Aircon Discussion V3, Home Appliance

aeiou228
post Aug 26 2015, 03:25 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 26 2015, 02:48 PM)
The airflow restriction is minimal, you won't be able to differentiate it unless u use airflow meter to measure purposely. So don't worry.
QUOTE(kimsim @ Aug 26 2015, 02:32 PM)
Original filter were not enought fine to blocked dust & debris.

You can try without extra Daiso filter after 3-6 mths the cooling coil can be turn into black color and some dusty on fan blower, how to check just use ur iPhone touchlight and point to fan blower, when Aircon no working, just slightly adjust a bit on air swing blade.

After place with additional filter within 6-12 mths the cooling coils still very new and the fan blower just slighly dust only, but make sure change very often within 3-4 mths time per 8hrs daily usage

Check here if you wanna see it true or not
http://www.kimrovacstore.com/mitsubishi-el...lean-video.html
I understand the part where extra filter provide better filtration and keep cooling coil clean. I long being thinking to grab some from Daiso too but have doubts holding me back.
My doubt is the factory fitted filter must be designed to optimize the indoor unit and tested for balance air flow and dust filtration. If we add on additional filter and after some time another layer of dust build up on it, we aren't sure it will burden the unit or not and thus lead to unnecessary repair and electricity cost.
Aircon service man always advice us to clean the filter frequently in order to keep the air cool and keep electric consumption down. Don't you think adding extra filter is contradicting to this common advice?
coolkwc
post Aug 26 2015, 03:46 PM

Fall in love with audio again.
3,112 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 26 2015, 03:25 PM)
I understand the part where extra filter provide better filtration and keep cooling coil clean. I long being thinking to grab some from Daiso too but have doubts holding me back.
My doubt is the factory fitted filter must be designed to optimize the indoor unit and tested for balance air flow and dust filtration. If we add on additional filter and after some time another layer of dust build up on it, we aren't sure it will burden the unit or not and thus lead to unnecessary repair and electricity cost.
Aircon service man always advice us to clean the filter frequently in order to keep the air cool and keep electric consumption down. Don't you think adding extra filter is contradicting to this common advice?
Yes ah, that's why we recommend u change the extra filter every 3 months. The outcome of fine dust trap at xtra filter or cooling coil are same, also lead to high consumption, the only different is when the xtra filter blocked, i just change the filter for less than RM5 (I whole piece can make 4 sheets), but if your cooling coil blocked, you need to dismantle and cleaned, after dismantle sure your gas need to refill, cost will be at least RM200, so you choose lo.
coolkwc
post Aug 26 2015, 03:51 PM

3,112 posts

Additional to the filter, if let say it really blocked and less air flow through the cooling coil, your room will not be cooled now, however the cooling coil is much colder now (Maybe frozen) due to less hot air enter the cooling coil, the outcome would be less power consumption becos the compressor will cut off much earlier, so no reason why consumption will be higher.

This post has been edited by coolkwc: Aug 26 2015, 03:52 PM
ozak
post Aug 26 2015, 03:52 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 26 2015, 03:46 PM)
Yes ah, that's why we recommend u change the extra filter every 3 months. The outcome of fine dust trap at xtra filter or cooling coil are same, also lead to high consumption, the only different is when the xtra filter blocked, i just change the filter for less than RM5 (I whole piece can make 4 sheets), but if your cooling coil blocked, you need to dismantle and cleaned, after dismantle sure your gas need to refill, cost will be at least RM200, so you choose lo.
When you put in the extra filter, it already block some figure of airflow. That is not include the dust fill up and block it later.

Dismantle the unit and wash the condenser doesn't require to fill the gas again.
SUSkimsim
post Aug 26 2015, 03:53 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 26 2015, 03:52 PM)
When you put in the extra filter, it already block some figure of airflow. That is not include the dust fill up and block it later.

Dismantle the unit and wash the condenser doesn't require to fill the gas again.
Dismantle cost vs Rm5 Daiso seems like how many percent you pay for?
coolkwc
post Aug 26 2015, 03:55 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 26 2015, 03:52 PM)

I will avoid dismantle condenser and blowing fan if possible. I rather change my filter every month if i really worry about blockage. You actually can buy a filter and try look through it, a layer of filter isn't as restricted as you thought.
coolkwc
post Aug 26 2015, 03:56 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Aug 26 2015, 03:53 PM)
Dismantle cost vs Rm5 Daiso seems like how many percent you pay for?
I can't brain why ppl opt for dismantle condenser rather than add in extra filter.
SUSkimsim
post Aug 26 2015, 04:00 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 26 2015, 03:56 PM)
I can't brain why ppl opt for dismantle condenser rather than add in extra filter.
Different ppls and different mindset.

I have no comment, sound like use Brick and smack on my leg

This post has been edited by kimsim: Aug 26 2015, 04:00 PM
free294u
post Aug 26 2015, 04:07 PM

24 posts

Filter is cheap. Condenser is expensive and hassle to install. This is no brainer.
SUSkimsim
post Aug 26 2015, 04:09 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 26 2015, 03:55 PM)
I will avoid dismantle condenser and blowing fan if possible. I rather change my filter every month if i really worry about blockage. You actually can buy a filter and try look through it, a layer of filter isn't as restricted as you thought.
Actually if you are think from seller they won't agree use extra filters, will be impact from Aircon serving amount.

