8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

Colon cancer, stage 3, To chemo, or not to chemo?

TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 01:12 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(nexusjd @ Oct 3 2015, 12:07 PM)
My mother in law had colon cancer stage 3 or 4  few year back. She did go through chemotherapy session, and it was a real suffer. Body became weak due to body cells killed during the chemotherapy.

She took alot of supplement products during that time. Such as Herbal Life and E.xcel during the chemotherapy session.
is herbal life suitable for a cancerous body ?
cause i had a classmate whom drink that before
he gotten skinnier
but once he reached his desire body weight
he fat up again(even though he keep his exercise and eating)

what chemotherapy did she went through?
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 02:07 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Oct 4 2015, 03:59 PM)
TS,

Please also watch the annual summary of this guy's work in my thread:

https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=3724601&hl=

icon_rolleyes.gif
arigato / thank you/ terima kasih thumbup.gif
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 02:19 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Oct 4 2015, 03:49 PM)
Forget chemo, its only harming the whole body cells not targeting the cancer cells itself.

Its unfortunate that the doctors have to resort to chopping of the large intestine, and the doctor is so unprofessional in that it is a rush job without bringing awareness to the risk involves as well as the side effects.

Nevertheless, its important to remember that doctors most commonly treat the symptoms not the root cause of the disease.

i agree on the chemo is harming your body

Quotes from wiki

"Hyperthermia therapy is a type of medical treatment in which body tissue is exposed to slightly higher temperatures to damage and kill cancer cells or to make cancer cells more sensitive to the effects of radiation and certain anti-cancer drugs. Techniques that may bring local tissues to quite high temperatures"

"Radiation therapy is commonly applied to the cancerous tumor because of its ability to control cell growth. Ionizing radiation works by damaging the DNA of cancerous tissue leading to cellular death."

and it's side effect ( the picture)

maybe one day my mom might do chemo
cause i think it's inevitable

but only maybe after her body get stronger
and her mentality is more positive unsure.gif

and from what i heard
the doctor has to cut the large intestine due to the cancer grow into a shape of a crab without it's legs
it grew go big that it jammed the large intestine cry.gif shocking.gif

TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 02:29 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(BryanKek @ Oct 3 2015, 02:19 AM)
With treatment, Stage 3 got approximately about 40-80% survival rate depending on the sub stage. Ask your doctor about the exact staging and the expected 5 year survival rate for your mom before making any decision. Anyone can have colorectal cancer regardless of whether you are "healthy" or not. The key to successful cancer treatment is always early detection. Anyone over the age of 50(men especially) should go for annual colonoscopy to detect precancerous or cancerous lesions.

tldr;
Without chemo, confirm die, just a matter of when. Confirm suffer from cancer complications.(not only related to bowel, cancer can spread to other organs and cause other problems as well)
With chemo, might survive(ask the exact percentages from her doctor), might die, confirm suffer from side effects of chemo.

Consider these before making decision. And let your mother choose, she is the one that needs to choose whether she wants to fight or not.
i heard many cancer stories over this 3 month
and here's my thought on chemo

chemo is good to some people
while it's bad to some

it burn and kill cells regardless of good or bad

some became cancer free
but some was fatally wounded

so it's kinda hard to say "Without chemo, confirm die"

but thank for you viewpoint
i think chemo is good
but maybe not at this time where her body is horribly weak sad.gif

and thanks for the heads up on the age 50 precancerous wink.gif

QUOTE(BryanKek @ Oct 3 2015, 02:19 AM)
edit: Regarding the earlier posts about metformin, bring it up to her doctor, metformin helps in prevention and also helps in therapy, but no conclusive evidence yet. Metformin has side effects too so don't simply give. Don't have negative perception about "western" medicine. There is no such thing as "western" or other kinds of medicine, there is only evidence based medicine. All treatments that the doctors suggest you mom is backed by the cumulative years of research by researchers all over the world.
will ask on her next check up
which is around nov and when she going back to my house icon_rolleyes.gif
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 02:54 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(danieln @ Oct 3 2015, 12:28 PM)
and lastly, depends on what religion she believes in, let her get closer to it like some light reading or play some religious sermons or related stuffs for her. that is to help her calm her mood down. an angry and bad mood person kills more cells are some say. so try to keep her mood calm and happy.

I am not an expert in this field but this are some advise I hear a lot. so hopefully it will help you. And good luck to your family.
Thank you for the advice rclxms.gif icon_rolleyes.gif /
and thanks for the wishes biggrin.gif
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 02:57 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(philipskardon @ Oct 4 2015, 02:21 AM)
U probably have not checked with the oncologist yet. Have a chat and find out how many sessions suggested. That will give you a time frame on how long long the perceived "suffering" is. Every individual reacts differently.

Once you hear the oncology out.. Then comes the hard decisions. Honestly... What other options do u have?

Regardless of your options, Diet changes as suggested by others gives you a piece of mind and hope.. But don't totally go vegan. Great if you can do it but no scientific proof. Supplements, anything that might induce hormonal changes should be avoided. Obviously you will never know specifically which may do so... 

