130 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Bottom

Travel Cameron Highland, Recommended things to see and do?

maxizanc
post Jan 20 2010, 11:19 PM

5,909 posts

Went to Cameron Highland and it was a quiet nice experience. Stayed at Kang's Traveller's lodge (RM80, 4 pax - 1 night). I don't know what the Lonely Planet did to them but i saw a board written "F&ck the lonely planet, loads of rubbish" lol.

But didn't managed to join the jungle trekking activities, there reason were: 2 of my friends didn't bring shoe (wtf?) and we only stay for 2 days and 1 night..

Next time surely will go jungle trek there.

And one nice experience was driving from Tapah to CH. Wow love all of the selekoh thumbup.gif
Traveler
post Jan 21 2010, 03:37 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

I found this blog that detailed the author's trip via the Sg Koyan-Ringlet road in June 2009 (with pictures of the road). Apparently most of the way is paved except for a 12km stretch. It took them a little under 2 hours from Sg Koyan to Ringlet. Looks like any standard trunk road with a mild "off-road" stretch. Am planning my own journey next weekend, so I hope to be able to update the info. Who knows.. maybe when I get on it, it will be fully paved.

Also found this article at The Star website:

http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file...&sec=southneast

Friday August 28, 2009
New road to Cameron Highlands
BY NIK NAIZI HUSIN

CAMERON HIGHLANDS: Travelling time to Cameron Highlands from Sungai Koyan in Lipis district is expected to take less than an hour with a new road now under construction and scheduled to be completed in March next year.

Pahang Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Adnan Yaakob said the 79.1km road costing RM806mil would shorten the route from Kuantan to the highlands tourist attraction by about 80km.

In progress: Part of the Lipis-Cameron Highlands Highway which is still under construction.
It will pass through Pos Betau, Kampung Meter, Kampung Semoi and Kampung Sungai Susu. Currently 71.1km has been completed.

The present route to the highlands from Kuantan passes through Batang Kali in Selangor, Ipoh-KL expressway and exits in Tapah, Perak.

This takes between six to seven hours and motorists have to pass through Selangor and Perak to reach Tanah Rata in Cameron Highlands.

“With the new route from Sungai Koyan, travelling time will be shortened by two hours, if travelling from Kuantan,” Adnan said after a site visit to check on the progress of the road construction in Ulu Jelai, some 10km from the town of Ringlet in Cameron Highlands recently.

He said the new route was expected to boost the number of tourists visiting the highlands which was popular for its strawberry farm, fresh vegetables and flowers.

Adnan said there was also a route to the highlands from Gua Musang in Kelantan.

The new route will be the main entrance to the highlands.

The orang asli communities, who live along the road, will have easy access to both Ringlet and Sungai Koyan and this would help boost their economic activities,” he said.

Sungai Koyan is about a four hours’ drive from Kuantan.

Adnan said the project was planned in 1990 and feasibility studies were conducted in 1996.
This post has been edited by Traveler: Jan 21 2010, 03:49 PM
m3lv
post Jan 22 2010, 12:58 AM

419 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 19 2010, 12:49 PM)
Try Michael = 012 5066070. He drives a Kancil with flyers stuck on his windscreen. Also bargain with him.
thanks!! that helps alot!! gonna go there next weekend rclxm9.gif
stimix
post Jan 22 2010, 07:26 AM

Dunno
3,542 posts

Do feedbaclk on the condition of the unpaved road & also photos too biggrin.gif
QUOTE(Traveler @ Jan 21 2010, 03:37 PM)
I found this blog that detailed the author's trip via the Sg Koyan-Ringlet road in June 2009 (with pictures of the road). Apparently most of the way is paved except for a 12km stretch. It took them a little under 2 hours from Sg Koyan to Ringlet. Looks like any standard trunk road with a mild "off-road" stretch.  Am planning my own journey next weekend, so I hope to be able to update the info. Who knows.. maybe when I get on it, it will be fully paved.

Also found this article at The Star website:

http://thestar.com.my/metro/story.asp?file...&sec=southneast
nicodemus88
post Jan 26 2010, 02:48 AM

202 posts

Can someone tell me what's the best month in the year to go to Cameron Highlands, i.e. the weather is at its coolest, a lot of strawberries... =D
Thanks!

