125 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Bottom

Travel Travel to Japan V7, Discovery Japan Start Here

TSRegentCid
post Nov 29 2015, 09:57 AM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(jefferenelee @ Nov 29 2015, 08:35 AM)
Hi, sorry to bring on the currency exchange topic again as I think this is relevant to Japan's travel and also to stop more confusion.

When you want to exchange MYR to JPY in Japan, you should look at the buying rate instead of the selling rate coz at Japan, MYR is foreign currency (外货) so the money changer is buying MYR from you. For eg: based on today's Kansai Airport's exchange rate, buying MYR is 24.59, if you want JPY100,000, you need to pay 100,000/24.59=4,066.69 which is damn expensive.

I have confirmed this fact with the money changer during my recent trips to Japan as I have brought extra RM apart from JPY to Japan. At the end, I didn't make any exchange due to the higher rate, and the yen that I brought over from Malaysia was more than enough.
Most of country are standing on Money Exchange view, which mean ''Sell Rate'' are selling the Yen to you & ''Buy Rate'' are buying Yen from you.

But in Japan are Reverse. They base on Customer view. ''Sell Rate'' are you selling Yen to money exchange & ''Buy Rate'' are you buying from money exchange.

post Nov 29 2015, 10:49 AM

648 posts

Just back fr Kansai yesterday, Mas flight delayed 20hr, dapat Y15000 cash + Y1000 meal vourcher, slept overnight at Kansai.

Wife oso lost her ruckset ( more like forgot to take ) with our passport inside, cash in yen + ringgit, , luckily able to recover fr info counter after some Q&A + form sign off. rclxm9.gif

Nanti gua want to claim MHInsurance lagi...hohoho, almost free flight lo. rclxms.gif

This post has been edited by 266K: Nov 29 2015, 10:55 AM
Samurai
post Nov 29 2015, 10:55 AM

70 posts

QUOTE(jefferenelee @ Nov 29 2015, 09:35 AM)
Hi, sorry to bring on the currency exchange topic again as I think this is relevant to Japan's travel and also to stop more confusion.

When you want to exchange MYR to JPY in Japan, you should look at the buying rate instead of the selling rate coz at Japan, MYR is foreign currency (外货) so the money changer is buying MYR from you. For eg: based on today's Kansai Airport's exchange rate, buying MYR is 24.59, if you want JPY100,000, you need to pay 100,000/24.59=4,066.69 which is damn expensive.

I have confirmed this fact with the money changer during my recent trips to Japan as I have brought extra RM apart from JPY to Japan. At the end, I didn't make any exchange due to the higher rate, and the yen that I brought over from Malaysia was more than enough.
I`m never ever bring RM to exchange in Japan because not worth it in terms of value of money. Conclusion for the trips ,make sure you change your money in Malaysia before fly to Japan . smile.gif
post Nov 29 2015, 10:57 AM

648 posts

QUOTE(Samurai @ Nov 29 2015, 10:55 AM)
I`m never ever bring RM to exchange in Japan because not worth it in terms of value of money. Conclusion for the trips ,make sure you change your money in Malaysia before fly to Japan . smile.gif
Someone gave wrong info here about good exchg rate at Kansai, gua oso kena tipu, took some cash there but didn't chg after checked the rate.

This post has been edited by 266K: Nov 29 2015, 11:00 AM
kingofrave89
post Nov 29 2015, 12:14 PM

191 posts

hey, just wanna ask, between chrismas season and new year eve, which is more happening and have more events?
deodorant
post Nov 29 2015, 12:53 PM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

When you want to exchange MYR to JPY in Japan, you should look at the buying rate instead of the selling rate coz at Japan, MYR is foreign currency (外货) so the money changer is buying MYR from you. 

Yes. Applies to all countries (or at least, those that I've been to). The Buy and Sell rate is normally from the perspective of the money changer, using the local currency, to buy or sell the foreign currency to you.
adwan
post Nov 29 2015, 02:03 PM

778 posts

just based in the sell/ buy rate that is unfavorable to us when buy or sell foreign $$$ in any country.
won't wrong 1.

$ changer won't give us more 1. Always less.

This post has been edited by adwan: Nov 29 2015, 02:17 PM
ivzh
post Nov 29 2015, 03:25 PM

668 posts

few of the regrets during my trip
-burn arashiyama scenic ticket
-give up visitting autumn/christmas illumination
-initially i intend to buy and bring back a futon mattress set from japan during my last day in osaka.. but in the end give up as i dont think able to carry it myself to airport.
should start shopping earlier as many shop offer free delivery to airport.. (but need few days in advance)

abit offtopic here, anyone knw where to buy a “good but affordable” futon in malaysia.
ZeroSP
post Nov 29 2015, 05:49 PM

184 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Nov 28 2015, 09:04 PM)
Just come back from japan yesterday night, finally end my 14 days trip with my 2 years old kid.. which half of the trip she fall sick, thus we have to compromise itinerary (75% done)

this is one my my favorite shoot while i m in kawaguchiko lake.

