36 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Bottom

Celcom First Basic 38 - WORST NETWORK, Drop calls, Zero signal, Snail data spee

AskarPerang
post Jun 8 2015, 01:29 PM

~tUPaI...~
23,688 posts

QUOTE(champu @ Jun 8 2015, 11:00 AM)
First Basic 38, just signed up over the weekend. Waiting for port-over which may take up to 3 work days  cry.gif
can be done within 24 hours if you are lucky.
shinchan99
post Jun 8 2015, 01:40 PM

619 posts

I just joined the RM38 club smile.gif

Registered from one LYN forumer here. This morning register, paid RM 40.00 , received my service in 5 minutes. Maybe because i am existing celcom postpaid customer.
champu
post Jun 8 2015, 01:54 PM

Champu
633 posts

QUOTE(AskarPerang @ Jun 8 2015, 01:29 PM)
can be done within 24 hours if you are lucky.
you are right, just got my activation done during lunch. Here's the speed in Kelana Jaya area;

OKLY
post Jun 8 2015, 02:13 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(champu @ Jun 8 2015, 01:54 PM)
you are right, just got my activation done during lunch. Here's the speed in Kelana Jaya area;
Are you able to get consistent 4G LTE at your area?
JuneResources
post Jun 8 2015, 03:36 PM

ONE Stop Resources
4,167 posts

The Celcom customer service also suck one.. shakehead.gif

Yesterday night after turn on my internet connection few minutes, my laptop internet connections should "Limited". After a few minutes, then suddenly can "Connected". Lagi after few minutes, then should "Limited" connection.

It seems like the data internet is frequently disconnect few minutes and few minutes. doh.gif

I call to celcom customer service, they just reset the port connections nia.. yawn.gif
Although they already help me reset the port connections, the data connection still suck and tak boleh pakai punya.. mad.gif
champu
post Jun 8 2015, 03:42 PM

Champu
633 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jun 8 2015, 02:13 PM)
Are you able to get consistent 4G LTE at your area?
No. mostly on 3G and HSPDA sometimes.
champu
post Jun 8 2015, 03:44 PM

Champu
633 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Jun 8 2015, 03:36 PM)
The Celcom customer service also suck one.. shakehead.gif

Yesterday night after turn on my internet connection few minutes, my laptop internet connections should "Limited". After a few minutes, then suddenly can "Connected".  Lagi after few minutes, then should "Limited" connection.

It seems like the data internet is frequently disconnect few minutes and few minutes. doh.gif

I call to celcom customer service, they just reset the port connections nia.. yawn.gif
Although they already help me reset the port connections, the data connection still suck and tak boleh pakai punya.. mad.gif
I don't think the connection alone is the problem in your case, your phone tethering and your wifi signal (PC) can also be a deterrent.

Did tethering on my lappy just a short while ago and worked like a charm
JuneResources
post Jun 8 2015, 03:55 PM

ONE Stop Resources
4,167 posts

QUOTE(champu @ Jun 8 2015, 03:44 PM)
I don't think the connection alone is the problem in your case, your phone tethering and your wifi signal (PC) can also be a deterrent.

Did tethering on my lappy just a short while ago and worked like a charm
Hmm.. I put this SIM card to the USB modem, and this USB modem put in the 3G modem router.
The wifi signal full bar. 1 connection to laptop, while another 1 connection to my phone through this Wi-Fi connection.

While my laptop is "Limited" access, my phone through this Wi-Fi connection cannot connected as well.
rockets
post Jun 8 2015, 04:39 PM

No Recoil
509 posts

Taman Megah PJ area signal is extremely bad. Ironic thing is just beside this area there is a huge celcom Usian Bolt advertisement beside the LDP highway.

My signal is always 0 to 1 bar here and sometimes there is no signal at all. Made me miss some important calls.

I'm giving them 1 more week then i'm switching out of celcom if they don't fix it. Already lodged report.

Pay peanuts get peanuts I guess haha.
darude87
post Jun 8 2015, 05:23 PM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Jun 8 2015, 04:39 PM)
Taman Megah PJ area signal is extremely bad. Ironic thing is just beside this area there is a huge celcom Usian Bolt advertisement beside the LDP highway.

My signal is always 0 to 1 bar here and sometimes there is no signal at all. Made me miss some important calls.

I'm giving them 1 more week then i'm switching out of celcom if they don't fix it. Already lodged report.