Most important.. Stay positive, clean environment and try to be happy
icon_rolleyes.gif okiee

i'll ask on her next check up which is around nov laugh.gif

and is not that we're avoiding chemo
but ya actually we are but it's because having 3 surgeries + massive loss of body fats + bad mentality
we decided to no chemo first
until it seem ok to proceed unsure.gif
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 03:03 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(DemonTweakZ @ Oct 5 2015, 02:43 PM)
Well seems like you guys are doing a great job so far! keep up the good work then!  flex.gif
icon_rolleyes.gif flex.gif

You mom will definitely be going through a tough time now. Remember, getting to grips with having cancer is also hard so she'll definitely be frustrated. Just be there for her when she complains about everything. A happy patient heals faster.
that was the biggest mistake that me and my relative took
we were so worried and scared that we forgotten her mentality/emotional needs sad.gif
honestly, i felt like shit that it took me 2 month to realize that mega_shok.gif
but now i tried to listen and understand her more openly :>

My wife did 7 weeks of chemo (1 session + 5 x radiotherapy weekly). She basically goes to the cancer day care center and gets 3 IV drips (1 bottle of saline before and after her bottle of cisplatin). The saline is to avoid dehydration. On her 6th chemo session, she developed an alergic reaction to Cisplatin. According to the doctor, it's normal and she took some additional meds and was fine.

She's doing well now. She's got quarterly checkups with her ENT and Onco.
that's good to hear biggrin.gif!!
and chemo sound ok :I
but the radiotherapy give me some worried sweat.gif
what dietary did your wife have? :B

Did you manage to ask your doctor for more info on the proposed treatment and medication type? Just be aware of the side effects of ANY method of medication. Read up before making your decision.

You should get a second opinion as well.
hmm hmm.gif
betul pun~
i'll ask that on the next check up smile.gif
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 03:04 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(icehart85 @ Oct 5 2015, 06:13 PM)
It wont help as biology teach you nothing in nutrition. Heck, even medical doctors only have 3 hours max of study in nutrition throughout the many years of their study.

You have to take your time to research yourself on nutrition.
time to studies l cool.gif doh.gif
TSiimcrystal
post Oct 8 2015, 03:08 AM

627 posts

QUOTE(Empathy @ Oct 5 2015, 07:40 PM)
I just feel sorry for your mother . I done years of research on diseases and most of us treat doctors like God . If doctors were so smart , doctors would easily live more than 100 . But the fact is that doctors life span is just like us . Doctors were taught how to treat symptoms with nothing but drugs and we all know that drugs have horrible side effects long term .
*sign* trust issues shakehead.gif

IMO cancer patients don't die of cancer but they die because of the horrible side effects of chemo .
THIS IS WHAT I MEANT ABOUT CHEMOTHERAPY laugh.gif nod.gif notworthy.gif

How do we get cancer ? We get cancer because of our lifestyle . Eating the bad food , don't drink enough plain water , not enough sunshine , not enough fresh air , not enough sleep . The human body is really a fantastic machine that can heal itself , if we allow it to heal . If we keep on doing the bad lifestyle , the body don't have the chance to heal itself .
my mom lifestyle b4 cancer
coffee x 2 pack + cigarette + lack of sleep + over stressed + lack of appetites + stubborn to check up doh.gif shakehead.gif
Ramjade
post Oct 8 2015, 06:01 AM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Oct 8 2015, 01:12 AM)
is herbal life suitable for a cancerous body ?
cause i had a classmate whom drink that before
he gotten skinnier
but once he reached his desire body weight
he fat up again(even though he keep his exercise and eating)

what chemotherapy did she went through?
Please la. Herballife? MLM. I wouldn't touch MLM products with a 10 feet pole. They might work but they are in for your money. You are better off drinking green (cucumber, lettuce, kale, brocolli, carrot, tomato, capsicum, lemon, turmeric, purple cabbage) vegetable juice. Combine it with the turmeric tea. There are so many ways to get those supplements cheaply. Even stuff whcih can boost your NK cells. (other than transfer factors) No need to burn a hole in your pocket some more. Srirulina, chlorella, turmeric are much more effective ways. Forget about getting spirulina and chlorella from local MLM sellers. If you know how to get online, you save >200% of what you are paying those people. Turmeric without the oil is useless. It will just pass through the body. Nothing absorbed. So up to you what you want to to do.

This post has been edited by Ramjade: Oct 8 2015, 11:45 AM
Ramjade
post Oct 8 2015, 06:13 AM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(leanneleong @ Oct 7 2015, 11:45 PM)
I know doctors who believe in alternative medicine and about their successful stories.
Can you write down where are thry located? That way, it might be helpful for people here.
leanneleong
post Oct 8 2015, 07:22 AM

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 8 2015, 06:13 AM)
Can you write down where are thry located? That way, it might be helpful for people here.
The ones i know are in KL.