This post has been edited by nicodemus88: Jan 26 2010, 02:51 AM
HelloPanda
post Jan 26 2010, 02:59 AM

oh..If going to Cameron,a nice place suggested to stay is Strawberry Park Resort..Wow,its nice and cool!! But with the condition, u should drive there or else it would be not so convenience.. Well, its the middle hills between 2 small towns as well,so nice and the price is reasonable and affordable also =) Got special rate for Malaysian and Singaporean as well,nice right? Hehe~~
all along the year cameron produce strawberry and tea..Tat time i went around Oct and its great.Too bad, there are very few night activities, so might be little bit boring

etigge
post Jan 26 2010, 05:14 AM

295 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Jan 26 2010, 02:48 AM)
Can someone tell me what's the best month in the year to go to Cameron Highlands, i.e. the weather is at its coolest, a lot of strawberries... =D
Thanks!
Most local tourist find CH nice because it is cooler and the coolest months coincides with the monsoon. So the coolest days are about now and will get hotter after March. If you see locals wearing 2 layers of clothings then it is cold. The coldest I have experience is 13 degrees but very seldom. The locals told me during the British eras the temperature can go down to 3 degrees but not any more.
Strawberries are grown whole year round.
vxeon
post Jan 26 2010, 03:37 PM

75 posts

Does anyone know how long it takes to drive from tanah rata to bukit tinggi?

stimix
post Jan 26 2010, 03:58 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

U mean Bkt Tinggi Pahang? if yes aAround 5 hrs both ways either from Raub >Gua Musang> CH
or back to KL > MSE> Tapah>CH
Traveler
post Jan 27 2010, 10:29 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(stimix @ Jan 26 2010, 03:58 PM)
U mean Bkt Tinggi Pahang? if yes aAround 5 hrs both ways either from Raub >Gua Musang> CH
or back to KL > MSE> Tapah>CH
Will report on the Sg Koyan-Ringlet road (with pics) after my drive on it this coming weekend. If it's open, it will probably be shorter than 5 hours, as there's about 100km savings in distance vs the Gua Musang route.
nicodemus88
post Jan 28 2010, 01:37 AM

202 posts

Hi... Need some opinion on what would be the suitable time to spend in CH to thoroughly enjoy all the main attractions? 2D1N or 3D2N?

Will 2D1N be a bit too rushing?
ukiya
post Jan 28 2010, 01:53 AM

* Hardcore Adventurer *
1,079 posts

Juz gt bac after 4d3n up there. Stay in Cameronian Inn... n 90% of the guest is Mat-Saleh.
Drive in Sg Palas Boh Tea Plantation in the early morning! Cool and chilling... took some special picture while av1 watching us! Using Simpang Pulai, very nice view and i m feel its shorter compare to snake turning via Tapah. We even bring our gastove to cook steamboat upthere. Coz previous experience, feeling like being chopped by them!

Driving up will be better coz more place to go! Juz found out recently inside Jln Jasar, Tanah rata, there's a shop inside feel with cheese aroma. Best Strawberry Cheese cake i ever try in Cameron! And its only RM4.00. And mores... brows.gif

Actually went up to find some local frens ^^ cant imagine the place is quite develop compare to my last visit last year!

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Jan 28 2010, 01:37 AM)
Hi... Need some opinion on what would be the suitable time to spend in CH to thoroughly enjoy all the main attractions? 2D1N or 3D2N?

prefer 3d2n... coz 2 d will seems bit rush n not much to enjoy!

Putraskyline
post Jan 28 2010, 03:34 AM

Non-Regular
1,269 posts

QUOTE(nicodemus88 @ Jan 28 2010, 01:37 AM)

2d1n will be too rush. 3d2n just right but I prefer 4d3n smile.gif
etigge
post Jan 28 2010, 04:06 AM

295 posts

"Juz gt bac after 4d3n up there. Stay in Cameronian Inn... n 90% of the guest is Mat-Saleh.
Drive in Sg Palas Boh Tea Plantation in the early morning! Cool and chilling... took some special picture while av1 watching us! Using Simpang Pulai, very nice view and i m feel its shorter compare to snake turning via Tapah."

Actually if you are travelling from KL, it is nearer via the Tapah - Ringlet route. I normally take that route to KL as it cuts almost an hour off from the travelling time, not to mention the cheaper toll charges. If you are from Taiping or Penang then off course it is nearer via the Simpang Pulai road. If you use the Simpang Pulai road you have to travel to Brinchang or Tanah Rata from Kg.Raja which might take another 30 minutes or so.

"Juz found out recently inside Jln Jasar, Tanah rata, there's a shop inside feel with cheese aroma. Best Strawberry Cheese cake i ever try in Cameron! And its only RM4.00. And mores..."

