Recommendation for Credit Cards V3, Please post according to Format stated.

azizikhan
post Sep 23 2015, 01:31 PM

35 posts

Hi all, newbie here.

Moving back to Malaysia from overseas. I need some card recommendations

1. Annual Income: 400K

2. Free Lifetime Annual Fee: Not Necessary

3. Card required for: for airport lounge, travel, eating out

4. Existing credit cards if any: Australian NAB VISA/AMEX credit limit RM75K

5. Looking at CC from: Points/Rewards

6. Others: Aim to collect cc. Benefits, Lifestyle

Looking for a good card(s). I mainly like to eat out in nice restaurants and/or travel. What would be a good top tier card for me ?

I haven't worked in Malaysia for over 16 years. Been living in Australia. Now heading back with new job in KL. So would it be hard to get a premium card ?

AK

This post has been edited by azizikhan: Sep 23 2015, 01:52 PM
azizikhan
post Sep 24 2015, 06:32 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Sep 24 2015, 02:17 AM)
Maybank 2 Cards Premier is the Best Card in Malaysia, so far...
http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2014/03...prehensive.html
OR
AmBank World MasterCard
http://generationsxyz.blogspot.com/2014/12...d-and-visa.html
Appreciate your response. I read both links. Thanks they look promising. How would either of this compare with Amex Platinum Card ? Are they comparable ?

AK
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 09:20 AM

35 posts

Also the AMEX Platinum Card is "invite only". What is the normal process to get invited to this ? Get the Platinum Credit Card and get invited ? Get a Gold Charge Card then get invited ? Any suggestions would be helpful.

Thanks again! smile.gif
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 11:23 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Sep 28 2015, 02:00 PM)
you may have a Amex platinum charge card but it won't be widely accepted unless you have Visa/Master as well. You will be disappointed if you have only Amex Plat charge. Trust me, I had it in the past.

Anyway with your income, you qualify to get it, just be prepared to pay more than 2k annual subs.
Thanks mate, appreciate the feedback. I plan to get the AMBank Visa Infinite as well. Usually in Australia I pair my VISA with AMEX because it provides best points/rewards. I wish to do the same in Malaysia.

As for the Platinum Card, I'll also be travelling a lot so it has more value for me in hotels etc. For everything else I'll use my AMBank Infinite Visa.

Points conversion will be into Enrich primarily or One World partners.

Cheers,
AK
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 11:42 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 02:31 PM)
Why didn't you take Maybank 2 Cards Premier? https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/3135958
It's on my list too at the moment. Just that I'm leaning more towards the other bank because I will be working for them... smile.gif

Other than that I thought very highly of Maybank 2 Cards Premier.

Mind you I haven't been living or working in Malaysia for over 16 years so I have limited view based on what I read... I can tell you that you get so much more credit card benefits than in Australia. Promotions in Australia are often boring...unless its concert tickets etc. smile.gif

Cheers,
AK

azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 12:02 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 02:53 PM)
You can have AmBank and Maybank as well, no restrictions on your cards quantity so long banks approve. biggrin.gif
Hey Fruitie,
Thanks for your response. That is an option too. I don't have any issue with credit (pre-condition for working in a bank smile.gif ) so it should be OK. Once I come back (Nov) and start working I'll will look into this seriously.

Do you know what would be an average credit limit for these cards ?

Cheers,
AK
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 01:09 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(justice_alive @ Sep 28 2015, 03:01 PM)
guys please help?
Just my RM 0.02 sen bro, I have had Citibank cards both in Malaysia and Australia before and i found their service staff to be very arrogant and not helpful. I subsequently cancelled both of them. Not sure how it is now in Malaysia.

Also another small advice if I may. Get something small, don't care what. My first card even in Australia was AUD 1k. Pay on time and grow your credit rating first. Then you move to "popular" cards slowly. If kena reject big cards wont look good on credit profile. smile.gif

Cheers,
AK

azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 01:11 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(chiahau @ Sep 28 2015, 04:00 PM)
Ez payment 0% mostly for 12 months only.

