- delete -
This post has been edited by cheesey: Jan 22 2017, 11:09 AM
Alienware Mothership V12, Intruder alert!
Jan 22 2017, 11:08 AM
521 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
- delete -
This post has been edited by cheesey: Jan 22 2017, 11:09 AM |
Jan 22 2017, 11:09 AM
521 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(veddex @ Jan 16 2017, 08:14 PM) dont ask quotation from dell.. super unreasonable.. my AW 17r2 motherboard spoil they sent quotation rm8.5k and labor charge rm150.. the hell.. i go shop repair only rm450 Getting Started** Group: Junior Member Posts: 240 [Post count information] Joined: Jan 2003 My AW14 also mobo spoilt. They quote rm2.5k + 150 labour. But i opt outside see either they can fix the chip. Your mobo what problem? Issit about power problem? |
Jan 23 2017, 06:01 AM
5,367 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Hey guys., sorry for the quick announcement.
Not sure if any of the senior forumer still remember me, but I will restart dealing and providing (only) Alienware that is 100% from Dell MY and 100% guaranteed cheaper than anyone else here. Just send me quotation you customized from Dell website and I will quote you my price. Currently I have sold near to 100 deals related to Alienware to Lowyat.NET forumer (and RM 700k+ in total) with 0% complaint or problem arise. Click on my Successful Threadlist on my signature to review the deal itself. Will start dealing after the CNY |
Jan 23 2017, 06:06 AM
QUOTE(veddex @ Jan 16 2017, 08:14 PM) dont ask quotation from dell.. super unreasonable.. my AW 17r2 motherboard spoil they sent quotation rm8.5k and labor charge rm150.. the hell.. i go shop repair only rm450 QUOTE(alvinkhorfire @ Jan 16 2017, 09:26 PM) Thanks for your advice. Sure, I will follow your advice. So, the LCD screen cannot be repaired, right? Sigh, the darkened area is slowly growing every day. Thanks for the advance warning. Which shop did you go to? Is the repairman fully complement in repairing Alienware laptops which, as we all know, are custom-built gaming laptops? How long is warranty of repair, given by the repair shop? I am not cheapskate in seeking the lowest repair cost, until my laptop is compromised. For sure, the repair fee should be reasonable, and not too expensive. Thank you for your advice. QUOTE(cheesey @ Jan 22 2017, 11:09 AM) My AW14 also mobo spoilt. They quote rm2.5k + 150 labour. But i opt outside see either they can fix the chip. Your mobo what problem? Issit about power problem? Will check with my partner if he can provide Warranty Extension Packages. Previously I am offering RM 350-500 package (before USD:MY went down the drain) where you can REPLACE anything you want from DELL MY, anywhere you like. Support and coverage will be 100% from Dell MY. I personally overhaul my previous M17x for almost annual basis - changing from GPU to mobo and CPU as well among many other things. |
Jan 23 2017, 11:43 AM
5,907 posts Joined: Dec 2012 From: Taiping,Perak |
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 23 2017, 06:06 AM) Will check with my partner if he can provide Warranty Extension Packages. for the warranty, canbe extended eventho the warranty already ended>?Previously I am offering RM 350-500 package (before USD:MY went down the drain) where you can REPLACE anything you want from DELL MY, anywhere you like. Support and coverage will be 100% from Dell MY. I personally overhaul my previous M17x for almost annual basis - changing from GPU to mobo and CPU as well among many other things. |
Jan 23 2017, 06:36 PM
Jan 23 2017, 07:32 PM
25 posts Joined: Feb 2010 |
QUOTE(cheesey @ Jan 22 2017, 11:09 AM) Getting Started ** Group: Junior Member Posts: 240 [Post count information] Joined: Jan 2003 My AW14 also mobo spoilt. They quote rm2.5k + 150 labour. But i opt outside see either they can fix the chip. Your mobo what problem? Issit about power problem? yeah power chip problem.. ( the machine wont turn on) |
Jan 24 2017, 06:03 AM
3,038 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 21 2017, 02:55 PM) Hi. New user of AW 13 R1 2015, in fact new to alienware and gaming laptops. Thinking whether to settle down with 1tb hdd or 240 gb sandisk ultra ll ssd. Is it a big diff in performance? for new users, always going through your laptop model service manual at least once. in fact, do it before purchase. doing that will make you aware of most features in your laptop model. And also do this AW needs regular cleaning fan etc or even apllying thermal paste? New to this. Dont quite familiar with this as my previos laptops and macs dont need these. haha by today's standards, a ssd will make your computer to be much more responsive. the better combo is 1x ssd (sata, pcie) and 1x hdd (sata). i have checked the service manual of your laptop; found out you can either use 1x 2.5" disk, or 2x sata m.2 ssds. so, if you choose to have a single-disk system, i suggest you go for 1x 2.5" ssd with at least 512gb. (240gb is very limited in space, along with os in it) about maintenance, it depends on the surroundings in which your laptop operates. the bottom line is that the cpu/gpu temperatures do not exceed 85c under loads. for dusty environments, you should do maintenance/clean-up as frequently as possible. (maybe as aggressive as 6 months once) for less dusty environments, however, you actually can do the maintenance once a year. (i use my aw at office only; it's been 2 years, and cpu/gpu temperatures are still below 80c under loads) for better results, it's better to replace thermal paste during maintenance. actually your previous laptops also need such maintenance from time to time to maintain optimal thermal performance. |
Jan 24 2017, 10:53 AM
