126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

DarReNz
post Jul 22 2007, 04:38 AM

7,496 posts

if they want to recruit u ... u think they care about this small cost .... when they hire u they will already save heaps compared to hire singaporeans .....
jimmy79
post Jul 23 2007, 10:44 AM

957 posts

QUOTE(eurekas @ Jul 22 2007, 01:22 AM)
What is the phone number you put for them to contact you ?
I don't think they will  call to oversea  in their office.
Unless you are super good.
hmm.gif
Nope, i get quite few call from singapore when I am still work in KL though.

Singapore prefer jobsdb compare jobstreet. I get zero call from jobstreet too but several call from jobsdb application. Good luck
bongo
post Aug 6 2007, 07:07 PM

116 posts

Bros and Sis,

I'm about to work in Singapore starting next month. Any good place to recommend for staying? Preferably near to the MRT and my working place is in Raffles City Tower. Budget is SGD 600 (incl utilities).

Any good place to intro?

Thks in advance.
Jazzy
post Aug 6 2007, 07:09 PM

54 posts

BI Consultant with 6-7 of IT experiences. Offered SGD 3,500 per month.

Opinion on the offer plz.
devil98
post Aug 7 2007, 09:57 AM

591 posts

QUOTE(Jazzy @ Aug 6 2007, 07:09 PM)
BI Consultant with 6-7 of IT experiences. Offered SGD 3,500 per month.

Opinion on the offer plz.
wah d package is veri low rite shocking.gif
for sap 2 yrs exp i can get at least 4k max up to 6k per mth thumbup.gif
hmm.gif ...BI consultant not veri sure d market there bt i think its 2 low brother tongue.gif
capix
post Aug 15 2007, 12:20 AM

467 posts

today i received an ofer from sembawang shipyard...1500SD per month(basic)..can i survive??

thx
goolie
post Aug 15 2007, 09:38 AM

795 posts

normallly what is the standard pay of the software enginneer there? currently i m working at penang nearly 1 year experience in c++..may i know what is the pay that i should demand when i go there to work as software engineer?
cavynz
post Aug 15 2007, 09:52 AM

367 posts

QUOTE(capix @ Aug 15 2007, 12:20 AM)
today i received an ofer from sembawang shipyard...1500SD per month(basic)..can i survive??

thx
To survive is enough, considering ur accomodation + daily expenses ..but if u wana save extra money, abit difficult..
AngelSlayer
post Aug 15 2007, 10:21 AM

Yoyoyo~~~
702 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 15 2007, 09:38 AM)
normallly what is the standard pay of the software enginneer there? currently i m working at penang nearly 1 year experience in c++..may i know what is the pay that i should demand when i go there to work as software  engineer?
FYI, it will be around $2500-$3000...good luck mate... thumbup.gif thumbup.gif

Added on August 15, 2007, 10:39 am
QUOTE(cavynz @ Aug 15 2007, 09:52 AM)
To survive is enough, considering ur accomodation + daily expenses ..but if u wana save extra money, abit difficult..
FYI, u can get $3-4 for ur lunch without drinks, and breakfast for <$2, then dinner for around $3-4, ur everyday food expenses only <$10, for 30 days, will be $300, with the MRT fee (if u are not driving) is around $50-100/month depends on the distance of ur workplace and the place u stay, then the rental can be $350-$600 depends on the location whether is near to town or not...total expenses for 1 month is around <$1000, other than that u can go for entertainment and also savings, imagine $500 * 2.25 = RM1125....

P.S: i still able to go for clubbing every friday, hahaha...with the salary range around urs....

This post has been edited by AngelSlayer: Aug 15 2007, 10:39 AM
goolie
post Aug 15 2007, 10:40 AM

795 posts

to AngelSlayer
thanks for helpful info...u oso work at IT field currently?
AngelSlayer
post Aug 15 2007, 10:50 AM

Yoyoyo~~~
702 posts

QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 15 2007, 10:40 AM)
to AngelSlayer
thanks for helpful info...u oso work at IT field currently?
nop...working as a customer service, but i saw some of the companies offer tht salary for programmers, coz programmer salary are quite varies coz different field different salary, since u are C++, i think around that lo...haha..if u can get around $3000, its quite good liao...

now looking forward to options trading...quite a good field for investment...but u hv to know the method...

This post has been edited by AngelSlayer: Aug 15 2007, 10:52 AM
goolie
post Aug 15 2007, 11:02 AM

795 posts

ok..thanks again..

i have heard this future and option trading from my colleague b4..
it can generate quite good return in a short time period..

i only know the basic knowledge...it is based on index performance rite?
jimmy79
post Aug 15 2007, 01:08 PM

957 posts

hmm, what is option trading? can msg me for more info? quite interest as well. haha

goolie, just try your luck but like aboe mention the IT salaries quite varies because there is too much competition in IT field from India, filipines, china, malaysia. so the salaries quite low compare finance and engineering fields.

Some can just get below sgd2k for 1-2 yrs exp. But since you are using c++, it should be abit higher. But i dun think you can reach 3k yet unless your resume and experience is very attractive.

I work in IT fields in sg as well. can msg me if u want know more details
dinodog_Jr
post Aug 15 2007, 02:05 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

Anyone know SG building is gonna pump up to 100% or even 200% soon?

It means if ur rented room is SGD400 it will goes up to SGD800 per month.

AngelSlayer
post Aug 15 2007, 03:01 PM

Yoyoyo~~~
702 posts

QUOTE(dinodog_Jr @ Aug 15 2007, 02:05 PM)
Anyone know SG building is gonna pump up to 100% or even 200% soon?

