Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

SUSceo684
post Mar 30 2021, 08:07 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(calvin_tankv @ Mar 30 2021, 04:39 PM)
Hi guys, need your advise for about my concerns on my newly purchase Panasonic air con outdoor unit:

1. If the outdoor unit has a dent spot on the blue fin, will impact the cooling performance (As shown in the photo)?

2. Will it causes corrosion problem sooner?

I had order this air con from Lazada (because of Save 2.0) and I had asked about this dent and the seller said it will not affect the performance. Is it true?

dented marks on the boxes too:
Fin crushed can be corrected by using a fin comb - https://www.lazada.com.my/products/air-cond...2721966381.html

No major issue coz its just surface only.. can use fin comb to massage it back to perfection.
It is not severe enough to break off the fin from the heat pipe.
SUSslimey
post Mar 30 2021, 08:19 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(calvin_tankv @ Mar 30 2021, 04:39 PM)
Hi guys, need your advise for about my concerns on my newly purchase Panasonic air con outdoor unit:

1. If the outdoor unit has a dent spot on the blue fin, will impact the cooling performance (As shown in the photo)?

2. Will it causes corrosion problem sooner?

I had order this air con from Lazada (because of Save 2.0) and I had asked about this dent and the seller said it will not affect the performance. Is it true?

dented marks on the boxes too:
yes. wont affect performance.

wont corrode.......it is made with aluminum
Agent 45
post Mar 30 2021, 08:54 PM

934 posts

Hi, want to ask something regarding with problem of ac not cool. Lets say if AC piping is provided by developer but indoor and outdoor unit by my installer, after installation, ac not cool when turn on, installer say its piping problem. How to check and verify if its piping problem?
SUSceo684
post Mar 30 2021, 08:58 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Mar 30 2021, 08:54 PM)
Hi, want to ask something regarding with problem of ac not cool. Lets say if AC piping is provided by developer but indoor and outdoor unit by my installer, after installation, ac not cool when turn on, installer say its piping problem. How to check and verify if its piping problem?
When installer vacuum can check whether vacuum is achieved after 15min worth of vacuuming. Or check the gas pressure never drop means not leaking.

Other factor is the room size need to consider when buying AC, if living room cannot use tiny 1hp, forever not cool one. Most AC is actually 1hp, 1.3hp, 2hp scale (most 1.5 only provide 30pc more btu compared to 1.0).

If it is not cool when you put the hand at the AC IDU vent then there is a problem.
calvin_tankv
post Mar 30 2021, 09:19 PM

91 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Mar 30 2021, 08:07 PM)
Fin crushed can be corrected by using a fin comb - https://www.lazada.com.my/products/air-cond...2721966381.html

No major issue coz its just surface only.. can use fin comb to massage it back to perfection.
It is not severe enough to break off the fin from the heat pipe.
i see, now im relieved, thanks sis.

QUOTE(slimey @ Mar 30 2021, 08:19 PM)
yes. wont affect performance.

wont corrode.......it is made with aluminum
oops, now I know. thumbsup.gif
SUSslimey
post Mar 30 2021, 09:35 PM

6,914 posts

QUOTE(Agent 45 @ Mar 30 2021, 08:54 PM)
If the connection point tested no leak, then it is most likely piping.

Testing for leak has a few method.
1. Soap water
2. Oil stain for old leaks
3. Gas detector.
ken_zen
post Apr 2 2021, 01:27 PM

100 posts

hi, recently i found my Midea inverter aircond is not cold during night but it is ok in the morning and afternoon. Any idea what could be the problem?
IMF2025
post Apr 2 2021, 03:13 PM

202 posts

Just did my own air conditioning service cleaning of evaporator fins, drain pipe and blower. So moldy and dirty. Feeling satisfied. Mitsubishi aircond, quite easy to take out after watching video
SUSceo684
post Apr 2 2021, 08:01 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(ken_zen @ Apr 2 2021, 01:27 PM)
hi, recently i found my Midea inverter aircond is not cold during night but it is ok in the morning and afternoon. Any idea what could be the problem?
Check the ODU coil is not icing up at night. Also see if IDU airflow (fan speed) is not too slow for the temperature.
Wash out the ODU coil with water if its dirty, IDU one can self dry clean the fin and blower fan with a vacuum cleaner or soft brush.

See if it helps. If not, either the temperature difference is too small or -ve (inside 27 outside 25), or could be insufficient gas pressure (this one can be seen by freezing coil).
mhyug
post Apr 2 2021, 08:59 PM

1,553 posts

hi all im planning to install 2 AC, a 1.0 Hp for a bedroom, and a 1.5 for living room.