For those user for sure is happy always cause serving are less and spend less money to maintenaces

This post has been edited by kimsim: Aug 26 2015, 04:10 PM
ozak
post Aug 26 2015, 04:10 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 26 2015, 03:55 PM)
Dismantle the unit down and wash is a 2yrs annual cleaning. This is done by the service guy.

Normal every mth is just vacuum and filter cleaning. Have been practice this for over 15yrs.

I have this filter in my store room for other purpose. Just like aeiou123, I have sceptical to put it on the aircon.
coolkwc
post Aug 26 2015, 04:45 PM

3,112 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 26 2015, 04:10 PM)
Dismantle the unit down and wash is a 2yrs annual cleaning. This is done by the service guy.

Normal every mth is just vacuum and filter cleaning. Have been practice this for over 15yrs.

I have this filter in my store room for other purpose. Just like aeiou123, I have sceptical to put it on the aircon.
Well, dust and fur will stick on the condenser and absorb water when your aircond is turn on, and you have almost no chance to dry it off if you turn ON aircond everyday. You need to pray hard the condenser fin is made by high quality aluminium which is inert to corrosion.
ozak
post Aug 26 2015, 05:03 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(coolkwc @ Aug 26 2015, 04:45 PM)
Well, dust and fur will stick on the condenser and absorb water when your aircond is turn on, and you have almost no chance to dry it off if you turn ON aircond everyday. You need to pray hard the condenser fin is made by high quality aluminium which is inert to corrosion.
I sleep with aircon ON for 8hr everyday for 18yrs. My formula service is working fine so far. The aircon is already running for 8yrs. It will be schedule to take down and service next yrs.

Once a while, I dismantle the cover and pump spray clean the condenser myself. Don't see any corrosion at all.

Aluminium doesn't corrode that easily. Unless kena acid. It only oxidize when expose long to outdoor.
Galaxy Angel
post Aug 26 2015, 05:54 PM

584 posts

Dear all, I plan to install air-con for master room.
Is it advisable to place the compressor unit on open area which will expose to sun light and rain? If doing that, will this shorten the compressor life spam? As I don't have awing on my second floor. =(

SUSkimsim
post Aug 26 2015, 06:15 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(Galaxy Angel @ Aug 26 2015, 05:54 PM)
Dear all, I plan to install air-con for master room.
Is it advisable to place the compressor unit on open area which will expose to sun light and rain? If doing that, will this shorten the compressor life spam? As I don't have awing on my second floor. =(
Sun light still ok, just avoid to place on afternoon sun area.
Will be waste more energy than place on facing into East / west area

This post has been edited by kimsim: Aug 26 2015, 06:16 PM
aeiou228
post Aug 26 2015, 06:17 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Aug 26 2015, 05:03 PM)
I sleep with aircon ON for 8hr everyday for 18yrs. My formula service is working fine so far. The aircon is already running for 8yrs. It will be schedule to take down and service next yrs.

Once a while, I dismantle the cover and pump spray clean the condenser myself. Don't see any corrosion at all.

Aluminium doesn't corrode that easily. Unless kena acid. It only oxidize when expose long to outdoor.
Ozak, I planing to buy this aircon cleaning water container from taobao. Around RMB19 to RMB33. Then buy the cooling coil cleaner in spray can from Mr DIY to diy cleaning without taking the indoor unit down. If you want to tumpang and share the shipping cost, let me know.
SUSkimsim
post Aug 26 2015, 06:20 PM

Let Me ❤️ You
5,847 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 26 2015, 06:17 PM)
Ozak, I planing to buy this aircon cleaning water container from taobao. Around RMB19 to RMB33. Then buy the cooling coil cleaner in spray can from Mr DIY to diy cleaning without taking the indoor unit down. If you want to tumpang and share the shipping cost, let me know. 
Use it won't be 100% clean and water can't reach 100% on the back of fins
ozak
post Aug 26 2015, 06:33 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Aug 26 2015, 06:17 PM)
I have the similar big plastic bag to catch the dirt water for cleaning. Brought it many yrs ago from live depot in 1U. It come with the hand spray and cleaner solution. The solution is use up now. And I just use any detergent.

But the spray is a hand spray which quite tired to use. I get a 2L garden pressure pump from ACE. The 1 with the hose type. Easy to use and stronger. It can reach into the rotor fan too and blast the dirt out from the fin.
aeiou228
post Aug 26 2015, 06:33 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Aug 26 2015, 06:20 PM)
No problem, it will help to reduce the frequency of paid service for thorough cleaning.

You use extra filter no need to do thorough cleaning at all ?? The cooling coil totally shield from dust built up ??
ozak
post Aug 26 2015, 06:35 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(kimsim @ Aug 26 2015, 06:20 PM)
I would said 80%-90% can be clean. It take me 2-3hr everytime doing this kind of cleaning. Twice a yrs.

670 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 47 > » Top

0.0168sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:08 AM