Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

b00n
post Nov 20 2010, 11:40 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

@Niel, is there a lot of Citibank branch over there? I meant is it easily located? Or HSBC?

Anyway, me I'm going to borrow winter clothing from friends. See any trendier and cheap one then only buy there.

I saw one type of Adidas before in Japan. It's quite lightweight and not that thick. Didn't buy during then and regretted until now.
b00n
post Nov 21 2010, 12:10 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Nov 20 2010, 11:41 PM)

Added on November 20, 2010, 11:42 pm
go nandaemun la. see until your eyes blur. so many to choose from.  laugh.gif

That is wife's heaven.....and husband's hell haha
yeah will be visiting there. It's 24hrs right?

b00n
post Nov 24 2010, 08:00 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

btw, forgot to ask.... does most restaurant or stalls/food court converse in English or have menu in English/Mandarin? Else it would be difficult to order right?
b00n
post Nov 26 2010, 01:44 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

It is basically rice wine. Same as Sake(Japan) or tuak(Iban/bidayuh's moonshine).
b00n
post Dec 7 2010, 02:45 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

I just found out winter coat is so bulky.....how to pack?!.....arrrggghhhh!!!
b00n
post Dec 7 2010, 03:36 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Maybe I'll do that.
Was at first thinking of stuffing it into my hand luggage but it's only a 30L day pack so will take out space. But think like you say, have it as a pillow or blanket on the plane.

Added on December 7, 2010, 3:39 pmEvery time see amazing race goes to Korea all got lost one...because they do not know how to read the korean maps in korean wordings. haha
Don't know google map would show english or korean. Will try and see how google map works there.

This post has been edited by b00n: Dec 7 2010, 03:39 PM
b00n
post Dec 8 2010, 07:07 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Yahoo weather forceast shows Only next Monday would snow. Thursday till Sunday is sunny.
My accuweather apps also show similar except for Friday, it predicts rain+snow.

Going tomorrow.
b00n
post Dec 10 2010, 10:23 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Today raining. On iPhone, go download accuweather. Quite accurate.
Anyway, everland is a must go. Because from now till 26th, there's daily parade and fireworks meant for the Christmas derive season. It's suitable from kids till grown up and have zoo. So whomever with kids, it's really worth it.

Uncle, I suggest u scrap lotte world and visit everland instead. Can spend the whole day there. Mine busted because towards the evening, rain for like almost 2 hrs. But overall, still a well spent day; taking the rides and sightseeing, not to mention photo shooting. Night time photo shoots is nice because of the Christmas deco. But how unlucky to miss 3 shows including the finale - firework because of the rain.
b00n
post Dec 10 2010, 11:22 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Yeah staying here now. Cosy and the staffs very helpful. Place also quite clean.
Near subway station green line. 15 mins walking distance to Dong Dae Mun, palace, myeong dong.

This post has been edited by b00n: Dec 10 2010, 11:23 PM
b00n
post Dec 10 2010, 11:38 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Uncle, if u bring ur kids then theme park is nice....hehe.
Anyway, am going to nami island and the ski resort near that area also tomorow. Then spend a night at the ski resort Vivaldi. Tell u about the experience on Sunday night if I got online.
b00n
post Dec 13 2010, 01:36 AM

delusional
9,137 posts

Uncle, don't think can meet you up because my travel companion very blur.
Anyway, "today" i.e. monday we would be visiting Seoul Tower for the sunset then go see the Nanta show at night.

@vxeon,
T-money can be purchased at any G25 mart or 7-Elevn you come across. If you are taking the train from Icheon to the city, then you can go to the counter and they will sell a ticket to you. After you reach the destination, you can refund 500 won at the machine.
b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 12:47 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Some pics I've compiled so far...
Everland:
Love Locks at Namsan Seoul Tower:
Not to mention Heineken at that altitude:
Buildings night shots:
Christmas Deco in Ssmangil 쌈지길 (very artistic place, and only place you can scribble or draw on the wall where no one cares!)
(http://www.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_EN_3....jsp?cid=268199)
b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 01:13 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Mine reserving it for my wife' sis and her group (left only 200 won inside, so didn't refund). Also left 100,000 won giving her as angpow for CNY also. haha

Got tons of pics. Slowly compiling - close to 2,000 pics.
b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 01:46 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

@sfwong1
We're inside a bar. So cozy mah.
But yes, alco would bring down your body temp eventually because it opens up the pores for perspiration. We had Soju at the sidewalk stall one night, then after that all felt much more colder where the temp is already at -5C.

Here is some Nami Island shot. For those who don't know; it's where Winter Sonata is shot:

I love this shot at Gyeongbokgung - http://www.royalpalace.go.kr/html/eng/main/sitemap.jsp

b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 02:22 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

@zstan
We were in time for the sunset smile.gif Pwetty sight.

Anyway, food compilation:
b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 02:41 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

oooooHHHhhh... N8 pic so nice and so wide!
Anyway don't like the idea the shops closes so sharp at 9pm and 9.30pm inside the terminal. I'm ok with duty free shop closing at 9pm at the airport, but not food. sweat.gif
So an advise to all taking AA flight, have dinner if you foresee you wouldn't be reaching the airport at 8pm.

