Travel Travel to Korea~, Updated info on pg1

mafilee
post Aug 9 2010, 03:32 PM

47 posts

hye guys,

wanted to know if anyone has any experience on winter trip to Korea..
i book my flight on Jan next year and wanted to experience backpacker traveler.
So, i would like to know if anyone has any recommendation for winter package i would like to do daily ski tour because i got limited time i only go for 5D4N.
please recommended me nice budget hotel so that i can plan my budget well.

Oh ya, anyone know where we can get affordable winter clothes and Ugg boots?

mafilee
post Aug 10 2010, 02:40 PM

47 posts

Hi, I have experienced winter before in Korea.
I am not sure of any winter package but I have been to Muju Resort for skiing. My friend went to Yongpyeong Ski Resort and he said that's cheaper than Muju. According to him, there will be pick ups from Gangnam Station in Seoul, not quite sure about it. May be u can google it. U can go there early in the morning and come back in late evening. Don't stay at the resort as it will be more expensive.

Hi seng , can u elaborate more how you go to the muju resort and do you remember ur travel expenses and charges of the rental equipment or if u can maybe u can include yongpyeong ski resort too. So, i will have two option to choose.

if i'm not mistaken from my google info for Yongpyeong ski

Lift+gondola (daytime) = 71000 won
Ski Rental (daytime) = 26000 won
Ski wear (daytime) = 25000 won (is it a must or optional to wear)?
shuttle bus (round trip) = 28000 won

and if i check at grace travel they offer yongpyong package for daily tour include Round Transportation, English Speaking Guide, Ski gear & gloves Rental at 125, 000 won but without ski wear and i didn't know if this package include the lift rental too. But, for budget planning around 150,000 won. which should i decide??

but for Muju ski i only get this info without any info for ski rental and the shuttle bus ..

Lift (daytime) = 63000 won

I've been planning for backpacker traveler so it would be fun if i can go there by myself without need to apply any package with agencies. Like what u told for how to go to nami island the info very much useful to me for my travel planner.

QUOTE(Seng007 @ Aug 9 2010, 06:52 PM)
It's quite likely to save some money if u go by urself. However, bear in mind that the trip would be quite troublesome.

Anywhere to Cheongnyangi Station (Subway) = around 1500 won/person x 2 (ways) x 3 (persons)
Cheongnyangi Station to Gapyeong (Train - train leaving at 10.30 am, 1 train/day) = 3800 won/person x 2 (ways)  x 3 (persons)
Gapyeong - Namiseon Island (Taxi) = 4000 won/trip x 2 (ways)
Ferry ride to the island (Ferry) = 8000 won/person  x 3 (persons)
Good meal in Nami Island = 10,000 won/person  x 3 (persons)
Having a meal for dinner back in Seoul = 7,000/person  x 3 (persons)

Total : Approximate (rough estimate) KRW 93,200 = ~ RM 260 for all. =) Divide by 3 = RM 90 each.

So by that, u save quite a lot of money, but make sure u have to wake up early to catch the train. Else u would have to wait until the next day.
Thank u so much for the info..can u tell me why is it will be very troublesome journey..maybe i need to prepare anything.. hmm.gif
mafilee
post Aug 10 2010, 05:46 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Seng007 @ Aug 10 2010, 03:53 PM)

3. For rentals, if u rent daytime, u get to ski for about 8-9 hours. (Morning until evening). Usually afternoon rates is cheaper and u get to ski for about 4-5 hours.

For the rentals, I used to rent only : Lift and Ski only. I didn't rent ski wear which I believe is not necessary as long as u have thick glooves. While for the travel package, I am not quite sure how they work, may be the lift rentals are not provided. Lift rental is very important as there's no way u could get up the slope without a lift. If u were to pay by a single trip basis it will cost u a lot.
For the trip to Nami Island, there's ntg u would need to prepare, just that u have to take subway + train + cab + ferry to that Island. If u take a pacakge, they will bring u from Hotel -> Jetty then u take ferry. So u save hassle but u pay for alot more =).
wow nice info..thanx seng ..u help me a lot with my travel planning.. rclxms.gif
if i don't have to rent the ski wear it will help me to save a lot of money maybe i can use that money for food budget..hehe wink.gif
if we never skiing before do u think we need to pay for lesson or that would be some people can help us how to skiing?
Like what you said if i'm just a beginner afternoon rates is good enough right..save me more money too.. thumbup.gif if i take afternoon rates it's around 1200pm - 1630pm is it?

for nami island trip i think this is the best time we need to explore korea transportation right...thank u for ur info.. biggrin.gif
mafilee
post Aug 11 2010, 11:21 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(Seng007 @ Aug 10 2010, 08:08 PM)
Look in youtube how do u ski before u go in order to have some ideas.
Tips: In order not to fall down from the slope too quickly, please make A with ur ski. It's very important to make a correct A shape to stop urself from falling. =)
Alrite..thanx u so much for ur advice..
now my planning for Nami island and Ski tour are complete just need to add some basic thing..i need to google more.. flex.gif

my booking for hotel room not success now getting headache aiya..why la airasiago system very2 poor... sweat.gif

oh yeah other than dongdaemon and itaewon do u have any suggestion shopping places that can bargain with affordable price. hmm.gif
mafilee
post Oct 7 2010, 10:30 AM

47 posts

is it ok to buy winter jacket made from nylon and polyester? or maybe cotton and polyester. which one is the best. I've never buy winter wear, i've been careful with it. give ur suggestion.
mafilee
post Jan 3 2011, 11:13 AM

