Ramjade
post Mar 30 2017, 03:42 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 30 2017, 03:36 PM)
Then I'll ask 1 question

Have you removed the forex gains from MY funds?

Or, add forex gains to the USD or SGD denominated funds in FSM SG

It's not so easy to compare due to forex factor
Er talking to me or xuzen?
If me, when you are in SG, look at SGD. Don't look at RM. Later if you need the money, then only look at how much you make with the depreciation of RM.

Same thing apply for USD, etc.

Btw to answer your question that day
Yeah. Can work part time not in any special field but part time in say McD/KFC/etc. But I am choosing not to as once I start working, it will be hell busy. No time for all this FSM/LYN. So better for me to read up and start my investment now.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 30 2017, 03:44 PM
Avangelice
post Mar 30 2017, 03:45 PM

5,272 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 30 2017, 03:42 PM)
If me, when you are in SG, look at SGD. Don't look at RM. Later if you need the money, then only look at how much you make with the depreciation of RM.

Btw to answer your question that day
Yeah. Can work part time not in any special field but part time in say McD/KFC/etc. But I am choosing not to as once I start working, it will be hell busy. No time for all this FSM/LYN. So better for me to read up and start my investment now.
FSM is the least headache investment even in busy schedule. What are you on about.
TSdasecret
post Mar 30 2017, 03:47 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 30 2017, 03:42 PM)

Xuzen la, kan I quote him

What I'm trying to say is, in order to compare a fund in FSM MY denominated in MYR with a fund in FSM SG denominated in SGD or USD; one needs to first put them all in the same currency. Otherwise it won't be comparing apple to apple lor.

Hansel
post Mar 30 2017, 04:01 PM

9,353 posts

Yes,... bro Ram has a strong point there.

I've opened an acct in FSM SG LONG BEFORE they set up shop in Msia. My experience has been with the SGD all along.

One thing I noticed is with the SGD being strong always, whatever dividend that I earn, when converted into the SGD is always 'lesser relatively',... I noticed during times when the SGD is weaker, then only will I get more SGD divvy.

Hence, I supposed if we invest using the RMin FSM MY, we will GET MORE RMs when the RM depreciates.

Wait a minute,.. does the base currency get converted directly into the RM, OR does it gt converted into the SGD first, then only into the RM< since FSM is SG-based ?
Ramjade
post Mar 30 2017, 04:11 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 30 2017, 04:01 PM)
Yes,... bro Ram has a strong point there.

I've opened an acct in FSM SG LONG BEFORE they set up shop in Msia. My experience has been with the SGD all along.

One thing I noticed is with the SGD being strong always, whatever dividend that I earn, when converted into the SGD is always 'lesser relatively',... I noticed during times when the SGD is weaker, then only will I get more SGD divvy.

Hence, I supposed if we invest using the RMin FSM MY, we will GET MORE RMs when the RM depreciates.

Wait a minute,.. does the base currency get converted directly into the RM, OR does it gt converted into the SGD first, then only into the RM< since FSM is SG-based ?
If you are buying from MY, you use RM. Yes. You get more RM when RM depreciate (if you invest in overseas fund) as dasecret said RHB Asian Total Return fund is based on USD as what dasecret said
If you buy from SG, you use SGD.
If you are buying from, AU see AUD.

That's how I prevent myself from getting mix up.

Look at the bid to bid retruns.
RHB Asian Total Return vs United Asian Bond Fund

If you notice, the returns are not the same even though they are the essentially the same fund. RHB feeds into United.
Hansel
post Mar 31 2017, 11:51 AM

9,353 posts

To make a long story short, if you buy in SG with an SG Account, you are earning the SGD. If you buy in AU, with an acct in AU, you are earning the AUD. Hence, things depend on which currency you wish TO EARN.

More or less amt from the proceeds should not matter,... After all, we will still need to convert to any currency that we wish to use later on. It may not necessarily be the MYR that we will convert into.

What if you need to use AUD later ?
Ramjade
post Mar 31 2017, 11:59 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Mar 31 2017, 11:51 AM)
To make a long story short, if you buy in SG with an SG Account, you are earning the SGD. If you buy in AU, with an acct in AU, you are earning the AUD. Hence, things depend on which currency you wish TO EARN.

More or less amt from the proceeds should not matter,... After all, we will still need to convert to any currency that we wish to use later on. It may not necessarily be the MYR that we will convert into.

What if you need to use AUD later ?
Then we use SGD to convert and transfer using Transferwise. (Note to self: open account with them).
With SGD, there's a chance that we can gain against AUD/USD/whatever currency you will need.

I cannot say the same for RM dry.gif sad.gif
Hansel
post Mar 31 2017, 12:04 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 31 2017, 11:59 AM)
Then we use SGD to convert and transfer using Transferwise. (Note to self: open account with them).
With SGD, there's a chance that we can gain against AUD/USD/whatever currency you will need.

I cannot say the same for RM dry.gif  sad.gif
rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif Yes,... I use SGD for my livelihood expenses in many countries,..

