10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Bottom

Rapidshare limiting model

LovesReborn
post Oct 29 2006, 11:33 PM

1,739 posts

rebooting the modem is just pushing the power button twice.

the plans are just a sugestion,a mere article that we as consumers and ISP to consider about. it is not like TMNUT has already aprove of the plan and planning to use it next year or whatsoever.

here come my opinion.
if the ISP is capable of providing 4Mbps to everyone at a stable and trustworthy manner, why not just follow the plans that we have now and give us the speed we subscibe for?
there are more RM66 and RM88 subscibers than the 4mbps subscibers. if they are willing to give us what we subscibe for, i dont think we will have anything much to complain about.
to further explain my point,
let's say there are 1000 subscibers. if ISP is capableof prividing 4Mbps to all 1000 subscibers,
cant ISP provide
512Kbps to 300 users
1Mbps to 300 users
2Mpbs to 50 users
4Mbps to 25 users and
other speed to other users?

the article does point out some good view points. i tought of those points when i was planning to subscibe broadband service.
this world is imperfect, there are pros and cons in everything, even things that we think there are only cons,like selling cigarette, think about the number of workers in the cigarette manufactory,how many families are depending on the sale of the cigarette.

just my opinion. feel free to critic my opinion.
gl7
post Oct 30 2006, 12:29 AM

95 posts

why you guys really believe in what the TMnut said?
Will we really getting a fast and stable line after the bandwidth cap?
any third party "professional" IT company ever done the investigation?

TMnut never improve their helpline technical skill, and who know their technician/engineer or etc really knows their works and how to improve on the current running equipment.

you really think their services will become more better after the cap?

just my though, so, why need to help the nuts to come out a solution?
awyongcarl
post Oct 30 2006, 04:10 AM

1,870 posts

QUOTE(gl7 @ Oct 30 2006, 12:29 AM)
why you guys really believe in what the TMnut said?
Will we really getting a fast and stable line after the bandwidth cap?
any third party "professional" IT company ever done the investigation?

TMnut never improve their helpline technical skill, and who know their technician/engineer or etc really knows their works and how to improve on the current running equipment.

you really think their services will become more better after the cap?

just my though, so, why need to help the nuts to come out a solution?
Look, we are just trying to be optimistic.
We know the chances are narrow.
But still, optimistic > pessimistic.
TSexcit3
post Oct 30 2006, 05:08 AM

56 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Oct 29 2006, 09:55 PM)
Hey, excit3. are you going to suggest your proposal to TMnet ?
I already have. As usual, I'm not surprised. They gave me the standard "we'll look into it" reply. I trust that they're studying various other methods to curb the lack of bandwidth situation.

QUOTE(3den @ Oct 29 2006, 10:02 PM)
vote for "don't throttle us, don't limit us" plan !

excit3,
actually the solution is out there for tmnut to follow...many countries successfully implement their unlimited broadband.oh have i mention, rm88 is 8Mb in jp(the slowest)? why dont they complain about it?

I dont go to eat buffet if they limit how much i can eat.
same goes with the tmnut.

as customer, we will demand...not comprise...!
only then things will improve.
You're right. Other countries can offer "truly unlimited" broadband. You took Japan as an example, but do you know that most of Asia's pipes to America are through Japan. Essentially they're the hub of Asia, so bandwidth there is cheaper than water. That's why they even have 100mbit true internet access at quite reasonable prices. Malaysia is quite of out the way (to America). Heck, its half way round the world! So transport isn't cheap!

No one likes to be limited. I'd be pissed if the government limits me on sex, pr0n or even watching TV. I hope this is a temporary thing, I'm sure it is. =)

QUOTE(ibu1980 @ Oct 29 2006, 10:07 PM)
instead of these new model plans.. why not just throttle certain hours and non-throttle during non-peak hours.  Maybe like let us utilize p2p traffic from midnite to 7am.  i guess customers will be happy with that atleast.
Some people prefer to keep their computers on for 8 hours max a day. Currently, I'm getting 3-4 GB / day leaving it 24/7 with queues of files to download. Perhaps using the "bandwidth cap model", TM can say, "OK, traffic from 12am - 7am will be unthrottled, truly unlimited and no-nonsense". Since the lines during those hours are totally free. But then again, they intend to maintain a good QoS. Perhaps throttling on BT at those hours, but if the lines are available, then allow the speeds to be fast.

The thing is, right now our international capacity isn't up there yet - upgrade works are on the way (or so they claim). Gotta wait a little while more before this whole thing can happen.

QUOTE(morphware @ Oct 29 2006, 11:00 PM)
hey I rebooted my modem and got a 124.x.x.x IP and am now getting 200KB/s down and 55KB/s up from my BT.
Temporary fix.
SUS3den
post Oct 30 2006, 07:19 AM

388 posts

arent the gov just told us they r going to have their own pipes?so tht they can make internet access cheaper?
work_tgr
post Oct 30 2006, 07:25 AM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(3den @ Oct 30 2006, 07:19 AM)
arent the gov just told us they r going to have their own pipes?so tht they can make internet access cheaper?
building the pipes need $$. that $$ are from customers also.
SUSTC_Boy
post Oct 30 2006, 07:27 AM

259 posts

QUOTE(3den @ Oct 30 2006, 07:19 AM)
That is so local internet traffic don't have to go overseas then back to local just to connect within malaysia. For bittorrent, most of our peers are from overseas so it does not apply.

