post Mar 4 2016, 11:58 PM

388 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Mar 4 2016, 11:40 PM)

as requested  laugh.gif

pardon my low level phototaking skills with phone camera  sweat.gif

Mine is Grey with Gateron Blues  smile.gif
thanks thumbsup.gif definitely looks like a nice board, how does it compare to cherry blues? and nice mouse too brows.gif

This post has been edited by DreamScars: Mar 5 2016, 12:00 AM
rurushu
post Mar 5 2016, 12:10 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(DreamScars @ Mar 4 2016, 11:58 PM)
thanks  thumbsup.gif  definitely looks like a nice board, how does it compare to cherry blues? and nice mouse too  brows.gif
hmm.... right now i dont have my RK-9000 near me so i cant tell right away, will test when i got home smile.gif

Kana V2 tongue.gif

but the lift-off distance is making me rclxub.gif as I am a claw-grip user doh.gif
siles1991
post Mar 5 2016, 01:37 AM

I love tubes so should you!
1,861 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Mar 5 2016, 12:10 AM)
hmm.... right now i dont have my RK-9000 near me so i cant tell right away, will test when i got home  smile.gif

Kana V2  tongue.gif

but the lift-off distance is making me  rclxub.gif  as I am a claw-grip user  doh.gif
That's a Kana right?
rurushu
post Mar 5 2016, 02:33 AM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(siles1991 @ Mar 5 2016, 01:37 AM)
That's a Kana right?
erm... already mentioned is Kana v2 sweat.gif
[davey.havok]
post Mar 5 2016, 04:09 AM

128 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Mar 4 2016, 06:39 PM)
So I thought it would make sense to just choose a keyboard with cherry mx reds first as I play a lot of fps games. But if later I find out the switch is not right for me, I can just buy another keyboard.

So this means I should probably avoid the expensive ones for my first mech kb right? Any problems with my way of thinking or any better alternatives to figure out which switch to choose? 
There's nothing wrong at all with that way of thinking.

A lot of people, especially those stingy or cheapskate ones, will call you out for your approach. In their minds, if you don't buy the correct switch on the first attempt, it means you are a spendthrift who didn't do your homework properly.

But if you can easily afford a second (or third) keyboard, this trial-and-error method is probably the best. It's what I practice and I firmly believe MKB enthusiasts should never have only 1 board. Many important lessons are learnt through the process of comparison. Besides, you can always sell off what you don't need at a later date.

Btw I like how you say "I can just buy another keyboard" like money is not an issue thumbup.gif
Ronin_Amin
post Mar 5 2016, 08:59 AM

490 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Mar 5 2016, 04:09 AM)
There's nothing wrong at all with that way of thinking.

A lot of people, especially those stingy or cheapskate ones, will call you out for your approach. In their minds, if you don't buy the correct switch on the first attempt, it means you are a spendthrift who didn't do your homework properly.

But if you can easily afford a second (or third) keyboard, this trial-and-error method is probably the best. It's what I practice and I firmly believe MKB enthusiasts should never have only 1 board. Many important lessons are learnt through the process of comparison. Besides, you can always sell off what you don't need at a later date.

Btw I like how you say "I can just buy another keyboard" like money is not an issue  thumbup.gif
Haha. Far from it. It's just that the usual recommendation of getting switch testers really doesn't do it for me. I'm the type of guy who needs long hours and the full experience to decide something. The only thing I got from playing around with mech kbs at shops is that all of them feel awesome. I can also read all about the different switches but that won't tell me how good it would feel.

Money certainly is an issue, escpecially with today's economy but I guess this is the solution for me.

justnits
post Mar 5 2016, 09:07 AM

Mechanical Keyboard Addict
2,968 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Mar 5 2016, 08:59 AM)
Haha. Far from it. It's just that the usual recommendation of getting switch testers really doesn't do it for me. I'm the type of guy who needs long hours and the full experience to decide something. The only thing I got from playing around with mech kbs at shops is that all of them feel awesome. I can also read all about the different switches but that won't tell me how good it would feel.

Money certainly is an issue, escpecially with today's economy but I guess this is the solution for me.
how about this way, buy and try until you are satisfied that you are not satisfied with the keyboard, sell it off.
or just buy 2nd hand keyboard.
andrekua2
post Mar 5 2016, 09:44 AM

13,463 posts

QUOTE(Ronin_Amin @ Mar 5 2016, 08:59 AM)

Well, that is the thing when trying out keyboard at shops. We wont get into a typing posture, but standing all the time. All the keys barely felt any different when you tried it while standing. You can only feel it when you rest your palm on the desk and then just press the key with just your fingers.

