Celcom First Basic 38 - WORST NETWORK, Drop calls, Zero signal, Snail data spee

OKLY
post Jun 5 2015, 09:56 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

I guess we can all do our part and lodge a report, hopefully they are working on resolving the issues. The biggest issue (for me) at the moment is the inconsistency of the data network.
OKLY
post Jun 5 2015, 10:07 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Jun 5 2015, 10:03 AM)
seems like i'm not alone, i'm in Kelana Jaya area, my Data can be jumping from LTE to H+ to H to even 3G
I live near there too, quite difficult to connect to LTE from my home despite Celcom customer service confirming I'm within 4G LTE coverage area.

As for the switching between 3G and H, I believe it was configured that way but this is only my guess, based on my observation if there's no activity it automatically switch back to 3G (UMTS) and when there is activity it will switch to H (HSPA).
OKLY
post Jun 5 2015, 10:33 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Jun 5 2015, 10:29 AM)
what phone are you using btw? i'm on oneplus one, b4 this i was using moto X 2013 seems slightly better
I'm using a Nexus 5.
OKLY
post Jun 5 2015, 10:48 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Hopefully they will resolve this as soon as possible, more customers coming in due to this good deal is a good thing and that should mean more revenue for them, so they got to act fast and ensure their network does not degrade due to this or people will just port out again with MNP being such an easy process.
OKLY
post Jun 8 2015, 02:13 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(champu @ Jun 8 2015, 01:54 PM)
you are right, just got my activation done during lunch. Here's the speed in Kelana Jaya area;
Are you able to get consistent 4G LTE at your area?
OKLY
post Jun 9 2015, 09:30 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 9 2015, 09:16 AM)
Dear all,

Do you call the CS to activate your 4G ? Or the moment your plan switched it will be automatically on 4G ?

Because previously my postpaid celcom i need to call CS to activate my 4G. Now i changed to this current RM38 plan, i am not getting my 4G. Always on H+ only. Yesterday i call the CS but they told me my 4G is active. Possible sim problem?
Should be their network problem especially after the introduction for First Basic 38 plan.
OKLY
post Jun 9 2015, 10:37 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(shinchan99 @ Jun 9 2015, 10:11 AM)
Does all handphone work this way? If no activity 3G, if there is then switched to H+ etc ..
Most modern phones, you can actually read up on Fast Dormancy, the network itself has to support it which I guess Celcom does as I don't think I've seen this behavior when I was on Maxis.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Jun 9 2015, 10:38 AM
OKLY
post Jun 10 2015, 09:13 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(rockets @ Jun 9 2015, 11:36 AM)
I think this explains part of my problem as well.

When the phone is idle I get 3G and it's usually 3 bars and above.

The minute I open browser or anything internet related, it switches to H+ and the signal drops to 0-1 bar and becomes super slow. Sometimes to the point it drops me off the network completely.

Anyone can explain why this is happening?
Before it switches to H+, was the signal strength good/decent?
OKLY
post Jun 22 2015, 11:18 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(wkyrichie @ Jun 19 2015, 05:27 PM)
Maxis doesn't seem to be shaken by all these cheap promos though. Haha
I guess the game has changed a little where data network is more important these days, even for calls people are starting to use WhatsApp calling and so on.

For Maxis, without doubt their 3G is pretty matured and 4G is way ahead of their competitors. If consistency in data and monthly payment is not an issue then better to stick with Maxis for the time being.
OKLY
post Jun 23 2015, 10:13 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Isaac599 @ Jun 23 2015, 09:48 AM)
Anyone notice once you turn off then reopen moments later the data,it seems like need abit of time to searching for the network?
Should be the 'fast dormancy' effect, it switches to low power UMTS and when there's activity it needs to switch back to HSPA.
OKLY
post Jun 23 2015, 09:25 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

