Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

stimix
post Jan 3 2011, 11:19 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Yeah during winter last mth, by 5PM Korean time or 4PM M'sian tima already dark. can't enjoy much daylight
childish_gal81
post Jan 3 2011, 11:25 AM

308 posts

Oh thanks for the advice.
So Nami Island first, then only Hwacheon Sancheoneo (Mountain Trout) Ice Festival?

If we taking train, is it as following :
Took subway from Sinseol-dong station to Cheongnyangni Train station (900w) to take the 10.20am Korail train to Gapyeong station (4,000w)

From Gapyeong, take Korail train back to Cheongnyangni station, go to the bus stop next to the train station to catch a Hwacheon-bound bus that leaves the Chuncheon Express Bus Terminal every 30 minutes.

Then back to Seoul with the same bus to Cheongnyangni station?

Then take t
zstan
post Jan 3 2011, 11:37 AM

15,856 posts

QUOTE(mafilee @ Jan 3 2011, 11:13 AM)
can anyone advise me for dslr user..
for this winter season dun u think it will effect the dslr condition..
after we shoot the photos..we can not hold outside is it..i'm afraid my dslr "tak tahan sejuk"...
don't worry..your camera can tahan sejuk more than your hands can.... smile.gif
stimix
post Jan 3 2011, 11:46 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

The ticket price from Cheongyangi to Gapyeong is not really 4000won. If I can recall, only 3200won for standyby/standing ticket without seat (If you dun book or all seats are full) and ~ 3700won for seat. BTW, fron Gapyeong, yopu can cantinue on the same train to Chuncheon i.e Namchuncheon station..The last station along that line. (From Cheongyangi to Namchuncheon is 5700won seat ticket.

I'm not sure about Hwacheong but u did mentioned Chuncheon..so i make more sense to go direct from Gapyeong to Namchuncheon rather than go back to Seoul again... hmm.gif

QUOTE(childish_gal81 @ Jan 3 2011, 11:25 AM)
Oh thanks for the advice.
So Nami Island first, then only Hwacheon Sancheoneo (Mountain Trout) Ice Festival?

If we taking train, is it as following :
Took subway from Sinseol-dong station to Cheongnyangni Train station (900w) to take the 10.20am Korail train to Gapyeong station (4,000w)

From Gapyeong, take Korail train back to Cheongnyangni station, go to the bus stop next to the train station to catch a Hwacheon-bound bus that leaves the Chuncheon Express Bus Terminal every 30 minutes.

Then back to Seoul with the same bus to Cheongnyangni station?

Then take t
childish_gal81
post Jan 3 2011, 11:49 AM

308 posts

oh thanks a lot..now i understand..Chuncheon is Namchuncheon ..lol..

So, nami island in the morning then only the ice festival..
thanks ya!
stimix
post Jan 3 2011, 11:53 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

BTW, meter taxi starting rate in Gapyeong & Chucheon is cheaper than Seoul by atleast 300won, Seoul I think starts at 2500won and at Gapyeong & Chuncheon, 2200won ..if I still can recalled
zstan
post Jan 3 2011, 11:56 AM

15,856 posts

premium taxis start at 7000 won IIRC. smile.gif
b00n
post Jan 3 2011, 12:02 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(mafilee @ Jan 3 2011, 11:13 AM)
can anyone advise me for dslr user..
for this winter season dun u think it will effect the dslr condition..
after we shoot the photos..we can not hold outside is it..i'm afraid my dslr "tak tahan sejuk"...

We went with 2 60D plus 1 compact Sony TX5 and 1 Ixus snapping many pictures for the whole day even at night, no problem with the battery. Can last us the whole day. Only problem is your hand feels cold and memory card not enough to store.
I think my Sony TX5 (weather proofs and winter proofs) battery life is worst than the other 2 60D.
haha
So no worries on the cameras.

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 3 2011, 11:53 AM)
BTW, meter taxi starting rate in Gapyeong & Chucheon is cheaper than Seoul by atleast 300won, Seoul I think starts at 2500won and at Gapyeong & Chuncheon, 2200won ..if I still can recalled
Yeah. Around there.
Just to give more infor, from Gapyeong station towards Nami ferry station cost around 3300won.
From Chuncheon station towards the town Myeong-dung (for pan fried chicken) also cost around that price.