Bro is smart,...... biggrin.gif biggrin.gif biggrin.gif
xuzen
post Mar 31 2017, 12:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 30 2017, 03:36 PM)
Then I'll ask 1 question

Have you removed the forex gains from MY funds?

Or, add forex gains to the USD or SGD denominated funds in FSM SG

It's not so easy to compare due to forex factor
Good day to you good sister,

I will attempt to answer you question objectively. I shall use two examples. And for argument's sake I shall take TA GTF and RHB AIF. From friend Ramjade's words, TA GTF is the daughter of Henderson Global Tech fund denominated in SGD; whereas RHB AIF is the daughter fund of Schroder Asia Income fund. Both the mother funds are denominated in SGD.

A) Lets take case for RHB AIF.

Lets say you participated SGD 1,000.00 into SAIF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,157.63, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,157.63 x 3.16704 = MYR 3,666.24

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 (eqv to SGD 1,000) into RHB AIF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 3,710.95

RHB AIF wins mother fund.

=============================================

B) Lets take the case for TA GTF

Lets say you participated SGD 1,000.00 into HGTF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,453.65, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,453.65 x 3.16704 = MYR 4,603.77

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 (eqv to SGD 1,000.00) into TA GTF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 4,349.16

TA GTF loses to mother fund.

What is the takeaway message here?

Forex is too unpredictable. Some daughter fund wins mother fund; other loses to mother fund.

The final say is that there is no room for generalization.

My personal take is, investing is already a risky business, hence do not take in more unnecessary risky. For example, if you are not a resident of S'pore, it makes no sense to buy an asset that is denominated in SGD because you are introducing another element of risk aka unpredictability into the equation.

Xuzen

p/s Data are obtained form Xe.com website for forex data, FSM MY for both RHB AIF & TA GTF, FSM SG for SAIF and HGTF.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 31 2017, 02:33 PM
Ramjade
post Mar 31 2017, 12:48 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 31 2017, 12:44 PM)

I will attempt to answer you question objectively. I shall use two example for argument sake that is TA GTF and RHB AIF. From friend Ramjade's words, TA GTF is the daughter of Henderson Global Tech fund denominated in SGD, whereas RHB AIF is the daughter fund of Schroder Asia Income fund also denominated in SGD.

Lets take RHB AIF.

Three years ago on 31/3/2014: SGD 1,000.00 = MYR 2,595.23

Today rate as of 31/3/2017: SGD 1,000.00 = MYR 3,167.04

RHB AIF 3 years annulized return is 12.66% p.a.

Schroder AIF 3 years annulized return is 5.00% p.a.

Lets say you participate SGD 1,000.00 into SAIF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,157.63, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,157.63 x 3.16704 = MYR 3,666.24

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 into RHB AIF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 3,710.95

RHB AIF wins motherfund.

Lets take TA GTF

Three years ago on 31/3/2014: SGD 1,000.00 = MYR 2,595.23

Today rate as of 31/3/2017: SGD 1,000.00 = MYR 3,167.04

TA GTF 3 years annualized return is 18.78% p.a.

Henderson GTF 3 years annualized return is 13.28% p.a.

Lets say you participate SGD 1,000.00 into  HGTF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,453.65, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,453.65 x 3.16704 = MYR 4,603.77

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 into TA GTF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 4,349.16

Forex is too unpredictable. Some daughter fund wins mother fund, other loses to mother fund.

My personal take is, investing is already a risky business, hence do take in more unnecessary risky. For example, if you are not a resident of S'pore, it makes no sense to buy an asset that is denominated in SGD because you are introducing another element of risk aka unpredictability into the equation.

Xuzen
Thanks for the lesson. thumbup.gif
xuzen
post Mar 31 2017, 12:55 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 31 2017, 12:48 PM)
Thanks for the lesson. thumbup.gif
The above is not a Maggi Mee®: Cepat dimasak, sedap dimakan™ lesson. Glad you understand it.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 31 2017, 12:55 PM
Steven7
post Mar 31 2017, 01:39 PM

255 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 31 2017, 12:55 PM)
The above is not a Maggi Mee®: Cepat dimasak, sedap dimakan™ lesson. Glad you understand it.

Xuzen
Very detailed sharing, thanks rclxms.gif

TSdasecret
post Mar 31 2017, 02:05 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 31 2017, 12:44 PM)

I will attempt to answer you question objectively. I shall use two examples. And for argument's sake I shall take TA GTF and RHB AIF. From friend Ramjade's words, TA GTF is the daughter of Henderson Global Tech fund denominated in SGD; whereas RHB AIF is the daughter fund of Schroder Asia Income fund. Both the mother funds are denominated in SGD.

A) Lets take case for RHB AIF.

Lets say you participated SGD 1,000.00 into SAIF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,157.63, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,157.63 x 3.16704 = MYR 3,666.24

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 (eqv to SGD 1,000) into RHB AIF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 3,710.95

RHB AIF wins mother fund.

B) Lets take the case for TA GTF

Lets say you participated SGD 1,000.00 into HGTF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,453.65, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,453.65 x 3.16704 = MYR 4,603.77

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 (eqv to SGD 1,000.00) into TA GTF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 4,349.16

Forex is too unpredictable. Some daughter fund wins mother fund; other loses to mother fund.

