Official Microsoft Surface Thread V4
jychow
Dec 1 2015, 10:27 PM
QUOTE(Wan+ @ Dec 1 2015, 01:04 PM) Anyone having problem using the Facebook app in tablet mode? When I click the Facebook app and after login, the facebook app will disappear suddenly. Anyone facing same problem? On surface 3. Windows 10. Yes. The app crashes too often. Now using it on Chrome.
ReWeR
Dec 1 2015, 11:09 PM
QUOTE(Wan+ @ Dec 1 2015, 01:04 PM) Anyone having problem using the Facebook app in tablet mode? When I click the Facebook app and after login, the facebook app will disappear suddenly. Anyone facing same problem? i tried it b4 end up i uninstall it. use chrome to open fb is much better. chrome basically is god gift for surface user. i'm saying this as firefox user.
androidfans
Dec 2 2015, 12:21 AM

QUOTE(ReWeR @ Dec 1 2015, 11:09 PM) i tried it b4 end up i uninstall it. use chrome to open fb is much better. chrome basically is god gift for surface user. i'm saying this as firefox user. How about Microsoft edge ?
ReWeR
Dec 2 2015, 12:31 AM
QUOTE(androidfans @ Dec 2 2015, 12:21 AM) How about Microsoft edge ? edge is basically a half finish chrome. it's like a light weight chrome, but does not function as good as chrome. since it is relatively young. it doesn't have something like chrome extension or chrome app. so chrome is still the best choice for surface tablet. firefox is not that touchscreen friendly, so not that suitable for surface
ianho
Dec 2 2015, 01:49 AM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(MattAces @ Dec 1 2015, 12:07 PM) Scratch or not, if you think a simple screen protector will prevent it from shattering, then you must b on Fantasy Island too. As posted by Music before. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Oyx6PpXuJfcHahahahahahahahahahhaahhaa. Ini betul betul Fantasy Island mia olang. Nobody talked about shattering except urself. Sindiri ciakap, sindiri syiok.
MattAces
Dec 2 2015, 01:55 AM
QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 2 2015, 01:49 AM) Hahahahahahahahahahhaahhaa. Ini betul betul Fantasy Island mia olang. Nobody talked about shattering except urself. Sindiri ciakap, sindiri syiok. What I'm saying is, screen protector doesn't help. If you're worried about scratches, Gorilla Glass has been proven to be almost impossible to scratch, unless you purposely scratch it with some machine. If you're worried about shattering, even you also know it is impossible. My main point is screen protector is useless. Don't know why you're so angry and rude about it by saying I'm in fantasy land and sendiri cakap sendiri syok. Not trying to argue with you, just proving my point. cheers.
ianho
Dec 2 2015, 03:11 AM
Cucimangkoklife
QUOTE(MattAces @ Dec 2 2015, 01:55 AM) What I'm saying is, screen protector doesn't help. If you're worried about scratches, Gorilla Glass has been proven to be almost impossible to scratch, unless you purposely scratch it with some machine. If you're worried about shattering, even you also know it is impossible. My main point is screen protector is useless. Don't know why you're so angry and rude about it by saying I'm in fantasy land and sendiri cakap sendiri syok. Not trying to argue with you, just proving my point. cheers. Don't simply spew misinformation. Gorilla Glass can be scratched n most ppl who don't use SP will end up with scratches. My Surface Pro also got scratches before putting SP. Even original Samsung plastic screen case can scratch the Gorilla Glass. People put SP to prevent scratches, not prevent shattering. Believing that Gorilla Glass cannot scratch is really living in Fantasy Island. Nobody being rude or angry. Don't emo la. Hahaha
MattAces
Dec 2 2015, 03:48 AM
QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 2 2015, 03:11 AM) Don't simply spew misinformation. Gorilla Glass can be scratched n most ppl who don't use SP will end up with scratches. My Surface Pro also got scratches before putting SP. Even original Samsung plastic screen case can scratch the Gorilla Glass. People put SP to prevent scratches, not prevent shattering. Believing that Gorilla Glass cannot scratch is really living in Fantasy Island. Nobody being rude or angry. Don't emo la. Hahaha Though, I'm genuinely curious how you scratch your screen. I've been using my SP for 2 years + without a single scratches on screen. Same goes to my phone and any other devices using Gorilla Glass. I'm not spewing misinformation, I saw many scratch test for Gorilla Glass 4 and they held up pretty well and I don't remember seeing any failed test except for shattering.
ozone9
Dec 2 2015, 10:44 AM

Guys, Just got my SP4 from Thundermatch. So far so good except it cannot recognise and read my seagate external hdd. I was using my MBP n it was working fine! Still trying to solve this!!
Wonder if there's any 3rd party docking station or USB & other port ie hdmi vga etc expansion for SP4?
jychow
Dec 2 2015, 10:52 AM
QUOTE(ozone9 @ Dec 2 2015, 10:44 AM) Guys, Just got my SP4 from Thundermatch. So far so good except it cannot recognise and read my seagate external hdd. I was using my MBP n it was working fine! Still trying to solve this!! Wonder if there's any 3rd party docking station or USB & other port ie hdmi vga etc expansion for SP4? Thanks you can try J5Create products. boomerangmini 3.0mini ultrait is universal. works for all USB 3.0 laptop.
Music4ever
Dec 2 2015, 10:52 AM

