140 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Bottom

Recommendation for Credit Cards V3, Please post according to Format stated.

azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 09:20 AM

35 posts

Also the AMEX Platinum Card is "invite only". What is the normal process to get invited to this ? Get the Platinum Credit Card and get invited ? Get a Gold Charge Card then get invited ? Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks again! smile.gif
sbd
post Sep 28 2015, 11:00 AM

707 posts

you may have a Amex platinum charge card but it won't be widely accepted unless you have Visa/Master as well. You will be disappointed if you have only Amex Plat charge. Trust me, I had it in the past.

Anyway with your income, you qualify to get it, just be prepared to pay more than 2k annual subs.
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 11:23 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Sep 28 2015, 02:00 PM)
you may have a Amex platinum charge card but it won't be widely accepted unless you have Visa/Master as well. You will be disappointed if you have only Amex Plat charge. Trust me, I had it in the past.

Anyway with your income, you qualify to get it, just be prepared to pay more than 2k annual subs.
Thanks mate, appreciate the feedback. I plan to get the AMBank Visa Infinite as well. Usually in Australia I pair my VISA with AMEX because it provides best points/rewards. I wish to do the same in Malaysia.

As for the Platinum Card, I'll also be travelling a lot so it has more value for me in hotels etc. For everything else I'll use my AMBank Infinite Visa.

Points conversion will be into Enrich primarily or One World partners.

Cheers,
AK
fruitie
post Sep 28 2015, 11:31 AM

Rise and Shine
72,846 posts

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 11:23 AM)
Thanks mate, appreciate the feedback. I plan to get the AMBank Visa Infinite as well. Usually in Australia I pair my VISA with AMEX because it provides best points/rewards. I wish to do the same in Malaysia.

As for the Platinum Card, I'll also be travelling a lot so it has more value for me in hotels etc. For everything else I'll use my AMBank Infinite Visa.
Points conversion will be into Enrich primarily or One World partners.

Cheers,
AK
Why didn't you take Maybank 2 Cards Premier? https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3135958
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 11:42 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 02:31 PM)
Why didn't you take Maybank 2 Cards Premier? https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3135958
It's on my list too at the moment. Just that I'm leaning more towards the other bank because I will be working for them... smile.gif

Other than that I thought very highly of Maybank 2 Cards Premier.

Mind you I haven't been living or working in Malaysia for over 16 years so I have limited view based on what I read... I can tell you that you get so much more credit card benefits than in Australia. Promotions in Australia are often boring...unless its concert tickets etc. smile.gif

Cheers,
AK

fruitie
post Sep 28 2015, 11:53 AM

Rise and Shine
72,846 posts

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 11:42 AM)
It's on my list too at the moment. Just that I'm leaning more towards the other bank because I will be working for them... smile.gif

Other than that I thought very highly of Maybank 2 Cards Premier.

Mind you I haven't been living or working in Malaysia for over 16 years so I have limited view based on what I read... I can tell you that you get so much more credit card benefits than in Australia. Promotions in Australia are often boring...unless its concert tickets etc. smile.gif

Cheers,
AK
You can have AmBank and Maybank as well, no restrictions on your cards quantity so long banks approve. biggrin.gif
justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 12:01 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(justice_alive @ Sep 28 2015, 09:16 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: free, but there is card which is good that have to pay a little annual fees, please recommend it to me. smile.gif

3. Card required for: EZ payment 0% interest with 2 years period availability.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. but i have maybank debit card, dont know it relates or not. 

5. Looking at CC from: Citibank or hong leong, if there's better choice please recommend thanks smile.gif

6. Others: Just want to buy something with EZ payment for better personal cash flow and having some rewards or cash back if possible.
guys please help?
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 12:02 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 02:53 PM)
You can have AmBank and Maybank as well, no restrictions on your cards quantity so long banks approve. biggrin.gif
Hey Fruitie,
Thanks for your response. That is an option too. I don't have any issue with credit (pre-condition for working in a bank smile.gif ) so it should be OK. Once I come back (Nov) and start working I'll will look into this seriously.

