161 posts

Anyone have problem with bended tablet?
There are lot of complaint about that in reddit
It seems happen after use of few months
Qavs
post Oct 20 2015, 07:13 PM

355 posts

Hey guys, can I know where I can fix my SP3 cracked screen, it's at the corner of the screen. Any reliable shop with reasonable price?
Racerx
post Oct 20 2015, 07:58 PM

Tell Your World
8,461 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Oct 20 2015, 07:13 PM)
Hey guys, can I know where I can fix my SP3 cracked screen, it's at the corner of the screen. Any reliable shop with reasonable price?
I sent mine to Microsoft back since the I can't find anyone who can repair it, and the screen itself seems to be really expensive at eBay. Based on what I read at reddit, Microsoft will give a replacement unit instead of the one you sent in. They charged me RM1340 for the repair. sweat.gif sweat.gif sweat.gif

SUSagewisdom
post Oct 20 2015, 08:06 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(Racerx @ Oct 20 2015, 07:58 PM)
I sent mine to Microsoft back since the I can't find anyone who can repair it, and the screen itself seems to be really expensive at eBay. Based on what I read at reddit, Microsoft will give a replacement unit instead of the one you sent in. They charged me RM1340 for the repair. sweat.gif  sweat.gif  sweat.gif
From what I read in iFixit, it's almost impossible to repair as there's a lot of glue all over the place. Probably a replacement unit as what you've said.
mitodna
post Oct 20 2015, 08:09 PM

14,039 posts

Update: Surface Pro 4 comes with Surface Pen, Microsoft Malaysia backtrack earlier comment
shrumpish
post Oct 20 2015, 08:53 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(mitodna @ Oct 20 2015, 08:09 PM)
Update: Surface Pro 4 comes with Surface Pen, Microsoft Malaysia backtrack earlier comment
oh, they replied on twitter and tagged you and me! haha.. actually sp4 include the silver coloured pen as a default. the dark blue coloured pen that came with that bundle is just an extra.

This post has been edited by shrumpish: Oct 20 2015, 09:37 PM
SUSagewisdom
post Oct 20 2015, 09:04 PM

729 posts

Someone at MS Malaysia is so blur. I guess they were thinking of skimping out on the pen due to the lousy MYR rate but decided against it.

Worldwide and previous all 3 versions of Surface Pro's all came with the pen, so it would be dumb to omit it just for M'sia.
katrina8080
post Oct 20 2015, 11:34 PM

277 posts

QUOTE(Qavs @ Oct 20 2015, 07:13 PM)
Same thing happen to me too. I also have a small cracked at the corner of the screen (not the actual physical corner of the screen. it is at the corner of the LED screen which we can see graphic).
Initially, it is still okay, But after some times, part of the screen become not responsive to touch. so i sent it back to MS. They took 1 weeks to sent me back a replacement unit for free since it's still under warranty. For me, their service is quite good.
YabaDaba
post Oct 21 2015, 02:18 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Oct 20 2015, 04:02 PM)
Lucky already... at least it's still within the warranty period.
True. But it makes using this device as my primary device is out of the question already as if there's anything wrong I can't fix it myself but have to send it back to Microsoft and once sent who knows how long it would be in their hand
YabaDaba
post Oct 21 2015, 02:31 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(mrl @ Oct 20 2015, 04:34 PM)
I think someone in here did post a while back with similar issue with success on solving the issue by re-installing the driver... though probably you'll just have to wait for the replacement now... it is slow for me last time as well, but that time the stock is very limited so that's the reason of the slowness. not sure what happen now...
I must have missed that post but you're right. Nothing for me to do but to twiddle my thumbs and wait. This is a downside of owning a Surface that I didn't foresee
SUSagewisdom
post Oct 21 2015, 02:53 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(YabaDaba @ Oct 21 2015, 02:18 PM)
True. But it makes using this device as my primary device is out of the question already as if there's anything wrong I can't fix it myself but have to send it back to Microsoft and once sent who knows how long it would be in their hand

Ya, I understand how you feel. Without the primary device, it's frustrating, especially since you're using it all the time. Still, better have it fixed within the warranty and hopefully the problems goes away for good.
twtang
post Oct 21 2015, 02:57 PM

634 posts

That has also trigger the need to buying extended warranty for 2nd year and 3rd year, taking consideration that the repair cost is so high.

