway, you can get it for RM219 from Viewnet. smile.gif
thanks.. smile.gif anyway i like your review on "cpu coolers reviewed" i think im going to get the hyper 212+ soon...(sorry mod im oot here... doh.gif )

This post has been edited by cardin: Jul 3 2011, 08:23 PM
kuekwee
post Jul 4 2011, 06:13 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jul 3 2011, 02:00 PM)
About the half load stuff, say i need power about 500w so i need to get 1000w psu to be full efficient? How about electric bill, i heard some guy using 1000w psu monthly bill jump alot
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 4 2011, 06:23 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jul 4 2011, 06:13 PM)
About the half load stuff, say i need power about 500w so i need to get 1000w psu to be full efficient? How about electric bill, i heard some guy using 1000w psu monthly bill jump alot
It's just slightly better, but if you want it to be the best then that's one of the options you can turn to.

And electrical bill wise, it should lower your electrical bill since a power supply with a higher efficiency wastes less power compared to one with a lower efficiency. Bear in mind that although you have a 1000W power supply, if 500W is all your system requires that that is what it will use. The power supply does not supply 1000W all of the time unless you are using that amount.
kuekwee
post Jul 4 2011, 06:58 PM

Trading for a living
877 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jul 4 2011, 06:23 PM)
It's just slightly better, but if you want it to be the best then that's one of the options you can turn to.

And electrical bill wise, it should lower your electrical bill since a power supply with a higher efficiency wastes less power compared to one with a lower efficiency. Bear in mind that although you have a 1000W power supply, if 500W is all your system requires that that is what it will use. The power supply does not supply 1000W all of the time unless you are using that amount.
thanks for the reply now i have understand more. After I read the forum i notice one more thing is the efficiency, for example strider gold and strider silver. Gold give more efficiency, is this important issue? This is the first time i'm trying to build a pc myself so i would like to understand more.
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 4 2011, 10:19 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jul 4 2011, 06:58 PM)
thanks for the reply now i have understand more. After I read the forum i notice one more thing is the efficiency, for example strider gold and strider silver. Gold give more efficiency, is this important issue? This is the first time i'm trying to build a pc myself so i would like to understand more.
It actually depends on the users.

If you want a power supply that is silent, and that can help you save a bit of money on your monthly electrical bill, then you should definitely go for power supplies which have a high efficiency e.g those with a Gold certification. There is also a Platinum Efficiency certification but those aren't very common, and will cost you a lot of money.

Otherwise if you're fine with noise and just want a power supply to supply the required amount of power for the system, then getting a power supply with an 80 Plus or 80 Plus Bronze ( 80% efficiency and 80~83% efficiency respectively ) will do fine. An example would be the Seasonic Silence Pro 750W power supply. The higher the efficiency of a power supply, the less power is wasted, that causes less heat to be generated, which ultimately negates the need for the power supply fan to spin at high speeds to cool the power supply down.

I'm currently using the FSP Aurum Gold 700W which is a Gold certified power supply, and it is a very silent power supply and it also runs cool smile.gif.
cardin
post Jul 5 2011, 09:13 AM

1,256 posts

guys im in dilemma now..haha

did some searching and found out that actually there are so many choices psu for me...help me to re-choose (re-budgeting) the best one that suit my needs:-

80+ certified
silent operation
RM300 and below
500W

1. sea sonic 500W silence pro 80

--> SS-500E
--> RM199
--> 80+ bronze
--> 8cm fan (is it better than 12cm fan? noise, temperature control, etc)

2. silverstone strider essential 500W

--> SST-ST50F-ES
--> RM219
--> 80+
--> 12cm fan

3. coarsair 500W builder series

--> CMPSU-500CXV
--> RM219
--> 80+
--> 12cm fan

4. gigabyte power rock 500W

--> GE-N500A-C
--> RM179
--> 80+
--> 12cm fan

5. acbel ipower 500W

--> not sure what model
--> RM229(cycom LY plaza)
--> 80+ (85% efficiency?)
--> ?cm fan

sea sonic, gigabyte and acbel seems among the best value for money but how about the quality? any comment?

