126 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Bottom

Working Life in Singapore, Please Share your value Experience

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 25 2008, 11:54 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(lighching @ Jul 25 2008, 09:50 AM)
damn right...the work pressure is damn high... shocking.gif but depend on where u work..

Added on July 25, 2008, 9:56 am

repair pc , notebook. do some vb.net programming. current workplace most of time doing gov. ict project

Added on July 25, 2008, 10:28 am
you can fill in the figure, if say staying at KL.
then i think u r underpaid, u know .net and yet they are paying u only $750?

lighching
post Jul 25 2008, 12:11 PM

1,348 posts

$750 is my first job at s'pore. my current job salary also is damn low and underpaid.
klauschang
post Jul 27 2008, 05:04 PM

Can anybody here guide me on where & how should I apply for a broadband internet at sg? Do i need something like a fixed phone line to install the internet like Tmnet does or is there wireless kind of thing like maxis? I'm relocating to sg next week and will be staying at tampines.
nicvoo
post Jul 27 2008, 06:51 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

depend on whether u wan wireless wired or cable. cable will b starhub wired will b singtel wirellss both of themalso hav u'll need to c whcih is more attractive package
tampiens mall hav both starhub n singtel shops can go there apply anytime
nevenchailj
post Jul 27 2008, 07:46 PM

Cyclist
562 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 27 2008, 06:51 PM)
depend on whether u wan wireless wired or cable. cable will b starhub wired will b singtel wirellss both of themalso hav u'll need to c whcih is more attractive package
tampiens mall hav both starhub n singtel shops can go there apply anytime
Applying for broadband in Singapore needs PR or not?
weirdguy
post Jul 27 2008, 08:33 PM

587 posts

I saw an job advert that Robinsons is currently taking people. Do they usually hire Malaysian?

The advert does not state that they only welcome PR or Singaporean or specifically stated they only accept PR or Singaporean.

This post has been edited by weirdguy: Jul 27 2008, 08:34 PM
nicvoo
post Jul 27 2008, 10:07 PM

N|_|_|B
4,707 posts

QUOTE(nevenchailj @ Jul 27 2008, 07:46 PM)
Applying for broadband in Singapore needs PR or not?
need your employment pass EP passport and sg address

This post has been edited by nicvoo: Jul 27 2008, 10:08 PM
keith_hjinhoh
post Jul 27 2008, 10:29 PM

Need My Service?
2,656 posts

QUOTE(nicvoo @ Jul 27 2008, 10:07 PM)
need your employment pass EP passport and sg address
do we need permission from house owner?
yrh0413
post Jul 27 2008, 11:15 PM

12,214 posts

QUOTE(keith_hjinhoh @ Jul 27 2008, 10:29 PM)
do we need permission from house owner?
Nope, you could subscribe for broadband anytime. But then, it is wise to inform the landlord beforehand. smile.gif
MPIK
post Jul 28 2008, 12:23 AM

1,838 posts

Hai, everyone... it's has been almost a month working in SG. SG is quite good actually but the thing I most dislike is I can't drive (no car to drive), not like working in KL... I can drive gals around yamca, go lepak after working hrs as and when I like..but here everyday is MRT, bus, MRT, bus......

I believe after working here for 4-5 yrs then when U wanna go back to KL, you will forget how to drive even though when you are once a super king road speeder...
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 28 2008, 09:27 AM

623 posts

QUOTE(klauschang @ Jul 27 2008, 05:04 PM)
Can anybody here guide me on where & how should I apply for a broadband internet at sg? Do i need something like a fixed phone line to install the internet like Tmnet does or is there wireless kind of thing like maxis? I'm relocating to sg next week and will be staying at tampines.
rclxms.gif great, new mate in tampines..
btw i suggest u to go fo cable, wireless broadband is not stable.
Currently I'm using singtel BOM(broadband on mobile, 1MB line), the speed sometimes fast sometimes slow and sometimes will dc.
the pros is u only need to sign 1 year contract and if the promotion still on, you only pay half year bill, the other half is free.

seantang
post Jul 28 2008, 10:56 AM

With Adult Supervision Only
6,624 posts

QUOTE(klauschang @ Jul 27 2008, 05:04 PM)
Basically there's cable, which is Starhub. That's available to all flats and condos built or refurbished after 1990 or something (I can't remember the exact year). Every home, no matter a Starhub customer or not, gets an active cable connection. Everyone connects their TV to this cable connection for the free-to-air TV channels.

Starhub has 2 types of cable broadband - monthly and pay-as-you-use. The monthly one is tied to a certain address etc. So when you move, you have to inform Starhub. It's about S$30-40 a month for the lowest bandwidth.

