LCD Thread Ver 3.1, Everything about LCD monitor

redken
post Dec 12 2006, 12:31 AM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

QUOTE(lAh0S @ Dec 10 2006, 04:58 PM)
Aiyo, no need so critical la.
DELL 2007WFP is probably the cheapest ever S-IPS panel available in the market. Problems like backlight bleeding is common in LCD production. I dont find it an annoyance like many did. Dead pixel is another common problem with LCD. Of course when you buy it new, you can ask for free dead pixel. But as you used it, wear n tear will takes its toll and slowly you will start encountering dead pixel. None of the LCD manufacturer guarantee dead pixel free after you start using it. If you got dead pixel pop out of nowhere day after day, then its your luck.

Humans are really greedy. If you want the best and can afford it, just go ahead n buy Apple LCD. They are one of the best, if you can afford the difference in prices. If not, just STFU. Get along with it or go n get a CRT.

* My office has a LCD with 3 dead pixel, and I hardly noticed it. Whats all the big fuss about it.
None of my LCD's have any defects. Beat that. Back light bleeding and dead pixels are defects, period. It's not about how much money u spend on it, it's what the purchase agreed upon. Perhaps dead pixels are clearly written, but dodgy warranty policies doesnt spell transparency.

Most people that have not dealt with Dell, think highly of their paper policy. In reality it's a different story. Alot of forumers here can tell a tale or two about it. Not that i am against Dell, but purchasers have the right to speak.

This post has been edited by redken: Dec 12 2006, 12:33 AM
Demonic Wrath
post Dec 12 2006, 01:07 PM

My name so cool
1,667 posts

Hey guys, I asked this question before but no one replied. So I'll ask again.

I'm currently finding a good 20" widescreen LCD for my computer. I use it mainly for gaming and watching videos.

I have Dell 2007WFP in my mind. But I noticed some sites saying it has serious banding issues. I wonder if it has been fixed or not?

If anyone has a suggestion on which LCD to buy, please give the suggestions too.

Thanks in advance.
lAh0S
post Dec 12 2006, 01:33 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Dec 12 2006, 12:31 AM)
None of my LCD's have any defects. Beat that. Back light bleeding and dead pixels are defects, period. It's not about how much money u spend on it, it's what the purchase agreed upon. Perhaps dead pixels are clearly written, but dodgy warranty policies doesnt spell transparency.

Most people that have not dealt with Dell, think highly of their paper policy. In reality it's a different story. Alot of forumers here can tell a tale or two about it. Not that i am against Dell, but purchasers have the right to speak.
I dont know why Dell sucks so much.
You get 14 days to return it if you dont like it. They charged only RM80 for the refund process. Any shops in Low Yat would haf charge you 20% for you to return it.
atomica
post Dec 12 2006, 02:16 PM

340 posts

i bought three monitors from dell -- 1907fp, 2407wfp and now the 3007wfp. so far, no problems of any sort.

plus their warranty is one of the best in the market. my friend who bought a 2407wfp thought the monitor had banding problems -- he called up dell and they sent a replacement with no hassle at all.

anyway, that is my experience with dell.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
and my question -- where do i get a Kensington lock for my monitor? i think almost all Dell monitors come with it -- i noticed that in the 24" and 30".
marky
post Dec 12 2006, 03:43 PM

xoxo
893 posts

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Dec 12 2006, 01:07 PM)
Hey guys, I asked this question before but no one replied. So I'll ask again.

I'm currently finding a good 20" widescreen LCD for my computer. I use it mainly for gaming and watching videos.

I have Dell 2007WFP in my mind. But I noticed some sites saying  it has serious banding issues. I wonder if it has been fixed or not?

If anyone has a suggestion on which LCD to buy, please give the suggestions too.