how about trusted brand?
TDUEnthusiast
post Jul 5 2011, 03:04 PM

Critical thinking
10,015 posts

QUOTE(cardin @ Jul 5 2011, 09:13 AM)

how about trusted brand?
Seasonic is one of the best power supply manufacturer in the industry. Their power supplies are widely used and re-badged by other brands e.g Corsair and PC Power & Cooling to be sold as their own. smile.gif

Gigabyte's also fine but their power supply list hasn't been updated for quite some time, and most of the shops are still holding old stocks, so you're better off going with other brands e.g Seasonic. As for AcBEL, their lower-end power supplies isn't exactly commendable while their high-end power supplies are pretty good, albeit not the best.

From the power supply list that you have gotten, your priority would be to get either a Seasonic 500W / Corsair 500W or a Silverstone 500W power supply, while the other two PSUs should be left as an alternative option. As for your question on the cooling fan, a 120MM fan is definitely better than an 80MM fan as the former does not have to spin as fast as the latter to generate the same amount of air, therefore reducing noise smile.gif. But if the smaller fan has a good design then it's also possible that it will be better than a 120MM fan of poor quality.
cardin
post Jul 6 2011, 03:08 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(TDUEnthusiast @ Jul 5 2011, 03:04 PM)
Seasonic is one of the best power supply manufacturer in the industry. Their power supplies are widely used and re-badged by other brands e.g Corsair and PC Power & Cooling to be sold as their own. smile.gif

Gigabyte's also fine but their power supply list hasn't been updated for quite some time, and most of the shops are still holding old stocks, so you're better off going with other brands e.g Seasonic. As for AcBEL, their lower-end power supplies isn't exactly commendable while their high-end power supplies are pretty good, albeit not the best.

From the power supply list that you have gotten, your priority would be to get either a Seasonic 500W / Corsair 500W or a Silverstone 500W power supply, while the other two PSUs should be left as an alternative option. As for your question on the cooling fan, a 120MM fan is definitely better than an 80MM fan as the former does not have to spin as fast as the latter to generate the same amount of air, therefore reducing noise smile.gif. But if the smaller fan has a good design then it's also possible that it will be better than a 120MM fan of poor quality.
hurm... hmm.gif looking at my power logic now with 80mm fan (just like an aircraft jet engine at full throttle cool.gif ) i think it would be better to play safe by choosing either the silverstone essential 500W or corsair 500W builder series...and for that i've made a comparison between the efficiency of both psu (referring to this site --> Ecos plug load solutions ) the silverstone seems to be more efficient than corsair...so final conclusion i'll stick with the first choice which is the silverstone essential 500W...thanks a lot... smile.gif really appreciate your help notworthy.gif
fared isa
post Jul 6 2011, 04:28 AM

139 posts

hi guys, i need to ask for ur opinion...

i just built my rig yesterday at low yat plaza...
have some difficulty in looking some of the spec, especially psu : gigabyte odin 550watt...

so i settle down with fsp hexa 500watt...

this is my full specs :

-i5-2400
-intel DH67CL-B3
-1T WD blue hdd
-sapphire 5850
-lite-on dvd-drive
-4gb KiNGSTON ram
-CM elite 430
-FSP Hexa 500watt

is it FSP Hexa 500watts ok and fit with my pc requirement? because Viewnet guy told me that I need at least 550watts psu for my specs...

thanks...
cardin
post Jul 6 2011, 05:43 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(fared isa @ Jul 6 2011, 04:28 AM)
hi guys, i need to ask for ur opinion...  

i just built my rig yesterday at low yat plaza...
have some difficulty in looking some of the spec, especially psu : gigabyte odin 550watt...

so i settle down with fsp hexa 500watt...
this is my full specs :

