Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

guitaristdavid
post Nov 6 2015, 09:29 AM

97 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2015, 09:23 AM)
How's the exchange rate of rm-rp? Flucates like usd-rm?
Since last year RM1: Rp3,700... till today is RM1: Rp 3,200... Looks stable for the time being, but will go down some more end of the year or beginning of next to Rp 3,100... I foresee so...
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 09:32 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(guitaristdavid @ Nov 6 2015, 09:29 AM)
Since last year RM1: Rp3,700... till today is RM1: Rp 3,200... Looks stable for the time being, but will go down some more end of the year or beginning of next to Rp 3,100... I foresee so...
Few questions
1) How do you put FD there? Take a flight there?
2) Do they accept malaysia's cheque?
3) How long do you put?

If putting indon FD at 9%, I think a flight there every 2 years to renew is kind of worth it.
bbgoat
post Nov 6 2015, 09:35 AM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Nov 6 2015, 07:54 AM)
India and Sri Lanka can be up to 15% pa.  So my expat Indian and Sri Lankan colleagues earn in SGD and place FD in their home country.  Sibeh perfect combination.
Yeah, this is the perfect combination. For expat you mentioned. No worry so much on currency fluctuation. biggrin.gif
mohdyusof
post Nov 6 2015, 09:36 AM

74 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2015, 09:32 AM)
Few questions
3) How long do you put?

If putting indon FD at 9%, I think a flight there every 2 years to renew is kind of worth it.
abang, dia cakap bagi orang bukan m'sia lah! doh.gif

bukan fly there, susah lah!
familyfirst
post Nov 6 2015, 09:55 AM

1,311 posts

Few questions
3) How long do you put?

QUOTE(mohdyusof @ Nov 6 2015, 09:36 AM)

Yup, this is not for us. Only for their nationality and those working there with valid work permit lo.
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 10:02 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(mohdyusof @ Nov 6 2015, 09:36 AM)

Dia earn in RM and letak FD kat sana. Dia tak cakap dia orang indonesia Kalau exchange rate indonesia tak banyak tukar macam usd-rm, itu berbaloi. Letak 2-3 tahun di sana dengan interest 8-9%/p.a. Jumaat yg banyak say rm100k, beli tiket airasia yg paling murah, tak perlu menginap effective interest kalau ga salah pasti 6-7%/p.a

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 6 2015, 10:03 AM
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 10:09 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(familyfirst @ Nov 6 2015, 09:55 AM)
Yup, this is not for us.  Only for their nationality and those working there with valid work permit lo.
Not true. According to this article, there are some people who put FD in India (malaysian who frequently fly to India)

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...mic-uncertainty
yygo
post Nov 6 2015, 10:11 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2015, 10:02 AM)
Dia earn in RM and letak FD kat sana. Dia tak cakap dia orang indonesia  Kalau exchange rate indonesia tak banyak tukar macam usd-rm, itu berbaloi.  Letak 2-3 tahun di sana dengan interest 8-9%/p.a. Jumaat yg banyak say rm100k, beli tiket airasia yg paling murah, tak perlu menginap effective interest kalau ga salah pasti 6-7%/p.a
bro, you need to learn to analyse and read posts carefully. not just simple reply and get your post count up. you have been doing that. laugh.gif

does not make sense to fly to a foreign country just to place deposit (singapore excluded). political/economy stability, flight/time cost to be considered. foreign workers can transfer funds and place fd there. currency fluctuation not big concern as they can still use the currency there (family/relative). there is also a reason why their fd is high interest, economic uncertainty!
cybpsych
post Nov 6 2015, 10:13 AM

---------------------
65,278 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 6 2015, 10:11 AM)
bro, you need to learn to analyse and read posts carefully. not just simple reply and get your post count up. you have been doing that. laugh.gif

does not make sense to fly to a foreign country just to place deposit (singapore excluded). political/economy stability, flight/time cost to be considered. foreign workers can transfer funds and place fd there. currency fluctuation not big concern as they can still use the currency there (family/relative). there is also a reason why their fd is high interest, economic uncertainty!
he's purely think about $ and sen, not other elements.