It means if ur rented room is SGD400 it will goes up to SGD800 per month.
the gov will control the property value of the buildings...dun hv to worry bout tht...if they wanna raise till tht high, then ma dun stay there lo...easy...
zeeshah24
post Aug 15 2007, 03:50 PM

62 posts

QUOTE(pikaphebat @ Mar 10 2007, 03:23 AM)
just wanna ask. Anyone is working at Emerio? How is it like? I may start working there soon.
Did u join the work.. Hows the working env and benefits?..How abt expenses?
goolie
post Aug 15 2007, 04:09 PM

795 posts

to jimmy79..
is it important for the resume besides working experience when applying job? do u know how should i write the attractive resume? can i download sample resume from internet?

Besides that, what is the most important things between degree cert & working experience in s'pore? for ur information, i have juz come out to work since last year April 2006. At that time, i work as web designer and learn to do the dynamic site by using flash tools and some deign software..i work about 6months there...

After that, find my direction in my career!!! I work as software engineer somewhere at penang currently...nearly 1 year experience...from there, i learn to use C & C++ language and apply its on doing the embedded application..

i juz wanna make sure that is it possible for me to get the pay around 2500-3000sgd after having 1 year working experience at penang? how should i judge for my final actually?
Do u have any recommendation for me to apply job from the company which will provide me the accomodation, meals and transport??

Let say now i have degree cert and 1 year working experience(engineering field), then what is the standard pay that normally will be given? lets talk about the minumum pay that i surely can get it...(i need to count out the bad intention which may include bad luck sometimes when applying job). Is it still possible to get > 2000sgd?

This post has been edited by goolie: Aug 15 2007, 04:12 PM
dinodog_Jr
post Aug 15 2007, 09:31 PM

I am not a dog
3,813 posts

QUOTE(AngelSlayer @ Aug 15 2007, 03:01 PM)
the gov will control the property value of the buildings...dun hv to worry bout tht...if they wanna raise till tht high, then ma dun stay there lo...easy...
the problem is if someone got a job der. the house owner will take this opportunity to raise up the rented room fees.

My bro is facing this problem currently. He haf to find a new place in September soon.

Added on August 15, 2007, 9:49 pm
QUOTE(goolie @ Aug 15 2007, 04:09 PM)
to jimmy79..
is it important for the resume besides working experience when applying job? do u know how should i write the attractive resume? can i download sample resume from internet?

Besides that, what is the most important things between degree cert & working experience in s'pore? for ur information, i have juz come out to work since last year April 2006. At that time, i work as web designer and learn to do the dynamic site by using flash tools and some deign software..i work about 6months there...

After that, find my direction in my career!!! I work as software engineer somewhere at penang currently...nearly 1 year experience...from there, i learn to use C & C++ language and apply its on doing the embedded application..

i juz wanna make sure that is it possible for me to get the pay around 2500-3000sgd after having 1 year working experience at penang? how should i judge for my final actually?
Do u have any recommendation for me to apply job from the company which will provide me the accomodation, meals and transport??

Let say now i have degree cert and 1 year working experience(engineering field), then what is the standard pay that normally will be given? lets talk about the minumum pay that i surely can get it...(i need to count out the bad intention which may include bad luck sometimes when applying job). Is it still possible to get > 2000sgd?
if u dun mind goolie. i can shared wif u bout my bro which was started as a programmer at SG as well. My bro started at around SGD1600 roughly 4 years ago. While in Malaysia, he got more than 2 years working experience. Only the last year which was related to Computer but as a Tutor only.

Normally, Singaporean employer won't care bout ur Malaysia University Degree. If Oversea cert holder then u got extra requirement. As u only got 1 year of working experience, i afraid u will be offer around SGD1600 to SGD2000. Well, dun get discourage. U will get better pay after u working for a year or more in any related field in SG. Then, u will be automatically pump up ur value.

Singaporean taking us(Malaysian) as foreign labour. Our salary is very hard to competitive wif local Singaporean. This is why we got chances to get employed. Employer believe we will be more hardworking than Singaporean. Now IT field in SG is getting even challenging, since Indonesian, Indian, & China ppl are struggling in Singapore too.

Anyway, try to get more certificate to upgrade ur status while u happen to work in SG. It is very important in Singaporean society. Especially IT field. Else, u dun hope u can get promote much easier. They want u to haf a shining background instead of just bloody skill.

I got a friend waiting for 5 years cuz his supervisor said he will promoting him. Now oredi 5th year nothing happend even my friend is so hardworking. Then another friend get promoted immediately cuz he studied for a certificate. This is very truth. Singaporean very care bout their employee's images & background.

Well, der would be different & lucky person. I am just sharing what happend to ppl surrounding me.

This post has been edited by dinodog_Jr: Aug 15 2007, 09:49 PM
jimmy79
post Aug 16 2007, 08:28 AM

957 posts

yeah, another thing is you need to get working exp in singapore. I am not sure why since i notice not much different ( may be i work in MNC in msia and as well singapore, so not much diff)

As I notice, if your working exposure is good, after you been working sometime in singapore especially after you get your PR status. You will get call from those agencies asking your current status and latest resume automatically.
goolie
post Aug 16 2007, 11:37 AM

795 posts

oic...is there any terms and condition when applying for the PR status?

126 Pages « < 25 26 27 28 29 > » Top

0.0190sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 12:23 AM