I was using the pay-as-you-use one previously. It's $2.50 a day and the account is linked to the modem MAC address only, which means you can just take the modem to any other flat, plug it in and start surfing. I usually only used it during weekends. Weekdays I go online at work. You pay by credit card / cash card.

Singtel also has ADSL broadband, just like Streamyx. But to use it, you must first have a telephone line. Since I already have a postpaid mobile phone with more than enough free call time, I find paying S$20 a month for a house phone which I will never use, simply unnecessary. So Singtel's broadband is out of the question for me. Plus tenants need to pay to reconnect the phone line (the previous tenant will always terminate the account or transfer the line to a new address).

I now use mainly mobile broadband on 3.5G / HSDPA. Just subscribe, get a simcard and Huawei or Samsung USB or PCMCIA modem (usually free when there's a promotion, like now!) from Singtel, Starhub or M1. My package is the lowest speed (1mbps) from Singtel, one year contract, S$22 a month but free 3 months.

Even at that speed, you can dl around 2-3GB a day using torrents (comparatively, you can dl 8-20GB a day using Starhub cable - sometimes cable is really, really fast - but that's only 10-20% of the time). But for some stupid reason, Singtel still comes with a 50GB cap (and they charge a ridiculous $0.0005 for each kb beyond that ie. S$500 per GB... and they do sue you for payment... so think carefully). Starhub and M1 are unlimited. I will switch after my contract expires this Christmas. I chose Singtel initially because it had the shortest contract (12 mths), 3 months free, free modem, free simcard, no other registration, administration or connection charges - during its Xmas promotion.

I like mobile broadband the best. With a laptop, there are really no wires. You can of course wifi with cable bb, using a router... but that's an additional S$100-200 for a router (which can pay for 6-12mths of subscription). And you can also use mobile bb outdoors. And of course, you don't have to inform anyone that you've changed address if you move somewhere else.

This post has been edited by seantang: Jul 28 2008, 01:21 PM
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 28 2008, 12:28 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 28 2008, 10:56 AM)
Basically there's cable, which is Starhub. That's available to all flats and condos built or refurbished after 1990 or something (I can't remember the exact year). Every home, no matter a Starhub customer or not, gets an active cable connection. Everyone connects their TV to this cable connection for the free-to-air TV channels.

Starhub has 2 types of cable broadband - monthly and pay-as-you-use. The monthly one is tied to a certain address etc. So when you move, you have to inform Starhub. It's about S$30-40 a month for the lowest bandwidth.

I was using the pay-as-you-use one previously. It's $2.50 a day and the account is linked to the modem MAC address only, which means you can just take the modem to any other flat, plug it in and start surfing. I usually only used it during weekends. Weekdays I go online at work. You pay by credit card / cash card.

Singtel also has ADSL broadband, just like Streamyx. But to use it, you must first have a telephone line. Since I already have a postpaid mobile phone with more than enough free call time, I find paying S$20 a month for a house phone which I will never use, simply unnecessary. So Singtel's broadband is out of the question for me. Plus tenants need to pay to reconnect the phone line (the previous tenant will always terminate the account or transfer the line to a new address).

I now use mainly mobile broadband on 3.5G / HSDPA. Just subscribe, get a simcard and Huawei or Samsung USB or PCMCIA modem (usually free when there's a promotion, like now!) from Singtel, Starhub or M1. My package is the lowest speed (1mbps) from Singtel, one year contract, S$22 a month but free 3 months.

Even at that speed, you can dl around 2-3GB a day using torrents (comparatively, you can dl 8-20GB a day using Starhub cable - sometimes cable is really, really fast - but that's only 10-20% of the time). But for some stupid reason, Singtel still comes with a 50GB cap (and they charge a ridiculous $0.002 for each kb beyond that ie. S$2,000 per GB... and they do sue you for payment... so think carefully). Starhub and M1 are unlimited. I will switch after my contract expires this Christmas. I chose Singtel initially because it had the shortest contract (12 mths), 3 months free, free modem, free simcard, no other registration, administration or connection charges - during its Xmas promotion.

I like mobile broadband the best. With a laptop, there are really no wires. You can of course wifi with cable bb, using a router... but that's an additional S$100-200 for a router (which can pay for 6-12mths of subscription). And you can also use mobile bb outdoors. And of course, you don't have to inform anyone that you've changed address if you move somewhere else.
50 GB is not really an issue, unless u doing heavy downlods, else for normal internet surfing and video streaming, is quite impossible to hit the 50GB quota

lighching
post Jul 28 2008, 12:41 PM

1,348 posts

QUOTE(MPIK @ Jul 28 2008, 12:23 AM)
Hai, everyone... it's has been almost a month working in SG. SG is quite good actually but the thing I most dislike is I can't drive (no car to drive), not like working in KL... I can drive gals around yamca, go lepak after working hrs as and when I like..but here everyday is MRT, bus, MRT, bus......

