130 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

stimix
post Nov 15 2012, 05:52 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

For steamboats, I already loss faith on those in Brinchan decade ago.. My last dinner in brinchang was ~early 2000.. Lousy and having diff pricing depending on Publi Holiday/Weekend.. Thereafter I found better ttasted & surprising good steamboats in Tanah Rata...less restaurants there but all equally good no matter you choose Mayflower, Hong kong or even the lousiest Fern Nyonya also better than any steamboats in brinchang...

Too bad my regular steamboat restaurant (Mayflower) suddenly followed those in Brinchang and started charging Brinchang pricing darmit... Used to be RM13 just ~Early this year.. Anyway.. the tatse still good... I must say much better than those famous "pulau Ketam steamboats in Klang Valley rclxms.gif

On weather, Actually, the temperature.. did increased but very marginal if you see the chart earlier... only <1C from 1969 haha... I still able to get below 15C last yr and only Yesterday Morning, I managed to get 15.3C..abit higher than last year... anyway.. can't be very accurate.. 15C in CH is consider cold dy.. similar to winter nite temperature during Dec in Guangzgou/HK & Taiwan

Added on November 15, 2012, 5:55 pmUnfortunately..lotsa tourist trapped during Holiday season especially in Brinchang, Kea farm & tringkap area... That's why. I AVOID going further than Tanah Rata haha.. and only goto the Pasar Malam in Brinchang ~8pm and to Kea farm early in the Morning... U see.. I even detoured from using Brichang>Kg Raja>Spg Pulai to go to Ipoh Yesterday due to the crazy jam.. I rather pay extra toll going down again using Tapah way to Ipoh haha

This post has been edited by stimix: Nov 15 2012, 05:55 PM
jenli_84
post Nov 16 2012, 12:22 AM

377 posts

hopefully when i go up no jam...i purposely choose to go on thursday and back on saturday....just to avoid weekend jam....but afraid school holiday everyday jam =(
lilyginger
post Nov 16 2012, 08:25 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 15 2012, 05:52 PM)
For steamboats, I already loss faith on those in Brinchan decade ago.. My last dinner in brinchang was ~early 2000.. Lousy and having diff pricing depending on Publi Holiday/Weekend.. Thereafter I found better ttasted & surprising good steamboats in Tanah Rata...less restaurants there but all equally good no matter you choose Mayflower, Hong kong or even the lousiest Fern Nyonya also better than any steamboats in brinchang...

Too bad my regular steamboat restaurant (Mayflower) suddenly followed those in Brinchang and started charging Brinchang pricing darmit... Used to be RM13 just ~Early this year.. Anyway.. the tatse still good... I must say much better than those famous "pulau Ketam steamboats in Klang Valley  rclxms.gif

On weather, Actually, the temperature.. did increased but very marginal if you see the chart earlier... only <1C from 1969 haha... I still able to get below 15C last yr and only Yesterday Morning, I managed to get 15.3C..abit higher than last year... anyway.. can't be very accurate.. 15C in CH is consider cold dy.. similar to winter nite temperature during Dec in Guangzgou/HK & Taiwan

Added on November 15, 2012, 5:55 pmUnfortunately..lotsa tourist trapped during Holiday season especially in Brinchang, Kea farm & tringkap area... That's why. I AVOID going further than Tanah Rata haha.. and only goto the Pasar Malam in Brinchang ~8pm and to Kea farm early in the Morning... U see.. I even detoured from using Brichang>Kg Raja>Spg Pulai to go to Ipoh Yesterday due to the crazy jam.. I rather pay extra toll going down again using Tapah way to Ipoh haha
I think winter in HK/Shenzhen in November (I been there in winter before) is around 15 but there is strong chilly wind blowing making the temperature feel like 10. Then at night the chilly wind become colder and the temperature drop further to maybe 10. So I don't think its similar to HK/Shenzhen kind of temperature although its less cold in HK compared to Shenzhen in November.

Btw, the weather did increase a lot because there is no more cold air in CH at night and I stay in Strawberry Park Apartment in Tanah Rata and the jam is so terrible like you say.

What to do commercialization eat up the steamboat restaurant too.
stimix
post Nov 16 2012, 10:28 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(lilyginger @ Nov 16 2012, 08:25 AM)
I think winter in HK/Shenzhen in November (I been there in winter before) is around 15 but there is strong chilly wind blowing making the temperature feel like 10. Then at night the chilly wind become colder and the temperature drop further to maybe 10. So I don't think its similar to HK/Shenzhen kind of temperature although its less cold in HK compared to Shenzhen in November.