So, TCO for this device is damn high..and so far how is the durability and reliability compare to Apple product?
shrumpish
post Oct 21 2015, 02:59 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(klaatu08 @ Oct 20 2015, 04:28 PM)
yes, I bought from iosolution, smooth deal.  Basically I just check that I can power on the Surface, pair with the Surface Pen successfully and attached Type cover and working fine... that's all I check..

Meet up to COD, full set of SP3 i5 128G + Type Cover (black).

1 year local MS warranty, can registered online with MS.

SP4 too expensive liao, so I go with SP3...
cool! gonna get mine today!
SUSagewisdom
post Oct 21 2015, 05:22 PM

729 posts

QUOTE(twtang @ Oct 21 2015, 02:57 PM)
That has also trigger the need to buying extended warranty for 2nd year and 3rd year, taking consideration that the repair cost is so high.

So, TCO for this device is damn high..and  so far how is the durability and reliability compare to Apple product?
Is it possible to get extended warranty from Microsoft Malaysia? How much? hmm.gif
mrl
post Oct 21 2015, 05:32 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(twtang @ Oct 21 2015, 02:57 PM)

So, TCO for this device is damn high..and  so far how is the durability and reliability compare to Apple product?
unless you drop it, I'd say on par if not better... never had any reliability issue in my period of ownership... well, other than yellowish strip on my screen and dust underneath the glass (which was solved under warranty)

but that comes from me as an Apple hater... tongue.gif

QUOTE(agewisdom @ Oct 21 2015, 05:22 PM)
Is it possible to get extended warranty from Microsoft Malaysia? How much?  hmm.gif
I think the extended warranty isn't from Microsoft Malaysia but third party retailers insurance scheme...

Silverfire
post Oct 21 2015, 07:55 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

Anyone ordered the Surface Book from overseas? tongue.gif
DRBS
post Oct 21 2015, 08:38 PM

110 posts

I am not sure why but I have now a problem with my pro 3 which was not there previously. I can no longer tether it to my android phone. It detects the android AP address but it does not come out with an option to type in the password. Once I press connect, it will mention that it cannot connect to that wifi. Connecting to other Wi-Fi connections are ok. My phone is also working ok because I can tether other devices to it. Very disappointed because that connection is vital for me
stringfellow
post Oct 21 2015, 08:49 PM

Ultrawide | 4K | VR
11,305 posts

QUOTE(Silverfire @ Oct 21 2015, 07:55 PM)
Anyone ordered the Surface Book from overseas? tongue.gif
Me. Shipping to a US address, then forward to Malaysia. 512GB model before the 1TB model appeared.
mrl
post Oct 21 2015, 08:53 PM

977 posts

QUOTE(DRBS @ Oct 21 2015, 08:38 PM)
I am not sure why but I have now a problem with my pro 3 which was not there previously. I can no longer tether it to my android phone. It detects the android AP address but it does not come out with an option to type in the password. Once I press connect, it will mention that it cannot connect to that wifi. Connecting to other Wi-Fi connections are ok. My phone is also working ok because I can tether other devices to it. Very disappointed because that connection is vital for me
have you tried to make your surface forget that connection and then re-setup the connection again?

Also, I don't recommend using default SSID "AndroidAP". change it to something else because most people don't bother to change ends up conflicting when multiple access points with the same SSID appears within small radius...
Silverfire
post Oct 21 2015, 09:07 PM

Cruxiaer
4,947 posts

QUOTE(stringfellow @ Oct 21 2015, 08:49 PM)
Me. Shipping to a US address, then forward to Malaysia. 512GB model before the 1TB model appeared.
Let us know how you find the overall experience! Especially the fulcrum hinge. I'm interested to know whether the hinge feels sturdy enough for you to put pressure on it.

180 Pages « < 24 25 26 27 28 > » Top

0.0269sec    0.10    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 09:25 AM