Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.10, Please Read Post #1 & #2

gsc
post Oct 18 2015, 02:35 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Oct 17 2015, 12:11 PM)
The root cause for the non interest payment over FD due date fall on non business day is due to the some bank's FD system treated this type of withdrawal as premature withdrawal for the renewed placement from the due date to the next business day (day of withdrawal).  The FD system has no provision to cater for such situation.
Maybe there is no rules from BNM or not many depositors complain about it to push the banks to upgrade to smarter FD system similar to that of OCBC.
UOB FD system will automatically makes it mature on week day. Wonder is it a Singapore central bank policy since both are from Singapore.

My UOB placement was on 17/10/2014, the maturity date is 19/10/2015 which is a Monday.

Another FD placement on 29/10/2014, maturity date 29/10/2015
gsc
post Oct 19 2015, 07:44 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 18 2015, 03:13 PM)
Hu.. one of the leng lui was sibeh sexy, I was thinking to take picture,
but noticed there was a sticker attached on the BSN glass door stating
not allowed to take picture...

In most banks, I guess more than 70% of FD depositors are Chinese lah..
Bumi can get 7%xx from Pos office, but I do not know what kind of saving account
it is..

When I look at BSN staffs slow working progress, I feel like I do not have confidence
in this bank..They give me an impression that they are not efficient..
The sticker said no picture allowed but leng lui is not BSN property, you are not taking picture on BSN property lah...next time remember to take picture for bbgoat eyetainment

BSN service is very slow and inefficient...I experieced that last time when my money was moved out due to my account is inactive. Need to go at least three times to get it settled

First time submitted info and passbook as proof. I was asked to come back after a few days for the bank to check. Second time went back, was told the status. Then .after 1 month nothing happen...
Third time went to follow up....
Then only receive an email on the status....

The working pace is the workers themselves didahulukan...

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 19 2015, 07:45 PM
gsc
post Oct 20 2015, 11:13 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 19 2015, 08:13 PM)
Have tried to do online withdrawal for UOB's FD. But though today is due date, the FD is still NOT updated online. So tomorrow will have to take a look if I can do online termination. Then save a trip to UOB.  biggrin.gif

@gsc, I did not see any leng lui RM there, do you ?  brows.gif

One of my UOB  FD's 6 month interest was paid one day later 2 weeks ago. System problem ?  hmm.gif
UOB has changed the system. There is a KPI (key performance index) on the counter staff on time taken to process transaction All forms have to be filled in first before proceeding to the counters. Very unfriendly to customers. Was told to go to customer service counters to get the form filled in but all the staffs were fully occupied. Comparatively Ocbc and Citi bank are much better in customer service.

Bbgoat, UOB on average has more young leng lui compared to that of Ocbc.

Late one day payment on interest ? Thought you monitor your FD and renew on mature day? You better find out why and may be other members also affected but didnt reliase.

Uob does not allow to top up on matured FD like last time to enjoy the promo rate. The IBG is Rm1 and Rentas is rm5.

By the way, Ocbc has called to collect the hugo boss pen.

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 20 2015, 11:18 PM
gsc
post Oct 21 2015, 03:02 AM

1,624 posts

Deleted

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 21 2015, 03:03 AM
gsc
post Oct 22 2015, 11:07 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(cj7lee @ Oct 21 2015, 09:16 AM)
I went to UOB two days ago to place FD and was served by a young lady. Throughout the account opening process, I just need to sit in front of her desk and passed her the cheque only. She helped me to open a Savings Account, and a FD account at her desk, not even needed to go to other counter except made the initial deposit at ATM.

My experience: UOB lenglui is more friendly and professional that OCBC lenglui.
The UOB I went to is at Penang Kelawai road branch...many customers were waiting and the customer service staffs couldnt cope. During that day, the counter staff supervisor was sort of raising her voice, calling the customer service staffs " any one can help? " (It was another customer that needs help.) About 1 min later, one Uob gentleman appereared and said every one was busy.