Some facts:
-Usage will be on and off, depending on weather and most of the time it will be just the ceiling fans. should i go for inverter or non inverter?
-looking for R3s preferably
-and if possible(a big IF) a higher star rating.
-Im staying in Kajang, if can recommend seller/installer pon ok.
-last but not least, is it good to buy from shopee/lazada and select the purchase with installation?are they good in terms of workmanship?and since selecting purchasing with installation means the air condition will be delivered first or the installer/seller will bring it ?

im kinda focusing on Sharp/Panasonic. can some one suggest me some models or even other brands. With a budget of 3~3.8k complete with installation.

thanks!

This post has been edited by mhyug: Apr 2 2021, 09:10 PM
SUSceo684
post Apr 3 2021, 12:08 AM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(mhyug @ Apr 2 2021, 08:59 PM)
hi all im planning to install 2 AC, a 1.0 Hp for a bedroom, and a 1.5 for living room.

Some facts:
-Usage will be on and off, depending on weather and most of the time it will be just the ceiling fans. should i go for inverter or non inverter? Inverter, since it is likely these 2 spots are frequently used. If storeroom then no need inverter la. Inverter more comfortable as it continue to run slowly.
-looking for R3s preferably
-and if  possible(a big IF) a higher star rating.
-Im staying in Kajang, if can recommend seller/installer pon ok.
-last but not least, is it good to buy from shopee/lazada and select the purchase with installation?are they good in terms of workmanship?and since selecting purchasing with installation means the air condition will be delivered first or the installer/seller will bring it ?

im kinda focusing on Sharp/Panasonic. can some one suggest me some models or even other brands. With a budget of 3~3.8k complete with installation.

thanks!
Find out the pricing from online store. Cash and carry at physical shop (can nego down close to online pricing) will maintain the AC in pristine condition (if you can lift 25-30kg ODU) which is about a fully loaded gas tong.
Coz the online seller tend to use courier service which may result in bent fins. Carry ourselves sure 100% no issue. Aircon boxes only protect for stacking (they have foam moulding at the ends only, nothing in center so susceptible to crush damage in transit). If drive sedan usually 1 ODU may take up whole boot and IDU put in the back seat. Drive hatchback like myvi all also can when fold down back seat. If distance close by from seller, order a Grab can be cheaper than paying for delivery fees laugh.gif

Advantage of buy online (esp with self collect option) is that you can lock in the exact model, whereas physical store usually only have the very latest. On a btu spec perspective latest is not always better due to cost cutting, they make lighter and smaller coils, save cost, but btu suffers, user complain not cold.

The recommended panel installer from shop usually does a better job than the heavily advertised ones.

Selection of AC.. try to get as close to 10000 btu per 1hp as possible
Dulu dulu in the prehistoric era of R22 York AC their 1hp really 10k btu.

Nowadays closest 1hp also only 9700btu for best-in-class, 9200 is ok-lah, 9000 is "buy something else" cost cutting design.
For so-called 1.5hp do bear in mind its actually about 1.3hp true performance. best in class is 12600 btu, 12400 is ok-lah, 12k or below "buy something else".

Can check out the AHX9VED2 (9700btu) and CS-PU9VKH-1 (9550btu) 1hp
https://shopee.com.my/SHARP-1.0-HP-R32-INVE...7262.1183428000

For 1.5hp AHX12VED2 (12,500 btu) and CU-S13SKH (12,500 btu) as well
https://shopee.com.my/SHARP-1.5HP-R32-INVER...7262.8310856350

this seller one can self collect thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 3 2021, 12:10 AM
clickNsnap
post Apr 3 2021, 01:42 AM

540 posts

Any good air-con technician around PJ area recommended? Need to service my house's air-con.

Btw, what is the average cost for serving a 1HP inverter air-con?

Thanks!
jutamind
post Apr 4 2021, 12:58 AM

2,429 posts

Does anyone that has CS-XPU Panasonic inverter model has tak tak sound from the left side when set to auto swing up and down? Already claimed warranty for the swing part and the new unit also have sound.

If the flap is not set to swing then no sound. Damn irritating sound when trying to sleep
jutamind
post Apr 4 2021, 01:02 AM

2,429 posts

QUOTE(jutamind @ Apr 4 2021, 12:58 AM)
Duplicate post
This post has been edited by jutamind: Apr 4 2021, 01:03 AM
mhyug
post Apr 4 2021, 10:25 AM

1,553 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 3 2021, 12:08 AM)
Find out the pricing from online store. Cash and carry at physical shop (can nego down close to online pricing) will maintain the AC in pristine condition (if you can lift 25-30kg ODU) which is about a fully loaded gas tong.
Coz the online seller tend to use courier service which may result in bent fins. Carry ourselves sure 100% no issue. Aircon boxes only protect for stacking (they have foam moulding at the ends only, nothing in center so susceptible to crush damage in transit). If drive sedan usually 1 ODU may take up whole boot and IDU put in the back seat. Drive hatchback like myvi all also can when fold down back seat. If distance close by from seller, order a Grab can be cheaper than paying for delivery fees laugh.gif

Advantage of buy online (esp with self collect option) is that you can lock in the exact model, whereas physical store usually only have the very latest. On a btu spec perspective latest is not always better due to cost cutting, they make lighter and smaller coils, save cost, but btu suffers, user complain not cold.