How to recommend to you? laugh.gif

Citibank can forget it. Hardly will approve without 1 year record of holding another card.
MBB Premier limit can be "tailor-made" to suit your spending.

You should get around 20k~30k at least, if your salary does qualify.

Signatures limit is around 20k at least, and an Infinite is around 30k.

Premier should be around that range.
Thank you for your response. That sounds fine to me. Good enough to get started back in KL! smile.gif

Cheers,
AK
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 01:50 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(fruitie @ Sep 28 2015, 04:46 PM)
Premier usually starts from RM 30k. smile.gif
All the best!
Thank you! Appreciate your assistance.

PS : If anyone help me answering the AMEX Platinum query would be great. (How to get invited ?)

Cheers,
AK

azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 04:36 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(sbd @ Sep 28 2015, 05:24 PM)
No need to get invited. Go to any Maybank and ask to apply. If you're overseas, ask them to email you the application form
Brilliant! Will do that. Thank you smile.gif
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 04:44 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(justice_alive @ Sep 28 2015, 06:54 PM)
Im new to credit card .. please ignore my lack of knowledge..
what u mean get something small?

well.. buying things with instalment just part of the reason that i am going for a credit card..
i also wants rewards on what i spend and enjoy some benefits by applying a credit cards.
actually i have little money saving on what i am going to buy.. so im basically prepared..
just instalment will make my life easier for not spending a whole amount to get one item.
Yes a small credit limit. Usually what ever they can offer you.

If you have the cash AND you can use that to pay off the amount on time, every month, then it will build your credit profile.

Remember having big credit is not always good. Can affect other borrowing later, for example when you want to buy house. Keep it small and manageable for now. As your earning increase, then you can increase credit. smile.gif

Rewards from credit, depends on what it is. If you need to spend a lot of money to get that reward, its not worth it.

For example. You can buy a flight to Langkawi for as little as RM50 with Air Asia. But if you have to spend RM3K to get one free flight to Langkawi - is it worth it ? No. You are better off just paying the flight with your credit card then paying that off.

Hope this helps smile.gif

Cheers,
AK
azizikhan
post Sep 28 2015, 05:21 PM

35 posts

QUOTE(justice_alive @ Sep 28 2015, 07:54 PM)

so credit card increase with salary u mean?

Your credit limit will increase IF you pay it on time after a while. Say you start with 3K. If you pay it properly, after a while they may offer you 5K. But make sure you keep good track record. smile.gif

Good luck!

Cheers,
AK
azizikhan
post Oct 1 2015, 08:21 AM

35 posts

Fruitie,
After much consideration I have decided to apply for the Maybank 2 Cards Premier. Looked though their promotions and discounts and its quite attractive.

Will also apply for a Amex Platinum Charge if possible...

Only coming back next month so will organize all this then.

Thanks for all your feedback!

Cheers,
AK
azizikhan
post Oct 3 2015, 05:03 AM

35 posts

I checked for the Maybank cards and on their form they asked for one month payslip. But their website says 3 months etc.

If I just start working back in Malaysia is it better for me to work a couple of months or one my payslip with my letter of offer etc is sufficient ?

Appreciate the advice.

Cheers,
AK
azizikhan
post Oct 3 2015, 05:24 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(myrancid @ Oct 2 2015, 05:38 PM)
Yes.. correct 324,00 annually.. you want to request my payslips?  wink.gif
To avoid confusion, please adjust your "," to be third from the right.

So... 324,00 should be 32,400 OR

Don't put the comma at all - 32400.

Either that your payroll department is missing some zeroes hahahaaha!!! brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif brows.gif
azizikhan
post Oct 3 2015, 08:23 AM

35 posts

QUOTE(fly126 @ Oct 3 2015, 09:53 AM)
Multiple payslips better, proof that you already got a stable job in Malaysia ~ an Ability to Repay your CC's debts, already...
Brilliant! Thanks.

Cheers,
AK
azizikhan
post Oct 4 2015, 02:20 PM

35 posts

I noticed many people here use multiple cards for points, cashback etc. Is it better ? Or just use one or two cards ? ie like Maybank 2 Cards Premium ?

0.0735sec    0.45    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 02:11 PM