Fundsupermart Singapore, Let's have a separate thread

xuzen
post Dec 18 2016, 10:57 PM

4,436 posts

Friend Hansel,

I know that you have advocated moving one's cash to Singapore for whatever reasons. To each his own.

Good sir, my question to you is, can one still achieve the same result if one were to buy a UTF denominated in Malaysian ringgit but exposed to overseas stock market?

Or perhaps, one were to buy UTF offered by Malaysia unit trust provider that is denominated in foreign currency; example AM Asia Pacific ex Japan REITs fund - Class B denominated in United State Dollars or another example CIMB - Principle Asia Pacific Dynamic Income Fund denominated in Singapore Dollars?

Thank you for answering my query.

Xuzen

P/s To the uninitiated the above mentioned UTFs do exist and are not hypothetical UTFs.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Dec 18 2016, 11:00 PM
xuzen
post Mar 30 2017, 03:06 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(puchongite @ Mar 30 2017, 02:24 PM)
Xuzen won't come in here to argue with you, so you are safe.  innocent.gif
LOL!!! rclxs0.gif

Friend Ramjade looks at one parameter only, that is, return on investment or better known as ROI.

I look at two parameters combined, which two?

I look at the return on investment or better known as ROI plus the riskiness of the said UTF aka Volatility. Essentially I look at the risk to reward ratio rather than pure ROI alone. If look at purely ROI, Manulife AP Reits win. If look at risk to reward ratio, AMReit win.

However, it is not a big deal because both are doing good at the moment and they are saling berganti-ganti dapat tempat satu dan dua. Choose either one, both are good at the moment.

Me and Ramjade are just being anal with each other.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 30 2017, 03:14 PM
xuzen
post Mar 30 2017, 03:29 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 30 2017, 03:09 PM)
Walao.  ohmy.gif Lai lai  port over la tongue.gif
What would do if I tell you the UTFs at FSM SG is not as good as FSM MY?

"Wears a flame retardant suits and runs away!"

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 30 2017, 03:30 PM
xuzen
post Mar 31 2017, 12:44 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 30 2017, 03:36 PM)
Then I'll ask 1 question

Have you removed the forex gains from MY funds?

Or, add forex gains to the USD or SGD denominated funds in FSM SG

It's not so easy to compare due to forex factor
Good day to you good sister,

I will attempt to answer you question objectively. I shall use two examples. And for argument's sake I shall take TA GTF and RHB AIF. From friend Ramjade's words, TA GTF is the daughter of Henderson Global Tech fund denominated in SGD; whereas RHB AIF is the daughter fund of Schroder Asia Income fund. Both the mother funds are denominated in SGD.

A) Lets take case for RHB AIF.

Lets say you participated SGD 1,000.00 into SAIF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,157.63, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,157.63 x 3.16704 = MYR 3,666.24

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 (eqv to SGD 1,000) into RHB AIF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 3,710.95

RHB AIF wins mother fund.

=============================================

B) Lets take the case for TA GTF

Lets say you participated SGD 1,000.00 into HGTF 3 years ago, today value shall be SGD 1,453.65, convert it to MYR as of today rate = SGD 1,453.65 x 3.16704 = MYR 4,603.77

Lets say you participate MYR 2,595.23 (eqv to SGD 1,000.00) into TA GTF 3 years ago, today value shall be MYR 4,349.16

TA GTF loses to mother fund.

=============================================

What is the takeaway message here?

Forex is too unpredictable. Some daughter fund wins mother fund; other loses to mother fund.

The final say is that there is no room for generalization.

My personal take is, investing is already a risky business, hence do not take in more unnecessary risky. For example, if you are not a resident of S'pore, it makes no sense to buy an asset that is denominated in SGD because you are introducing another element of risk aka unpredictability into the equation.

Xuzen

p/s Data are obtained form Xe.com website for forex data, FSM MY for both RHB AIF & TA GTF, FSM SG for SAIF and HGTF.

