36 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

Celcom First Basic 38 - WORST NETWORK, Drop calls, Zero signal, Snail data spee

darude87
post Jun 5 2015, 10:29 AM

hhhoooiii!!!
1,412 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jun 5 2015, 10:07 AM)
I live near there too, quite difficult to connect to LTE from my home despite Celcom customer service confirming I'm within 4G LTE coverage area.

As for the switching between 3G and H, I believe it was configured that way but this is only my guess, based on my observation if there's no activity it automatically switch back to 3G (UMTS) and when there is activity it will switch to H (HSPA).
what phone are you using btw? i'm on oneplus one, b4 this i was using moto X 2013 seems slightly better
OKLY
post Jun 5 2015, 10:33 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

QUOTE(darude87 @ Jun 5 2015, 10:29 AM)
what phone are you using btw? i'm on oneplus one, b4 this i was using moto X 2013 seems slightly better
I'm using a Nexus 5.
champu
post Jun 5 2015, 10:34 AM

Champu
633 posts

QUOTE(sanfa @ Jun 3 2015, 04:56 PM)
Digi maybe has better reception for people who stay in one place and live near the "pencawang".. But for people who travel a lot, celcom still wins hands down.. Even when i was at pangkor island, i still able to get receptions while my other friends keeps looking for signal.. 

The only problem with celcom is they have limited number of persons than can use their line at one place at a time.. So, usually they have bad coverage in big city like klang valley n jb.. Due to the huge number of customer on them there.. Since they started this kind of attractive promotion, this kind of problem can be predicted..
Yet they have the brass to post Usain Bolt with 'This is Celcom coverage' at major locations.

I'm hoping this is a temp setback, as I was very much looking forward to port over this coming weekend..now, hmmmmm
djboycalvin
post Jun 5 2015, 10:35 AM

282 posts

i having the same issue as well ..
regret change to celcom .. and port back to maxis ..

Identifyaw
post Jun 5 2015, 10:47 AM

47 posts

using for a month now. its fine i would say
OKLY
post Jun 5 2015, 10:48 AM

The Penguin Vader
12,089 posts

Hopefully they will resolve this as soon as possible, more customers coming in due to this good deal is a good thing and that should mean more revenue for them, so they got to act fast and ensure their network does not degrade due to this or people will just port out again with MNP being such an easy process.
batman1172
post Jun 5 2015, 11:12 AM

1,362 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jun 5 2015, 10:07 AM)
I live near there too, quite difficult to connect to LTE from my home despite Celcom customer service confirming I'm within 4G LTE coverage area.

As for the switching between 3G and H, I believe it was configured that way but this is only my guess, based on my observation if there's no activity it automatically switch back to 3G (UMTS) and when there is activity it will switch to H (HSPA).
Mine is like that also.

All those speed test done is when it is already in H+. that's why it looks really good. But getting there from 3G is the bottle neck.
wodenus
post Jun 5 2015, 11:26 AM

Tree Octopus
14,990 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 3 2015, 09:55 AM)
Just happen that your area might be poor signal. My brother said hios friend is cursing DiGi like hell. He switch to DiGi because of cheap hardware offer  smile.gif

Ever wonder if it's just the cheap hardware causing it? smile.gif

Zot
post Jun 5 2015, 11:49 AM

7,936 posts

QUOTE(wodenus @ Jun 5 2015, 11:26 AM)
Ever wonder if it's just the cheap hardware causing it? smile.gif
No because it was ok on another network wink.gif
togomifi
post Jun 5 2015, 03:17 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(Xrossfire @ Jun 3 2015, 09:53 AM)
Maybe it depends heavily on your current location?
In which area were you when these happened?
agreed on this...new update from Kedah..but only 3 telco la

QUOTE(Zot @ Jun 3 2015, 09:55 AM)
Just happen that your area might be poor signal. My brother said hios friend is cursing DiGi like hell. He switch to DiGi because of cheap hardware offer  smile.gif

YOu should check the coverage in your area before switching perhaps
you know what all the same one la..when using celcom curse celcom but when switch to others also curse..never ending stories one..
so telco are stronger at certain places and some rural area don't have coverage..

QUOTE(deadmanwalking1 @ Jun 3 2015, 10:10 AM)
I had been using celcom postpaid for the past 7 years. and i travel a lot between peninsular states for work purposes.

Overall i think Celcom still provide the best reception & coverage even though the bill is slightly more expensive compare to others.

but for the past weeks, i do encounter problem like you. So i hope they are just doing upgrade for their service or something .. cheers
yup still remember my friend said during CNY..1 week no line with DG..go to their CS ..they said upgrading..seriously mad.gif during CNY vmad.gif

QUOTE(samlhc @ Jun 3 2015, 10:51 AM)
Me and my friends subscribe to celcom 38, all having terrible reception in klang, different area. Especially DATA connection. its line not stable. sometime E, then jump to 4G and back to 3G ~
Have try travel to Johor and Ipoh, DATA so poor...
Even U mobile run stable than this Celcom.
Gonna to MNP to other telco this week...
as i said all telco the same one la..i tried all 4 before still have problems till now...
if you are rich then can consider to use all 4 telco..sure reachable one thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by togomifi: Jun 10 2015, 11:54 AM
togomifi
post Jun 5 2015, 03:24 PM

86 posts

QUOTE(OKLY @ Jun 5 2015, 10:33 AM)
I'm using a Nexus 5.
using iphone 6 and note 4..so far ok..almost all location also got LTE signal

QUOTE(champu @ Jun 5 2015, 10:34 AM)
Yet they have the brass to post Usain Bolt with 'This is Celcom coverage' at major locations.