I'd say give Celcom a little more time to see if any upgrade is being done to their network to support the larger user base. The response to this new First Basic 38 is just too overwhelming.
OKLY
post Jun 24 2015, 09:00 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(Dozz @ Jun 24 2015, 08:41 PM)
Dear First Baisc 38 users,

Can you guys check whether you can mange and edit the VAS (Value Added Service) via Online Customer Service? (click on my plan and services)
No, I don't think that's ready at the moment for this plan.
OKLY
post Jun 25 2015, 03:00 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(kaneshi @ Jun 25 2015, 09:55 AM)
Choosing this mode means you won't be able to enjoy LTE signal if you are in coverage.
QUOTE(wkyrichie @ Jun 25 2015, 01:38 PM)
Better than having a LTE signal which doesn't work and slower than normal 3G.. hahaha
It will be wise to set to 3G only mode if LTE isn't very good at the area you are using, for example at my housing area LTE is pretty bad and it connects for few seconds and then reverts back to 3G. This way, the phone will also consume more battery since it is switching back and forth as it will always be "hunting" for LTE signal.
OKLY
post Jun 25 2015, 09:26 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(deadravel @ Jun 25 2015, 09:06 PM)
today go apply port to blue at 1pm,
7pm sms me say port succesful  sweat.gif
so fast xia.
but juz now speed  test macam very slow xia.
Network is pretty bad especially after the introduction of First Basic 38 plan, give Celcom a little more time and hopefully they can resolve this.
OKLY
post Jun 26 2015, 09:56 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(allophylus @ Jun 25 2015, 10:20 PM)
Recently ported to this plan and I have just noticed I can't receive TAC from a number of banks tonight.  Anyone have similar problem?
No but I know there are rare cases that it happens. If so, usually it can be resolved by going to your bank's ATM, unregister your mobile phone number and register it again.

This post has been edited by OKLY: Jun 26 2015, 09:56 AM
OKLY
post Jun 30 2015, 09:05 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(preducer @ Jun 30 2015, 12:38 PM)
i noticed this as well. phone showing 4G but actually no internet connection.
At the moment, Celcom's 3G is much more stable compared to their 4G.

QUOTE(coolstore @ Jun 30 2015, 03:22 PM)
there is always no all-win or all lousy telco, just area or to be more precise, particular spot of area dependant.
Can't agree more, just go for the network that serves you best for the areas you frequently visit or stay.
OKLY
post Jul 15 2015, 06:16 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(citizenboleh @ Jul 15 2015, 01:36 PM)
With Celcom it is normal to turn mobile data off then back on 
Maxis data is reliable. Seldom need to turn off at all.
Can't agree more on this but not really a big issue, just an annoyance.
OKLY
post Jul 15 2015, 08:34 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(shockk @ Jul 15 2015, 08:26 PM)
New Celcom 38 user reporting in biggrin.gif

Just switched my TuneTalk to this line. 

So far so good. I did a comparative data speed test with SpeedTest app.
My iPhone 6 Plus on Maxis LTE (postpaid) line resulted in an average of 8mbps download / 5mbps upload, while my Nexus 6 on Celcom LTE line got 14mbps download / 0.05 mbps upload in the same location.

Download speeds seems very good, but upload speeds are really pathetic. Any idea? sweat.gif
Celcom's upload speed is never great (I usually get around 1-2mbps with LTE) but 0.05mbps is really slow. I guess you'll need help from their customer service. sweat.gif
OKLY
post Jul 15 2015, 08:35 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(laksamana @ Jul 15 2015, 08:28 PM)
I don't see what's the problem with First 38. Been using it for about 2 weeks now, no problems, same old Celcom ......
There's not much of big issues with Celcom but people coming from Maxis definitely will feel the pain, based from my experience with Maxis I have to say their data network is still way ahead in Malaysia (talking about consistency).
OKLY
post Jul 16 2015, 02:04 PM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

LTE speed in Sunway near Persiaran Kewajipan seems good today. rclxms.gif

0.0271sec    0.48    7 queries    GZIP Disabled