At first, I thought I wanted to stand out, like with the clicky keys. I almost bought a gigabyte mechanical with mx blue but the staff recommend the cm storm trigger with mx brown. Although I did miss the clicky sound but one thing for sure is that linear keys are smoother and dont have tactile bump. Although they said mx brown had the tactile bump, but it was really light that I would miss it 95% of the time. Now that I have the red, its even smoother than the brown.

Personally, no matter which switch you buy, I think you will be happier with it than membrane keyboard. Its just so hard to get used to other keyboard once you get used to it already.
richard912
post Mar 5 2016, 11:29 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 5 2016, 09:44 AM)
Well, that is the thing when trying out keyboard at shops. We wont get into a typing posture, but standing all the time. All the keys barely felt any different when you tried it while standing. You can only feel it when you rest your palm on the desk and then just press the key with just your fingers.

At first, I thought I wanted to stand out, like with the clicky keys. I almost bought a gigabyte mechanical with mx blue but the staff recommend the cm storm trigger with mx brown. Although I did miss the clicky sound but one thing for sure is that linear keys are smoother and dont have tactile bump. Although they said mx brown had the tactile bump, but it was really light that I would miss it 95% of the time. Now that I have the red, its even smoother than the brown.

Personally, no matter which switch you buy, I think you will be happier with it than membrane keyboard. Its just so hard to get used to other keyboard once you get used to it already.
Customising your keycaps will be the next addiction
andrekua2
post Mar 5 2016, 12:21 PM

13,463 posts

QUOTE(richard912 @ Mar 5 2016, 11:29 AM)
Customising your keycaps will be the next addiction
Hahaha... unless I tio 4D first prize...

BTW, is there a difference when typing with pbt?
SticH
post Mar 5 2016, 12:35 PM

964 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 5 2016, 12:21 PM)
Hahaha... unless I tio 4D first prize...

BTW, is there a difference when typing with pbt?
IMHO,

If you are using clicky switches, stick with ABS cause pbt will muffle down the clickyness

If linear/tactile - PBT
Panda2K
post Mar 5 2016, 01:25 PM

Hey guys, im new to this group. looking for a tkl mkb. Price range 200-400. For gaming.
Prefer mx blues or anything like them. Thanks
megadisc
post Mar 5 2016, 01:56 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 4 2016, 05:27 PM)
Damn, really got poisoned into buying once you get a taste of it.

My second mechanical in a year. Planning to use this at work.
Nice model
Which did you ??? Get

I also have 2 mkb
One for work
One for home use
chahupping
post Mar 5 2016, 02:13 PM

137 posts

just went ban leong warehouse sales around 12pm, everything finished stock just left some BW stealth.
andrekua2
post Mar 5 2016, 03:36 PM

13,463 posts

QUOTE(megadisc @ Mar 5 2016, 01:56 PM)
Nice model
Which did you ??? Get

I also have 2 mkb
One for work
One for home use

megadisc
post Mar 5 2016, 05:02 PM

4,349 posts

QUOTE(chahupping @ Mar 5 2016, 02:13 PM)
just went ban leong warehouse sales around 12pm, everything finished stock just left some BW stealth.
guess it was a really super duper good deal then ..
ntw
post Mar 5 2016, 11:34 PM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Mar 3 2016, 01:34 AM)
we talking about SSK wor. Unicomp got?  blink.gif
I jumped in too quickly. the unicomp ones are all full size layout. SSK is rare indeed.

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 4 2016, 02:22 PM)
Today went to Ban Leong warehouse sale and saw some mechnical keyboard.

CM Storm XT-Stealth RM200
CM Storm QuickFire Rapid/Stealth (Red, Brown, Green, Black) RM200
CM Storm Mech (Red, Brown) RM330
Razer Ultimate Stealth RM300

Too bad warranty too short... 1 month only...
super good deal man!! wished I got the news earlier to snag a few "just in case" my current ones broken

This post has been edited by ntw: Mar 5 2016, 11:35 PM
capsulr
post Mar 5 2016, 11:40 PM

472 posts

logitech G810 vs razer blackwidow, thoughts?
ntw
post Mar 6 2016, 12:53 AM

One Each At A Time
1,432 posts

QUOTE(capsulr @ Mar 5 2016, 11:40 PM)
logitech G810 vs razer blackwidow, thoughts?
get the Logitech if you want to try out new switches, it uses revolutionary switch that has redundant contact points and light source placed in the middle of the switch.

but I'd probably pick the Razer out of these two because I'm still able to get after market keycaps and replacement switches if anything ever go wrong with it.
Superific
post Mar 6 2016, 01:05 AM

301 posts

can anyone tell me how to order ikbc f-104 from taobao(specific link)? seems like no seller is carrying the f-104 anymore, instead they have the g-104 model

This post has been edited by Superific: Mar 6 2016, 01:06 AM

125 Pages « < 115 116 117 118 119 > » Top

0.0207sec    0.55    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:34 PM