Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

sgh
post Dec 6 2021, 11:31 AM

692 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 6 2021, 02:49 AM)
Age is not importance. I have been doing it for almost 7 years.
I have been though everything, unit trust, sg stocks us stocks.
Msian no need serve NS so 7 years I think you are still not over 30. I hate to use age as argument as it will lead to another topic but just to inform I am in investing 20+ years and reaching 50 soon.

Ok back to topic you are of cuz entitled to your view but when you keep saying you choose X confirm lose monies is purely your point of view and experience. It does not mean everyone is losing monies.

How about I tell you poems for some investment you are losing monies over a long term horizon due to frequent trading? Contra, short sell are common strategies there for a lot investors. I view those close to casino play.

Also in Spore we have this CPF equivalent to your Msia EPF which we cannot withdraw all at age 55 which is why for FSM most of my trades are for CPF which I attach a screenshot in my earlier post. I have cash trade elsewhere which I did not reveal as this is a FSM Spore thread so I want to stick to topic.

You are welcome to post your opinion confirm lose monies etc as this is a forum for all but I feel I need to speak out and let other readers read both sides of the story and form their own opinion whether confirm lose monies is valid based on your argument.

Lastly I will continue to share fund related info in this FSM Spore thread unless admin feel I am violating forum rules. I will also try not to talk about other investment platform as a sign of respect to this thread that is dedicated to FSM Spore.

SUSyklooi
post Dec 6 2021, 12:13 PM

8,188 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 6 2021, 11:31 AM)
Msian no need serve NS so 7 years I think you are still not over 30. I hate to use age as argument as it will lead to another topic but just to inform I am in investing 20+ years and reaching 50 soon.

Ok back to topic you are of cuz entitled to your view but when you keep saying you choose X confirm lose monies is purely your point of view and experience. It does not mean everyone is losing monies.

How about I tell you poems for some investment you are losing monies over a long term horizon due to frequent trading? Contra, short sell are common strategies there for a lot investors. I view those close to casino play.

Also in Spore we have this CPF equivalent to your Msia EPF which we cannot withdraw all at age 55 which is why for FSM most of my trades are for CPF which I attach a screenshot in my earlier post. I have cash trade elsewhere which I did not reveal as this is a FSM Spore thread so I want to stick to topic.

You are welcome to post your opinion confirm lose monies etc as this is a forum for all but I feel I need to speak out and let other readers read both sides of the story and form their own opinion whether confirm lose monies is valid based on your argument.

Lastly I will continue to share fund related info in this FSM Spore thread unless admin feel I am violating forum rules. I will also try not to talk about other investment platform as a sign of respect to this thread that is dedicated to FSM Spore.
thumbup.gif thumbsup.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
SUSTOS
post Dec 6 2021, 01:31 PM

8,667 posts

thumbup.gif

Singapore may be a dead capital market in terms of market cap and size, but I still feel it offers a great start for investors just starting to learn about investing.
Ramjade
post Dec 6 2021, 03:04 PM

24,333 posts

You are welcome to share your fund stuff and I will continue to warn people against using FSM sg for unit trust until the day they remove the quarterly platform fees if they do remove it. If not, I will continue to tell people who ask is fsm a good platform for unit trust and tell them to avoid it seeing that their competitor does not charge platfeom fees and have more or less the same fund.

If they do remove it, I will recommend it. So you do your thing and I do mine. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 6 2021, 03:04 PM
sgh
post Dec 6 2021, 04:57 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(TOS @ Dec 6 2021, 01:31 PM)
thumbup.gif

Singapore may be a dead capital market in terms of market cap and size, but I still feel it offers a great start for investors just starting to learn about investing.
I am not sure what you mean by dead capital market? Assume we talk about FSM Spore I have noticed the number of funds offered are much more. We have 0% sales charge and most recent min 100 initial investment etc. I notice some FSM Msia funds are feeder to fund A and this fund A here in FSM Spore we can buy direct no need go through feeder fund.

This can explain why SA is a hit with Msian as FSM Msia maybe lacking options to investors. Long long time ago it is the same with FSM Spore back in 2000 but it improves the selection along the years.

MYR inflation quite high so long term profits in Msia can be eroded abit. Just think my times is SGD to 2+ MYR and now is 3 MYR. This mean if invest in MYR denominated funds many years your later returns is lesser when you withdraw and turn to cash.