47 posts

can anyone advise me for dslr user..
for this winter season dun u think it will effect the dslr condition..
after we shoot the photos..we can not hold outside is it..i'm afraid my dslr "tak tahan sejuk"...
mafilee
post Jan 3 2011, 01:34 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Jan 3 2011, 01:06 PM)
rclxms.gif lol true true.I went to nami island like normal taking pics with digital camera working just fine,just that my hand cannot tahan cos too cold edi. What to do nami island scenery is nice so have to spam pics tahan the cold weather. If u got a 90%  down jacket put it on plus 1 long john then normal shirt kau tim edi,ppl tend to forget about their fingers and ears. Only care about body,but importantly is your finger,the temp got so cold that u even feel reluctant to take your hands out of your pockets
thanx for reminder abt long john and thanx for the info abt the dslr...
i'm going this month 21st oh so excited but feel nervous too .. never been time winter season and afraid of everything..huhuhu.. hmm.gif
mafilee
post Jan 13 2011, 03:50 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(Semper Fi @ Jan 12 2011, 06:44 PM)
Hwacheon ice festival seems bigger n more fun!  cry.gif
Wat abt Mt. Taebaek Snow Festival? Still on?
also cancel babe..only got ice sculpture..
so, next planning? hmm.gif
should we going to ski..hehe..
mafilee
post Jan 13 2011, 04:47 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(sfwong1 @ Jan 13 2011, 04:41 PM)
skiing is nice if u really wanna give it a try cos of experience if not no point going cos with just few hours its impossible for u to learn to ski and ski down from the top,cos the whole point is to start from the very top then zoom down if not no fun.
Thanx for ur advice..skiing also quiet expensive if just for experience i think better i go to sledding ...hehehe thumbup.gif
mafilee
post Jan 19 2011, 02:30 PM

47 posts

yesterday after fanmeet janghyuk at Ritz calrton near BB. ..wandering around check the money changer...convert to won at BB 2.78 pergh..
mafilee
post Feb 1 2011, 01:05 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(b00n @ Jan 27 2011, 08:57 PM)
Then you can start guiding future forumers visiting this topic on Halal food hunt wink.gif
Because like I told my friends and colleagues, it's pretty hard to find halal food unless one doesn't really care about the hardcore "halal" certification. i.e. just take seafood or chicken.
I just came back from my trip..Ohhh really2 difficult to find Halal food..for 5days straight eat maggi..luckily brought a lot of maggi expecting this when travelling with no tourist guide..also difficult to find places for praying when travelling..i should stay at Itaewon not dongdaemun..only for last 2 days eat properly at itaewon..lunch at the taj mahal restaurant very nice Nasi goreng ayam and tapau kebab at Mr. Kebab also the nice one for dinner..and properly find the place for praying at itaewon mosque..only this two thing really give a very teaching experience to me to become more grateful as muslim in Malaysia..
mafilee
post Feb 3 2011, 01:01 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(divasweet_77 @ Feb 2 2011, 09:02 AM)
It is kinda hard if you don't know where to look.. did you go there on business?
goin there for sightseeing .. bcoz of very short trip and need to cover everything i really find it difficult to find place for praying and eat..but it really give me a good travel experience..
mafilee
post Feb 8 2011, 11:51 AM

47 posts

QUOTE(koinibler @ Feb 7 2011, 10:00 PM)
Just know now that AREX express last train is at 9.30pm.
Seem not possible to catch it lor if using AA
u can take Commuter AREX to Seoul..Express will be more expensive by the way..
If u take commuter around 3700Won..if u take express is around 13,300won
i'm takin AREX when I'm finish everything at airport around 10:30PM..
I'm arriving at Seoul station around 11:30PM then take subway to my hotel..very convenient..
please buy T-Money because is make ur travel journey easier..
You can get the T-money card free at information counter but the counter already closed at 8:00PM
so better you buy ur T-money at Mini Mart airport around 3000Won..ask the cashier for topup the credit ..
mine for 6 days journey credit around 30000Won...subway + AREX+ bus..
mafilee
post Feb 11 2011, 04:03 PM

47 posts

QUOTE(namie90 @ Feb 11 2011, 11:35 AM)
Hi,i'm planning to rent a mobile phone during my stay there. I saw at the K.T.O website there's 3 companies offering those kind of service KT, S ROAMING and SK TELECOM. Any reccomendation which companies offer the best rate and how to go about it? quite confuse on how to rent it and in btw what is the different renting a mobile or a sim card?
I'm renting phone too when i'm travel to korea..
first i reserve with KT using KTO website..and i got all the details include the Korea's phone number 3 days before i depart to Korea..
I think KT will be more affordable with all the benefit and the fees quiet cheaper around 1800won per day.
But, unfortunately when I arrive at the booth around 10PM and the counter already closed. Beside KT booth got SK Telekom booth and still opening. Because we in rushing state we decide to rent SK phone. So, luckily i print out brochure for SK Telecom where I entitle for 50% discount for daily fees. So, from 3000Won per day i got 1500Won per day.

Once you rent the phone it give you postpaid type. I'm not so sure if prepaid available.
So, for 6 days in Korea and i'm using my phone mostly to contact 1330 number and my usage around 24000Won + 9000won (daily fees) = 33000Won. sweat.gif

I think for rate u can refer website. you must have credit card for rent the telephone.

I'm not sure your existent phone compatible with korea sim card. so, when you renting phone it give you phone + sim card.

Btw, for backpacker traveler 1330 number really helpful and useful. thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by mafilee: Feb 11 2011, 04:06 PM
mafilee
post Feb 22 2011, 01:28 PM

47 posts

I would like to sharing my stories of my traveling experience at Seoul, Korea. Feel free to visit mafilee blog..it's quiet late for winter preparation info because now Seoul getting to spring season sweat.gif ..but i hope it will be a good travel info to others.. rolleyes.gif

0.0213sec    0.19    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 7th December 2025 - 05:03 AM