Thanks in advance.
the banding is fixed on desktop mode...but theres backlight bleeding...as what my
eyes can see....

maybe for you is alrite....overall is a good lcd...not so good if u use it in a dark room on
black background....once again its based on my eyes hehe

btw..my second replacement just came..will try it out tonite

This post has been edited by marky: Dec 12 2006, 03:46 PM
lAh0S
post Dec 12 2006, 04:40 PM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

LOL...
Regardless of what monitor you use, none of them recommended viewing LCD/CRT in the dark...
Demonic Wrath
post Dec 12 2006, 05:03 PM

My name so cool
1,667 posts

QUOTE(marky @ Dec 12 2006, 03:43 PM)
the banding is fixed on desktop mode...but theres backlight bleeding...as what my
eyes can see....

maybe for you is alrite....overall is a good lcd...not so good if u use it in a dark room on
black background....once again its based on my eyes hehe

btw..my second replacement just came..will try it out tonite
I doubt I'll use the LCD in dark room.... so I don't really bother with the backlight bleeding...

Btw, how much you bought the 2007wfp? Got any special discount? Currently the cheapest I can find is ~RM1250.
marky
post Dec 12 2006, 05:35 PM

xoxo
893 posts

QUOTE(Demonic Wrath @ Dec 12 2006, 05:03 PM)
I doubt I'll use the LCD in dark room.... so I don't really bother with the backlight bleeding...

Btw, how much you bought the 2007wfp? Got any special discount? Currently the cheapest I can find is ~RM1250.
wah where u find 1250? hehe i bought mine 1299

for 2nd replacement i requested for a02 which is before june batch...

and it reach my door today ehhe and its LM201W01 panel
phunkydude
post Dec 12 2006, 07:23 PM

2,403 posts

QUOTE(marky @ Dec 12 2006, 05:35 PM)
wah where u find 1250? hehe i bought mine 1299

for 2nd replacement i requested for a02 which is before june batch...

and it reach my door today ehhe and its LM201W01 panel
wah.. so fast second replacement....`
i just received mine this noon..
hooked up everything.. & now running fine...

got several things to ask here... (which might have been asked again & again blush.gif )

1) as wat i know... dead pixel can be checked by using dead pixel buddy..
as for backlight bleeding... how to see it in dark? i mean my display.. not displaying black at all (dunno wat the colour called but it's definitely not black).. so.. is it blacklight bleeding on whole screen?(which i heard some others having it on corners only)

2) while for banding.... how to check ler?

3) and also.. i still fails to press out the panel info..
is it when booting the comp. .... then press the menu & '+' button.. then press '-' button? .... but nothing appears ler...

4) still got wat other things to check on?

Thanks in advance for those who kindly reply me... notworthy.gif

Edit: another question to add in...

5) can lcd be same like crt.. (on & off anytime/allthetime) ?
i mean... previously when i'm using crt monitor... , i on my comp. 24/7 for folding..
while leaving my CRT monitor off (when not using it) by pressing the 'on/off' button... and on the monitor again.. when i wanna use it...
so... i wonder it lcd also can.. simply on and off it all the time..(by pressing the power button) while leavng my comp. on for folding)

This post has been edited by phunkydude: Dec 12 2006, 07:27 PM
vassalle
post Dec 12 2006, 10:05 PM

610 posts

Err.. one more question here..
Since cannot get the 2407 already.. I'm thinking of getting a 22 inch widescreen. Any recommendations?
marky
post Dec 12 2006, 11:23 PM

xoxo
893 posts

QUOTE(phunkydude @ Dec 12 2006, 07:23 PM)
wah.. so fast second replacement....`
i just received mine this noon..
hooked up everything.. & now running fine...

got several things to ask here... (which might have been asked again & again  blush.gif )

1) as wat i know...  dead pixel can be checked by using dead pixel buddy..
as for backlight bleeding...  how to see it in dark? i mean my display..  not displaying black at all (dunno wat the colour called but it's definitely not black)..  so.. is it blacklight bleeding on whole screen?(which i heard some others having it on corners only)

2) while for banding....  how to check ler?

3) and also..  i still fails to press out the panel info..
is it when booting the comp. .... then press the menu & '+' button.. then press '-' button? ....  but nothing appears ler...

4) still got wat other things to check on?

Thanks in advance for those who kindly reply me...  notworthy.gif

Edit: another question to add in...