So using the same reason I am investing in RMB denominated funds in recent times.
SUSTOS
post Dec 6 2021, 05:43 PM

8,667 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 6 2021, 04:57 PM)
I am not sure what you mean by dead capital market? Assume we talk about FSM Spore I have noticed the number of funds offered are much more. We have 0% sales charge and most recent min 100 initial investment etc. I notice some FSM Msia funds are feeder to fund A and this fund A here in FSM Spore we can buy direct no need go through feeder fund.

This can explain why SA is a hit with Msian as FSM Msia maybe lacking options to investors. Long long time ago it is the same with FSM Spore back in 2000 but it improves the selection along the years.

MYR inflation quite high so long term profits in Msia can be eroded abit. Just think my times is SGD to 2+ MYR and now is 3 MYR. This mean if invest in MYR denominated funds many years your later returns is lesser when you withdraw and turn to cash.

So using the same reason I am investing in RMB denominated funds in recent times.
Oh, I am referring to the stock market as a whole, just a general comment, not FSM-specific. biggrin.gif

But yes, FSM MY certainly offers less choices than its SG counterpart as SG is the main market and it is an IFC.
sgh
post Dec 7 2021, 11:03 AM

692 posts

Not sure if anyone notice fund (very small number though) that has factsheet that explicitly mention they do not benchmark again any existing index to track their performance? In fact in another fund I read the fund manager actually come out with their own stock composition of the index for them to benchmark against? All along I thought fund has to benchmark against some index to track their performance but it seems this criteria is not mandatory at all.

How do anyone in fund investment think of this issue? Is it mandatory for fund to benchmark against index? And the index used can be fund manager own stocks composition formulated or need to be index provided by some other neutral third party?

Next question is without index to benchmark how do we know the fund is performing well against those ETF which typically track index?
SUSyklooi
post Dec 7 2021, 11:18 AM

8,188 posts

Evaluating a fund's performance
https://www.moneysense.gov.sg/articles/2018...ing-unit-trusts

Hansel
post Dec 8 2021, 04:29 PM

9,347 posts

I am prospering in SG,... and am indebted to SG.

Forget abt that Ramjade fella,... I advised him to start with SG first, he did,.. and today, he is backstabbing SG instruments,...

He forgot where he started from.

He forgot he learnt to use Interactive Brokers from his SG experience.

He forgot he is still stubbornly holding-on to his DBS Acct even after I told him to close them.
sgh
post Dec 8 2021, 06:32 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Dec 8 2021, 04:29 PM)
I am prospering in SG,... and am indebted to SG.

Forget abt that Ramjade fella,... I advised him to start with SG first, he did,.. and today, he is backstabbing SG instruments,...

He forgot where he started from.

He forgot he learnt to use Interactive Brokers from his SG experience.

He forgot he is still stubbornly holding-on to his DBS Acct even after I told him to close them.
Ramjade is basically biting the hands that feed him. When he is newbie and green, SG conducive environment provide for him to learn. Once his wings grow strong he can fly and start to bite those instruments that used to train him. (I read this thread from page 1 onwards during my free time)

Think of Chinese pugilistic show. Disciple no skill, master slowly teach and nurture. Once disciple learn all the skills go and kill the master and become his own master going around killing. An analogy smile.gif

PS Btw in those show, that arrogant disciple soon met his downfall in the end. Food for thought.
Ramjade
post Dec 8 2021, 07:47 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 8 2021, 06:32 PM)
Ramjade is basically biting the hands that feed him. When he is newbie and green, SG conducive environment provide for him to learn. Once his wings grow strong he can fly and start to bite those instruments that used to train him. (I read this thread from page 1 onwards during my free time)

Think of Chinese pugilistic show. Disciple no skill, master slowly teach and nurture. Once disciple learn all the skills go and kill the master and become his own master going around killing. An analogy smile.gif

PS Btw in those show, that arrogant disciple soon met his downfall in the end. Food for thought.
Is not biting the hands that feed. Want to know why? I am giving advise so that those who want to start investing won't make that same mistake I make.

If I can travel back in time to when I start, I will tell my younger self that. Avoid sg stocks at all cost.

If I am starting out form scratch today after learning everything, I will not invest in sg market at all.

Is all about how efficient you want to deploy capital. If you want to waste money in something not efficient, I can'not do anything. I learned my mistake and realised sg market not efficient in growing wealth.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Dec 8 2021, 07:51 PM
Hansel
post Dec 8 2021, 08:33 PM

9,347 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 8 2021, 06:32 PM)

Yes bro,...

