[V28] Lowyat.Net Mechanical Keyboard Club

richard912
post Feb 23 2016, 02:32 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Am currently using a Razer Blackwidow Stealth TE (non-backlit) and am eagerly awaiting the arrival of Cooler Master's MasterKeys Pro S, a TKL keyboard. Any feedback/input on the Cooler Master keyboards?
richard912
post Feb 23 2016, 04:11 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 23 2016, 02:39 PM)
brows.gif
MasterKeys Pro L will release first, no news for those tho. Just waiting.
Cooler Master is a community-friendly brand, what we need, they do it for us.
We want Topre, they make Novatouch, we want affordable TKL, they make rapid-i.
Well, it's a good brands.
I tested a lot of their keyboards, and my store most pictures are taken using their keyboards. 1-2 keyboards can fit everything.
Very friendly.  icon_idea.gif
Darn, I guess it will be a bit longer to wait for the S, which I prefer because TKL looks much neater

QUOTE(zennasyndroxx @ Feb 23 2016, 02:39 PM)
I like the minimal design that they employ to their keyboards.

The cm keyboards does their job well. I'm currently using a novatouch. It's not the best topre (hhkb bias here lol) that's I've tried but with that price point there's just no complaints about it, with mx compatibility
Agreed, I like their minimalist design too. Was considering the Quick Fire Rapid-i when I came across the news about the MasterKeys Pro

This post has been edited by richard912: Feb 23 2016, 04:16 PM
richard912
post Feb 24 2016, 05:14 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

That keyboard hurts my eyes!!!!

This post has been edited by richard912: Feb 24 2016, 05:15 PM
richard912
post Feb 24 2016, 10:15 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Well, I guess I've more or less made up my mind to hold out for the CM MasterKeys Pro S though it has been suggested to consider the CM Quickfire Rapid-I. Any thoughts?

This post has been edited by richard912: Feb 25 2016, 08:35 AM
richard912
post Feb 25 2016, 08:35 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(quovadis123 @ Feb 24 2016, 11:11 PM)
Simple question, you want RGB or simple white LED ?
RGB: MasterKeys Pro S
White LED Backlit: Rapid-i
I would prefer RGB since there will be options for how the lighting can be configured for the keys. Just white is fine too. Again, it won't be a deal breaker. Just hope the wait won't be too long. Brown switch is the way for me as it will be a mix of work and play. Don't like the clicky Blue, Red feels too "heavy", Romer-G feels, don't know how to describe it better, unreal. Don't recall how a Topre feels but generally Topre switches are 45g, which would be great for work I suppose.

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Feb 25 2016, 06:50 AM)
Survey Results on Mechanical Keyboard Preferences Released
*the full artcile

http://www.pcper.com/news/General-Tech/Sur...rences-Released
Interesting article. Vindicates my choice for going with Brown. Form factor wise, would love a 60% but I use the F-keys regularly for work and play so, TKL for me! No overly funky design either. Plain and simple suits me fine.

This post has been edited by richard912: Feb 25 2016, 08:40 AM
richard912
post Feb 25 2016, 06:25 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(justnits @ Feb 25 2016, 05:58 PM)
Yes, I thought I read wrongly as well...but now I believe he meant to say MX Black...haha tongue.gif
hehehe....did not mention black because they are indeed HEAVY hence, not on my list to begin with
richard912
post Feb 25 2016, 09:56 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(-Hzu- @ Feb 25 2016, 06:46 PM)
Did you really mean RED switch is HEAVY?
QUOTE(justnits @ Feb 25 2016, 07:04 PM)
then you have made me mind blown by claiming RED is HEAVY
Guess I have to spell out what I meant..... the RED feels "heavier" compared to the BROWN. Hence, I prefer the BROWN
richard912
post Feb 27 2016, 10:41 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Came across Armageddon MKA-5R RGB-Hornet TKL Keyboard while window shopping. Design wise, looks simple with a brushed aluminium top enclosure.
richard912
post Mar 3 2016, 06:49 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

