Colon cancer, stage 3, To chemo, or not to chemo?

DemonTweakZ
post Oct 2 2015, 04:29 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Oct 2 2015, 04:00 PM)

And the doctor suggested doing chemotherapy

But with my mom condition  of losing body fats, 4 pint of blood lost during the surgeries, and she has a bad case of depression/lack of moods

I honestly don't think she should take chemotherapy

But i don't know what else to do to help her sad.gif
Anyone know what else to do beside doing chemotherapy?
I heard the sideeffect is terrible and dangerous
Anyone has these kind of experience?
I feel really insecure and helpless and worried about my mom mental well being.

3 years back my wife was diagnosed with nose cancer (NPC). While its not the same as colon cancer, she had to do radio therapy and chemo (cisplatin) for 7 weeks.

She lost a lot of weight and was generally very week after 2 weeks of chemo. as I was her primary care giver, i had to make sure the house is always clean and avoid allowing too many people into her room to visit. She's got to be in a clean environment throughout the time of her treatment. Also note that her taste change as the chemo medication is platinum based so everything might start tasting metallish or fishy.

The hardest hit will be her emotional wellbeing. Make sure you and your family are there for her emotionally if you decide to do chemo.

A lot of people were suggesting alternative medication. I made my decision based on her recovery chance. As the onco for that. My wife's chances of recovery were high so we went for chemo.

Also make sure you do research yourself on care giving methods. Also do some research on the type of medication being administered. The hospital should also have support groups that will be useful as they can provide encouragement for your mom.
DemonTweakZ
post Oct 5 2015, 02:43 PM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Oct 4 2015, 03:59 PM)
And i read that your emotions has a part in your immune system
If too negative, you immune system might work worse(sorry, hard to explain this but i hope you get the point)

But for now we're deciding whether to allow her for chemotherapy
We worried it's too much for her body

But thanks for your experience of your wife's chemotherapy
May i know what chemotherapy method did the doctor used on your wife?
And how's your wife if i may ask
Ignore if you want as it's a personal question sweat.gif

Thanks for the advice and in depths experience! o7o☆
Well seems like you guys are doing a great job so far! keep up the good work then! flex.gif

You mom will definitely be going through a tough time now. Remember, getting to grips with having cancer is also hard so she'll definitely be frustrated. Just be there for her when she complains about everything. A happy patient heals faster.

My wife did 7 weeks of chemo (1 session + 5 x radiotherapy weekly). She basically goes to the cancer day care center and gets 3 IV drips (1 bottle of saline before and after her bottle of cisplatin). The saline is to avoid dehydration. On her 6th chemo session, she developed an alergic reaction to Cisplatin. According to the doctor, it's normal and she took some additional meds and was fine.

She's doing well now. She's got quarterly checkups with her ENT and Onco.

Did you manage to ask your doctor for more info on the proposed treatment and medication type? Just be aware of the side effects of ANY method of medication. Read up before making your decision.

You should get a second opinion as well.
DemonTweakZ
post Oct 8 2015, 08:50 AM

Pretengineer Detector
1,042 posts

QUOTE(iimcrystal @ Oct 8 2015, 03:03 AM)
that was the biggest mistake that me and my relative took
we were so worried and scared that we forgotten her mentality/emotional needs sad.gif
honestly, i felt like shit that it took me 2 month to realize that mega_shok.gif
but now i tried to listen and understand her more openly :>
Hey! don't beat yourself up for it. We all make mistakes. I learnt this only when she was going through treatment. Take it as a chance to learn something.
In all of this, you'll learn to appreciate the finer things in life.

that's good to hear biggrin.gif!!
and chemo sound ok :I
but the radiotherapy give me some worried  sweat.gif
what dietary did your wife have? :B
Well chemo isn't as bad as people portray it. As long as you know and understand the side effects and take precautions against them, she'll be ok. Also make sure to find out her recovery chance from at least two oncologists.

hmm  hmm.gif
betul pun~
i'll ask that on the next check up smile.gif
Don't be ashamed to ask questions. When i was meeting her ENT/Onco i remember asking everything that came to my mind. Ask away. They'll be happy to answer anything and calm your doubts.

Remember to always take any bit of advice with a pinch of salt and get second opinions.

0.0193sec    0.31    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 08:39 AM