I'm hoping this is a temp setback, as I was very much looking forward to port over this coming weekend..now, hmmmmm
which plan you taking?

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Jun 5 2015, 10:35 AM)
don't you start with me on maxis mad.gif
another long stories to tell...
keep it short there is no perfect telco..each of them have their own weakness..so depending on your usage and your patient to see if you can tahan when no signal icon_rolleyes.gif
djboycalvin
post Jun 5 2015, 04:09 PM

282 posts

QUOTE(togomifi @ Jun 5 2015, 03:24 PM)
don't you start with me on maxis  mad.gif
keep it short there is no perfect telco..each of them have their own weakness..so depending on your usage and your patient to see if you can tahan when no signal  icon_rolleyes.gif
i not to say maxis is perfect tho ..
so far maxis serve me good ..
even digi is better than celcom ..
cannot believe celcom signal weak in city area ..
example ara damasara (where i live now) .. sometime even no signal ..

Zot
post Jun 5 2015, 05:09 PM

7,936 posts

QUOTE(togomifi @ Jun 5 2015, 03:17 PM)
you know what all the same one la..when using celcom curse celcom but when switch to others also curse..never ending stories one..
so telco are stronger at certain places and some rural area don't have coverage..
yup still remember my friend said during CNY..1 week no line with DG..go to their CS ..they said upgrading..seriously  mad.gif  during CNY  vmad.gif 
as i said all telco the same one la..i tried all 4 before still have problems till now...
if you are rich then can consider to use all 4 telco..sure reachable one  thumbup.gif
During CNY or Raya time people go back hometown. There are not many cell stations but the population density increases. Thus this causes no line. The transmitter towers transmit into 3 sectors, Alpha, Beta and Gamma as some called it. In each sector, they transmits 2 or 3 channel. Each channel can handle 8 simultaneous calls (this is what I knew previously long time ago. So, things might change now, but basically this is how calls are multiplexed). So, limited number of people can talk at any given time. CS excuses damn stupid probably because they were told not to give bad image by saying their line congested laugh.gif

I guess mobile users expand fast and telco barely can cope or probably they are just trying to maximize usage while minimizing cost. So, this is why you can say any telco also same. When many migrate to Maxis because so much bad news on Celcom, Maxis network get congested. Then Maxis starts getting bad name. People then migrate to DiGi, then Celcom. All these just like lalat laugh.gif

Well this is what actually happen. I used to sell microwave radio for both Maxis and Celcom for tower connectivity. I was using Celcom and Maxis ask why use Celcom. I told them that the rural area where my kampung located has poor Maxis coverage. So, they just keep quiet laugh.gif .
blibala
post Jun 6 2015, 03:12 PM

1,910 posts

For indoor reception i think digi has improved a lot in recent years. I can get almost full bar with digi. Their line is quite stable and i can get h+ constantly at klang valley area. I have tried hotlink and xpax and surprisingly a lot of indoor area dont have good reception.

Celcom 38 is attractive due to high data only. For those who need more minutes better get digi 50.
kaneshi
post Jun 6 2015, 05:06 PM

170 posts

QUOTE(blibala @ Jun 6 2015, 03:12 PM)
For indoor reception i think digi has improved a lot in recent years.  I can get almost full bar with digi. Their line is quite stable and i can get h+ constantly at klang valley area.  I have tried hotlink and xpax and surprisingly a lot of indoor area dont have good reception.

Celcom 38 is attractive due to high data only. For those who need more minutes better get digi 50.
Was at Paradigm mall car park. Celcom has no signal at all whereas Digi has H+
andrekua2
post Jun 7 2015, 01:53 AM

13,469 posts

Actually you can have 2 lines since Celcom offer is quite cheap. Personally I think Celcom vs Digi so far for me has been in favor of Celcom. Both has its downside definitely. Celcom has poor data coverage on NSE. Digi was unstable in some area in Kepong. In term of 4g coverage, seem like Celcom has better coverage.
donpapachino
post Jun 7 2015, 07:27 AM

project 138 completed
5,006 posts

thanks for the heads-up, it is quite shocking to hear your bad experience indeed. lucky haven't made the jump yet.
fiqir
post Jun 7 2015, 10:01 AM

BE YOURSELF
3,810 posts

So many user jump to celcom
ryukick
post Jun 7 2015, 12:44 PM

746 posts

QUOTE(djboycalvin @ Jun 5 2015, 10:35 AM)
I have the same issue with Celcom as well - will give them maybe another month then if still no progress I'm switching back to Maxis or perhaps go with DIGI
champu
post Jun 8 2015, 11:00 AM

Champu
633 posts

QUOTE(togomifi @ Jun 5 2015, 03:24 PM)
using iphone 6 and note 4..so far ok..almost all location also got LTE signal
which plan you taking?
don't you start with me on maxis  mad.gif
keep it short there is no perfect telco..each of them have their own weakness..so depending on your usage and your patient to see if you can tahan when no signal  icon_rolleyes.gif
First Basic 38, just signed up over the weekend. Waiting for port-over which may take up to 3 work days cry.gif

36 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0291sec    0.68    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 11:55 AM