I pulled the trigger and got myself a CM Storm Quickfire Rapid-i. After a thorough molesting of RED and BROWN switches, I agree and stand corrected (as some of you had pointed out earlier), RED is not as "heavy" compared to BROWN. And so, I am a proud owner of my first Cherry MX MKB with RED switch. Am quite happy with it as it has a smaller footprint compared to my outgoing Razer Blackwidow Tournament Stealh Edition (1 cm narrower and shallower).
As you can see, I picked up the red WASD keycaps too.
richard912
post Mar 5 2016, 11:29 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(andrekua2 @ Mar 5 2016, 09:44 AM)
Well, that is the thing when trying out keyboard at shops. We wont get into a typing posture, but standing all the time. All the keys barely felt any different when you tried it while standing. You can only feel it when you rest your palm on the desk and then just press the key with just your fingers.

At first, I thought I wanted to stand out, like with the clicky keys. I almost bought a gigabyte mechanical with mx blue but the staff recommend the cm storm trigger with mx brown. Although I did miss the clicky sound but one thing for sure is that linear keys are smoother and dont have tactile bump. Although they said mx brown had the tactile bump, but it was really light that I would miss it 95% of the time. Now that I have the red, its even smoother than the brown.

Personally, no matter which switch you buy, I think you will be happier with it than membrane keyboard. Its just so hard to get used to other keyboard once you get used to it already.
Customising your keycaps will be the next addiction
richard912
post Mar 7 2016, 08:27 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Moogle Stiltzkin @ Mar 6 2016, 08:18 PM)
someone did this to their keys to get ready for the division lel
https://www.reddit.com/r/thedivision/commen..._for_this_game/
theres a less permanent overlay which you can get here
https://www.reddit.com/r/thedivision/commen...r_quick_access/
Something like this may be good Relegendables
richard912
post Mar 7 2016, 01:12 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

Eeks......hope my recently acquired Rapid-i will be okay. If not, I'll have a reason to get a new MKB whistling.gif
richard912
post Mar 7 2016, 02:55 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Mar 7 2016, 02:17 PM)
TKL?

TKL or Ten Key Less, also called 80% keyboard. A full sized keyboard is 100%. A TKL is essentially minus the number pad. 60/65% keyboards are even smaller, eg Vortex Pok3r

EDIT : Gives you a better idea:

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 7 2016, 03:03 PM
richard912
post Mar 7 2016, 03:06 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(Leon be here now @ Mar 7 2016, 03:03 PM)
lol i google "tkl keyboard" and that cm came up twice on top, i thought it was just a brand/model

oh cheers, i need full size, i frequently use the numpad.
As I am used to working from a notebook, I'm accustomed to not having a numpad. Hence, I use a TKL with my home desktop, less clutter.
richard912
post Mar 8 2016, 11:31 AM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

These look interesting, metal keycaps

EDIT : And this is something I'd really want backlit ESC. Have ordered 3 pieces!

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 8 2016, 12:45 PM
richard912
post Mar 8 2016, 05:08 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 8 2016, 04:39 PM)
bojio.jpg
That's why I ordered tiga biji. Not like I can use all 3 right? When I get them, I will make available 2 for sale. My cost for the 3 biji with shipping works out to RM148.55. So, its about RM50 a piece + a teh Tarik would be nice
richard912
post Mar 8 2016, 06:58 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 8 2016, 05:39 PM)
Wahlau... you get ady then take piktar first la... So ex...
I can do better. When they arrive, can arrange to meet up for you to molest kao kao. In any case, this is not a business for me. Just order extra for others who may want later. no profit one la. Sharing is caring ma
richard912
post Mar 8 2016, 07:52 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(dadudeneverabides @ Mar 8 2016, 07:39 PM)
Nice. Lai meet up. But please arrange before I get busy!
What's your budget?
Just so we are clear, I meant for you to molest those keycaps when meet up hor tongue.gif
richard912
post Mar 8 2016, 08:29 PM

d('_')b
1,821 posts

QUOTE(davey.havok @ Mar 8 2016, 08:04 PM)
CNC case for Novatouch - something I've been saving up for.

The maker is also testing it to see if it can fit the QFR-i.
*Casts poison resistance +10* flex.gif

This post has been edited by richard912: Mar 8 2016, 08:30 PM

0.0517sec    0.54    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 08:47 PM