What's the sweet spot for Surface 3 Pro config? i3 with 64gb too low on storage?
This post has been edited by agewisdom: Oct 7 2015, 08:54 PM
Official Microsoft Surface Thread V4
Oct 7 2015, 08:49 PM
729 posts Joined: Mar 2007 |
Ladies and gents, will there be a discount on Surface 3 Pro soon? Can't afford 4, but hoping to snag a Surface 3 Pro. If anyone wants to upgrade and let go their Surface 3 Pro, send me a PM....
What's the sweet spot for Surface 3 Pro config? i3 with 64gb too low on storage? This post has been edited by agewisdom: Oct 7 2015, 08:54 PM |
Oct 7 2015, 09:25 PM
QUOTE(mrl @ Oct 7 2015, 09:21 PM) I'm on 64GB with 64GB SDCard.... What do you use for, mainly? Doesn't feel like it's slows me down, but that could be because I use my SP3 as companion device to my main rig... most people complains that's not enough... How much did it cost you? I see last time only RM2.7K but with RM dropping |
Oct 7 2015, 11:28 PM
QUOTE(ReWeR @ Oct 7 2015, 11:11 PM) Here's what I use my surface 3 64gb for: Thanks for the detailed explanation. I mainly plan to use to read PDFs and comics. Plus as a notebook on the go (probably not too often) and a backup for my desktop. Not sure whether it's an overkill or not.1. Browse website, but remember to use Chrome, firefox is not tablet friendly, and Edge is not powerful. The pro of surface 3 is that i can lay on bed and open multiple tab (at the same time) in Chrome browser while this not really supported in ipad. 2. Stream iflix (or netflix) using Chrome. surface 3 got around 5 hours battery life if you continuous streaming (sad). Overall the screen is bigger than ipad, so I do enjoy watch series/movies using it. And surface 3 got quite a good speaker, and display also not bad. 3. Open microsoft excel/powerpoint/doc from onedrive, then edit it and save it online. great for on the go document editing. 4. Open skype for audio/video call. but the down side is their app store basically got nothing. no game, no app can really be use. and battery life made me sadding a bit. and normal micro usb charger doesn't really charge well. I've been trying to look for an android tablet bigger than 10.1 inch, so far either Samsung Note Pro 12.2 or Lenovo Yoga Tab Pro 13.3 but both are expensive RM2K+, so Surface Pro 3 makes more sense I thinks. What do you think, sifu? Is the below by Lazada a good deal? http://www.lazada.com.my/surface-pro-3-cor...ck-1216321.html This post has been edited by agewisdom: Oct 7 2015, 11:29 PM |
Oct 8 2015, 10:26 AM
QUOTE(amaze01 @ Oct 8 2015, 10:10 AM) initially I was thinking replaced my Teclast X98 Air 3G with Teclast X98 Pro.but the built quality for Teclast is terrible so I was thinking to get Surface 3 or Surface Pro 3(which is cheaper after Surface Pro 4 landed,cant afford Surface Pro 4).so in between Surface 3 and Surface Pro 3,which one is best buy,cause the price might different only RM300-RM400? Same boat as you. But Surface Pro has a bigger 12" screen which is the deal breaker for me. It's also slightly more powerful. I think Surface is more for media consumption whereas Pro can do some productivity work as well, using Office etc. |
Oct 8 2015, 08:05 PM
QUOTE(ReWeR @ Oct 8 2015, 06:49 PM) if you want surface pro 3, I would recommend surface pro 4 ... it is 30% faster than surface pro 3 but price just more expensive a bit only. I don't think it's expensive 'a bit' only. Starting prices is about RM4K even for the basic model, with the MYR depreciation vs USD. Is the screen of Surface 3 much smaller than Surface 3 Pro? 10.8 vs 12", big difference or not? This post has been edited by agewisdom: Oct 8 2015, 08:18 PM |
Oct 8 2015, 09:42 PM
QUOTE(ReWeR @ Oct 8 2015, 09:37 PM) height not much diff, but length got difference. Ya, I think Surface Pro 3 would be better for my needs.... Now, just waiting for stock clearance. Come come, quick... i think if watch movie should be 12" better but if talking about bring it out to cafe to surf net, 10.8 is enough but bear in mind surface 3 10.8 wasn't that good for productivity, it's basically a netbook, not even a laptop. |
Oct 9 2015, 09:15 PM
QUOTE(hkh m43 @ Oct 9 2015, 07:29 PM) Thanks bro! |
Oct 9 2015, 09:27 PM
QUOTE(Xirality @ Oct 9 2015, 05:11 PM) I see Harvey Norman has this extended warranty thingy... Anyone bought the extended warranty for Surface Pro 3? I wonder how long the battery can last? Hoping the Surface Pro can last at least 3 years like a normal laptop. Esp. since the battery is impossible to replace (1/10 on ifixit) |
Oct 9 2015, 09:50 PM
