Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

lilyginger
post Nov 6 2012, 09:06 PM

448 posts

I went to Cameron Highland last weekend (3-4 Nov) and stayed in Tanah Rata. I have been like 3 times to Cameron Highland for the past 7 years.

I would not recommend Cameron Highland as a destination anymore because the following;

a)The weather in Cameron Highland is not as cool like last time. Its getting warmer. On last Saturday, it rained because its monsoon season but at the resort in Tanah Rata, warm air blew into the rooms although it had rained. The weather was noticeable more warmer than 5 years ago.

b)There is just too much jam over the weekend, all the express buses with the daytripper. On the way to Brinchang from Tanah Rata, there was a stretch of 1.5 hour jam just because all the express bus is cramming on the road crawling to Brinchang. Along the journey, the smell of smog and exhaust fumes are abundant, not fresh air anymore.

c)Just too many hotel being built here and there destroying the once pristine and beautiful scenery. No one is taking action and if there is, its just temporary halt of the construction work.

d)Too much development causing landslide during the heavy downpour for the past one week. Along the way to Brinchang, I get to see many landslide being patch up by JKR people.

e)Cameron Highland commercialization is just too much. You can see everywhere got shop selling strawberry pillow and strawberry souvenir, which is too much already. Then one day after the pasar malam in Brinchang(saturday night), rubbish is being strewn everywhere in Brinchang the next morning.

Really sakit mata punya place. mad.gif

Read the rest in this posting; Save Cameron Highland from Greed!!!
lilyginger
post Nov 7 2012, 08:27 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(appsichen @ Nov 7 2012, 02:32 PM)
Agree that Cameron has lost its peace and serenity. This is all due to the local council and government deciding to turn a blind eye to uncontrolled opening of forest, haphazard town planning. In short, all the parties concerned are sleeping on their jobs. Utterly disappointed with the way they are managing one of Malaysia's most revered highlands holiday spot.
I agree with you. True cool weather and clean air are no longer abundant in Cameron Highland, so whats the point of going there. Rubbish are everywhere and so many hotel that it starting to feel like its in KL. No more peace and serenity. vmad.gif

Save Cameron Highland for the future generation

Added on November 7, 2012, 8:29 pm
QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Nov 7 2012, 11:00 AM)
hahhahaa...i love to but strawberry rm300 per night  while century pines is RM180 per night =D...budget constraints
Don't feel sad because I stayed there over the weekend, warm air blew into my room after the rain. You can imagine how cool is Cameron Highland to have warm air blowing into your room after rain.

Save Cameron Highland before its too late

This post has been edited by lilyginger: Nov 7 2012, 08:29 PM
lilyginger
post Nov 8 2012, 07:50 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(jenli_84 @ Nov 7 2012, 10:01 PM)
so the weather is not cold anymore =( sad....purposely choose there because tot genting highland to commercialize...how cameron also like tht...i went there dec 2009 still okay...now everything change? sad =(
Yeah, what to do because it had happened already. We can only highlight. I am not the only one with this sentiment, I am sure many people been to Cameron Highland recently in this forum and would have their own story to tell.

Express your view here : Save Cameron Highland for future generation!!!
lilyginger
post Nov 8 2012, 07:48 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(cute_boboi @ Nov 8 2012, 12:24 PM)
The weather is nothing new. It's been like this since years ago. Not sure I mention in this thread before.

20-30 years ago, you need to wear jacket (even a thin one) in the afternoon. At night, sure super-cold. Face/cheeks is pink/reddish, very nice. Even in afternoon, you blow out breath, got that "smoke".
10-20 years ago, no need wear jacket. Just long sleeve working shirt is fine in afternoon. Night just wear any jacket + blanket. No more pink cheeks.
10 years ago, afternoon wear short-sleeves without jacket is fine. At night sleep with t-shirt only + blanket. Face red due to hot sun & weather + sweating.

My relative working there, is wearing the same clothing as KL people. No jacket.
It's subjective to say safe or not. My advise is don't. Latest, leave Tanah Rata/Brinchang at 5pm. It will be already dark before you reach Tapah/Simpang Pulai.

With current rainy weather, there are a lot of small landslides here and there, and I've mention it won't publish in newspaper as afraid affect tourism. Those who went up in recent 1-2 weeks, can concur my statement or not.

At night, you won't be able to see small landslides and immediate action/panic, may swerve off-road.

My 2 cents.
Yes very true, its due to too much commercialization and development in Cameron Highland. Now Cameron Highland in the afternoon feel like KL in the afternoon. The only thing prevalent in Cameron Highland is Strawberry plush pillow and anything strawberry.

So no need to wear any spring clothing, just wear a Hawaiian shirt or singlet you also won't feel cold.

Voice your experience here : Save Cameron Highland for future generation!!!

