126 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

bbmars
post Jul 18 2008, 11:46 PM

545 posts

I used to know someone who bought MY car and drive back to SG. However, then he was working in Johor. Trouble is, he has to corss back to MY every 2 weeks according to him. I had not met him since. ITs already more than 10 yrs.

Buffet steamboat, I don't know whether it is really good at this place, but notice kind of full house especially on weekends and evening. There is one at basement of United Square. near to MacDonald. Its kind of mixture of steamboat, japanese food, western food all in one type. Price can't remember, ~$20 something. The other you may want to try is at Marina Square shopping centre call Pariss... Sorry, can't remember what they served, but buffet style too. Of course, not forgetting this place at Tampines SAFRA, Sakura. lunch ~$24, dinner below $30 (can't recall). Food choices, western, japanese, chinese, BBQ food, etc... of course dessert. Its much cheaper than the others.. but I have to say, to me, its kind of qualtiy of the food, not about the variety, what you pay is what you get. I hardly eat at such places. but maybe that suits you... you can try. They do have other branches, sorry, I don't know where.

ALterantively, you can actually call some of the 3 star hotel. You will be surprise, food prices aren't expensive and kind of value for $ given a certain budget. They do offer buffet spread much much cheaper, just that better try call up and ask before going down. not all such hotels offer daily buffet, some only on weekends.

This post has been edited by bbmars: Jul 18 2008, 11:48 PM
nicvoo
post Jul 19 2008, 12:41 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(cktwai @ Jul 18 2008, 05:18 PM)
I dunno now.. lol

I suggested Kenny Rogers... I felt it's easiest to accomodate everyone....

If not why not just meet at Mc Donalds.. or KFC.. don't care about the food quality la... just to meet up right..
drinks then any mcd, kfc, or watever fast food also can smile.gif

QUOTE(bbmars @ Jul 18 2008, 11:46 PM)
I used to know someone who bought MY car and drive back to SG.  However, then he was working in Johor.  Trouble is, he has to corss back to MY every 2 weeks according to him.  I had not met him since.  ITs already more than 10 yrs.

Buffet steamboat,  I don't know whether it is really good at this place, but notice kind of full house especially on weekends  and evening.  There is one at basement of United Square.  near to MacDonald.  Its kind of mixture of steamboat, japanese food, western food all in one type. Price can't remember, ~$20 something.  The other you may want to try is at Marina Square shopping centre call Pariss... Sorry, can't remember what they served, but buffet style too.  Of course, not forgetting this place at Tampines SAFRA, Sakura. lunch ~$24, dinner below $30 (can't recall).  Food choices, western, japanese, chinese, BBQ food, etc... of course dessert.  Its much cheaper than the others.. but I have to say, to me, its kind of qualtiy of the food, not about the variety, what you pay is what you get.  I hardly eat at such places.  but maybe that suits you... you can try. They do have other branches, sorry, I don't know where.

ALterantively, you can actually call some of the 3 star hotel.  You will be surprise, food prices aren't expensive and kind of value for $ given a certain budget.  They do offer buffet spread much much cheaper, just that better try call up and ask before going down.  not all such hotels offer daily buffet, some only on weekends.
jus back from pariss totally suck 47SGD food no refill, variety of food not nuthing to shout about, ais kacang u need to scoop your own ice which was already half melted basically very bad for the amount u r paying

can try yuki yaki weekends 25.60sgd steambot n bbq in aircon add 2$ for the ice cream but too many ppl need wait also in marina square.

bbmars
post Jul 19 2008, 01:15 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 19 2008, 12:41 AM)
drinks then any mcd, kfc, or  watever fast food also can smile.gif
jus back from pariss totally suck 47SGD food no refill, variety of food not nuthing to shout about, ais kacang u need to scoop your own ice which was already half melted basically very bad for the amount u r paying

can try yuki yaki weekends 25.60sgd steambot n bbq in aircon add 2$ for the ice cream but too many ppl need wait also in marina square.
Oh... I see, anyway, I have not eaten there because the food doesn't suit me at all...
seantang
post Jul 19 2008, 04:32 PM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

Singaporeans (citizens) and PRs are not allowed to drive non-Singapore registered cars (ie. Malaysian or Thai cars) in Singapore. If you want to drive into Singapore, you have to drive a Singapore car. Check out the traffic police website.
cjtune
post Jul 19 2008, 05:15 PM

Melancholic frog
3,544 posts

QUOTE(bbmars @ Jul 18 2008, 11:46 PM)
I used to know someone who bought MY car and drive back to SG.  However, then he was working in Johor.  Trouble is, he has to corss back to MY every 2 weeks according to him.  I had not met him since.  ITs already more than 10 yrs.
Hmm, maybe 10 years ago rules were different I guess.
Now, even my PR colleagues who live in JB but work in S'pore have to drive S'pore-registered cars.
There is a way to convert an initially MY-registered car to a S'pore-registered car but I don't know the details but you definitely have to pay for the COE and whatever LTA assessments and eventually it's not any cheaper than having bought your car in S'pore.