Btw, the weather did increase a lot because there is no more cold air in CH at night and I stay in Strawberry Park Apartment in Tanah Rata and the jam is so terrible like you say.

What to do commercialization eat up the steamboat restaurant too.
Early Dec 2008, in HK, Shenzhen & Macau.. Yes I too experienced 14C.. so it's the same feeling early Morning in Cameron at 15.3C that I took-lah.. I also experienced strong wind in CH many times esp at nite.. chilling cold just like you said in HK smile.gif ..The only problem, was, when you up there, there was no strong wind.. just like what I experienced days ago..also no strong wind.. That was why temperature during sunny daytime can be as high as 27C but averaging 23C indoor. and at night without rain & wind, temperature at 19 to 21C is common for years now

But if raining cats & dogs, The daytime CH weather is constatntly ~ 17-19C daytime and at night expecting 14-15C and Midnight till early Morning should be ~ 13C from my many trips there biggrin.gif
lilyginger
post Nov 16 2012, 08:11 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 16 2012, 10:28 AM)
Early Dec 2008, in HK, Shenzhen & Macau.. Yes I too experienced 14C.. so it's the same feeling early Morning in Cameron at 15.3C that I took-lah.. I also experienced strong wind in CH many times esp at nite.. chilling cold just like you said in HK  smile.gif ..The only problem, was, when you up there, there was no strong wind.. just like what I experienced days ago..also no strong wind.. That was why temperature during sunny daytime can be as high as 27C but averaging 23C indoor. and at night without rain & wind, temperature at 19 to 21C is common for years now

But if raining cats & dogs, The daytime CH weather is constatntly ~ 17-19C daytime and at night expecting 14-15C and Midnight till early Morning should be ~ 13C from my many trips there  biggrin.gif
Many rain also mean many landslides leh, who want to go to CH if landslide everywhere?

When I go early of November, there was a lot of landslides too, everywhere can see JKR patching up here and there.
buggeroff
post Nov 17 2012, 07:17 PM

43 posts

Hi all!

would like to ask for some help smile.gif I'm planning a family trip to Cameron Higland next year for about 10 adults and 2-3 little kid. I've been looking around the net for apartment to rent but usually found 3-room apartment only. If can, need a 4-room apartment for 2 night stay.. anyone know any info about apartment there and especially any contact number I could ask upon.

I found lots listed in ibilik.my but they didn't put any contact number of the owner. i'm not so sure want to book online, dunno safe or not and i've heard stories bout wrongbooked date etc.. rather contact the owner directly.

tl:dr need info on 4-room apartment to rent in Cameron! biggrin.gif

thanks for any help!
appsichen
post Nov 17 2012, 08:54 PM

QUOTE(buggeroff @ Nov 17 2012, 07:17 PM)
Hi all!

would like to ask for some help smile.gif I'm planning a family trip to Cameron Higland next year for about 10 adults and 2-3 little kid. I've been looking around the net for apartment to rent but usually found 3-room apartment only. If can, need a 4-room apartment for 2 night stay.. anyone know any info about apartment there and especially any contact number I could ask upon.

I found lots listed in ibilik.my but they didn't put any contact number of the owner. i'm not so sure want to book online, dunno safe or not and i've heard stories bout wrongbooked date etc.. rather contact the owner directly.

thanks for any help!
My friends' company rented this place called Snooze in Brinchang for a company trip. If I am not wrong, I think they have rooms/ apartments which might suits u. U can contact them via Fb @ snooze Cameron highlands.
life_b4diezz
post Nov 18 2012, 02:00 PM

46 posts

it is good place..
Red Maniac
post Nov 18 2012, 02:17 PM

347 posts

Standard apartments in CH is at most 3 rooms. So far I know the Penthouse unit in Desa Anthurium comes with 4 rooms.
lilyginger
post Nov 18 2012, 05:09 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(appsichen @ Nov 17 2012, 08:54 PM)
My friends' company rented this place called Snooze in Brinchang for a company trip. If I am not wrong, I think they have rooms/ apartments which might suits u. U can contact them via Fb @ snooze Cameron highlands.
Yup, I saw this at Brinchang when I went there. But theres always jam and a lot of traffic in Brinchang.

Read the link here : Save Cameron Highland for future generation!!!