Implemet the new KPI system is shifting the problem from counter to the customer service. In terms of premier customer service still Citi first, follow by Ocbc...Uob the worst
gsc
post Oct 26 2015, 06:23 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(sandkoh @ Oct 25 2015, 02:04 PM)
signature talk again.................. laugh.gif  rclxm9.gif
It is garbage logic
gsc
post Oct 29 2015, 07:17 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(hwachong @ Oct 28 2015, 10:08 PM)
what is amquantum?
Deleted

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 29 2015, 07:18 PM
gsc
post Oct 29 2015, 07:25 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Oct 28 2015, 09:38 PM)
Am Bank 4.6% for 2 years FD promo on The Star today:

[attachmentid=5202942]
Just made a FD placement today at Am bank for 2 years. Interest credited into truesaver

UOB 12 months 4.2%
Ambank 2 years 4.6%.
Ocbc 13 months 4.2%.

Have placed into all these banks.

gsc
post Oct 29 2015, 07:27 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(ts1 @ Oct 29 2015, 10:48 AM)
6mths 4.15% and 12mths 4.25%

i just placed a bit on 6mths  tongue.gif
Ambank gave you 4.25% for 12 months. Was at Ambank today and the brochure written 4.2%
gsc
post Oct 29 2015, 07:36 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 26 2015, 07:07 PM)
Alright, I will give you few examples.
These examples are ways people are giving free money to banks.
One may argue that different banks give different rates. Yes that's true. But what's stopping them from giving the same rate as their competitor? Nothing. They are just keeping the money for themselves (making banks richer as they do not need to pay out more interest). The end user is the loser as one gets lesser interest from the banks. mad.gif vmad.gif
Banks do not reward you with gold bars even if you are loyal to them for 20+ years. Hence one's loyalty should not be with the banks but to the no in one's account. smile.gif

I won't mentioned names of bank but I think you guys know which bank is that in the example given. whistling.gif laugh.gif
Today went to Citi bank withdraw my mature FD.

The counter girl asked why want to withdraw.
I said because your bank robbed my money
She said "I beg my pardon"
I said i dont want to give Citi bank free money. whistling.gif

Milo at Giant sold at 33 and Tesco sold at 31. Giant robbed me rm2? Or I give Giant rm2?

This post has been edited by gsc: Oct 29 2015, 07:37 PM
gsc
post Oct 29 2015, 07:44 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Oct 23 2015, 09:04 AM)
The PB centre upstairs, did you encounter this problem ? You and I may have rub shoulders without knowing it.  tongue.gif

I do like CB PB centre for its service. Like OCBC PB centre for the leng lui and the decoration. UOB PB centre kind of clamped and old (same as SCB PB centre). But have not been there (UOB PB centre) for quite some months.  biggrin.gif
I only go to the one at Kelawai rd because the one in town is practically impossible to find the car park
gsc
post Nov 6 2015, 12:59 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(yygo @ Nov 6 2015, 10:33 AM)
tun, thinking too shallow.  laugh.gif please see what i said earlier.

we talked about malaysia fd. please stop this useless discussion. doh.gif
Agreed. The pages moved very fast but unrelated posts.

Can anyone confirm RHB 3 months 4.2% is pure FD? Tq
gsc
post Nov 6 2015, 10:45 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Vincent9696 @ Nov 6 2015, 01:23 PM)
Yes pure FD with minimum fresh fund 10k
Thanks for your speedy reply. Went to RhB, but was too late. Bank closd. Walked over to Ocbc, was told promo rate
6 months 4.3%
12 months 4.5%

Signed up the document ready for Monday placement. Promo ends Dec.
Ocbc is best rate so far.
gsc
post Nov 7 2015, 04:30 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(leo_kiatez @ Nov 7 2015, 09:26 AM)
Did you made the online appointment prior for ocbc FD placement? Is the promo rate available for walk-in customer & immediate placement? :-P
Didnt make any online appointment. Just walked and was informed the promo. Placement is immediate. Need fresh fund.
Last Friday I didnt plan to place with Ocbc coz not aware the promo and didnt bring cheque book. So only signed the document ready and Monday just need to pass the cheque.
gsc
post Nov 7 2015, 06:06 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 7 2015, 09:45 AM)
Earlier you asked about RHB 3 mths rate, so I tot you are going for short term. Now changed to OCBC 12 mth ?  biggrin.gif

