QUOTE(thankyou @ Dec 9 2016, 04:44 PM)
Why? Aren't the present ones ones offered good enough for you?Alienware Mothership V12, Intruder alert!
Alienware Mothership V12, Intruder alert!
Dec 11 2016, 09:12 PM
1,737 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 11 2016, 11:28 PM
1,941 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
Dec 12 2016, 12:36 PM
Running at resolutions above 1920 x 1080 will eat into your framerates despite having a GPU as powerful as the 1070. I'd think it would provide a minimal increase in eye candy... but a much bigger hit in playability.
It depends what you want to do with your computer. I bought it to game with. I am unsure if the brightness factors in here though. The 1920 x 1080 is rated as 300 nits. The higher res ones 400 nits. I've yet to see a review comparing these two screens though so I don't know how better the 400 nits screens are. In any case, they weren't available when I clicked "buy". I have the 17R4 with 1920 x 1080. I'm very happy with my purchase decision. This thing is an amazing gaming machine. |
Dec 12 2016, 04:44 PM
123 posts Joined: Dec 2009 |
Am looking at a unit of Alienware 15 r3 from amazon. anyone bought from amazon before? will we kena from kastam?
Dec 12 2016, 11:34 PM
735 posts Joined: Sep 2013 From: IYD ~ In Your Dream |
QUOTE(leekaisuen69 @ Dec 12 2016, 04:44 PM) Am looking at a unit of Alienware 15 r3 from amazon. anyone bought from amazon before? will we kena from kastam? if the delivery agent handling it you will need to pay some money during delivery time. i bought few unit last time,1 unit kena tax around RM220 (approximately +/-) |
Dec 13 2016, 12:00 AM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
12,089 posts Joined: Jun 2014 From: Kuchai Lama |
Dec 13 2016, 04:57 PM
QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Dec 12 2016, 12:36 PM) Running at resolutions above 1920 x 1080 will eat into your framerates despite having a GPU as powerful as the 1070. I'd think it would provide a minimal increase in eye candy... but a much bigger hit in playability. Thanks for the thoughtful feedback. What about the panel with G-SYNC vs non-G-SYNC?It depends what you want to do with your computer. I bought it to game with. I am unsure if the brightness factors in here though. The 1920 x 1080 is rated as 300 nits. The higher res ones 400 nits. I've yet to see a review comparing these two screens though so I don't know how better the 400 nits screens are. In any case, they weren't available when I clicked "buy". I have the 17R4 with 1920 x 1080. I'm very happy with my purchase decision. This thing is an amazing gaming machine. That panel is not offering in MY deal as well. Wait or not to wait? TQ I'm not in hurry to change but I think very likely I"ll get 1 unit. Torn between 13" or 15" since I travel alot. 1060 vs 1070 & weight... tough choice... |
Dec 13 2016, 08:57 PM
The 2560 x 1440 is a GSync panel. This was not available when I ordered. I don't know how much nicer it is compared to the 1920 x 1080 one that I got.
I have no regrets though. I figure if I wanted a higher res/brighter display I could just get an external LCD. If you're planning to travel with it do NOT get the 17. This guy is HUGE. |
Dec 14 2016, 03:26 PM
QUOTE(MacDaNife @ Dec 13 2016, 08:57 PM) The 2560 x 1440 is a GSync panel. This was not available when I ordered. I don't know how much nicer it is compared to the 1920 x 1080 one that I got. 17" is definitely out of my target. 2.4KG (excl. charger brick) is actually quite heavy to hand carry at airport. That's why I'm thinking to sacrifice GPU power for 13" Alienware...I have no regrets though. I figure if I wanted a higher res/brighter display I could just get an external LCD. If you're planning to travel with it do NOT get the 17. This guy is HUGE. I have to carry 2 laptop, 1 for personal use after work and 1 for company laptop during travel... so weight is important... |
Dec 23 2016, 10:43 PM
88 posts Joined: Jan 2010 |
Hello Lads, I'm planning to upgrade the ram of my Alienware 17 R2. Just wanted to double confirm here since I don't wanna waste money buying the wrong stuff, what type of ram should I buy? is it SODIMM DDR3 or DDR3L?