another batch of useless discussions.
yygo
post Nov 6 2015, 10:18 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2015, 10:09 AM)
Not true. According to this article, there are some people who put FD in India (malaysian who frequently fly to India)

http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysi...mic-uncertainty
bro, do you fly to india frequently as mentioned in the article? are you an indian and have relatives there? laugh.gif

please analyse situation more detail. will stop on this discussion here.
Ramjade
post Nov 6 2015, 10:21 AM

24,335 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 6 2015, 10:11 AM)

Come on man. Think of it this way if their exchange rate does not fluctuate much, air ticket cost say rm100/way = RM200/return trip (air Asia promo time) If you can put rm100k, and say taxis only rm100, flight is like 2 hours (kl-kuching is 2 hours), put for 2 years at say 8%, able to earn rm16k in 2 years, your cost of bringing back the money is rm300 (as shown above) I think is worth it.

(Rm15700/rm100k x 100%) /2 = 1 year returns is approximately 8%

That is if their exchange rate does not fluctuate much.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Nov 6 2015, 10:28 AM
guitaristdavid
post Nov 6 2015, 10:30 AM

97 posts

Few questions
3) How long do you put?

No offence... I am stationed in Indonesia, definitely not a problem for your queries 1 and 2 above.
For no.3, i have a bank which company worked closely with, due to my relationship with them, they offered me 1 year period but no penalty to break in between and interest counted till the day i break...

Basically, most of the bank in Indonesia allow Foreigner to have a bank account and also accept foreign currency and eventually converted to Rp...

If you have some trusted person here in INdonesia, you can ask them to place FD for you and you pay he/she Rm and of coz share abit of your interest to your friend as helping in great...
yygo
post Nov 6 2015, 10:33 AM

895 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 6 2015, 10:21 AM)
Come on man. Think of it this way if their exchange rate does not fluctuate much, air ticket cost say rm100/way = RM200/return trip (air Asia promo time) If you can put rm100k, and say taxis only rm100, flight is like 2 hours (kl-kuching is 2 hours),  put for 2 years at say 8%, able to earn rm16k in 2 years, your cost of bringing back the money is rm300 (as shown above) I think is worth it.

(Rm15700/rm100k x 100%) /2 = 1 year returns is approximately 8%

That is if their exchange rate does not fluctuate much.
tun, thinking too shallow. laugh.gif please see what i said earlier.

we talked about malaysia fd. please stop this useless discussion. doh.gif
gsc
post Nov 6 2015, 12:59 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 6 2015, 10:33 AM)
tun, thinking too shallow.  laugh.gif please see what i said earlier.

we talked about malaysia fd. please stop this useless discussion. doh.gif
Agreed. The pages moved very fast but unrelated posts.

Can anyone confirm RHB 3 months 4.2% is pure FD? Tq
Vincent9696
post Nov 6 2015, 01:23 PM

983 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Nov 6 2015, 12:59 PM)
Agreed. The pages moved very fast but unrelated posts.

Can anyone confirm RHB 3 months 4.2% is pure FD? Tq
Yes pure FD with minimum fresh fund 10k
yahiko
post Nov 6 2015, 02:48 PM

1,215 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Nov 6 2015, 01:23 PM)
Yes pure FD with minimum fresh fund 10k
can apply online like CIMB ? or need to walk in with cash/cheque?
mohdyusof
post Nov 6 2015, 03:52 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(yahiko @ Nov 6 2015, 02:48 PM)
can apply online like CIMB ? or need to walk in with cash/cheque?
cannot. perlu pergi ke branch
sweetie_viking
post Nov 6 2015, 04:07 PM

42 posts

hmmm.... anyone got this? just made an online FD placement in UOB. what is this? unsure.gif
cklimm
post Nov 6 2015, 04:14 PM

2,337 posts

QUOTE(sweetie_viking @ Nov 6 2015, 04:07 PM)
hmmm.... anyone got this? just made an online FD placement in UOB. what is this? unsure.gif
it is a gift from Uob for placing their efd, let us know when you received it
mohdyusof
post Nov 6 2015, 04:18 PM

74 posts

QUOTE(sweetie_viking @ Nov 6 2015, 04:07 PM)
for first 400 customer starting nov 1. did they say what gift or mystery gift? hmm.gif

125 Pages « < 77 78 79 80 81 > » Top

0.0353sec    0.73    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:27 PM