Recommendation for Credit Cards V3, Please post according to Format stated.

justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 09:16 AM

39 posts

1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: free, but there is card which is good that have to pay a little annual fees, please recommend it to me. smile.gif

3. Card required for: EZ payment 0% interest with 2 years period availability.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. but i have maybank debit card, dont know it relates or not.

5. Looking at CC from: Citibank or hong leong, if there's better choice please recommend thanks smile.gif

6. Others: Just want to buy something with EZ payment for better personal cash flow and having some rewards or cash back if possible.

justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 12:01 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(justice_alive @ Sep 28 2015, 09:16 AM)
1. Annual Income: RM24K to RM30K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: free, but there is card which is good that have to pay a little annual fees, please recommend it to me. smile.gif

3. Card required for: EZ payment 0% interest with 2 years period availability.

4. Existing credit cards if any: Nil. but i have maybank debit card, dont know it relates or not. 

5. Looking at CC from: Citibank or hong leong, if there's better choice please recommend thanks smile.gif

6. Others: Just want to buy something with EZ payment for better personal cash flow and having some rewards or cash back if possible.
guys please help?
justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 03:54 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 01:09 PM)
Just my RM 0.02 sen bro, I have had Citibank cards both in Malaysia and Australia before and i found their service staff to be very arrogant and not helpful. I subsequently cancelled both of them. Not sure how it is now in Malaysia.

Also another small advice if I may. Get something small, don't care what. My first card even in Australia was AUD 1k. Pay on time and grow your credit rating first. Then you move to "popular" cards slowly. If kena reject big cards wont look good on credit profile. smile.gif

Cheers,
AK
Im new to credit card .. please ignore my lack of knowledge..
what u mean get something small?
actually i plan to get citibank clear card.. not sure its good or not..

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Sep 28 2015, 01:43 PM)
Let me assume you are new to CC and you would like to use it for 0% installment. So it is good you apply from banks with a vast merchant acquiring network eg Maybank , CIMB. Maybank requirement is a minimum 30k, so I could only recommend CIMB Rebate MasterCard to you.
Well what do u think about citibank clear card?
some place says that it has free annual fees,
but its website only says that it is only free by one year..

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 01:46 PM)
Let me be frank to you, getting first credit card for installment purpose is definitely not a good practice. Buy only if you can afford. Save first. smile.gif
For Maybank 2 Cards Premier usually starts from RM 30k. smile.gif
All the best!
well.. buying things with instalment just part of the reason that i am going for a credit card..
i also wants rewards on what i spend and enjoy some benefits by applying a credit cards.
actually i have little money saving on what i am going to buy.. so im basically prepared..
just instalment will make my life easier for not spending a whole amount to get one item.
justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 04:52 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 28 2015, 04:10 PM)
Means get a credit card with low limit? laugh.gif

If you bother to read my reply, I already mentioned that it's nearly impossible to get approved on a Citibank card without a 1 year record of holding another card.

Basing solely on your salary, you can get UOB One, HLB Mach, CIMB CR Mastercard and Aeon card.

Their benefits and perks, please head to respective threads and read up.
haha its not that i did not read, just i dont understand about what u wrote.. sweat.gif sweat.gif sorry! cause i am new to credit card..

i see i see.. if u would recommend one.. which one would u recommend the most for getting a low credit one?
justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 04:54 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 04:44 PM)
Yes a small credit limit. Usually what ever they can offer you.

If you have the cash AND you can use that to pay off the amount on time, every month, then it will build your credit profile.

Remember having big credit is not always good. Can affect other borrowing later, for example when you want to buy house. Keep it small and manageable for now. As your earning increase, then you can increase credit. smile.gif

Rewards from credit, depends on what it is. If you need to spend a lot of money to get that reward, its not worth it.

For example. You can buy a flight to Langkawi for as little as RM50 with Air Asia. But if you have to spend RM3K to get one free flight to Langkawi - is it worth it ? No. You are better off just paying the flight with your credit card then paying that off.

Hope this helps smile.gif

Cheers,
AK
i see i see.. yea im saving for the item i want.. in progress laugh.gif

so credit card increase with salary u mean?

i see i see.. means dont spend a lot to get free but just spend the small money? hahaha..

please ignore my dumbness and my bad grammar.. sweat.gif sweat.gif
justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 05:30 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 28 2015, 05:19 PM)
Yes, there are plenty of differences.

Wise can offer up to 10% CB while Mach can't do the same.

Wise's AF is almost impossible to waive after 2 years, Mach one can waive if you use it.

As for HSBC, never bothered with their card since it's not really beneficial to my spending.
If your salary below 36k, your limit is usually x2 of your salary.

So, I dun think can go any lower already laugh.gif
i mean which credit card would u recommend haha.. well i read all the details.. i think i will prefer UOB one or Hong leong MACH..

QUOTE(azizikhan @ Sep 28 2015, 05:21 PM)
Your credit limit will increase IF you pay it on time after a while. Say you start with 3K. If you pay it properly, after a while they may offer you 5K. But make sure you keep good track record. smile.gif

Good luck!

Cheers,
AK
i see i see.. thank you biggrin.gif
justice_alive
post Sep 28 2015, 09:10 PM

39 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Sep 28 2015, 08:30 PM)
Citi is not recommended . Best you apply CIMB or UOB. I would wanna recommend MBB but you need 30k/annum income because that's the network with the largest 0% installment merchant.
which credit card of MBB? my salary is actually more than 30k per annum
justice_alive
post Sep 29 2015, 09:13 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(Wongchoy @ Sep 28 2015, 10:18 PM)
A good card for a beginner would be Maybank 2 Gold Cards. It's free for life and it comes with 2 cards, 1 is AMEX and the other is Visa/Master. It used to be one of the best card in terms of benefits, but somehow the benefits got from bad to worse, but IMO, still useful for a beginner to start with.
is it better than hong leong MACH ? im too new to credit cards, may i know the differences? biggrin.gif thank you !
justice_alive
post Sep 29 2015, 10:49 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Sep 29 2015, 10:00 AM)
what do you aim for in hlb mach card? if it suits you, of course it can be better. for example, dining with hlb mach can get 5% everyday compared to mbb2amex only during weekends, but it is 5%+5xtp.

my dinner usually is on weekends haha.. so i think i will consider taking MBB 2 card rather than hongleong mach..
justice_alive
post Sep 29 2015, 11:08 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(victorywp @ Sep 29 2015, 10:56 AM)
but another point to take note is that more restaurants accept visa/master compared to amex.  nod.gif
is there any list that which restaurant that accept amex? haha.. i just choose those places if can biggrin.gif
or i just make 2 credit cards? is that good? haha

0.0215sec    0.28    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 01:27 PM