(file very big ya)

Oh so you are the one that ask on Facebook for the medicine ingredients translation? Lol, I am still awake that mid of the night so just translate for you.
calvin
post Nov 29 2015, 10:01 PM

Tech Enthusiast
1,865 posts

i'm heading to Tokyo again for my second time end of Dec this year.. I'm still quite confused on the JR pass to get (JR east to be specific)

Places that i'm planning to visit this time round (Nagano, Niikata and Kanazawa), from my understanding JR east covers the first 2 places but doesn't cover the entire stretch for the Kanazawa shinkansen (Hokuriku). So am I supposed to get East + Central ? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by calvin: Nov 29 2015, 10:02 PM
TSRegentCid
post Nov 29 2015, 10:55 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Nov 29 2015, 09:01 PM)
i'm heading to Tokyo again for my second time end of Dec this year.. I'm still quite confused on the JR pass to get (JR east to be specific)

Places that i'm planning to visit this time round (Nagano, Niikata and Kanazawa), from my understanding JR east covers the first 2 places but doesn't cover the entire stretch for the Kanazawa shinkansen (Hokuriku). So am I supposed to get East + Central ?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
Get JR Rail Pass
If want cover all

Or Buy 2 Pass Separate. East Pass & Hokuriku Pass

This post has been edited by RegentCid: Nov 29 2015, 11:02 PM
adwan
post Nov 29 2015, 11:22 PM

778 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 28 2015, 06:08 PM)
Shirakawa-go November 27, 2015

compare to july 15...exact same spot i think

cloudwan0
post Nov 30 2015, 10:58 AM

236 posts

QUOTE(ivzh @ Nov 28 2015, 09:04 PM)
Just come back from japan yesterday night, finally end my 14 days trip with my 2 years old kid.. which half of the trip she fall sick, thus we have to compromise itinerary (75% done)

this is one my my favorite shoot while i m in kawaguchiko lake.

(file very big ya)

can give file link, this one too small to see sweat.gif

bring CC, used CC when dyou can pay with CC, CC rate are better than JPN money exchange

QUOTE(adwan @ Nov 29 2015, 11:22 PM)
compare to july 15...exact same spot i think

same spot during end of March

This post has been edited by cloudwan0: Nov 30 2015, 11:04 AM
limchee
post Nov 30 2015, 11:06 AM

Sien
1,745 posts

Same spot on 18 October 2015 tongue.gif
Afternoon & Evening

This post has been edited by limchee: Nov 30 2015, 11:08 AM

slushie
post Nov 30 2015, 11:09 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(MR_alien @ Nov 28 2015, 06:08 PM)
Shirakawa-go November 27, 2015

So beautiful! but i dont think i wanna experience such heavy snow.. cold die me ><
JooSeng
post Nov 30 2015, 11:12 AM

31 posts

tks guys for the drooling pics
im so excited for Shirakawa-go come Jan 2016...!!!
katrinacheong
post Nov 30 2015, 11:17 AM

212 posts

Sorry I'm newbie and I'll be traveling to
Tokyo soon . can the jr rail pass use for the normal
lrt in Tokyo if I buy the unlimited passes?
JooSeng
post Nov 30 2015, 11:20 AM

31 posts

QUOTE(katrinacheong @ Nov 30 2015, 11:17 AM)
can, but limited to JR line only smile.gif
adwan
post Nov 30 2015, 11:23 AM

778 posts

QUOTE(slushie @ Nov 30 2015, 11:09 AM)
So beautiful! but i dont think i wanna experience such heavy snow.. cold die me ><
went to switzerland jungfrau b4.
it was not really that bad once we r there. just bring the winter clothing.

TSRegentCid
post Nov 30 2015, 01:34 PM

グローバル防衛構想
4,060 posts

QUOTE(katrinacheong @ Nov 30 2015, 10:17 AM)
No. JR Rail Pass cannot used on any Tokyo Metro System.
At Tokyo, JR Rail Pass only can used on JR Yamanote Line & JR Chuo Main Line only..
JR Rail Pass very useless at Tokyo , Osaka , Kyoto

QUOTE(JooSeng @ Nov 30 2015, 10:20 AM)
can, but limited to JR line only smile.gif
There are no LRT in Tokyo. I think he means Metro.

125 Pages « < 119 120 121 122 123 > » Top

0.0484sec    0.17    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 02:38 AM