This post has been edited by lilyginger: Nov 8 2012, 07:48 PM
lilyginger
post Nov 9 2012, 09:11 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 8 2012, 08:24 PM)
CH weather very dependent on musim wan-lah.. certain days not so cold certain days temperature can drop drastically.. years ago I also have the same feeling like you all.. Went there afternoon and temperature only ~24-26C and at night ~20-22C.. but on certain days, when the wind really strong wth raining cats & dogs, temperature during Afternoon normally on this time ~17C-19C and at night can drop to ~13-14C.

And the chilling & humidity of this weather at 13-14C with strong wind is actually colder than dry winter chilling in 4 season countries.

Too experience this, you need to be in CH very frequent.. 1-2 days few years once is not enough.. u need to travel there atleast twice to 4 times a year and on different seasons to experience the real CH
I don't think we will ever experience the kind of chilling that you mentioned. I went during the monsoon season ie early November which is suppose to be cold since its raining most of the time. A lot of rain also during the day and night, thats why there is landslide. No rain sure landslide is less.

So the temperature that you mentioned maybe like 13-14C at night may not happen anymore at CH.

Btw going there 3-4 times a year is like exposing yourself a place filled with commercialization and exhaust fumes all year round. KL already have all the commercialization, exhaust fumes and terrible development, would we want to feel that again and again in CH?

Support CH recovery : Save Cameron Higland for future generation!!!

lilyginger
post Nov 9 2012, 09:26 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 9 2012, 09:15 AM)
Not all the time but when the wind chill it's really cold at night.. the 14C was recorded only in Dec 2010. Tgere are instances of getting 11C too .. but not by me.

Anyway, we can't get anything below 10C in CH liao compare to decades ago for sure.. There was once almost snowing in CH way back b4 WW2 from what I read.. temperature almost 0C

Added on November 9, 2012, 9:17 amTo avoid fume & noises, do not stay in Brinchang - that one bloody commercialized place & cut throat area.. go for slower rustic Tanah Rata. And stay in those hotel far away from the main road.

Also do not use Spg Pulai way during peak period. just use Tapah road will do- faster, less jam although winding...By staying at Tanah Rata.. you will be skipping those jamp prone area b4 reaching Brinchang.
I don't think there will be slowing down with the development in CH. Maybe one day the cooling weather and pristine condition of CH will become just like another distant memory. cry.gif

Give CH a voice : Save Cameron Highland for future generation!!!

lilyginger
post Nov 15 2012, 05:29 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 14 2012, 09:00 PM)
It is a trend in Brinchang liao.. Almost all the shops I saw Yesterday all serving charcoal steamboat. Years ago they just served normal steamboat.. do not be fool by them. Anyway, Tanah Rata nice steamboat restaurants also joining the crazy price of Brinchang already darmit..
When I was there, I was having the steamboat in Brinchang too, convenient reason because they are close to Pasar Malam.

They charge per hear like RM16 per person(there was 5 of us but we ordered for 4 because we are small eater). The soup base is split into chicken stock and tomyam. I did not opt for the charcoal one, the high chimney doesn't look that appetizing.

The fare is basic like some meehon noodle, 4 eggs, some vegetable, some prawn, some chicken meat, some fishball, some fish meat, overall nothing special and its not big, like something we would get when we ordered for one plate of fried rice.

A lot of people in the restaurant and a lot of ushering by the restaurant staff to go into their steamboat outlet. Overall enough to fill the tummy, nothing spectacular and the bill is about RM70++ (including drink and additional order of rice).

Added on November 15, 2012, 5:33 pm
QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 15 2012, 04:31 PM)
Haha.. I read somewhere mah.. I think inside Time tunnel museum kua.. One of the posted article mentioned about short snowing in CH ~early 30's or something... anyway, from Wikipedia entry.. there was a record mentioned min temp- minus 0.9C  ohmy.gif  laugh.gif

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cameron_Highlands
Anyway, M'sian wether irregardeless of CH or lowland also increasing every year.. just check this chart

The lowland area also no diff.. No wonder last time early Morning when I was young in the 70's.. Morning was so cold

Yes very true, its getting hotter on the whole of Malaysia and its affecting CH. But CH is slowly losing its charm because of too much commercialization, too much express buses dominating its road choking the place with smoke and exhaust fumes and too much shops + hotel selling almost anything for the sake of profit.

Save Cameron Highland for future generation!!!

This post has been edited by lilyginger: Nov 15 2012, 05:33 PM
lilyginger
post Nov 16 2012, 08:25 AM

448 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 15 2012, 05:52 PM)
For steamboats, I already loss faith on those in Brinchan decade ago.. My last dinner in brinchang was ~early 2000.. Lousy and having diff pricing depending on Publi Holiday/Weekend.. Thereafter I found better ttasted & surprising good steamboats in Tanah Rata...less restaurants there but all equally good no matter you choose Mayflower, Hong kong or even the lousiest Fern Nyonya also better than any steamboats in brinchang...

