Income Tax Issues v4, Scope: e-BE and eB only

Matchy
post Oct 9 2021, 05:49 PM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Sep 27 2021, 08:09 AM)
In the new Permai stimulus package announced today, the government has extended the special tax relief of RM2,500 on purchases of phones, computers, and tablets to 31 December 2021.

The special tax relief was introduced in the middle of last year as a way to boost work-from-home arrangements. Individual taxpayers could claim tax relief of up to RM2,500 for purchases of these particular electronic devices between 1 June and 31 December 2020.

This was on top of the existing tax relief that allowed taxpayers to claim up to RM2,500 under the lifestyle category, which includes expenditure on sports equipment, reading materials, Internet bills, and the same personal electronic devices.
https://ringgitplus.com/en/blog/income-tax/...tax-relief.html

Permai package: RM2.5k tax relief for phone, computer purchases extended another year
By Arfa Yunus, Mohamed Basyir - January 18, 2021
https://www.nst.com.my/news/government-publ...-phone-computer

count by calendar year,...many had said, you can claim for 2 years
If I purchase one unit RM5000 computer, I can claim RM5000 or just RM2500?
MUM
post Oct 9 2021, 06:02 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Oct 9 2021, 05:49 PM)
If I purchase one unit RM5000 computer, I can claim RM5000 or just RM2500?
try this?
http://phl.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Nota_Pen...an_BE2020_2.pdf

Matchy
post Oct 9 2021, 06:08 PM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 9 2021, 06:02 PM)
Thanks! Looks like we can claim all in 1 go. notworthy.gif
MUM
post Oct 9 2021, 06:11 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Oct 9 2021, 06:08 PM)
Thanks! Looks like we can claim all in 1 go. notworthy.gif
but remember to the need to separate it....??
edwin1002
post Oct 9 2021, 09:59 PM

698 posts

anyone know elauan cukai pelaburan bagi projek teknologi hijau? 70% pendapatan berkanun can exempted from tax. Beside this, any other benefit from this?
Hoshiyuu
post Oct 12 2021, 01:26 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

Hi sifus, got some noob questions...

1. Taxable Income = my actual listed salary before EPF and sosco the right? E.g. if my employment letter say salary is 4k, then my annual taxable income is 48000+bonus or other income?

2. Following the 4k salary example, my EPF would be 440 a month, so I would over the limit of EPF tax relief and can claim 4k in relief, any further self contribution cannot be claimed?
MUM
post Oct 12 2021, 01:39 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Oct 12 2021, 01:26 AM)
Hi sifus, got some noob questions...

1. Taxable Income = my actual listed salary before EPF and sosco the right? E.g. if my employment letter say salary is 4k, then my annual taxable income is 48000+bonus or other income?

2. Following the 4k salary example, my EPF would be 440 a month, so I would over the limit of EPF tax relief and can claim 4k in relief, any further self contribution cannot be claimed?
for Q1: looks like is AFTER and not before
and yes have to include other income to get the total income for that year.
with effect year 2015 an individual who earns an annual employment income of RM34,000 (after EPF deduction) has to register a tax file.
after going thru the tax filling assessment then will determine if you have taxable income....for you may have alot of things to claim for tax rebates and reliefs too....
http://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...sequ=2&bt_lgv=2

for Q2: YES

Hoshiyuu
post Oct 12 2021, 02:00 AM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 12 2021, 01:39 AM)
with effect year 2015 an individual who earns an annual employment income of RM34,000 (after EPF deduction) has to register a tax file.
after going thru the tax filling assessment then will determine if you have taxable income....for you may have alot of things to claim for tax rebates and reliefs too....

This is the quote I was thinking about when asking this question too. Because I feel like that sentence is only used to ASSESS whether you need a tax file.

It doesn't seem to make sense if my Taxable Income can deduct sosco and EPF first, then claim tax relief on 250 sosco and 4000 EPF again, - I would functionally have a 9280 tax relief, that sounds too good to be true.
MUM
post Oct 12 2021, 02:27 AM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Oct 12 2021, 02:00 AM)

This is the quote I was thinking about when asking this question too. Because I feel like that sentence is only used to ASSESS whether you need a tax file.