plplpl
post Jul 20 2008, 05:18 PM

121 posts

Hi guys,

Anyone know where to get cheap 2nd hand phone?....i need one urgently...maybe SGS50?...i lost two hp in a month....really broke....just need a temp phone....or anybody want to sell his old hp?....or donate to me??
sillygal08
post Jul 20 2008, 06:10 PM

wah.. how did you lost your two hps?
plplpl
post Jul 20 2008, 08:03 PM

121 posts

QUOTE(sillygal08 @ Jul 20 2008, 06:10 PM)
wah.. how did you lost your two hps?
bad luck this month.....cant say much....once in toilet last month and once in the cab yday....and both are quite new....haih heart pain....any 2nd hand shop recommendation?...
bbmars
post Jul 20 2008, 10:42 PM

545 posts

QUOTE(plplpl @ Jul 20 2008, 05:18 PM)
Hi guys,

Anyone know where to get cheap 2nd hand phone?....i need one urgently...maybe SGS50?...i lost two hp in a month....really broke....just need a temp phone....or anybody want to sell his old hp?....or donate to me??
My friend, why don't you check out 7-11 stores? They are selling basic hp for very cheap prices. I understand the recent one on sales are >$50. Several weeks ago, LG hp was $48. I also bought one for $48 too last yr too. No need for 2nd hand hp, no contract. There are sometimes advertised even in Shop&Save or some supermarket for ~$50 that price, very basic function. Go to the nearest supermarket and look for advertisement hanging around the stores. Or watch out for the StraitsTimes. Alternatively, you can look around for 2nd hand hp shop, many around do ask for it in your neighbourhood. But I must say, if you can get a brand new ones, why not?

This post has been edited by bbmars: Jul 20 2008, 10:43 PM
nicvoo
post Jul 20 2008, 11:17 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

yeah sum of the models quite good
7-11 latest one i think is a se flip phone looks nice z sumthing cant remember
MPIK
post Jul 22 2008, 11:00 AM

1,838 posts

Who can intro me a room (budget round SGD300 to 350; no nid air-cond or fan oso nvm)

Prefer area in woodlands, jurong east, redhill, queenstown, commonwealth, Chinese garden or choa chu kang… very very thank you…

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 22 2008, 12:23 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jul 22 2008, 11:00 AM)
Who can intro me a room (budget round SGD300 to 350; no nid air-cond or fan oso nvm)

Prefer area in woodlands, jurong east, redhill, queenstown, commonwealth, Chinese garden or choa chu kang… very very thank you…
i think u only can manage to find urself a share room with ur budget..
i can introduce u my real estate agent (very friendly and resourceful) if u urgently need a room, but u have to pay for the agent fees of course.
if interested then let me know, i can pm u his contact.
lighching
post Jul 22 2008, 05:44 PM

1,348 posts

QUOTE(ikuwara @ Oct 27 2006, 03:19 PM)
Lee KY said before " We don't give fish, You have to catch your own fish"

Work smart and hardwork when you work in Singapore  flex.gif

"Majulah Singapura"
not much thing i can tell you... just stay away from the s'pore female...if you not planing to living in s'pore... it going to be very hard if you marry at s'pore.. not too easy.... to get a PR u need to get at least sgd3k... you need to buy a house and keep a kids is harded... shocking.gif working in s'pore you need to smart by not too smart...not all Singporian like smart person. icon_idea.gif haha salary almost all jobs is start with sgd750 if you have a work permit. in factory maybe u can get sdg 400 up... a room start with sgd 150 share with others, 250-450 for a single person room... transport going to be start with sgd 0.20 to 4.00 each time you walk in for BUS and MRT.. take taxi about sgd 2.50 up... what u do after working hours? hmm.gif sleep yawn.gif cinema sgd 7.50 icon_idea.gif klkk shopping hmm.gif make love thumbup.gif eating drool.gif study icon_rolleyes.gif fishing doh.gif take picture rclxm9.gif too many stuff you can do...
PoisonIvy82
post Jul 23 2008, 12:53 AM