The recommended panel installer from shop usually does a better job than the heavily advertised ones.

Selection of AC.. try to get as close to 10000 btu per 1hp as possible
Dulu dulu in the prehistoric era of R22 York AC their 1hp really 10k btu.

Nowadays closest 1hp also only 9700btu for best-in-class, 9200 is ok-lah, 9000 is "buy something else" cost cutting design.
For so-called 1.5hp do bear in mind its actually about 1.3hp true performance. best in class is 12600 btu, 12400 is ok-lah, 12k or below "buy something else".

Can check out the AHX9VED2 (9700btu) and CS-PU9VKH-1 (9550btu) 1hp
https://shopee.com.my/SHARP-1.0-HP-R32-INVE...7262.1183428000

For 1.5hp AHX12VED2 (12,500 btu) and CU-S13SKH (12,500 btu) as well
https://shopee.com.my/SHARP-1.5HP-R32-INVER...7262.8310856350

this seller one can self collect  thumbup.gif
thanks for the complete breakdown bro. very helpful will reach out to the seller an inquire on the details.

EDIT* Btw doea an inverter air conditioner uses a different type of copper piping?my house has the piping/tubings and etc already done by the housing contractor and im not sure of the type/grade they used. so will it be ok to use them?

This post has been edited by mhyug: Apr 4 2021, 02:10 PM
yakumo
post Apr 4 2021, 08:10 PM

265 posts

Hi can I ask some advice on these models , trying to find a replacement for my current unit,
This is one of the models I am looking for my room
CS-XPU10WKH-1

But I read like there is premium and deluxe, which is better?

babygrand123
post Apr 4 2021, 08:57 PM

672 posts

Hisense Aircon not bad so far so good after half year usage

previously, used Panasonic, Samsung and Toshiba users here.

Samsung i have no luck not reliable and it spoil after few years
kucingfight
post Apr 5 2021, 12:41 PM

5,784 posts

Noobie here, my last purchase of AC was 10yrs ago. (1st gen inverter)
Looking for inverter AC

a) how much is for removal of old AC and installing new?
b) would it be worth effort buying online n hire for removal and installing?
c) toughest question : which inverter AC brand recommended? haha//

thank you

This post has been edited by kucingfight: Apr 5 2021, 12:41 PM
SUSceo684
post Apr 5 2021, 01:03 PM

Component Burner
11,667 posts

QUOTE(kucingfight @ Apr 5 2021, 12:41 PM)
Noobie here, my last purchase of AC was 10yrs ago. (1st gen inverter)
Looking for inverter AC

a) how much is for removal of old AC and installing new?
b) would it be worth effort buying online n hire for removal and installing?
c) toughest question : which inverter AC brand recommended? haha//

thank you
a) Normally FOC if you donate the old set IDU & ODU to the installer
b) Depends on locality. Seller in Penang you in KL or JB, find local installer easier.
Aircon boxes are NOT fully encased in foam - only foam bits are at the end caps. This is great for gentle handling and stacking at warehouse (no issue).
It does NOT protect fins from crush damage with courier service so buying online and SELF COLLECT will ensure 100% no damage in transit. Do note you need to be strong enough to lift the ODU which is about 30kg+.
c) It differs on intended use case, even within a single brand - diff series can be best-in-class or ok-ok-only or "please buy something else".

This question, tackled on a per-series basis from a very objective standpoint - makes it hard to recommend a certain brand only.
Like hitachi CJ vs CKM. CJ btu cooling spec is arguably best-in-class. CKM.. nothing special on cooling performance-lah. They maintain the 2/10 wty.
Or Daikin.. cheapest series 1hp 9000 btu only laugh.gif and any higher series is 9xxx btu. Hence I say cheapest series from them cannot pakai one.
Sharp also. Some series very good btu. Other series ok-ok only.
York.. dino era R22 really 10000 btu. Then R410 series also not too bad. But there is no R32 series from York in MY.
Mitsu also need to compare on feature and btu between JP JR JS series. Some things like Easy Clean vary across series, along with btu.
Pana also quote pretty good btu for CS-PU9WKH / PU9XKH (1hp) but ST rating 4 star only tongue.gif

Some mfg offer cheaper price but shorter wty period.

