I know rhoyo likes to post new games' infos around here.. may be appoint him as "New games poster" here?
WAY TOO MUCH THREAD IN NINTENDO, Please comment
Apr 1 2009, 04:51 PM
1,450 posts Joined: Jun 2008 From: KK |
I know rhoyo likes to post new games' infos around here.. may be appoint him as "New games poster" here?
Apr 1 2009, 04:53 PM
798 posts Joined: Apr 2005 From: Equine Park, Seri Kembangan |
but what we really need is a fully functional mod to monitor
Apr 1 2009, 05:03 PM
1,274 posts Joined: Feb 2006 From: Shah Alam |
Apr 1 2009, 05:05 PM
dun off topic here..mod will kick u out
Apr 1 2009, 05:22 PM
698 posts Joined: Oct 2008 From: Mushroom Kingdom |
Kill this thread pls!
Apr 1 2009, 05:30 PM
no mod how to kill?
Apr 1 2009, 05:31 PM
Princess can kill?
Apr 1 2009, 05:32 PM
i vote princess for mod!! yeyeah! we will be good
Apr 1 2009, 05:33 PM
1,154 posts Joined: Sep 2004 |
But everyone seems to be having fun! Why kill?
Apr 1 2009, 05:34 PM
Oh no mod here! *cabut*
Added on April 1, 2009, 5:35 pmMud what's more important to you, threads or participants? This post has been edited by gundamalpha: Apr 1 2009, 05:35 PM |
Apr 1 2009, 05:39 PM
Apr 1 2009, 06:09 PM
QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Apr 1 2009, 04:36 PM) I prefer giving people a post each to list out their codes. It's a major hassle to turn on the Wii/ DS just to copy the Friend Codes every single week. And you can still PM the person you want to exchange FCs with this way. Ok. friend codes stay. I do want some method of trash collection tho. Once people quit caring about their codes i would very much rather delete it. than let it clog there. And let merge DS and Wii.If nothing is done to this subforum now which is worsening by the day. I might just pissed off enough to stop caring about it. Just how many times I have to click on the "Report" button and still seeing countless redundant and piracy threads around here. Piracy threads are a sign of the times. People stress gila right now like you would not believe. More people are broke now than there have been in a long time. I used to take the time to write nice personalized haiku's warning people about pirate talk, but i've run outta witty phrases. QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Apr 1 2009, 04:47 PM) I think this subforum will be more attractive if there're more games related threads on the 1st page. Instead of the usual "HELP!!!" or "I just bought a Wii, recommend me some games" threads. Games related is going to depend on you guys as a community. reviews and screenshots of new games are always going to be welcome here. I think that personal experiences with games are a plus as well. Its not something i can do much since the Wii I bought was a gift to my brother-in-law, my mom is playing Brain Age on my DS, and Steam has been having an awful lot of super mega discounts like you would not believe. (Assassin's Creed USD9.99 for one day only last week)And for the the "Recommend games to me" threads. the way i see it, 100 people coming around to the Nintendo thread, maybe 5 will stick around for good. Kick around people that ask newb questions, you wont see anyone besides trolls roaming these here parts. Forum is an open exchange. that unfortunately means answering the same question many many times. sometimes, in the same day. its tiring, but i think its a better alternative to a bunch of elitist pricks telling "GTFO NEWB LOLZ" |
Apr 2 2009, 11:32 AM
1,035 posts Joined: Aug 2005 |
QUOTE(Mudmaniac @ Apr 1 2009, 06:09 PM) And for the the "Recommend games to me" threads. the way i see it, 100 people coming around to the Nintendo thread, maybe 5 will stick around for good. Kick around people that ask newb questions, you wont see anyone besides trolls roaming these here parts. Forum is an open exchange. that unfortunately means answering the same question many many times. sometimes, in the same day. its tiring, but i think its a better alternative to a bunch of elitist pricks telling "GTFO NEWB LOLZ" Quoted for justice.This post has been edited by reveur: Apr 2 2009, 11:32 AM |
Apr 2 2009, 11:56 AM
50 posts Joined: Jun 2006 From: Kelana Jaya, PeeJay |
The other two subforums for Playstation and Xbox have healthy discussions on games. While in the Nintendo subforum...the only thread I see active is the Kopitiam, and that's just full of rubbish (and several incarnations ago, fappers or people who are desperate to have a sex life). Hardly appealing stuff.