sfwong1
post Jan 3 2011, 01:06 PM

456 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Jan 3 2011, 11:37 AM)
don't worry..your camera can tahan sejuk more than your hands can.... smile.gif
rclxms.gif lol true true.I went to nami island like normal taking pics with digital camera working just fine,just that my hand cannot tahan cos too cold edi. What to do nami island scenery is nice so have to spam pics tahan the cold weather. If u got a 90% down jacket put it on plus 1 long john then normal shirt kau tim edi,ppl tend to forget about their fingers and ears. Only care about body,but importantly is your finger,the temp got so cold that u even feel reluctant to take your hands out of your pockets
mafilee
post Jan 3 2011, 01:34 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Jan 3 2011, 01:06 PM)
rclxms.gif lol true true.I went to nami island like normal taking pics with digital camera working just fine,just that my hand cannot tahan cos too cold edi. What to do nami island scenery is nice so have to spam pics tahan the cold weather. If u got a 90%  down jacket put it on plus 1 long john then normal shirt kau tim edi,ppl tend to forget about their fingers and ears. Only care about body,but importantly is your finger,the temp got so cold that u even feel reluctant to take your hands out of your pockets
thanx for reminder abt long john and thanx for the info abt the dslr...
i'm going this month 21st oh so excited but feel nervous too .. never been time winter season and afraid of everything..huhuhu.. hmm.gif
spidergirl
post Jan 3 2011, 01:51 PM

144 posts

Hi all, if I have only 4 days effectively in Seoul, is it worth it to go for a day trip for skiing? I'm planning to go afternoon ski 1pm - 5pm, but now thinking that it might be a waste of money, time and energy if I were to go for a short trip. What do you guys think?

N00DL35
post Jan 3 2011, 02:22 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Jan 3 2011, 01:51 PM)
Hi all, if I have only 4 days effectively in Seoul, is it worth it to go for a day trip for skiing? I'm planning to go afternoon ski 1pm - 5pm, but now thinking that it might be a waste of money, time and energy if I were to go for a short trip. What do you guys think?
you should go to the Hwacheon Mountain Trout Ice Festival instead. ;-)

catch fish, eat it, sledding and so much more.. or so thats how i got hooked.

Thanks for the useful baby link as well! I think he's more prepared than i am at the mo!

spidergirl
post Jan 3 2011, 02:26 PM

144 posts

QUOTE(N00DL35 @ Jan 3 2011, 03:22 PM)
you should go to the Hwacheon Mountain Trout Ice Festival instead. ;-)

catch fish, eat it, sledding and so much more.. or so thats how i got hooked.

Thanks for the useful baby link as well! I think he's more prepared than i am at the mo!
Can you do all that in 1 day? hmm.gif
childish_gal81
post Jan 3 2011, 02:34 PM

308 posts

we cant? i just plan to go there half day!! uh oh..
sophistafunk
post Jan 3 2011, 02:47 PM

What is the period for Hwacheon Mountain Trout Ice Festival? I'm going to South Korea from 27 Feb - 9 Mar. Am I too late for it?
N00DL35
post Jan 3 2011, 04:15 PM

108 posts

QUOTE(sophistafunk @ Jan 3 2011, 02:47 PM)
What is the period for Hwacheon Mountain Trout Ice Festival? I'm going to South Korea from 27 Feb - 9 Mar. Am I too late for it?
Yeah it ends late January. sweat.gif
sfwong1
post Jan 3 2011, 06:30 PM

456 posts

i think 1-5pm enuf already i also ski for about 4 hrs but spend my time on the ice for about 1 to 2 hrs only cos too tired already,not much fun if u dont get the gondola ride up cos what i did is i took out the long ski board attach to yr feet carry it walk up for some distance then put it on then slide back down. lol but when u wanna attach it back its difficult cos of the wind blow and when u put 1 leg on then that leg will tend to slide down leaving the other leg behind,so u pandai pandai adjust to side then put it on then only head downward.

This post has been edited by sfwong1: Jan 3 2011, 06:30 PM
norlene1127
post Jan 4 2011, 11:23 AM

QUOTE(Carmein @ Dec 11 2010, 01:07 AM)
aeiou228, haha. It's all in my camera. And Im still in Seoul now. Lazy to extract them as they are large. :P

If anyone has the Seoul Best 100 guide book in green, it will be really good!
I got it from Bangrang Hostel here.
hey, i'm interested to the books....
can u post a picture of the books pls....? many thanks
divasweet_77
post Jan 4 2011, 01:46 PM

55 posts

for those who wanted to go to Korea after March.. go and check out the KTO booth during Matta Fair, there are lots of booklet given for free.. I collected the Seoul Best 100, Top 10 places for the a few provinces.. etc.. but sadly none are in my hands right now.. sad.gif.. or you guys can just download the E-Book from the official KTO website. If I'm not mistaken you can request for the book and they will post it to you..
koinibler
post Jan 4 2011, 08:43 PM

2,050 posts

my trip is about a month away, but KTO still didn't send me any book, guide or booklet as they promise sad.gif

125 Pages « < 99 100 101 102 103 > » Top

0.0203sec    0.35    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 02:29 PM