IT's simple,... if you complain, move out. Otherwise,... stay in and try to make things work,.. without complaining too much.

Just like me,... I might not like certain things abt this place,... but I look on the bright side and appreciate the good things abt investing,... Msia environment. Then I send my children away so that they don't need to suffer what I am going thru..
sgh
post Dec 9 2021, 10:46 AM

692 posts

Anyone focus in investing 100% high yield/normal bond funds only? Can share their experience? My experience has been quite bad with bond only fund. Yes I get the dividend but the price does not seem to move especially when you invest for long term. I have read must look at the different bond maturity held by the fund. If some are matured and fund manager did not manage to secure new bond the price cannot move.

This lead to me to invest in balanced fund (mix of equities and bonds) and equity fund that pays dividends. I do understand dividend paying fund will slash the total returns of the fund over a long period but it is ok I want the dividends and at least the price will move over a long period unlike those bonds only funds.

PS there are very few funds that pay dividends and yet can match or beat the benchmark. take note of this when you compare such fund performance vs those non-dividend paying fund.
sgh
post Dec 9 2021, 04:25 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 8 2021, 07:47 PM)
Is not biting the hands that feed. Want to know why? I am giving advise so that those who want to start investing won't make that same mistake I make.

If I can travel back in time to when I start, I will tell my younger self that. Avoid sg stocks at all cost.

If I am starting out form scratch today after learning everything, I will not invest in sg market at all.

Is all about how efficient you want to deploy capital. If you want to waste money in something not efficient, I can'not do anything. I learned my mistake and realised sg market not efficient in growing wealth.
I would like to know why avoid sg stocks at all cost is it lose monies? To tell you the truth I am one victim too. Let me share with you why I lose monies. I think this is not sg stocks specific you go other stock market sure meet the same.

Case 1
I suddenly get my hands in investing penny stocks (share price < 20 cents) in SGX. Reason that time was with X dollars I can buy so many lots. With that same X dollars I cannot even buy one lot of share price > $1 stock. So I have many penny stocks in my portfolio especially during that time any penny stock that has China in the stock name the price shoot up like crazy. I was naive and thought buy and hold for price to rise so I can sell to make profits. How wrong I was becuz those crazy share price does not reflect the company actual real value! Once some big players start dumping it is all the way down. I even attempt to average down and guess what later that stock get suspended and some later delist and gone missing. I get back a piece of paper stating I own XXX shares of that penny stock.

Case 2
I suddenly get caught up in contra and shorting. This is even worst! I buy so many lots to sell within 3 days to earn the difference profits. But other players also play same game and they got more capital than me so 3 days up I need to sell at a loss else I cannot afford to pay up for so many lots!!! Shorting also worst. I attempt to sell stock I do not own only to buy back later to cover for the missing lots. Guess what 3 days up I need to buy them back at a loss!!!

Why I suddenly want to share such info in a FSM Spore thread is to inform ppl like you why over the years I turn to FSM as investment over stock investing. There are just too many ways to die investing in stocks directly. Lucky I lose those monies while I was young so working can earn back. Those quarterly platform fees charged by FSM is really small fry compared to the SGX and brokerage fees I have paid for the lesson! At least for FSM I truly found profits with them.

sgh
post Dec 9 2021, 07:14 PM

692 posts

Anyone decide to invest with FSM Spore latest promotion of fund min. initial investment of $100? $100 for you to test water on funds that you previously will not want to try due to the min. $1000 requirement.

Let me start first I have. And since the capital is small, I go for the most aggressive funds of risk rating 10. Basically sector/theme funds. Gold & Precious Metals, Healthcare, Infrastructure, Property, Resources, Small to Medium Companies, Technology. Previously say for e.g to invest one fund in each sector, I need $7000. Now I only need $700. Then depend how it goes slowly top up $100 each time. This is like supermarket sales promoter that cook some food and let you taste nice or not. Nice then you buy more. Of cuz food testing is free but the idea is similar.

Reason why focus on sector/theme funds is because I already have quite a few geographical region and country specific funds over the years. For a long time I do not have the courage to put so much on those highly volatile sector/theme funds.