-i5-2400
-intel DH67CL-B3
-1T WD blue hdd
-sapphire 5850
-lite-on dvd-drive
-4gb KiNGSTON ram
-CM elite 430
-FSP Hexa 500watt
is it FSP Hexa 500watts ok and fit with my pc requirement? because Viewnet guy told me that I need at least 550watts psu for my specs...

thanks...
using the power calculator your system power consumption is roughly around 350W...i guess 500W power supply should be fine but i will say it is just so so (on par)... in order for your PSU to run at maximum efficiency, u will need a PSU that can provide u at least 100% more from your total power consumption (theoretically 350W plus additional 350W so it is suppose to be 700W. normally a good power supply can provide extra 100W from the rated power meaning that if u have 600W the psu can be pushed up to 700W -correct me if im wrong- )

most of the PSU is rated at maximum efficiency when the load is about 50%...no wonder that guy recommend u to have at least 550W PSU just to ensure that your PSU will not struggle to supply at 100% power at all time in order to achieve the maximum level of efficiency of the PSU... smile.gif

This post has been edited by cardin: Jul 6 2011, 05:48 AM
kuekwee
post Jul 7 2011, 10:28 AM

Trading for a living
877 posts

Question here, my setup required 475w at peak. So i need to get 900w psu?

I'm getting 15 2500, 2x 5850, 8gb ram, SSD and HDD. No OC.
cardin
post Jul 7 2011, 10:58 AM

1,256 posts

QUOTE(kuekwee @ Jul 7 2011, 10:28 AM)
Question here, my setup required 475w at peak. So i need to get 900w psu?

I'm getting 15 2500, 2x 5850, 8gb ram, SSD and HDD. No OC.
not necessary i guess...the 900W psu will be needed if u want your psu to run at maximum efficiency but again it depends on the type of the psu itself...different psu will have different level of efficiency at different level of load...u may check your psu efficiency at Ecos Plug Load Solutionsbut most of them will run at maximum efficiency when the load is about 50%...since u r running crossfire i guess 600W would be the minimum (safe point) i guess...juz my 2 cents... smile.gif
lingloong
post Jul 14 2011, 05:40 PM

# Noob In Trading #
1,256 posts

FSP HEXA 400/500W is very good spec on the paper & "drooling" drool.gif with it's current offer/selling price. Saw a lot recommend them in this topic.

But IMO, after building some rig for my customer, I notice few flaws on this model. I guess that's justified the price / product offered. Not to "boikot" them but only want to express my opinion and any HEXA 400/500W user can share your view too smile.gif

1. 4+4pin cable for motherboard is shorter than other brand PSU, it's impossible to route from the back of the motherboard for neat cable management. Try on the CM Elite 430, Thermaltake V3 & Aerocool VS-9, all phailed laugh.gif
Same apply to it's 24pin

2. Cable is not nicely sleeved, make it look like cheapo PSU. And not all cable is sleeved

3. And this PSU kinda light, again make it feel "kinda cheapo" or "cap ayam". It's lot lighter than other model like Seasonic, CM, SST, Corsair or Acbel @ 500W range models. Normally good PSU you can feel it's weight as good quality parts ect it's transformer, the heavier the better. The terms is like gold, "lagi berat, lagi best". It's more like the build "feel" solid and "ada UMPH!"
~ correct me if I'm wrong, maybe new technology from FSP in PSU can produce good quality PSU with light stuff blush.gif

4. Power cable NOT included in package

For system builder and personal preference, my 1st choice will be Corsair CX500, 2nd will be Seasonic SP 500W & 3rd will be SST ST50F-ES if ya all looking for solid 500W PSU in term of quality, features, build & price/performance. All 3 models price range RM199-RM225 if you survey around garage sale or lowyat plaza

Suppose Seasonic S12II-520W will be my all time favorite/recommendation but as u guys know, this PSU is not avaialble in our market anymore sad.gif

This post has been edited by lingloong: Jul 14 2011, 05:44 PM

207 Pages « < 193 194 195 196 197 > » Top

0.0356sec    0.51    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:55 AM