QUOTE(horns @ Jan 24 2017, 06:03 AM) for new users, always going through your laptop model service manual at least once. in fact, do it before purchase. doing that will make you aware of most features in your laptop model. Had settled for 1tb hdd due to budget constraint. Hope hat the performance is still ok and not much noise lah. Haha. by today's standards, a ssd will make your computer to be much more responsive. the better combo is 1x ssd (sata, pcie) and 1x hdd (sata). i have checked the service manual of your laptop; found out you can either use 1x 2.5" disk, or 2x sata m.2 ssds. so, if you choose to have a single-disk system, i suggest you go for 1x 2.5" ssd with at least 512gb. (240gb is very limited in space, along with os in it) about maintenance, it depends on the surroundings in which your laptop operates. the bottom line is that the cpu/gpu temperatures do not exceed 85c under loads. for dusty environments, you should do maintenance/clean-up as frequently as possible. (maybe as aggressive as 6 months once) for less dusty environments, however, you actually can do the maintenance once a year. (i use my aw at office only; it's been 2 years, and cpu/gpu temperatures are still below 80c under loads) for better results, it's better to replace thermal paste during maintenance. actually your previous laptops also need such maintenance from time to time to maintain optimal thermal performance. I get to know the owner of that aw didnt do any cleaning before pr apply thermal paste. But i can see through the vents, the fan is quite free from dust lah due to low usage. |
Jan 24 2017, 04:22 PM
Show posts by this member only | IPv6 | Post
QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 24 2017, 10:53 AM) Had settled for 1tb hdd due to budget constraint. Hope hat the performance is still ok and not much noise lah. Haha. ok. hdd as os drive is the obvious bottleneck in a computer system.I get to know the owner of that aw didnt do any cleaning before pr apply thermal paste. But i can see through the vents, the fan is quite free from dust lah due to low usage. yeah, as long as the temperatures are ok for you, there is no need to keep cleaning the cooling system up. |
Jan 24 2017, 06:59 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Jan 24 2017, 04:22 PM) ok. hdd as os drive is the obvious bottleneck in a computer system. As mentioned previously by you, there is two sata ssd slot? Means i can put two ssd? Like 240+240?yeah, as long as the temperatures are ok for you, there is no need to keep cleaning the cooling system up. |
Jan 24 2017, 08:04 PM
QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 24 2017, 06:59 PM) From the service manual, yes; 2x sata m.2; you can open up the backcover, disconnect the battery and then look around (the slots should be at the same location of your hdd) |
Jan 24 2017, 08:23 PM
Jan 24 2017, 09:08 PM
11,096 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Your kokoro |
QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 24 2017, 08:23 PM) there are some factors :1. Performance - depends on the manufacturer whether to ship it with NVMe, SATA3 or USB3.0 spec. It is safe to mention that Alienware (Dell) ship them with NVMe spec. 2. Size - Slightly thinner but longer than mSATA. 3. Price - Depends on the m.2 SSD spec. NVMe type is the most expensive due to it's performance. EDIT : size correction. This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jan 24 2017, 09:17 PM |
Jan 24 2017, 10:15 PM
5,595 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Between Hell and Heaven |
QUOTE(Mr.Docter @ Jan 23 2017, 07:06 AM) Will check with my partner if he can provide Warranty Extension Packages. hoho didnt expect to see you here:)Previously I am offering RM 350-500 package (before USD:MY went down the drain) where you can REPLACE anything you want from DELL MY, anywhere you like. Support and coverage will be 100% from Dell MY. I personally overhaul my previous M17x for almost annual basis - changing from GPU to mobo and CPU as well among many other things. |
Jan 24 2017, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 24 2017, 08:23 PM) the differences have been highlighted above. for no. 1, i think aw13r1 that you have is of sata type, not nvme (you can look this up with search engines also, beside referring to service manual). don't buy the wrong m.2 type, or else the ssd will not run because it's incompatible with m.2 connector.they're similar in performance if both 2.5" and m.2 connectors are sata. |
Jan 24 2017, 11:36 PM
QUOTE(horns @ Jan 24 2017, 11:11 PM) the differences have been highlighted above. for no. 1, i think aw13r1 that you have is of sata type, not nvme (you can look this up with search engines also, beside referring to service manual). don't buy the wrong m.2 type, or else the ssd will not run because it's incompatible with m.2 connector. [QUOTE]they're similar in performance if both 2.5" and m.2 connectors are sata. Like that better two sata m2 compare to one 2.5 ssd rite? I mean i can buy one first then another one when i have some extra bucks |
Jan 24 2017, 11:51 PM
11,096 posts Joined: Feb 2011 From: Your kokoro |
QUOTE(Jay Chua CC @ Jan 24 2017, 11:36 PM) Like that better two sata m2 compare to one 2.5 ssd rite? I mean i can buy one first then another one when i have some extra bucks if you RAID 0 both, yes. if you just use one, then the performance is the same as 2.5" SSD. however, take note that RAIDing drives are risky, especially RAID 0. if one of it fails, data stored on the drives will corrupt. This post has been edited by raymondtong94: Jan 24 2017, 11:52 PM |
Jan 25 2017, 12:42 AM
1,198 posts Joined: Aug 2009 |
Tomorrow last day RM388 discount for AW13 R3.
Which 3 years warranty is more worth it if I were to purchase the laptop? a) 3Yr Ltd Hardware Warranty, InHome Service after Remote Diagnosis b) 3Yr Premium Support: Onsite Service This post has been edited by edmund_yung: Jan 25 2017, 02:37 PM |
Jan 25 2017, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(raymondtong94 @ Jan 24 2017, 11:51 PM) if you RAID 0 both, yes. What is raid 0? Sorry for spoonfeeding. New in this. Hahaif you just use one, then the performance is the same as 2.5" SSD. however, take note that RAIDing drives are risky, especially RAID 0. if one of it fails, data stored on the drives will corrupt. |
| Change to: | 0.0231sec
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 07:54 PM |