Do you know what would be an average credit limit for these cards ?

Cheers,
AK
chiahau
post Sep 28 2015, 01:00 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(justice_alive @ Sep 28 2015, 12:01 PM)
guys please help?
Ez payment 0% mostly for 12 months only.

How to recommend to you? laugh.gif

Citibank can forget it. Hardly will approve without 1 year record of holding another card.

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 12:02 PM)
Hey Fruitie,
Thanks for your response. That is an option too. I don't have any issue with credit (pre-condition for working in a bank smile.gif ) so it should be OK. Once I come back (Nov) and start working I'll will look into this seriously.

Cheers,
AK
MBB Premier limit can be "tailor-made" to suit your spending.

You should get around 20k~30k at least, if your salary does qualify.

Signatures limit is around 20k at least, and an Infinite is around 30k.

Premier should be around that range.
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 01:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(justice_alive @ Sep 28 2015, 03:01 PM)
guys please help?
Just my RM 0.02 sen bro, I have had Citibank cards both in Malaysia and Australia before and i found their service staff to be very arrogant and not helpful. I subsequently cancelled both of them. Not sure how it is now in Malaysia.

Also another small advice if I may. Get something small, don't care what. My first card even in Australia was AUD 1k. Pay on time and grow your credit rating first. Then you move to "popular" cards slowly. If kena reject big cards wont look good on credit profile. smile.gif

Cheers,
AK

azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 01:11 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 28 2015, 04:00 PM)
Ez payment 0% mostly for 12 months only.

How to recommend to you? laugh.gif

Citibank can forget it. Hardly will approve without 1 year record of holding another card.
MBB Premier limit can be "tailor-made" to suit your spending.

You should get around 20k~30k at least, if your salary does qualify.

Signatures limit is around 20k at least, and an Infinite is around 30k.

Premier should be around that range.
Thank you for your response. That sounds fine to me. Good enough to get started back in KL! smile.gif

Cheers,
AK
Wongchoy
post Sep 28 2015, 01:43 PM

932 posts

guys please help?
Let me assume you are new to CC and you would like to use it for 0% installment. So it is good you apply from banks with a vast merchant acquiring network eg Maybank , CIMB. Maybank requirement is a minimum 30k, so I could only recommend CIMB Rebate MasterCard to you.
fruitie
post Sep 28 2015, 01:46 PM

Rise and Shine
72,846 posts

guys please help?
Let me be frank to you, getting first credit card for installment purpose is definitely not a good practice. Buy only if you can afford. Save first. smile.gif

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 12:02 PM)
Hey Fruitie,

Cheers,
AK
For Maybank 2 Cards Premier usually starts from RM 30k. smile.gif
All the best!

azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 01:50 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 04:46 PM)
Premier usually starts from RM 30k. smile.gif
All the best!
Thank you! Appreciate your assistance.

PS : If anyone help me answering the AMEX Platinum query would be great. (How to get invited ?)

Cheers,
AK

chiahau
post Sep 28 2015, 02:13 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Sep 28 2015, 01:43 PM)
Let me assume you are new to CC and you would like to use it for 0% installment. So it is good you apply from banks with a vast merchant acquiring network eg Maybank , CIMB. Maybank requirement is a minimum 30k, so I could only recommend CIMB Rebate MasterCard to you.
CIMB can't call in to convert for installment.

So either he has to swipe the merchant that offers 0% EPP or he won't have the chance to do EPP laugh.gif

Not many merchant offers 0% for CIMB thou.

Tiffany and Co is the only 1 I remembered having 0% EPP tongue.gif tongue.gif
sbd
post Sep 28 2015, 02:24 PM

707 posts

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 01:50 PM)
Thank you! Appreciate your assistance.

PS : If anyone help me answering the AMEX Platinum query would be great. (How to get invited ?)