Oct 11 2015, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(Racerx @ Oct 11 2015, 07:30 PM) Well, the second day the SP3 was with me, I dropped it and cracked the screen. So I sent it to MS for repairs. Wah, very sad. How much will the repairs cost? It's supposed to be back soon, and right now I'm quite afraid to use it. And I also need the cash for something else. |
Oct 11 2015, 08:09 PM
QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Oct 11 2015, 06:30 PM) Depends on the model. You can get the basic Pro 3 with Type cover at about 3,500, but the higher ones are 4,300 or so and above. Surface 3 or Surface 3 Pro? Pro 4 will be very expensive due to the exchange rate... I know because I was looking yesterday. For the Surface 3 (128 GB / 4 GB RAM) but nobody has it. Nobody. NOBODYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYYY (I guess I'll just wait for the Pro 4) |
Oct 11 2015, 10:48 PM
QUOTE(fuser @ Oct 11 2015, 10:38 PM) Guys what protective cases do you recommend for the Surface Pro 3? I just had a screen protector applied (the official from Microsoft), but I'm still wary about my brother dropping and breaking it again. I just went to see the demo unit today. The Surface Pro 3 is too chunky and heavy. If it's dropped, I doubt anything can save it. It's not meant to be held like a tablet unless you're sitting down reading. Or putting it on your lap.So what cases do you people recommend that (hopefully) absorbs shocks and protects the screen that's locally available? The Meekg looks good, but my brother wanted the Moko protector, which I can only get from Amazon. Is that okay? If you try holding it and using it on the go, that's just asking for trouble unless you got pretty large hands and a strong wrist. Besides, if you have a cover, wouldn't that mean the type cover would be useless? This post has been edited by agewisdom: Oct 11 2015, 10:49 PM |
Oct 11 2015, 11:12 PM
QUOTE(fuser @ Oct 11 2015, 10:53 PM) He has a habit of using it in bed, and then of course it will fall down when he rolls over the course of the night. It's happened twice already (yeah, I'm at my tether with this one), so I'm just going to pad it as much as possible to prevent it from happening again. Ah, I see. It might be his Surface but I'm guessing you or your parents are the ones paying for it... Already told him don't use it in bed but ofc never listen. It's his Surface and I'm the one pening kepala. He'll only take care of it if he pays for it or is responsible for it. If it's broken, don't get him a replacement. Otherwise, it's a moral hazard and he'll never learn. This post has been edited by agewisdom: Oct 11 2015, 11:13 PM |
Oct 12 2015, 12:20 AM
QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Oct 12 2015, 12:06 AM) Only second hands, I want new. The ones selling new told me not in stock also haha, not the 4GB version anyway. That's why I went Digital Mall in the first place. All the new models, extra RM1K in price.... So I think I'll just go for one of the lower end Pro 4s when it comes out. Cheapest also RM4K |
Oct 12 2015, 12:43 AM
QUOTE(Darkstalker @ Oct 12 2015, 12:29 AM) Yup! But might as well, I don't want to get a Pro 3 when Pro 4 about to come out. Indeed, hoping for a clearance sale soon... Pro 4 is just too expensive.... RM4K just for a basic model... Or maybe check for clearance sales for Pro 3 if too much. |
Oct 13 2015, 08:38 PM
QUOTE(twtang @ Oct 13 2015, 08:32 PM) saw a good deal for those who wants to get Wah good deal. http://www.11street.my/productdetail/micro...pe-cover-307143 But is the warranty by Microsoft Malaysia? TMT online trustworthy? |
Oct 14 2015, 11:40 AM
Oct 14 2015, 05:34 PM
QUOTE(klaatu08 @ Oct 14 2015, 04:39 PM) hi u mentioned that there is lots of complaints on FB, are u referring to 11street or TMT? 11 street FB. The link on 11 street now sold out, hopefully they run another campaign on it. If not, I'll look for alternatives.I am looking for Pro 3 i5 128, so far best deal I found is from TMT follow by GLOO Store. any one purchase from GLOO store before? thank you |
Oct 14 2015, 07:45 PM
QUOTE(twtang @ Oct 14 2015, 07:11 PM) I'd prefer Surface 3, mainly due to the size. Of course, compromise with the Processing power. Another to consider is that, I can use powerbank to charge Surface 3, but not Surface pro 3. That is the convenience. Too bad, that link that I shared have been suspended. I think good response. I should have ordered, but was misled by the 5 sold and 45 units left... |
Oct 19 2015, 01:00 PM
QUOTE(redplusstore @ Oct 19 2015, 12:36 PM) Found this great deal Looks too good to be true, I think. Anyone buy from this guy before? http://m.mudah.my/view?q=Surface+pro+3+i5&...&ad_id=41500650 |
| Change to: | 0.0815sec
Time is now: 6th December 2025 - 10:37 PM |