My 2 cents: This subforum imho has an image problem. Get rid of the kopitiam, encourage more threads on games. And if there are threads asking what to buy etc, look at it this way, it comes with the territory of having two best selling consoles (Wii and Nintendo DS), just answer or funnel them to FAQs/existing threads and what not. This post has been edited by zorocaster: Apr 2 2009, 12:06 PM |
Apr 2 2009, 12:18 PM
Lets start from the top
First the over littering of pinned threads. QUOTE(Pr1me_Minister @ Mar 23 2009, 11:02 PM) [*]Too many pinned thread for the same thing, for example the DS and DS FAQ thread. And why the heck do we need 2 Friend Code threads!? FAQ Thread - Retain FAQ but add a Q & A section at the end that will cleaned out by the end of the month. [*]Too many new threads asking trival questions like prices, availability, and even your top games. Which is better posted on it's respective systems thread. My proposal:
Friend Code Thread - Poster can list the game they have without the code, other forumer that want to exchange FC can PM the poster directly. (taking a leaf out of Mud's book) Upcoming Game release Thread - Redundant. They can check it at gamefaqs.com. Delete it Chamber of Commerce - Can be retained but again, redundant. We have a Garage Sales thread specifically selling games. Why put another copy where? You confuses people. Read Me First Thread - same as FAQ thread. Redundant Meet-up Thread - Delete all the redundant post. Retain all the stuff that matters only More Mods - I propose PM to mod. He is here all the time, he doesnt do hammer of justice on new guys. He actually does what he says (playing ori only) and who else is more dedicated to Nintendo then him? Rewriting entire FAQ - Waste of time, the existing one is already there. New writer can just take that and improve on it. QUOTE(bidfordun @ Mar 23 2009, 11:15 PM) Hey man, you cant blame it. It seems like the kopitiam thread is the most active thread here. if there is one thread should be removed, I would suggest removal of kopitiam. Undoubtedly it can make this place this livelier, the problem is people wont visit nintendo thread for its games but just for some trivial talks. Kopitiam is the most active thread because ppl try their best to be spammer king. WTF for? I disagree with the fact that kopitiam should be removed but I would propose that every new Kopitiam thread will be opened by the Mod, this will reduce ppl posting more post just so they can have the honor of being the first to open a new Kopitiam thread. get a life. PS. I think I will kena shoot bcos of this post. QUOTE(gundamalpha @ Mar 24 2009, 11:45 AM) I think this sub forum will be a better place with zero pirate tolerance policy Zero Piracy Tolerance Policy? You might as well take a gun to the LYN server and shoot it. Piracy exist, live with it. Zero tolerance makes you a Punisher. Never a good thing when there is scarely enough people in this forum. I am not saying you should turn a blind eye on it, but it would be better if you tolerate it but try to steer them towards the light. And if you realize, most of the people who are active in this forum are Kopitiam's regular customers, so I don't see the removal of it would benefit. Plus the many topics that has been started here are non kopitiam regulars and most of the time asking these 3 main questions: 1. "Where to get Wii/NDS games?", which will eventually lead to people bringing up pirated sources. 2. "Where to mod Wii/NDS?", again will eventually lead to people bringing up pirated sources. 3. "How to display Wii on monitor?" If you can see there are minimal talks regarding the games themselves, which I can think of 2 reasons, one being people value less of the games due to piracy, and secondly there's nothing much to talk about the games themselves as hot titles are often lacking for Nintendo consoles. Many topics that are started here are non-kopitiam regular. Do you know why? If i were to post a question in kopitiam, immediately one person will answer with a vague answer and then the rest of them ignore it. or, the question is ignored totally. Hence the proposal that FAQ thread is use as a Q & A Thread. It will be better. Point them there everytime they start a thread. report the newly opened thread. and then answer the question there. Edit: I am willing to keep a look out at the FAQ thread still, if you want new stuff added in. PM me. Do not post it somewhere randomly in kopitiam in the thread and expect me to do it. I am sorry. I have a life. so if you want something done, PM me, PM the respective related ppl. But dont TCSS. This post has been edited by reveur: Apr 2 2009, 12:26 PM |
Apr 2 2009, 12:27 PM
1,838 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Cheras saja deyh! |
I have to agree with Rev. Kopitiam used to be the place where it was to show off what you just bought. now even with lots of other things going on, I think we should go back to focusing what this subforum should be about, games. I'm ok with any platform and any genre, but I think its time we revert back to square one with the implementation.
Rev's got it detailed, I move the motion that we follow this exact part. |
Apr 2 2009, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(reveur @ Apr 2 2009, 12:18 PM) Kopitiam is the most active thread because ppl try their best to be spammer king. WTF for? I disagree with the fact that kopitiam should be removed but I would propose that every new Kopitiam thread will be opened by the Mod, this will reduce ppl posting more post just so they can have the honor of being the first to open a new Kopitiam thread. get a life. All of us have a life...what makes u think we don't? |
Apr 2 2009, 12:36 PM
4,250 posts Joined: Nov 2006 |
You really want to know why this subforum is dying? Went to S.Wang to look for Suikoden DS b4 balik kampung today and i found like 30 original NDS games (old ones, no pokemon platinum) and maybe 15 Wii titles in the whole of S.Wang. Piracy is killing Nintendo, who imho lacks killer games in the first place.
How many people actually like buying from online sources? And to be really honest, we can do away with some of the nonsense that we post in kopitiam. This post has been edited by madmoz: Apr 2 2009, 12:37 PM |
Apr 2 2009, 12:45 PM
QUOTE(PhoenixByte @ Apr 2 2009, 12:31 PM) I beg to disagree...just coz there's a top 10 spammer list there doesn't mean ppl who posted there wanted to be spam king. It's just a place to chat about random stuff. Even if it was open by the mods, it will not change the fact that ppl will post in there. Being first or last in a new kopitiam thread doesn't mean anything..that is just for fun. Do u think we really care about who last n who is first to post in there? Seriously? SERIOUSLY? Hold on. All of us have a life...what makes u think we don't? Nentendo Kopitiam V 30th [OPEN], Mad World in Chinatown edition First few post. Thread opened by PhoenixByte on Mar 15 2009, 05:36 AM QUOTE viledante 292 ShinAsuka 266 gundamalpha 212 Kyoyagami 200 yellowpika 167 PhoenixByte 158 hafez13 155 aiyish 148 heatblast 138 Lord_Ashe 117 » Click to show Spoiler - click again to hide... « Thread opened by Mod and Mod only will reduce the spams or spasm. There is no need for people to have a mad rush on who open the new thread. Reduce of nonsensical crap Kopitiam can be true kopitiam. This post has been edited by reveur: Apr 2 2009, 12:47 PM |
Apr 2 2009, 12:48 PM
1,838 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Cheras saja deyh! |
I loved kopitiam when it was giving discussion on every single thing, and we debated seriously.
Honestly, its one of the things that rarely happen now. Not in 2007 though. |
| Change to: | 0.0232sec
5 queries
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 06:37 AM |