I have even terminated my FD with CIMB (12 mth 4.35%) and moved to OCBC on 5/11, lose 3 days interest but still worth it due to the amt involved.  rclxms.gif
Walk in customer no issue, can do placement as usual.  rclxms.gif
I placed both 6 months and 12 months. Last months have placed 2 years on Ambank and 12 months UOB. Thinking of having some shorter months to spread out. Still didnt see any stunning RM inside Ocbc cry.gif
gsc
post Nov 8 2015, 01:09 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 7 2015, 06:47 PM)
The OCBC 12 mth 4.5% is the best so far. Though I did have AmBank 2 yrs 4.6%, 6 mths 4.25% (with the 20" trolley bag  rclxms.gif ). I did have MBSB and MBB 4.5% also. But now with OCBC 4.5% coming out, it is the best one with PIDM (though I don't really care too much about it).

Your standard is too high, OCBC PB centre new with young leng lui's inside there.  drool.gif I was there again on Thursday for the 12 mth 4.5% FD. The decoration is GREAT, relaxing. I just received RM300 for PB Member get Member program. Signed up 2 more, expecting RM600 in say 3 months' time.  drool.gif  rclxms.gif  biggrin.gif
I went to Ambank on the last day offer on 20 inch luggage bag, was told only first 500, non guarantee, thus didnt place for 6 months instead go for 2 years. Ocbc parking place is alway a headache
gsc
post Nov 10 2015, 02:33 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Nov 9 2015, 05:23 PM)
Hahaha, you are right. Last time Almighty Magician (should be him I think) have mentioned on BR FD pre-mature withdrawal we will still get the board rate or something like that. So this is my first time to terminate an FD which has been auto renewed. Today exactly 1 mth on the auto renewal date.

Anyway good that BR is giving interest even though just 1 mth after the auto renewal.  rclxms.gif I have been prepared to lose the 1 mth interest as I can gain it back from the 4.6% given by AmBank.  biggrin.gif

Their rate not competitive any more ! Their 4.3% would have been good if not for CIMB, OCBC, AmBank coming out with more attractive rates !  thumbup.gif
News mentioned US likely to increase the interest rate and expect ringgit to depreciate further. If US increases interest rate, BNM may follow. No wonder Ocbc promo till end of Dec. Let's see what will be UOB strategy to counter Ocbc
gsc
post Nov 13 2015, 10:35 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(kit2 @ Nov 13 2015, 05:17 PM)
ocbc's fd 4.5% is promoted as online, and yet you have to walk into a branch to get it!
Typical bank approach. Trying to get customers change their mind to look into other investment products. I have gone through this once and the staff already knew what I want is pure FD
gsc
post Nov 19 2015, 12:52 PM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Eujing @ Nov 18 2015, 11:15 PM)
I been placement to public bank 4 month promotion last time.... I wonder can add money to current fixed deposit. ....I am newbie 😅😅😅
When you made an earlier placement, there is a contract of agreement on FD placement stating the contract period. You cannot add money to current FD which is still in the contract.

Imagine the offer for Ocbc 12 months is 4.5% now and I have made a placement yesterday. Let's say the FD rate drops to 4% in Dec., do you think bank will allow you to add money on the 4.5% FD?
gsc
post Nov 22 2015, 01:16 AM

1,624 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Nov 21 2015, 02:09 PM)
You don't need to wait a few days. After the money appear in Bank B, you can straight transfer back to bank A. Make use of the free IBFT (instant transfer) available until 31st Dec.
IBFT or iBG? HL charges rm2.15. Not free

0.0495sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 05:31 AM