Dec 24 2016, 12:49 AM
12,089 posts Joined: Jun 2014 From: Kuchai Lama |
QUOTE(thankyou @ Dec 14 2016, 03:26 PM) 17" is definitely out of my target. 2.4KG (excl. charger brick) is actually quite heavy to hand carry at airport. That's why I'm thinking to sacrifice GPU power for 13" Alienware... AW13 u better wait kabylake loI have to carry 2 laptop, 1 for personal use after work and 1 for company laptop during travel... so weight is important... btw alienware 15 & 17 i doing yr end clearance |
Dec 24 2016, 12:58 AM
1,198 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Seem like Dell is waiting for 7-series HQ part to be released before selling AW13 in Malaysia.
Dec 30 2016, 01:26 PM
64 posts Joined: Jun 2005 |
Hi all sifus,
I just got my alienware 15 r3, GTX1070, I must say, this bad boy is really well build and powerful, I can play most of the demanding title with at least 60fps and above, it almost as powerful as my x51 r2 modded with GTX1070. at I least I would say, money well spend!! |
Jan 2 2017, 06:57 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
1,183 posts Joined: Dec 2009 From: Behind You |
Hello thar fellow Aliens,
So my power brick was fried due to a power surge a week or so ago. Buying a new adapter, and do you think buying a 330W brick is alright? Also, been thinking about either buying a new desktop or just upgrade my current M17x R4. 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, GTX 660M I reckon I'd upgrade the RAM to 8GB or so, since I multitask a ton. I heard that doing 2x4GB is better than 1x8GB, would love your input on that, maybe for future proofing, just get 1x8GB and buy more 8GB sticks in the future just for the fun of it? XD And do you guys think getting an mSata SSD be good for it? Upgrades I've been thinking of... 1. Storage HDD - Add 1TB along with the current 500GB (7200 RPM preferably?) SSD - Add 1 mSATA SSD at 128GB (Just for Windows) 2. RAM 1 x 8GB - 1600mhz, 204 pins, Any brands recommended? (Should I get a 1866 instead?) Future - Add 3 more 8GB 3. GPU GTX 660M - Any upgrades recommended? Below RM1500 preferably. Any input and recommendations are greatly apreciated! Pretty sure you guys are better at this than I am. |
Jan 3 2017, 08:46 PM
85 posts Joined: Jan 2017 |
QUOTE(Ikmal91 @ Jan 2 2017, 06:57 PM) Hello thar fellow Aliens, ur r4 should hv extra slot for hdd.. n go for 2 x 8gb additionSo my power brick was fried due to a power surge a week or so ago. Buying a new adapter, and do you think buying a 330W brick is alright? Also, been thinking about either buying a new desktop or just upgrade my current M17x R4. 6GB RAM, 500GB HDD, GTX 660M I reckon I'd upgrade the RAM to 8GB or so, since I multitask a ton. I heard that doing 2x4GB is better than 1x8GB, would love your input on that, maybe for future proofing, just get 1x8GB and buy more 8GB sticks in the future just for the fun of it? XD And do you guys think getting an mSata SSD be good for it? Upgrades I've been thinking of... 1. Storage HDD - Add 1TB along with the current 500GB (7200 RPM preferably?) SSD - Add 1 mSATA SSD at 128GB (Just for Windows) 2. RAM 1 x 8GB - 1600mhz, 204 pins, Any brands recommended? (Should I get a 1866 instead?) Future - Add 3 more 8GB 3. GPU GTX 660M - Any upgrades recommended? Below RM1500 preferably. Any input and recommendations are greatly apreciated! Pretty sure you guys are better at this than I am. |
Jan 4 2017, 12:54 AM
354 posts Joined: Apr 2007 From: sarawak |
alienware A17FHD-70813G price at RM5800. is it worth?
This post has been edited by stryfox: Jan 4 2017, 01:23 AM |
Jan 4 2017, 02:14 AM
2,383 posts Joined: Feb 2015 From: IT wonderland |
Jan 4 2017, 02:15 AM
Jan 4 2017, 02:19 AM
2,383 posts Joined: Feb 2015 From: IT wonderland |
Jan 4 2017, 02:20 AM
Thanks bro. just thinking to buy old model for less than RM6k. upgrade from my current AW 14
QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Jan 4 2017, 02:19 AM) |
| Change to: | 0.0325sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:27 AM |