188 posts

QUOTE(lighching @ Jul 22 2008, 05:44 PM)
not much thing i can tell you... just stay away from the s'pore female...if you not planing to living in s'pore... it going to be very hard if you marry at s'pore.. not too easy.... to get a PR u need to get at least sgd3k... you need to buy a house and keep a kids is harded... shocking.gif working in s'pore you need to smart by not too smart...not all Singporian like smart person. icon_idea.gif haha salary almost all jobs is start with sgd750 if you have a work permit. in factory maybe u can get sdg 400 up... a room start with sgd 150 share with others, 250-450 for a single person room... transport going to be start with sgd 0.20 to 4.00 each time you walk in for BUS and MRT..  take taxi about sgd 2.50 up... what u do after working hours? hmm.gif sleep yawn.gif  cinema sgd 7.50 icon_idea.gif klkk shopping  hmm.gif make love  thumbup.gif eating  drool.gif study icon_rolleyes.gif fishing doh.gif take picture rclxm9.gif too many stuff you can do...
Are you working in Singapore? I find a lil hard trying to follow what you are writing.. English tungang-langgang..
nameless
post Jul 23 2008, 01:54 AM

623 posts

not much thing i can tell you... just stay away from the s'pore female...if you not planing to living in s'pore... it going to be very hard if you marry at s'pore.. not too easy.... to get a PR u need to get at least sgd3k... you need to buy a house and keep a kids is harded... shocking.gif working in s'pore you need to smart by not too smart...not all Singporian like smart person. icon_idea.gif haha salary almost all jobs is start with sgd750 if you have a work permit. in factory maybe u can get sdg 400 up... a room start with sgd 150 share with others, 250-450 for a single person room... transport going to be start with sgd 0.20 to 4.00 each time you walk in for BUS and MRT..  take taxi about sgd 2.50 up... what u do after working hours? hmm.gif sleep yawn.gif  cinema sgd 7.50 icon_idea.gif klkk shopping  hmm.gif make love  thumbup.gif eating  drool.gif study icon_rolleyes.gif fishing doh.gif take picture rclxm9.gif too many stuff you can do...
To get PR at least sgd3k?
room start with sgd 150 share with others, 250-450 for a single person room?
almost all jobs is start with sgd750 if you have a work permit. in factory maybe u can get sdg 400 up???

Are you talking the same Singapore that we know? rclxub.gif rclxub.gif
That all the stories your heard or you really been there before.

This post has been edited by nameless: Jul 23 2008, 01:54 AM
bluefox
post Jul 23 2008, 09:30 AM

91 posts

QUOTE(nameless @ Jul 23 2008, 01:54 AM)
To get PR at least sgd3k?
room start with sgd 150 share with others, 250-450 for a single person room?
almost all jobs is start with sgd750 if you have a work permit. in factory maybe u can get sdg 400 up???

Are you talking the same Singapore that we know?  rclxub.gif  rclxub.gif
That all the stories your heard or you really been there before.
hmm...
Some of my ex-schoolmate working around here got their PR when their salary around SGD1500.
(Enginnering grad fr USM-one year back). I wonder anyone break this record?
As long as the company is willing to back you up, it shud be fine.

Current room pricing for common room shud be around sgd500-sgd700 (along the MRT green line)
Condominium around Balestier Rd > SGD1000 per room.

This post has been edited by bluefox: Jul 23 2008, 10:11 AM
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 23 2008, 11:52 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(bluefox @ Jul 23 2008, 09:30 AM)
hmm...
Some of my ex-schoolmate working around here got their PR when their salary around SGD1500.
(Enginnering grad fr USM-one year back). I wonder anyone break this record?
As long as the company is willing to back you up, it shud be fine.

Current room pricing for common room shud be around sgd500-sgd700 (along the MRT green line)
Condominium around Balestier Rd > SGD1000 per room.
Approval of PR is not totally base on applicant's salary, but their qualification, expertise and how much they can contribute to Singapore growth.

Those on P1 and P2 EP stand a higher chance to become PR than those on the Q1 and Spass.
Semi-skilled and unskilled foreign workers on R category Work Permits are generally not eligible for PR

hoongji
post Jul 24 2008, 08:15 AM

2,982 posts

lol, whats wrong with the females here dude? most of them from MY anyway.

you've been listening too much craps and bullshi- from your friends. all those figures are not correct.

those wishing a hectic metropolitan life with great entertainment and nightlife can definitely think SG. but yeah, those wishing on a more peaceful life with great food, MY is still the place to be.
nicvoo
post Jul 24 2008, 09:44 AM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

the fella mus still b living in the sg 90's era doh.gif
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 24 2008, 09:47 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(hoongji @ Jul 24 2008, 08:15 AM)
lol, whats wrong with the females here dude? most of them from MY anyway.

you've been listening too much craps and bullshi- from your friends. all those figures are not correct.

those wishing a hectic metropolitan life with great entertainment and nightlife can definitely think SG. but yeah, those wishing on a more peaceful life with great food, MY is still the place to be.
Mos females are from MY? How true is this?

126 Pages « < 112 113 114 115 116 > » Top

0.0215sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 08:56 AM