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 31 2017, 02:33 PM
xuzen
post Mar 31 2017, 12:55 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Mar 31 2017, 12:48 PM)
Thanks for the lesson. thumbup.gif
The above is not a Maggi Mee®: Cepat dimasak, sedap dimakan™ lesson. Glad you understand it.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Mar 31 2017, 12:55 PM
xuzen
post Mar 31 2017, 02:35 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 31 2017, 02:05 PM)
Great comparison, numbers don't lie and that's why I like to lay everything down

Now... can we ask for another slowcook menu item?  brows.gif

So with the above FX consideration; are the selection on FSM MY still trumps FSM SG?

I get what you mean by introducing another element of risk by investing abroad; but I guess the intention of most here is trying to mitigate some level of country risk or political risk. For myself, it was just an opportunity presenting itself at that point. I'm not actively doing it anymore, the amount I have in SGD is not substantial enough for me to sustain my living if Msia really "collapse" (whatever that's supposed to mean)
This sister ar... shakehead.gif shakehead.gif shakehead.gif

You don't read izzit. I already state my conclusion, one cannot make sweeping generalization. There will be winners and losers. You want, you need to calculate each fund one by one. That is why to me, it is a waste of time, and I better stick to FSM MY for the time being.

Xuzen
xuzen
post Mar 31 2017, 10:33 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(dasecret @ Mar 31 2017, 03:46 PM)
U not tempted with the 0% SC 0% platform fee meh  laugh.gif

There are more choices in SG, be it platforms or funds; but sometimes too many choices make it confusing also la
Serious boh? Zero sales charge and zero platform fee? Can it also include wrap account; meaning: Unlimited switches such as ten switches everyday will not kena charge a single cents wan....

Xuzen
xuzen
post Apr 1 2017, 01:31 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Apr 1 2017, 08:08 AM)
Yup. If you choose FSM SG, you get 0% service charge + 0% switching fees + 0.4% platform fees. I think is cheaper than your wrap account?

If choose phillip 0% service charge + 0% switching fees + 0% platform fees. Ho boh? devil.gif
Lai lai tell me what is the cheapest method to go to SG? We together-gether eat gardenia sambal ikan-bilis bun ok?

Wah! SG so much free stuff keh keh keh!

xuzen
post Apr 2 2017, 09:53 AM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Hansel @ Apr 1 2017, 04:43 PM)
One conclusion that can be extracted from here is with the help of currency appreciation, the mother fund does not simply need to perform better compared to the child fund in order to beat the feeder fund,.. ie currency strength helps !

Friend Hansel,

I read your bolded statement many times, but I still could not understand the meaning you are trying to conbvey. Can you please word it in kindergarden level English or not? Thanks.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Apr 2 2017, 09:54 AM
xuzen
post Sep 27 2017, 03:19 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Sep 23 2017, 02:02 PM)
xuzen somebody by the name of Hansel said distribution/dividend in unit trust very important. Told him don't know how many times, he keep saying dividend/distribution is very important. Need your maggi help since Auntie dasecret also give up.

Now Hansel, pay attention to get to what xuzen have to say.
Dividend is an illusion.

Let's say the fund gives out 5cts per unit, on the ex-date, you go and check, the NAV pun drop 5 cts.

Don't believe? Go check and see....

The above is another Xuzen's " Maggi mee: cepat dimasak, sedap dimakan™ " version of answer to a tough question.

Xuzen

This post has been edited by xuzen: Sep 28 2017, 11:05 AM
xuzen
post Oct 6 2017, 04:54 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 6 2017, 11:49 AM)
Try ask xuzen. Xuzen, why brazil economy so power last 2 years?
Boh chap, boh hiew, don't give a fcuk !
xuzen
post Oct 27 2017, 03:02 PM

4,436 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Oct 27 2017, 10:41 AM)
if i look that that, i will be a mistress aka taitai already. won't be posting here dah.  blush.gif
I could look at your Avatar face all day long.... Hi there! wub.gif wub.gif wub.gif

0.0437sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:12 AM