Cheers,
AK
No need to get invited. Go to any Maybank and ask to apply. If you're overseas, ask them to email you the application form
azamen87
post Sep 28 2015, 02:24 PM

164 posts

Hello guys, need recommendation.

1. Annual Income: RM48k

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: A Must

3. Card required for: Primarily for travel purposes

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil

5. Looking at CC from: Nil

6. Others: Currently salary using Maybank

Thanx in advance!
justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 03:54 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 01:09 PM)
Just my RM 0.02 sen bro, I have had Citibank cards both in Malaysia and Australia before and i found their service staff to be very arrogant and not helpful. I subsequently cancelled both of them. Not sure how it is now in Malaysia.

Also another small advice if I may. Get something small, don't care what. My first card even in Australia was AUD 1k. Pay on time and grow your credit rating first. Then you move to "popular" cards slowly. If kena reject big cards wont look good on credit profile. smile.gif

Cheers,
AK
Im new to credit card .. please ignore my lack of knowledge..
what u mean get something small?
actually i plan to get citibank clear card.. not sure its good or not..

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Sep 28 2015, 01:43 PM)
Well what do u think about citibank clear card?
some place says that it has free annual fees,
but its website only says that it is only free by one year..

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 01:46 PM)
Let me be frank to you, getting first credit card for installment purpose is definitely not a good practice. Buy only if you can afford. Save first. smile.gif
For Maybank 2 Cards Premier usually starts from RM 30k. smile.gif
All the best!
well.. buying things with instalment just part of the reason that i am going for a credit card..
i also wants rewards on what i spend and enjoy some benefits by applying a credit cards.
actually i have little money saving on what i am going to buy.. so im basically prepared..
just instalment will make my life easier for not spending a whole amount to get one item.
chiahau
post Sep 28 2015, 04:10 PM

Fatthau StalKer
14,082 posts

QUOTE(justice_alive @ Sep 28 2015, 03:54 PM)
Im new to credit card .. please ignore my lack of knowledge..
what u mean get something small?
actually i plan to get citibank clear card.. not sure its good or not..
Well what do u think about citibank clear card?
some place says that it has free annual fees,
but its website only says that it is only free by one year..
well.. buying things with instalment just part of the reason that i am going for a credit card..
i also wants rewards on what i spend and enjoy some benefits by applying a credit cards.
actually i have little money saving on what i am going to buy.. so im basically prepared..
just instalment will make my life easier for not spending a whole amount to get one item.
Means get a credit card with low limit? laugh.gif

If you bother to read my reply, I already mentioned that it's nearly impossible to get approved on a Citibank card without a 1 year record of holding another card.

Basing solely on your salary, you can get UOB One, HLB Mach, CIMB CR Mastercard and Aeon card.

Their benefits and perks, please head to respective threads and read up.
Sblad3
post Sep 28 2015, 04:29 PM

41 posts

Hi xperts,

Salary ~ 60k/annual
I've applied few CB cc for last 2 months, UOB one card, UOB lady, Citibank CB, CIMB CB, HLB Wise, HLB Essential, AEON
Below is my spending pattern.

HLB wise - Dining & Fuel

Petrol: 200~300 --> HLB Wise 10%
T&Go: 100 --> CIMB @ Sam Grocer for 2% CB and RM10 voucher
Groc: 100 --> UOB lady 10%, AEON (20th 5% cb), CIMB 2%
Guardian: 100 -->Citibank 2%
Streamyx: 120 --> ??
TNB: 120 --> ??
Astro: 90 --> CIMB online 5%, any better choice?

Dining: 150~200 --> HLB Wise 10%
Insurance: 500 --> any recommend ? Not sure if Essential entitle 1% on this
phone (prepaid): 65 --> CIMB 5% online thru shopback
phone (Postpaid): 150 --> HLB Wise 10% (bonus)

Wonder if there is any way can get CB on those highlighted in red and do advise or suggest any trick or cards that I can max out my CB tongue.gif

140 Pages « < 22 23 24 25 26 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.41    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 05:14 AM