Pay peanuts get peanuts I guess haha.
i think its kelana jaya this area problem, when i reach home(batu caves area), quite stable despite only 2 bars of LTE
batman1172
post Jun 8 2015, 06:17 PM

1,362 posts

I think this is not a Basic 38 problem as my colleague on elite and iox also got this problem. Consistently no data...
shinchan99
post Jun 9 2015, 09:16 AM

619 posts

Dear all,

Do you call the CS to activate your 4G ? Or the moment your plan switched it will be automatically on 4G ?

Because previously my postpaid celcom i need to call CS to activate my 4G. Now i changed to this current RM38 plan, i am not getting my 4G. Always on H+ only. Yesterday i call the CS but they told me my 4G is active. Possible sim problem?
OKLY
post Jun 9 2015, 09:30 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 9 2015, 09:16 AM)
Dear all,

Do you call the CS to activate your 4G ? Or the moment your plan switched it will be automatically on 4G ?

Because previously my postpaid celcom i need to call CS to activate my 4G. Now i changed to this current RM38 plan, i am not getting my 4G. Always on H+ only. Yesterday i call the CS but they told me my 4G is active. Possible sim problem?
Should be their network problem especially after the introduction for First Basic 38 plan.
shinchan99
post Jun 9 2015, 09:39 AM

619 posts

I tried speed test , around 10mbps download and 1mbps up .. This is not 4G speed right?
n8210
post Jun 9 2015, 09:39 AM

2,678 posts

I'm not joking.. my real story

Been using Digi for the past 10+ years & decided to port to Celcom First Basic 38 (along with my sub + other lines, total of 3x lines converted, 1 remain as DG prepaid).

My reason is DG reception is terribly horribly BAD. Almost 80% of my daily reception is on 1-2 bars. And with such weak signal, data network is almost like handicap <cacat>. So I am happy that I made the right decision to port all my lines out to Celcom.

Drop calls, Zero reception, Dead/Snail data - are all I'm facing previously. Escalated to DG many times, but said Tech Support going to contact me (not surprising that no one ever contact me after that). And what is the point of calling me for, it is not my line issue now, is the entire DG signal strength we're talking about.

Some may say it's the location I'm in. Well, I got 4x lines all together (use by 4 different people; in different locations; travelling around Klang Valley & PJ & Swak). All encounter the same problem & having the same complaint.

Tried resetting network, signal booster app, tried on different devices, speed test like crazy - all the same problem.

I think that is enough said.

But I have a horrible porting experience.. total exercise took me 3 trips to Celcom, 2 to DG and overall completed in 2 weeks... took new sim cards 4 times but actually no need, but Celcom TTDI keep telling me they know their company and procedure. That proves them wrong. But so far better than DG.
n8210
post Jun 9 2015, 09:41 AM

2,678 posts

one complaint though... I have 1GB data on DG, every month cannot finish. The same for years.. but with Celcom I have 3GB, and within less than a week, Celcom says I have used 70%.. I wonder why
shinchan99
post Jun 9 2015, 10:11 AM

619 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jun 5 2015, 10:07 AM)
I live near there too, quite difficult to connect to LTE from my home despite Celcom customer service confirming I'm within 4G LTE coverage area.

As for the switching between 3G and H, I believe it was configured that way but this is only my guess, based on my observation if there's no activity it automatically switch back to 3G (UMTS) and when there is activity it will switch to H (HSPA).
Does all handphone work this way? If no activity 3G, if there is then switched to H+ etc ..
OKLY
post Jun 9 2015, 10:37 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 9 2015, 10:11 AM)
Does all handphone work this way? If no activity 3G, if there is then switched to H+ etc ..
Most modern phones, you can actually read up on Fast Dormancy, the network itself has to support it which I guess Celcom does as I don't think I've seen this behavior when I was on Maxis.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Jun 9 2015, 10:38 AM
Aftermaths
post Jun 9 2015, 10:44 AM

601 posts

I'm using this plan as well,
inside office @ Mid Valley, 4G signal is full bar tongue.gif
rockets
post Jun 9 2015, 11:36 AM

No Recoil
509 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jun 9 2015, 10:37 AM)
Most modern phones, you can actually read up on Fast Dormancy, the network itself has to support it which I guess Celcom does as I don't think I've seen this behavior when I was on Maxis.
I think this explains part of my problem as well.

When the phone is idle I get 3G and it's usually 3 bars and above.

The minute I open browser or anything internet related, it switches to H+ and the signal drops to 0-1 bar and becomes super slow. Sometimes to the point it drops me off the network completely.

Anyone can explain why this is happening?

36 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0248sec    0.43    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 10:58 PM