I believe after working here for 4-5 yrs then when U wanna go back to KL, you will forget how to drive even though when you are once a super king road speeder...
Oh... you remain my the last day in s'pore.. adjustly i'm driving my own car all the way from m'sia to s'pore to bring back all my stuff to home.My experience driving in s'pore just only one time and also is the last,lucky not received a "saman".
seantang
post Jul 28 2008, 01:10 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(Guai Guai Zai @ Jul 28 2008, 12:28 PM)
50 GB is not really an issue, unless u doing heavy downlods, else for normal internet surfing and video streaming, is quite impossible to hit the 50GB quota.
That's of course, true. But then, I know many people who have become heavy downloaders due to the availability of torrents.

But the main point is the consumer's relationship with Singtel itself. Singtel can always send you a bill saying that you have exceeded 50gb and ask you to pay for the excess. How are you going to argue with them if their records show that you have used more than 50gb?

And don't think this doesn't happen. All you have to do is listen to the morning call-in talk shows on radio (eg. 93.8 fm) and hear what the callers have to say. Recently they had a show about Singapore power and how some consumers' electricity consumption had impossibly doubled, tripled and quadrupled - but they had to pay anyway as they can never keep an independent record of their electricity consumption which can stand up as evidence against the meter reading.

Not long ago, Singtel sued a customer for S$20+K for going over his 10GB limit (before it became 50GB late last year). IIAM, the guy proved that he was out of the country for most of the month (and the max bandwidth x remaining days < 10gb) - but that was no defense as Singtel said someone else (eg his kids, wife, friends etc) could have used his computer and/or simcard. Bottom line is that whatever the corp giant says you've used, you've used. No argument.

Now Singtel has an online usage monitor on a webpage. Key in your simcard phone number and it'll show your month to date usage. I always take screen shots of it, just in case.

Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 28 2008, 02:20 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(seantang @ Jul 28 2008, 01:10 PM)
That's of course, true. But then, I know many people who have become heavy downloaders due to the availability of torrents.

But the main point is the consumer's relationship with Singtel itself. Singtel can always send you a bill saying that you have exceeded 50gb and ask you to pay for the excess. How are you going to argue with them if their records show that you have used more than 50gb?

And don't think this doesn't happen. All you have to do is listen to the morning call-in talk shows on radio (eg. 93.8 fm) and hear what the callers have to say. Recently they had a show about Singapore power and how some consumers' electricity consumption had impossibly doubled, tripled and quadrupled - but they had to pay anyway as they can never keep an independent record of their electricity consumption which can stand up as evidence against the meter reading.

Not long ago, Singtel sued a customer for S$20+K for going over his 10GB limit (before it became 50GB late last year). IIAM, the guy proved that he was out of the country for most of the month (and the max bandwidth x remaining days < 10gb) - but that was no defense as Singtel said someone else (eg his kids, wife, friends etc) could have used his computer and/or simcard. Bottom line is that whatever the corp giant says you've used, you've used. No argument.

Now Singtel has an online usage monitor on a webpage. Key in your simcard phone number and it'll show your month to date usage. I always take screen shots of it, just in case.
ya, u can either use their online data usage or call to their customer service to check ur total data usage.

To play save, check it on weekly basis.
eggBoy
post Jul 28 2008, 04:13 PM

75 posts

can i know what is the webpage to check the usage
i tried this link. but it is not working for me.
http://www.ideas.singtel.com/BOM/HS_usage01.jsp

seantang
post Jul 28 2008, 05:11 PM

6,624 posts

QUOTE(eggBoy @ Jul 28 2008, 04:13 PM)
That's the page I use. Not sure what the issue is for you though.

Krovaxq
post Jul 28 2008, 05:33 PM

Single Ghost
731 posts

Guys, if wana work what at SG also need permit right?

Im planning to go to SG in few months time, will stay at uncle house in woodlands, with +\- SGD1000(my pocket money) n i wana work there see how's life in SG, not office job, jz...anything.. many has said the starting payment is SGD750 for non-office job such as restaurant,bar,club those...that low?

Since I dont need to worry about renting room/house, eat also shud be np kua, jz money to work only, n my personal expenses...

ok anot?

so u guys think is it worth it?
Guai Guai Zai
post Jul 28 2008, 06:58 PM

623 posts

QUOTE(eggBoy @ Jul 28 2008, 04:13 PM)
The link is correct. How long have you subscribed the line?
At first mine also cannot, but after i receive my 1st bill then now i can check the usage ..

126 Pages « < 114 115 116 117 118 > » Top

0.0325sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 02:49 AM