This must be the cake shop in Carnation Park. It is called Richbake. Have you tried hiking up Gunung Jasar. It is the mountain behind Carnation Apartments. The hike takes about 90 minutes. At the last 5 minutes of the trail just before the summit (there's an electrical pylon there) the ground is mossy and damp.
Traveler
post Jan 28 2010, 10:38 AM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 28 2010, 04:06 AM)
Actually if you are travelling from KL, it is nearer via the Tapah - Ringlet route. I normally take that route to KL as it cuts almost an hour off from the travelling time, not to mention the cheaper toll charges. If you are from Taiping or Penang then off course it is nearer via the Simpang Pulai road. If you use the Simpang Pulai road you have to travel to Brinchang or Tanah Rata from Kg.Raja which might take another 30 minutes or so.
Tapah-Ringlet road is shorter, but I prefer to take Simpang Pulai which is a lot easier and not so "death-defying". I can also drive faster on the Simpang Pulai road. It really depends on where you are staying. If you are staying in Brinchang, then Simpang Pulai becomes more attractive as you enter the Cameron Highlands area near Brinchang. If staying in Tanah Rata/Ringlet, then the Tapah-Ringlet road become a lot closer. In the end, it's all personal preference. I personally like driving up Simpang Pulai at night, and as you reach Kg Raja, the view of the farms all lit up in the dark, is quite spectacular. Of course, I would only recommend driving up in a group as the road is very lonely and dark at night.
etigge
post Jan 28 2010, 02:50 PM

295 posts

QUOTE(Traveler @ Jan 28 2010, 10:38 AM)
Tapah-Ringlet road is shorter, but I prefer to take Simpang Pulai which is a lot easier and not so "death-defying". I can also drive faster on the Simpang Pulai road. It really depends on where you are staying. If you are staying in Brinchang, then Simpang Pulai becomes more attractive as you enter the Cameron Highlands area near Brinchang. If staying in Tanah Rata/Ringlet, then the Tapah-Ringlet road become a lot closer. In the end, it's all personal preference. I personally like driving up Simpang Pulai at night, and as you reach Kg Raja, the view of the farms all lit up in the dark, is quite spectacular. Of course, I would only recommend driving up in a group as the road is very lonely and dark at night.
Yes, I agree with your comments. I personally prefer the Tapah route, maybe I am used to driving there. I can make it in 50 minutes from Tapah toll exit to Ringlet. The road is also traffic free at nights, no lorries as the veges lorries starts their journey after 11.00 am after the veges have been collected. Saturday is an off day in Cameron so lorries are even less.As for the Simpang Pulai stretch, you should be careful when descending to Ipoh. The ending stretch nearing the quarry is where the our 'cari makan' guys hangout. The speed limit is only 50kmh(I think) but the stretch is so open and straight and also downhill, so going over 50 is just a breeze. Telcos has already put up repeaters in Simpang Pulai-Cameron road so phone line is available there but they did not do so on the Tapah stretch!
stimix
post Jan 28 2010, 03:10 PM

Dunno
3,542 posts

No doubt Spg Pulai will be easier although far from KL & xtra toll too...However wth the fast descending speed, it can be out of control sometime compare to the winding CH-Tapah road..

There was once I almost lost control of my non fuzzy logic/troptronic auto box and the brakes did not work well esp you are descending faster than the car abilities....scary experience..On winding road u can't really speed & wth less steepier road, actually feel safe too except I hate those slow lorries too..haha
SUSSyedBrix
post Jan 28 2010, 04:12 PM

51 posts

when u go down, u dun need brakes. brakes are for noobs
prospeed_ballz
post Jan 28 2010, 04:23 PM

347 posts

QUOTE(etigge @ Jan 28 2010, 02:50 PM)
Yes, I agree with your comments. I personally prefer the Tapah route, maybe I am used to driving there. I can make it in 50 minutes from Tapah toll exit to Ringlet. The road is also traffic free at nights, no lorries as the veges lorries starts their journey after 11.00 am after the veges have been collected. Saturday is an off day in Cameron so lorries are even less.As for the Simpang Pulai stretch, you should be careful when descending to Ipoh. The ending stretch nearing the quarry is where the our 'cari makan' guys hangout. The speed limit is only 50kmh(I think) but the stretch is so open and straight and also downhill, so going over 50 is just a breeze. Telcos has already put up repeaters in Simpang Pulai-Cameron road so phone line is available there but they did not do so on the Tapah stretch!

you are right etigge,

i already kena the saman ekor........the summons says km 11.5 jalan simpang pulai - cameron.......speed limit 48km/h but hantam 115 km/h.....

Traveler
post Jan 28 2010, 04:34 PM

Mad HD and SSD Collector
811 posts

QUOTE(prospeed_ballz @ Jan 28 2010, 04:23 PM)
you are right etigge,

i already kena the saman ekor........the summons says km 11.5 jalan simpang pulai - cameron.......speed limit 48km/h but hantam 115 km/h.....
I was lucky then that the last time I came back from CH, I went via Gua Musang. Thanks for the heads up. On my return from my upcoming CH trip, I better hit the cruise control to limit to 50km/h smile.gif Hopefully my nuvi 1460 (default latest garmin map) will have the speed limit on the map so I know for sure where it starts.

130 Pages « < 62 63 64 65 66 > » Top

0.0277sec    0.16    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 02:52 AM