Ramjade
post Oct 8 2015, 08:18 AM

24,344 posts

QUOTE(leanneleong @ Oct 8 2015, 07:22 AM)
The ones i know are in KL.
Provided the place ey are working.
DemonTweakZ
post Oct 8 2015, 08:50 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Oct 8 2015, 03:03 AM)
that was the biggest mistake that me and my relative took
we were so worried and scared that we forgotten her mentality/emotional needs sad.gif
honestly, i felt like shit that it took me 2 month to realize that mega_shok.gif
but now i tried to listen and understand her more openly :>
Hey! don't beat yourself up for it. We all make mistakes. I learnt this only when she was going through treatment. Take it as a chance to learn something.
In all of this, you'll learn to appreciate the finer things in life.

that's good to hear biggrin.gif!!
and chemo sound ok :I
but the radiotherapy give me some worried  sweat.gif
what dietary did your wife have? :B
Well chemo isn't as bad as people portray it. As long as you know and understand the side effects and take precautions against them, she'll be ok. Also make sure to find out her recovery chance from at least two oncologists.

hmm  hmm.gif
betul pun~
i'll ask that on the next check up smile.gif
Don't be ashamed to ask questions. When i was meeting her ENT/Onco i remember asking everything that came to my mind. Ask away. They'll be happy to answer anything and calm your doubts.

Remember to always take any bit of advice with a pinch of salt and get second opinions.
icehart85
post Oct 8 2015, 09:45 AM

874 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Oct 8 2015, 02:07 AM)
arigato / thank you/ terima kasih  thumbup.gif
I hope the case presented in the videos is strong enough for you to make the right changes. sweat.gif
labbit235
post Oct 8 2015, 11:33 AM

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Oct 8 2015, 06:01 AM)
Please la. Herballife? MLM. I wouldn't touch MLM products with a 10 feet pole. They might work but they are in for your money. You are better off drinking green (cucumber, lettuce, kale, brocolli, carrot, tomato, capsicum, lemon, turmeric, purple cabbage) vegetable juice. Combine it with the turmeric tea. There are so many ways to get those supplements cheaply. Even stuff whcih can boost your NK cells. (other than transfer factors) No need to burn a hole in your pocket some more. Srirulina, chlorella, turmeric are much more effective ways. Forget about getting spirulina and chlorella from local MLM sellers. If you know how to get online, you save >200% of what you are paying those people. Turmeric without the bad is useless. It will just pass through the body. Nothing absorbed. So up to you what you want to to do.
ya i agree.. MLM products are dubious and not sure if they use harmful chemicals... just eat more green and cut down on red meat. balanced and healthy diet is best thumbup.gif
leanneleong
post Oct 8 2015, 12:32 PM

Check this video out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTQwB63-cgI

This is a video on Dr. Lawrence Fong explaining the interaction between the immune system and cancer. Immune system is the answer to cancer. There are too many studies on this and cancer institutes are already talking about this.

Check this out as well:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPIDgm5rgV0

This is about Antroquinonol, the latest technology, already gone through FDA Clinical Test Phase 1 and awaiting Phase 2 result by end of this year. It works as a target therapy. The two things I have recommended here, help. If you want more information, please let me know and I will direct you to speak to the doctors.

I am just trying to help and I have done my part. I will leave it with you to decide.
icehart85
post Oct 8 2015, 01:12 PM

874 posts

QUOTE(leanneleong @ Oct 8 2015, 12:32 PM)
Check this video out:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CTQwB63-cgI

This is a video on Dr. Lawrence Fong explaining the interaction between the immune system and cancer. Immune system is the answer to cancer. There are too many studies on this and cancer institutes are already talking about this.

Check this out as well:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TPIDgm5rgV0

This is about Antroquinonol, the latest technology, already gone through FDA Clinical Test Phase 1 and awaiting Phase 2 result by end of this year. It works as a target therapy. The two things I have recommended here, help. If you want more information, please let me know and I will direct you to speak to the doctors.

I am just trying to help and I have done my part. I will leave it with you to decide.
Fact is, I agree with you on the immune system and cancer. But here's the thing, you can improve or worsen your immune system with diet. So which diet that has been proven to improve your immune system? I leave you for that to ponder.

Drug is not the solution if at the end of the day, you are still worsening your immune system with your diet and get a relapse later.
sportivo
post Oct 10 2015, 09:29 PM

64 posts

Drug & steroid can only suppress the symptom or put the radical cells into dormant. Anytime sooner or later these radical cells will relapse and attack again. Do remember those drug or steroid is killing your kidneys anyway. Chemo destroys life more than saving life. Results shown life expectancy equal or less than 3 years.

Certain TCM herbal is so exotic you can rarely find it enough to consume i.e. Sky Mountain Snow Lotus “天山雪莲”

All organism is made up of cell including humans. stem cell is the origin of universal constructive cell. current bio-technology, we could only extract these stem cell safely out from the placenta of goat or deer. without killing the mother nor the baby.
sportivo
post Oct 10 2015, 09:57 PM

64 posts

http://youtu.be/9j0xxtSNgBQ

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top

0.0299sec    0.23    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 05:39 AM