QUOTE(ozone9 @ Dec 2 2015, 10:44 AM) Guys, Just got my SP4 from Thundermatch. So far so good except it cannot recognise and read my seagate external hdd. I was using my MBP n it was working fine! Still trying to solve this!! Wonder if there's any 3rd party docking station or USB & other port ie hdmi vga etc expansion for SP4? Thanks So far only usb 3.0 hdd work on my SP3 Mainly because the usb port can't provide enough power for old version of external hdd Way to solve it is using Y cable with external power source like power bank or other And there's no 3rd party docking station at the moment but lots of 3rd party adapter available Too bad our mini displayport not thunderbolt compatible else lots of thing can be solve d
ozone9
Dec 2 2015, 11:05 AM

QUOTE(jychow @ Dec 2 2015, 10:52 AM) you can try J5Create products. boomerangmini 3.0mini ultrait is universal. works for all USB 3.0 laptop. Thanks bro Looks cool for mini & mini ultra. Not sure if it's practical. Will explore n see
ozone9
Dec 2 2015, 11:06 AM

QUOTE(Music4ever @ Dec 2 2015, 10:52 AM) So far only usb 3.0 hdd work on my SP3 Mainly because the usb port can't provide enough power for old version of external hdd Way to solve it is using Y cable with external power source like power bank or other And there's no 3rd party docking station at the moment but lots of 3rd party adapter available Too bad our mini displayport not thunderbolt compatible else lots of thing can be solve d Thanks,will explore I Google n seems that another solution is to update the usb driver. Not try out yet though.
sleepwalker
Dec 2 2015, 11:13 AM
Need sleep....
QUOTE(Music4ever @ Dec 2 2015, 10:52 AM) So far only usb 3.0 hdd work on my SP3 Mainly because the usb port can't provide enough power for old version of external hdd Way to solve it is using Y cable with external power source like power bank or other And there's no 3rd party docking station at the moment but lots of 3rd party adapter available Too bad our mini displayport not thunderbolt compatible else lots of thing can be solve d That's not true unless you have a 15 year old external hdd that has 1 data and 1 power connector. Those drives do not conform to the USB 2 standards as they need up to 1.0 A to work and USB 2.0 only provides 0.5A. Any usb drive that conforms to the USB 2 standard would work on the SP3 as USB 3 can provide power to support USB 2 devices. I have old usb drives (500mb) from many years ago that is working fine on the SP3.
chaosneo
Dec 2 2015, 11:36 AM
QUOTE(MattAces @ Dec 2 2015, 03:48 AM) Though, I'm genuinely curious how you scratch your screen. I've been using my SP for 2 years + without a single scratches on screen. Same goes to my phone and any other devices using Gorilla Glass. I'm not spewing misinformation, I saw many scratch test for Gorilla Glass 4 and they held up pretty well and I don't remember seeing any failed test except for shattering. i been following this thread and until i saw you guys debating about this. i have to agree with ianho, gorilla glass is strong but is it NOT scratch proof against certain element. i took keys and penknife direct against the glass, even force applied, it does not scratch even those SP which claim 9H. i tried it before on Snote1, S3, SNote3, and SNote4, and it held really well. but it does gets these minor scratches or fine lines after some use and one of the element that i notice that scratch it easily is sand! as in industrial sand. Dear Matt, i think you protect your devices really really well but this can't be apply to others especially some who work with/in heavy industries.
Kaka23
Dec 2 2015, 11:42 AM
Why I couldn't use my hand phone charger to charge my Surface 3? Under power?
iosolution
Dec 2 2015, 11:58 AM
Surface Pro4 price list release
Sp4 M3/4gb/128gb + type cover 4 RM4199 Sp4 i5/4gb/128gb + type cover 4 RM4599 Sp4 i5/8gb/256gb + type cover 4 RM5850
Type cover 4 only RM450(price revised)
Promo: Surface 3 4gb/64gb + type cover RM2099 Surface pro 3 4gb/128gb + type cover 4 RM3399
This post has been edited by iosolution: Dec 2 2015, 12:02 PM
scotty
Dec 2 2015, 12:12 PM
THX Certified Conman
QUOTE(ianho @ Dec 2 2015, 03:11 AM) Don't simply spew misinformation. Gorilla Glass can be scratched n most ppl who don't use SP will end up with scratches. My Surface Pro also got scratches before putting SP. Even original Samsung plastic screen case can scratch the Gorilla Glass. People put SP to prevent scratches, not prevent shattering. Believing that Gorilla Glass cannot scratch is really living in Fantasy Island. Nobody being rude or angry. Don't emo la. Hahaha i didnt know samsung case so hard and strong.
marauderz
Dec 2 2015, 12:16 PM
QUOTE(Kaka23 @ Dec 2 2015, 11:42 AM) Why I couldn't use my hand phone charger to charge my Surface 3? Under power? You should use something that's capable of reaching 2A, if your charger can't push enough current. Then you can try making it charge by turning off your tablet and then plugging it in. So the charger has a chance of pushing more current in than it drawing it out.
Kaka23
Dec 2 2015, 12:50 PM
QUOTE(marauderz @ Dec 2 2015, 12:16 PM) You should use something that's capable of reaching 2A, if your charger can't push enough current. Then you can try making it charge by turning off your tablet and then plugging it in. So the charger has a chance of pushing more current in than it drawing it out. oh.. ok, will try it out. Thanks!