5) can lcd be same like crt.. (on & off anytime/allthetime) ?
i mean... previously when i'm using crt monitor... , i on my comp. 24/7 for folding..
while leaving my CRT monitor off (when not using it) by pressing the 'on/off' button... and on the monitor again.. when i wanna use it...
so... i wonder it lcd also can..  simply on and off it all the time..(by pressing the power button) while leavng my comp. on for folding)
1) i have exactly da same problem as you....four corners bleeding...i had 3 2007wfp all the same lol guess have to live with it

2) use a program call monitor test

3)off monitor..hold "menu" and "+" then on monitor....wait til dvi logo go off...let go "menu" and "+" and press "-"

4)nothing much to check on ehhe thumbup.gif

5) durno how to answer you hehe

This post has been edited by marky: Dec 12 2006, 11:24 PM
lAh0S
post Dec 13 2006, 02:43 AM

lAh0S is back !!
1,177 posts

You dont need to turn it off and on again...
LCD unlike CRT doesnt need degauss...
Singh_Kalan
post Dec 13 2006, 03:45 PM

2,033 posts

Hardware newbie here yawn.gif . Like to know are all graphic cards support wide screen resolution??
I m using an old graphic card that support standard resolution up to 1600x1200. Need to change?? sad.gif
aegis`-
post Dec 13 2006, 08:43 PM

1,480 posts

may i know what is banding problem and how do i identify or rectify this problem?
i just ordered by 24inch widescreen from dell
but ill be receiving it the nex 5-7 working days yawn.gif
Demonic Wrath
post Dec 14 2006, 07:53 AM

My name so cool
1,667 posts

This is banding problem :
http://www.engadget.com/2006/04/26/2007wfp...g-on-gradients/

Notice the stripe between the colors?

It's supposed to be smooth color transition.
v i n c
post Dec 14 2006, 10:15 AM

496 posts

I just bought the new release Samsung 932B .It has a very attractive design. Just like an Apple Monitor.

It was released recently only and even malaysia samsung website does not have it.

Its a 19" 4ms monitor. You guys should check it out. I bought it at RM800 because PC fair booth which sells it (3 booth selling for 775 only) all out of stock!zz

Link- http://www.samsung.com/th/products/monitor...igital/932b.asp

LPJ
post Dec 14 2006, 10:18 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(v i n c @ Dec 14 2006, 10:15 AM)
I just bought the new release Samsung 932B .It has a very attractive design. Just like an Apple Monitor.

It was released recently only and even malaysia samsung website does not have it.

Its a 19" 4ms monitor. You guys should check it out. I bought it at RM800 because PC fair booth which sells it (3 booth selling for 775 only) all out of stock!zz

Link-  http://www.samsung.com/th/products/monitor...igital/932b.asp
how do u find it so far? I was thinking of buying it as well during PC fair... but didn't... was afraid the quality is no good because it is so new and no one use it before... do share with us your experience of using it with us... thanks....
car_o_scope
post Dec 14 2006, 10:39 AM

Cars & HiFi fever!!
1,829 posts

Wow..It looks like the R7 series of its LCD TV. Is the bezel in shiny piano finishing?
LPJ
post Dec 14 2006, 11:12 AM

239 posts

QUOTE(car_o_scope @ Dec 14 2006, 10:39 AM)

Wow..It looks like the R7 series of its LCD TV. Is the bezel in shiny piano finishing?
yeah it look good isn't it? not only the bezel, the whole thing is in shiny piano finishing, even the back... (if i remember correctly...) but it only has white colour right for 19"? i actually prefer the black colour ...
lilzany
post Dec 14 2006, 11:15 AM

1,479 posts

QUOTE(redken @ Dec 12 2006, 12:31 AM)
Oh yeah? Try buying from LowYat and check their warranty policy or their restocking fee if you are not satisfied with the item. You may be very lucky that you do not have to RMA your item so far with any of your purchase...but Dell's warranty policy is the best of its kind in Malaysia. Whats in paper is exactly in practice. Have you ever tried their NBD on-site warranty cause I don't think you have from your above post lol. Buying from Dell means zero interruptions.

126 Pages « < 10 11 12 13 14 > » Top

0.0265sec    0.52    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 11:33 PM