This post has been edited by sgh: Dec 9 2021, 07:16 PM
Ramjade
post Dec 9 2021, 08:04 PM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(sgh @ Dec 9 2021, 07:14 PM)
Anyone decide to invest with FSM Spore latest promotion of fund min. initial investment of $100? $100 for you to test water on funds that you previously will not want to try due to the min. $1000 requirement.

Let me start first I have. And since the capital is small, I go for the most aggressive funds of risk rating 10. Basically sector/theme funds. Gold & Precious Metals, Healthcare, Infrastructure, Property, Resources, Small to Medium Companies, Technology. Previously say for e.g to invest one fund in each sector, I need $7000. Now I only need $700. Then depend how it goes slowly top up $100 each time. This is like supermarket sales promoter that cook some food and let you taste nice or not. Nice then you buy more. Of cuz food testing is free but the idea is similar.

Reason why focus on sector/theme funds is because I already have quite a few geographical region and country specific funds over the years. For a long time I do not have the courage to put so much on those highly volatile sector/theme funds.
Come I give you example.
1. Look at sg blue chip companies excludig banks Vs US blue chip company over 10 years.
- Where is Microsoft, apple,Google, Amazon, home depot, coca cola, Johnson and Johnson. Where are they now?
- now look at singtel, keppel, sembcorp, starhub, capitaland, sph. Where are they now?

2. How many quality companies can you find in sg excluding Reits and banks
- Ums
- micro mechanics
- UOI
- Sheng siong

How many quality US companies are there?
- Microsoft
- apple
- Amazon
- Google
- Home depot
- Costco
- Nvidia
- Starbucks
- sea ltd
- Disney
- tesla
- many more

Anyway this is Fsm sg thread and I am not going to to derail it further.

You do what you think is right for your money, I do what I think is right.
sgh
post Dec 9 2021, 08:21 PM

692 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Dec 9 2021, 08:04 PM)
Anyway this is Fsm sg thread and I am not going to to derail it further.

You do what you think is right for your money, I do what I think is right.
Agree not to derail this thread. But I think my penny stock, contra, shorting you never try before? Please don't try the monies loss is huge! Agree with your analysis on sg big stocks. That is why even for my fund total portfolio I don't have any Spore only fund.

For ppl still want to have funds that have sg stocks try to get one which is Spore and Msia combined to spread out the risk. Avoid Msia only fund if possible too.
sgh
post Dec 10 2021, 06:06 PM

692 posts

Today talk about funds that specialises in small to medium companies investment. I think this is highly volatile since we all know it is easy for those companies business to go bust in comparison to the big stocks in Nasdaq, S&P 500 for e.g

This mean the fund manager stock pick skills must be superb to manage and turn it profitable. I would think the frequency of changing stock in the fund portfolio would be much more than those funds that just buy big stocks from the index.

If the fund manager manage to pick it well the returns from the fund will be huge but come at a very big risk. Hence if one has some spare monies it doesn't hurt to invest in these funds as your high risk supplementary portfolio.

Yes for me supplementary portfolio is to be aggressive. Main portfolio keep it safe and higher percentage, remaining smaller percentage chiong ahead.

sgh
post Dec 11 2021, 02:07 PM

692 posts

Finally after 20+ years of investing with FSM Spore I reach diamond tier no more quarterly platform fees. The criteria is for acct including beneficiary acct, CPF + cash add up total. Beneficiary acct can be your spouse, kids, parents etc.

CPF fund investment do not incur quarterly platform fees. They take from your cash fund investment instead. So Sporean with CPF FSM Spore a good instrument for investing. As for cash it depend as there are more alternatives around besides FSM.

Their recent min. 100 initial investment attract some of my cash though. Still hunting for something like StashAway but with DIY ETF. I want to buy,sell my own ETF but pay SA fees structure. Interactive Brokers seem the best so far but if anyone find better than this can PM me.
sgh
post Dec 11 2021, 06:45 PM

692 posts

Not sure if need to start a new thread so just tag along. Now fundsupermart has a brother called bondsupermart. https://www.bondsupermart.com/bsm/ same ifast financial company behind.

Just like year 2000, get the research info from the website and then use other platform invest hehe. But since I am a diamond tier client maybe I can invest on their platform instead. Frankly speaking I am not a bonds lover as I prefer equities more but since got new website specifically on bonds research maybe I will be a convert? Hmmm

44 Pages « < 40 41 42 43 44 >Top

0.0362sec    0.61    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:30 PM