Too bad my regular steamboat restaurant (Mayflower) suddenly followed those in Brinchang and started charging Brinchang pricing darmit... Used to be RM13 just ~Early this year.. Anyway.. the tatse still good... I must say much better than those famous "pulau Ketam steamboats in Klang Valley  rclxms.gif

On weather, Actually, the temperature.. did increased but very marginal if you see the chart earlier... only <1C from 1969 haha... I still able to get below 15C last yr and only Yesterday Morning, I managed to get 15.3C..abit higher than last year... anyway.. can't be very accurate.. 15C in CH is consider cold dy.. similar to winter nite temperature during Dec in Guangzgou/HK & Taiwan

Added on November 15, 2012, 5:55 pmUnfortunately..lotsa tourist trapped during Holiday season especially in Brinchang, Kea farm & tringkap area... That's why. I AVOID going further than Tanah Rata haha.. and only goto the Pasar Malam in Brinchang ~8pm and to Kea farm early in the Morning... U see.. I even detoured from using Brichang>Kg Raja>Spg Pulai to go to Ipoh Yesterday due to the crazy jam.. I rather pay extra toll going down again using Tapah way to Ipoh haha
I think winter in HK/Shenzhen in November (I been there in winter before) is around 15 but there is strong chilly wind blowing making the temperature feel like 10. Then at night the chilly wind become colder and the temperature drop further to maybe 10. So I don't think its similar to HK/Shenzhen kind of temperature although its less cold in HK compared to Shenzhen in November.

Btw, the weather did increase a lot because there is no more cold air in CH at night and I stay in Strawberry Park Apartment in Tanah Rata and the jam is so terrible like you say.

What to do commercialization eat up the steamboat restaurant too.
lilyginger
post Nov 16 2012, 08:11 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Nov 16 2012, 10:28 AM)
Early Dec 2008, in HK, Shenzhen & Macau.. Yes I too experienced 14C.. so it's the same feeling early Morning in Cameron at 15.3C that I took-lah.. I also experienced strong wind in CH many times esp at nite.. chilling cold just like you said in HK  smile.gif ..The only problem, was, when you up there, there was no strong wind.. just like what I experienced days ago..also no strong wind.. That was why temperature during sunny daytime can be as high as 27C but averaging 23C indoor. and at night without rain & wind, temperature at 19 to 21C is common for years now

But if raining cats & dogs, The daytime CH weather is constatntly ~ 17-19C daytime and at night expecting 14-15C and Midnight till early Morning should be ~ 13C from my many trips there  biggrin.gif
Many rain also mean many landslides leh, who want to go to CH if landslide everywhere?

When I go early of November, there was a lot of landslides too, everywhere can see JKR patching up here and there.
lilyginger
post Nov 18 2012, 05:09 PM

448 posts

QUOTE(appsichen @ Nov 17 2012, 08:54 PM)
My friends' company rented this place called Snooze in Brinchang for a company trip. If I am not wrong, I think they have rooms/ apartments which might suits u. U can contact them via Fb @ snooze Cameron highlands.
Yup, I saw this at Brinchang when I went there. But theres always jam and a lot of traffic in Brinchang.

Read the link here : Save Cameron Highland for future generation!!!

To proove that Cameron Highland have too much development (over commercialization and over cutting down of trees for the sake of development), there is a hotel on discount in living social.com. Its an 3 bedroom apartment that fit 7.This apartment is opposite Brinchang town, I been there so I saw the apartment itself above the hill. Near pasar malam and used to be RM280 per nite. Now only RM190 per nite.

Maybe CH stop being cold anymore so thats why the apartment is on discount. This place is jam, noisy, stink of exhaust fumes and not cold at all on certain time.

I think the supply of apartment is already at the over supply level which is bad because they cut down so many trees to develop CH causing the CH itself becoming less and less a destination.

Living Social Link : Crown Imperial Court Apartment in Cameron for rent!!!

This post has been edited by lilyginger: Nov 18 2012, 05:17 PM
lilyginger
post Dec 1 2012, 04:01 PM

448 posts

For those who are interested in the nature side of Cameron Highland, there is a fantastic website about the wonderful biodiversity of CH.

Click on this link to : REGIONAL ENVIRONMENT AWARENESS CAMERON HIGHLAND

Cameron Highland have lost most of its charm as a peaceful and serene getaway due to too many express bus coming up for day trip. The jam is super bad and stretched for 1 hour++.

Further everywhere there is hotel construction and too many shop all selling strawberry souvenirs.

If you wish to ensure Cameron Highland remain beautiful, support here : Save Cameron Highland for future generation!

0.0469sec    0.33    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 01:20 AM