My personal take is, investing is already a risky business, hence do take in more unnecessary risky. For example, if you are not a resident of S'pore, it makes no sense to buy an asset that is denominated in SGD because you are introducing another element of risk aka unpredictability into the equation.

Xuzen

p/s Data are obtained form Xe.com website for forex data, FSM MY for both RHB AIF & TA GTF, FSM SG for SAIF and HGTF.
Great comparison, numbers don't lie and that's why I like to lay everything down

Now... can we ask for another slowcook menu item? brows.gif

So with the above FX consideration; are the selection on FSM MY still trumps FSM SG?

I get what you mean by introducing another element of risk by investing abroad; but I guess the intention of most here is trying to mitigate some level of country risk or political risk. For myself, it was just an opportunity presenting itself at that point. I'm not actively doing it anymore, the amount I have in SGD is not substantial enough for me to sustain my living if Msia really "collapse" (whatever that's supposed to mean)
xuzen
post Mar 31 2017, 02:35 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 31 2017, 02:05 PM)
Great comparison, numbers don't lie and that's why I like to lay everything down

Now... can we ask for another slowcook menu item?  brows.gif

So with the above FX consideration; are the selection on FSM MY still trumps FSM SG?

I get what you mean by introducing another element of risk by investing abroad; but I guess the intention of most here is trying to mitigate some level of country risk or political risk. For myself, it was just an opportunity presenting itself at that point. I'm not actively doing it anymore, the amount I have in SGD is not substantial enough for me to sustain my living if Msia really "collapse" (whatever that's supposed to mean)
This sister ar... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

You don't read izzit. I already state my conclusion, one cannot make sweeping generalization. There will be winners and losers. You want, you need to calculate each fund one by one. That is why to me, it is a waste of time, and I better stick to FSM MY for the time being.

Xuzen
TSdasecret
post Mar 31 2017, 03:46 PM

1,498 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 31 2017, 02:35 PM)
This sister ar...  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif  shakehead.gif

You don't read izzit. I already state my conclusion, one cannot make sweeping generalization. There will be winners and losers. You want, you need to calculate each fund one by one. That is why to me, it is a waste of time, and I better stick to FSM MY for the time being.

Xuzen
U not tempted with the 0% SC 0% platform fee meh laugh.gif

There are more choices in SG, be it platforms or funds; but sometimes too many choices make it confusing also la
Ramjade
post Mar 31 2017, 03:53 PM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 31 2017, 03:46 PM)
U not tempted with the 0% SC 0% platform fee meh  laugh.gif

There are more choices in SG, be it platforms or funds; but sometimes too many choices make it confusing also la
I stick with what sifu wong and xuzen taught me.
Keep it lean and mean bruce.gif flex.gif
You are not playing pokemon bruce.gif

FSM MY - 5 funds (but it's 6 fund because I hold 2 reits)
POEMS SG- about 6-7 funds.
(AP, US, China, India, HY bond, JP, AU funds)

I can cut away the AU and JP but let's give them chance.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Mar 31 2017, 03:59 PM
xuzen
post Mar 31 2017, 10:33 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 31 2017, 03:46 PM)
U not tempted with the 0% SC 0% platform fee meh  laugh.gif

Serious boh? Zero sales charge and zero platform fee? Can it also include wrap account; meaning: Unlimited switches such as ten switches everyday will not kena charge a single cents wan....

Xuzen
Ramjade
post Apr 1 2017, 08:08 AM

24,336 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 31 2017, 10:33 PM)
Serious boh? Zero sales charge and zero platform fee? Can it also include wrap account; meaning: Unlimited switches such as ten switches everyday will not kena charge a single cents wan....

Xuzen
Yup. If you choose FSM SG, you get 0% service charge + 0% switching fees + 0.4% platform fees. I think is cheaper than your wrap account?

If choose phillip 0% service charge + 0% switching fees + 0% platform fees. Ho boh? devil.gif

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Apr 1 2017, 08:11 AM
Hansel
post Apr 1 2017, 01:15 PM

9,353 posts

QUOTE(xuzen @ Mar 31 2017, 10:33 PM)

Xuzen
QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2017, 08:08 AM)
Yup. If you choose FSM SG, you get 0% service charge + 0% switching fees + 0.4% platform fees. I think is cheaper than your wrap account?

If choose phillip 0% service charge + 0% switching fees + 0% platform fees. Ho boh? devil.gif
Yes, Phillip Capital committed the above,...

AND : if you transfer yr unit trust hldgs to them, there will be a reward of $20.00 for every $10,000 worth transferred over. But there are some conditions, like reward is capped at a maximum $1,000, etc,...
xuzen
post Apr 1 2017, 01:31 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2017, 08:08 AM)

Lai lai tell me what is the cheapest method to go to SG? We together-gether eat gardenia sambal ikan-bilis bun ok?

Wah! SG so much free stuff keh keh keh!

44 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0303sec    0.74    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:11 PM