This post has been edited by TC_Boy: Oct 30 2006, 07:29 AM
work_tgr
post Oct 30 2006, 07:28 AM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

How about "ibu sawat" ?
wKkaY
post Oct 30 2006, 08:23 AM

misutā supākoru
6,008 posts

QUOTE(3den @ Oct 30 2006, 01:02 AM)
many countries successfully implement their unlimited broadband.

If you were a foreigner looking at the TMNet's website, looking at the Streamyx packages, you would only see "1Mbps broadband for US$25". You can't see beneath that - the poor quality of service we receive, and neither do you see that P2P is throttled. So, be a bit critical about what you read.
Dozz
post Oct 30 2006, 12:05 PM

2,150 posts

hey guys! the price is much cheaper if compared to Australia. you pay what you use, its fair policy!
SUSsequioa
post Oct 30 2006, 12:06 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(work_tgr @ Oct 26 2006, 02:29 PM)
I am not agree with this fact. please explain this.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
@@ an off topic question: R you working with TM ??
thisasshole might be thesupplier for thehardware to TMNET
work_tgr
post Oct 30 2006, 12:09 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

QUOTE(sequioa @ Oct 30 2006, 12:06 PM)
thisasshole might be thesupplier for thehardware to TMNET
I wish I am the supplier for the hardware to TMnet.
please study every post before you S*it biggrin.gif
SUSsequioa
post Oct 30 2006, 12:28 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(excit3 @ Oct 25 2006, 03:34 PM)
f*k!!! 100Gigs a day? Porn servers feeding 10 HDTV monitors 24/7?? Seriously, that's too much lor. Try to start an ISP and check out the real prices of b/width. You'd be surprised. 100 mbit unshared cost US$5,000 with tier 1 ISPs per month.

Maybe I should make it more clear. These are per day allowances.. meaning you won't run out of bandwidth and speed at the end of your calendar months. The counter resets at midnight!

0.5 MB / day - RM 44
1 GB / day - RM 66
2 GB / day - RM 88
5 GB / day - RM 128
10 GB / day - RM 188

If you want something with no quota, and you want 90% of advertised speeds 24/7, low pings, try TM Direct. You won't be disappointed! 1 mbit symmetric (up/down) connection at rm 12,000 / year. Confirm happy wan!
should be

0.5 MB / day - RM 80
1 GB / day - RM 66
2 GB / day - RM 110
5 GB / day - RM 150
10 GB / day - RM 200

b'cos im a tmNET bigshareholder

everyday also trafic jam why never complain? got money use tolled road no money enjoy yourjam

morphware
post Oct 30 2006, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(sequioa @ Oct 30 2006, 12:28 PM)
should be

0.5 MB / day - RM 80
1 GB / day - RM 66
2 GB / day - RM 110
5 GB / day - RM 150
10 GB / day - RM 200

b'cos im a tmNET bigshareholder

everyday also trafic jam why never complain? got money use tolled road no money enjoy yourjam
You must be happy then with all the huge dividend you got paid this year, something like 35% return on investment this year alone (less tax). Isn't that too much ROI? TM should be putting more back into providing better quality service for all its users and not trying so hard to return so much to shareholders, well at least not yet while there is still a lack of quality service.

Every day I complain about the traffic jams I get stuck in, but this is a forum about broadband not traffic jams, let me know where that forum is so I can complain there ok?

FYI. After getting 124.x.x.x IP I am still at full speed, have been for more than 12 hours now, and I have not seen any deprioritizing or any of my network traffic. Yes I am happy about this, but I would still like to know why other IPs are suffering so much. I plan to never restart my gateway again hehehe.
redken
post Oct 30 2006, 04:58 PM

- Private Unlimited -
2,352 posts

TMnet can just simply scrap the limitless accesss plan and go with pay-per-usage what? That will eliminate the bandwidth problem.

But wait, they are not confident with their plans/quality to execute that? People will be switching to Maxis/Watever because they dun have the 12 months commitment/monthly upfronts. If they had the confidence, they wouldn't take such a long route around. So rejoice, TM is not so bold when they see alot of users unsubscribing itself.
morphware
post Oct 30 2006, 09:26 PM

Still got very fast connection biggrin.gif
drummerboy
post Oct 30 2006, 09:58 PM

539 posts

how do u change the IP? mine is 192... can work after u change the IP?
+Newbie+
post Oct 30 2006, 11:28 PM

To be needed as The Sand's Kazekage
3,055 posts

drummerboy,

That 192 IP is an internal LAN IP, between you and your router modem. It's not your external WAN IP. For Streamyx, that would typically be 219 or 218 or 60 or the new IP 124.

@morphware,

Dammit, don't make me melt your hard drive, tongue.gif

This post has been edited by +Newbie+: Oct 30 2006, 11:30 PM
morphware
post Oct 31 2006, 12:01 AM

HAHAHA I have just about done that myself, downloaded just over 10GB in the last 24 hours. tongue.gif
Triton
post Oct 31 2006, 12:30 AM

Yummy
614 posts

A great suggestion indeed.
I'm on for this kinda plan since I'm a very heavy downloader myself

10 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 9 > » Top

0.0547sec    0.36    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:04 AM