As the saying goes - ideally price cheap, btu want good, ST star rating want 5*, warranty want long long 2/7 or 2/10 years.
usually only can cater 2 or 3 out of those core requirement.
Exhibit 1 (sold out so not advertising ya) There may be some gems in PAST series (the technical part is good) but price is cheap because it just happen to be previous series new-unit old-stock. e.g. https://www.lazada.com.my/products/hitachi-...1592270165.html

RM1099+50 shipping (count as 1150 lah) - 9700 btu, 2/10 wty, 5* ST, I'd be hard pressed to find another model that can beat all these for the price
To answer your question of 1hp inverter R32:
Sharp 1hp you can check AHX9VED2 https://my.sharp/products/air-care/10hp-j-t...tioner-ahx9ved2 9700 btu nominal, turbo 10k btu, 5* ST, 1/5 wty
I think all other series from Sharp 1hp is less cooling power (either 9200/9000/8500 btu nominal nowadays)

9210btu, cannot turbo since non inverter https://my.sharp/products/air-care/10hp-r32...-aha9wcd?v=1341
9000btu, turbo 10k btu https://my.sharp/products/air-care/10hp-aio...hxp10whd?v=1326
9000btu, turbo 10k btu https://my.sharp/products/air-care/10hp-j-t...hxp10wmd?v=1298
8550btu, turbo 13k btu https://my.sharp/products/air-care/10hp-aio...hxp10vxd?v=1252

Addendum
Best-in class for true 1 ton (10000 btu) AC was the older York series. Power saving not the best-lah since EER 9.xx only.
There is an equilibrium point where they cannot make the cooling power too good as it waste power and get lousy stars if the mfg inverter tech and inverter logic not fully refined.
Also cost cutting to some point.. last time York 1hp IDU 10.5kg ODU 27.5kg ..
the current model 1hp from other brand IDU 8kg ODU 20kg..
whilst there may be changes to plastic components or lighter casing used..
AC is always brushless motors so no difference then and now..
the bigger picture is that the cooling coil has became lighter (due to cost cutting somewhat) otherwise how would they shave so many kgs out of the product?

This post has been edited by ceo684: Apr 5 2021, 01:22 PM

kucingfight
post Apr 5 2021, 01:25 PM

5,784 posts

QUOTE(ceo684 @ Apr 5 2021, 01:03 PM)
a) Normally FOC if you donate the old set IDU & ODU to the installer
b) Depends on locality. Seller in Penang you in KL or JB, find local installer easier.
Aircon boxes are NOT fully encased in foam - only foam bits are at the end caps. This is great for gentle handling and stacking at warehouse (no issue).
It does NOT protect fins from crush damage with courier service so buying online and SELF COLLECT will ensure 100% no damage in transit. Do note you need to be strong enough to lift the ODU which is about 30kg+.
c) It differs on intended use case, even within a single brand - diff series can be best-in-class or ok-ok-only or "please buy something else".

This question, tackled on a per-series basis from a very objective standpoint - makes it hard to recommend a certain brand only.
Like hitachi CJ vs CKM. CJ btu cooling spec is arguably best-in-class. CKM.. nothing special on cooling performance-lah. They maintain the 2/10 wty.
Or Daikin.. cheapest series 1hp 9000 btu only laugh.gif and any higher series is 9xxx btu. Hence I say cheapest series from them cannot pakai one.
Sharp also. Some series very good btu. Other series ok-ok only.
York.. dino era R22 really 10000 btu. Then R410 series also not too bad. But there is no R32 series from York in MY.
Mitsu also need to compare on feature and btu between JP JR JS series. Some things like Easy Clean vary across series, along with btu.
Pana also quote pretty good btu for CS-PU9WKH / PU9XKH (1hp) but ST rating 4 star only tongue.gif

Some mfg offer cheaper price but shorter wty period.

As the saying goes - ideally price cheap, btu want good, ST star rating want 5*, warranty want long long 2/7 or 2/10 years.
usually only can cater 2 or 3 out of those core requirement.

thanks sis (not bro-i'm aware) , for the detailed feedback. did sort of see you @ FnF topic, but now at home reno

lol..basically, stick with the well known brands.
a) besides the features, are this BTU thingy mainly on paper? would the actual fact that it's running on inverter, power consumption would be around the same?
b) are AC these days have easy to remove blower model? i usually like to DIY cleaning unless there's a big issue that i cannot solve.

thank you

670 Pages « < 490 491 492 493 494 > » Top

0.0299sec    0.72    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 06:03 PM