To proove that Cameron Highland have too much development (over commercialization and over cutting down of trees for the sake of development), there is a hotel on discount in living social.com. Its an 3 bedroom apartment that fit 7.This apartment is opposite Brinchang town, I been there so I saw the apartment itself above the hill. Near pasar malam and used to be RM280 per nite. Now only RM190 per nite.

Maybe CH stop being cold anymore so thats why the apartment is on discount. This place is jam, noisy, stink of exhaust fumes and not cold at all on certain time.

I think the supply of apartment is already at the over supply level which is bad because they cut down so many trees to develop CH causing the CH itself becoming less and less a destination.

Living Social Link : Crown Imperial Court Apartment in Cameron for rent!!!

This post has been edited by lilyginger: Nov 18 2012, 05:17 PM
stimix
post Nov 18 2012, 05:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Don't just concentrate on Brinchang-lah.. It's been years likedat and worsen wth the opening of Gua Musang Spg Pulai road 7 now Raub-Ringlet bypass.. Wth these 2 new roads.. Now ppl from East Coast also using CH as overnite stay b4 continue to western side.. and imargine the jam esp on the newer road. Lucky due to the narrow, slower lorries & chances of landslides, the old road now getting quiet... Good liao haha...

Only newbies still sked using Tapah-Ringlet road..
cute_boboi
post Nov 19 2012, 03:33 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(buggeroff @ Nov 17 2012, 07:17 PM)
Hi all!

thanks for any help!
Most (if not all) apartments are 3 bedrooms. But if don't mind, can bunk in living room. Bring own sleeping bag.
Room no heater. Bathroom got water-heater, but take turn to bath... can be ... 2 hours sweat.gif

But for your huge family, I suggest rent a bungalow. Nice.

saw2001
post Nov 23 2012, 01:06 AM

Chelsea Chelsea
1,192 posts

Anyone tried driving a viva up?
cute_boboi
post Nov 23 2012, 02:45 PM

° 忍 °
6,462 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Nov 23 2012, 01:06 AM)
My relative used to own a kancil. Drive down & up every weekend, for the past like .... don't know how many years.
Last time use Tapah road, after that use Simpang Pulai.
Carry whole family with kids. Any problem ? hmm.gif

stimix
post Nov 23 2012, 02:56 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

QUOTE(saw2001 @ Nov 23 2012, 01:06 AM)
I drove my father-in law kancil 15yrs ago up to Genting which the gradient even steeper than CH road...sumore 5 of us inc my baby still in my waifu stomach that time biggrin.gif ....Well no problem at all and infact more powerful than my wira 1.5auto on the same gradient..haha..bcos that kancil manual gearbox blush.gif

If you use Tapah-CH way, the road are more winding and therefore gradient is not so steep and less power needed ..Using Spg Pulai-CH wth less winding road so more power needed bcos certain location very steep....anyway not as bad as the steepest part of Genting near the big hanging rock haha
jenli_84
post Nov 24 2012, 10:43 PM

377 posts

bro stimix...hows the condition at tapah road....hmmm im going cameron this thursday...hopefully okay ><
stimix
post Nov 24 2012, 11:41 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

I last there during depavali.. As said 2 bad landslides somewhere before Inskandar waterfall and another just after Habu/ Bharat Tea plantation.

Now..do idea.
jenli_84
post Nov 25 2012, 01:29 AM

377 posts

anyone going there this weekend using tapah...kindly update road condition
adriankhoo153
post Nov 26 2012, 08:46 AM

So many star for what?
4,808 posts

Went there on Sat and Sun.. Jam like hell there.. Almost standstill from Kea Farm to Brinchang Pasar Malam. Very very bad jam here and there...

Btw, saw Lavender Palace lookalike at Brinchang.. Still undercontruction. New attraction? hmm.gif

This post has been edited by adriankhoo153: Nov 26 2012, 08:52 AM
munkeyflo
post Nov 26 2012, 12:14 PM

Blooop bloop bloop
2,797 posts

Was at Cameron Highlands for the weekend. Stayed at Rose Apartment. Saturday was drizzling for almost the whole day, Sunday was very very hot.

Everywhere packed with people, have to wait for tables and queue to order food at almost all the cafe. Quite bad jam on the way back to Simpang Pulai road so we took Tapah back. Landslides all have been cleared already but you may get stuck around the waterfall cause lots of people park on the road side and big lorry/buses can't go thru. Other than that, all good.

130 Pages « < 121 122 123 124 125 > » Top

0.0247sec    0.49    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 06:07 AM