Anyway, this is where we stay (Travelers A)
A street right beside Eul Ji Ro 4 Ga station. Subway Line 2 and 5 reaches here.

b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 02:49 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Dec 16 2010, 02:45 PM)
All the duty free shops closed at 9:30pm as well as the satelite terminal Dutues free but on the arrival hall (level1).. There are 24hours KFC & Mc D too..No problem provided you don't enter satelite terminal too early. I took my dinner at Mc D- The Bulgogi burger is the best McD I tried so far around Asia haha  rclxms.gif

arrrghh.... we didn't know. cry.gif
We saw the shop closing so we were hoping inside the satellite building won't close that early. And we are right, it haven't close. So we spent some time looking at stuffs in the duty free shop thinking we are safe. Mana tau, they close 30mins later than those outside (close at 9.30pm), and we freaked running here and there looking for food to no avail, then finally settling for sandwiches near the escalator to terminal 110 which is the only one open. sweat.gif

This post has been edited by b00n: Dec 16 2010, 02:50 PM
b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 03:28 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

QUOTE(spidergirl @ Dec 16 2010, 02:57 PM)

I have a few questions I hope you guys can help for my 4 days trip in South Korea this January.

1. I usually eat a proper meal during dinner when I travel. What is the best, must- eat seafood/veggie dinner delicacies? I heard steamboat is quite famous there.

2. Must-have desserts?

You can go shop for a book on South Korea which introduce food.
But generally during winter, it's hotplates or stonebowl, grill meat and ginseng soup/chicken.
It all depends on what you want. If you are the adventurous type, you can even try whatever you encounter. Like for me and my wife, we just popped into a shop and viola, we got 2 cold ramen with grill beef for the price of 10,000won. Look at my food pic compilation, upper left and bottom left which shows it's real chunk of ice - i.e. ice ramen. Taste quite good!
There's also lots of stalls selling the normal fried thingy or some like "lok-lok" which is mostly fishball and tofu.
As for dessert, there's actually lots of bakeries around with superb aromas on their pastry and nice cakes.

3. Is 20,000 won/per person for 4-bed mixed dormitory considered cheap?

I think ok as mine is RM60,000 won for a double room, i.e. 30,000 won per person.

4. I will be staying in Donggyo-dong area. What is the closest ski area from there? I wanna spend 1 day for skiing, snowboard, snow sleigh (beginner).

5. What is the best outdoor ski area around Seoul? I saw in reviews that ski rental only cost 5,000 krw.

Ski resort, am not sure as we didn't manage to go as we spent to much time in Nami Island and visited Chuncheon's town instead in the evening and have the Chicken Galbi (Chuncheon dak galbi) at Myeong-dong. http://english.visitkorea.or.kr/enu/SI/SI_....jsp?cid=506808

6. How many layers of bottom (pants) to wear? What to wear for bottom? I heard jeans is a no-no.

Depending on how well you can take the cold. Most of the time, I wore only a long-john pant inside with a jean outside. You'll be surprised the ladies there only wear leggings! IMO, a good wool socks would help a lot as the cold starts from the feet. The better deal is to just wear long-john and
jeans and of course a good down jacket then spend the 1st day shopping for winter clothing here. More variety and more practical. Uniqlo has nice varieties here and not that expensive also. There's also more fashionable longjohn here then the usual white color one sold in M'sia.

This post has been edited by b00n: Dec 16 2010, 03:28 PM
b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 03:45 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Better get something windproof. But sport shoes is more comfy to walk.
If you decides on wearing sport shoes, put on wool socks. If for ladies, maybe put on double socks.
Also, I think in Jan; it's much more colder and snow and ice might be everywhere, so be careful when walking on the street as sportshoes are more slippery. Else you can try to get those mini-spikes they sell at Universal Traveler.

Even with my Gore-tex hiking boots and wool socks, I felt the cold starting from my feet. Gloves is a must. Scarfs for wrapping around your neck to protect the wind blowing on your neck and nose is also recommended. If you don't want to wear a wool hat, you can consider those wool head band that have protective wool at each side to cover the ears.

It's really cold in January. Even for the past few days, it's getting colder by days.
b00n
post Dec 16 2010, 08:01 PM

delusional
9,137 posts

Sorry, am not really good at remembering places especially when I'm one of those who follows a lead. In this case, we followed a friend's book on introduction of good foods thus I just follow.

All these foods are from different different area where some are stumbled by chances like the ice ramen located at dongdaemun area. Corner basement shop next to faceshop.

Ginseng Chicken I heard is the most famous where ppl needs to queue up to get in but my lousy memory doesn't serve me well. Attached is the photo of the shop; see any others can advise:

The large pic on grill meat is at Myeondong area opposite a hospital and there's a famous cathedral there nearby.

There's a pan of chicken on the left under the black ginseng chicken is at Chuncheon's town - Chicken Galbi (Chuncheon dak galbi) at Namchuncheon Myeong-dong.

The steamy hotstone udon is just a tiny shop besides our hostel. Didn't visit it until the last day because we go out early and come back late - typical backpacker style. Then various hotstone rice at either Nandaemun or Myeongdong.

0.0430sec    0.46    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 08:45 PM