It doesn't seem to make sense if my Taxable Income can deduct sosco and EPF first, then claim tax relief on 250 sosco and 4000 EPF again, - I would functionally have a 9280 tax relief, that sounds too good to be true.
at that "low" income level,...even if you kena tax,...it would be "little" or none (even when your taxable income is RM5000) for stated "on the 1st 5k the tax rate is "0""

looking at the tiered tax rate...
http://www.hasil.gov.my/bt_goindex.php?bt_...equ=11&bt_lgv=2
christ14
post Oct 12 2021, 12:48 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 12 2021, 01:39 AM)

wait what?!?!?! i was filling my bracket wrong all these while???

but the TOTAL income in the form and in our company provided one should be tally one right shocking.gif

MUM
post Oct 12 2021, 12:53 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Oct 12 2021, 12:48 PM)

but the TOTAL income in the form and in our company provided one should be tally one right  shocking.gif
the EA form that your company gives you should be 'same" format as the BE form...
if i am not mistaken,...the upper portion is total income received,...then the lower portion is where you minus the EPF & other deductible and tax relief claimed...
Hoshiyuu
post Oct 12 2021, 01:08 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 12 2021, 12:53 PM)
the EA form that your company gives you should be 'same" format as the BE form...
if i am not mistaken,...the upper portion is total income received,...then the lower portion is where you minus the EPF & other deductible and tax relief claimed...
Oh right, I'll check this later... Thanks!
Matchy
post Oct 12 2021, 03:28 PM

1,327 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 9 2021, 06:11 PM)
but remember to the need to separate it....??
from the example, it looks like i can purchase 1 computer (1 receipt) and claim it from 2 sections. 1x RM2500 and balance from the other section.

hope i understand correctly. sweat.gif
MUM
post Oct 12 2021, 03:33 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(Matchy @ Oct 12 2021, 03:28 PM)
from the example, it looks like i can purchase 1 computer (1 receipt) and claim it from 2 sections. 1x RM2500 and balance from the other section.

hope i understand correctly. sweat.gif
looks like it is like that...
Hoshiyuu
post Oct 13 2021, 07:20 PM

wow i unlocked this
1,210 posts

QUOTE(christ14 @ Oct 12 2021, 12:48 PM)

but the TOTAL income in the form and in our company provided one should be tally one right  shocking.gif
I called LHDN today, no double dipping on deductions and EPF. If you make 100k a year from salary and no other income at all, use that value to calculate reliefs, e.g. after 4k EPF relief and 9k personal relief, your chargeable income is now at 87k.
christ14
post Oct 13 2021, 08:03 PM

1,567 posts

QUOTE(Hoshiyuu @ Oct 13 2021, 07:20 PM)
I called LHDN today, no double dipping on deductions and EPF. If you make 100k a year from salary and no other income at all, use that value to calculate reliefs, e.g. after 4k EPF relief and 9k personal relief, your chargeable income is now at 87k.
i see its supposed to that straight forward... well mine is quiet variable and not married yet so alot of perks i cant fill in sweat.gif
eugenelam85
post Oct 15 2021, 12:03 PM

84 posts

my form b submitted via e-filing on 25aug, taksiran disifatkan on the same day, till now not yet received my tax refund, no progress at all sad.gif
am_i_rulez
post Oct 20 2021, 02:59 PM

Group: Senior Member
1,274 posts

just asking, can the father claim tax relief for breastfeeding equipment?
MUM
post Oct 20 2021, 04:17 PM

14,934 posts

QUOTE(am_i_rulez @ Oct 20 2021, 02:59 PM)
just asking, can the father claim tax relief for breastfeeding equipment?
Stated:
This deduction is allowed exclusively for women taxpayers, provided that the individual:
(i) is a breastfeeding mother;
(ii) has incurred expenditure for the purchase of breastfeeding equipment for
her own use to breastfeed her own child aged 2 years and below; and
(iii) makes a claim that is evidenced by receipts issued in respect of the
purchase.

am_i_rulez
post Oct 20 2021, 04:37 PM

Group: Senior Member
1,274 posts

QUOTE(MUM @ Oct 20 2021, 04:17 PM)
Stated:
This deduction is allowed exclusively for women taxpayers, provided that the individual:
(i) is a breastfeeding mother;
(ii) has incurred expenditure for the purchase of breastfeeding equipment for
her own use to breastfeed her own child aged 2 years and below; and
(iii) makes a claim that is evidenced by receipts issued in respect of the
purchase.
doh.gif

537 Pages « < 383 384 385 386 387 > » Top

0.0243sec    0.79    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:44 PM