Rapidshare limiting model

morphware
post Oct 27 2006, 02:17 AM

QUOTE(excit3 @ Oct 25 2006, 11:15 PM)
I guess you two have to go survey other broadband providers around the world who caps download usages, and compare that to my proposal. You'll be bloody shocked.

Some ISPs give 30GB / MONTH at a high premium. Just look at Australia for example.

It took me a while to finally understand how costly bandwidth actually is. I hope one day you both will too wink.gif
Hmmmm, I wonder about your comments, the basic fact is that TMnet is currently not providing the service that has been contractually agreed by all of us as users. Further to this TMnet is currently breaking the law/rules according to the "Internet Access Service Provider (IASP) Sub-Code for the Communications and Multimedia Industry Malaysia"

I also think that your argument about what is offered in other countries is a moot point, I have lived in several countries(including Australia) and I have always been able to get UNLIMITED internet at speeds that would knock the socks of TMnet. The government here in Malaysia is trying desperately to achieve certain goals to further advance this beautiful country and with TMnet monopolizing the internet then providing the horrible performance that they are now, they are going against everything the government is trying to achieve.

For TMnet to be subjecting its clients to this sort of treatment is nothing short of criminal, we have yet to see press release notifying us all about the need to take measures such as "controlling the use" or "throttling internet". I have only seen some statistic that has been seemingly pulled from thin air with no supporting evidence that "17% of the users are using 80% of the bandwidth".

I cannot download all my email tonight because my "control of use" has me limited to 5-10KB/sec, I cannot connect to MSN messenger. My connection was working wonderfully right up until they started messing with our internet access approx. 3 months ago and has been as frustrating as hell ever since. I have called TMnet so many times that I think they know me by my voice now when I call, I have written emails, contacted "higher ups", written to newspapers, and am just about ready to go postal if I don't get what I have been so used to having since I got broadband in this country 3 years ago (two years of dialup before that nearly killed me)

TMnet really does need to be held accountable for what it is doing to us all, but who is going to hold them accountable? I'm guessing like most laws in this country that the ISAP is more of a guideline that no one will really ever enforce. Does anyone know a good lawyer that would be interested in fighting our cause?
morphware
post Oct 27 2006, 02:43 AM

QUOTE(excit3 @ Oct 26 2006, 02:43 PM)
Unlimited is a very general word. It could mean unlimited data transfer, unlimited online time, or anything else. Technically they're not cheating you if they decide to ammend their TOS and implement data caps. There's a clause which gives them power to do so. As consumers, we are f*ked, its take it or leave it! TM Nut is therefore a monopoly, in every sense of the word.
Yes unlimited is a very general word, but there has never been any mention anywhere of any limitations to this term regarding TMnet's terms and conditions. Yes they have the right to alter their TOS, BUT they have to tell us that they are doing so and they must not contravene the IASP http://tinyurl.com/yh797n

yes, I sound like someone working for TM nut, but basically i'm just trying to raise awareness about why one shouldn't f*k tm nut unnecessarily becuz of small small things like slow speeds. yes, its frustrating, but we have to be tolerant to be considered a mature nation. Otherwise, we're no better than 3rd world countries.
Ahhh yes you do, although you have enlightened me to a few facts (thank you).
How could we f*k tm? Is speed a small thing? (Many on here don't think so) And haven't we all been very tolerant of what is being done to us all? A mature nation would expect high standards from all of it's service providers whether its water, power, sewage, rubbish collection, or ISP. That is what makes us better than a 3rd world country.

Hey, remember the petrol price rise? A decade ago, we were paying RM 1.10/litre. Factor in inflation, it should be about RM 1.20 right? Hahaha... we're paying RM 1.92 because OPEC nations are bloody greedy. Those f*kers want more Ferraris and Lambos in their garages as well as to feed their 10s of mistresses and 100s of children! They're playing with the oil price becuz, they're controlling it! If u don't pay them premium for their liquid gold, then... why should they sell it to you?

People like Japan are willing to pay more for this stuff. Makes you think where our Petronas money goes to, huh?? wink.gif
So are you saying that TMnet should be more greedy? Why? Because they have created a bigger demand within this country for a service that they monopolize? TM profited 4.5 billion ringit I think I read somewhere, I'd be interested to know how much of that came from TMnet, I can guarantee you that they run nothing at a loss and a good deal of Rakyat money (petronas) has been used to build the infrastructure they are now profiting from.
morphware
post Oct 28 2006, 01:37 AM

You raise some interesting points, yet I doubt your logic with some of what you have to say. Oh and Malaysians are very smart people by the way.

First Malaysia is NOT the piracy capital of the world, sure there is piracy here but there is piracy in EVERY single country of the world. For someone who appears so net savy, you should at least try to google these things to substantiate them before posting. Try http://www.bsa.org

You look at the IPs in your P2P client next time you use it and see what countries you are connecting with, P2P is universal, it has been around for quite some time now, and TMnet were asked by their provider(globenet I think they are called) to purchase more bandwidth a long time ago. There is no excuse I can think of that would be acceptable for TMnet to let the situation get to this. They have tools to monitor network saturation and usage, they employ specialists to maintain the integrity of the network, yet the management ignored these people (hence the reshuffle) and we are all kept in the dark, fed a bunch of lies when we ask why and then expected to just deal with it.

TMnet can do plenty, thats why they are there, and they cannot "close shop" they have a responsibility to this country and this countries' government as the monopoly provider. Did you take the time to read the IASP? It angers me so much that even with this document in place a company as big as TMnet and a company that represents Malaysia on a global scale can get away with flaunting the rules themselves. Its just like most of the laws in this country, there are plenty of them but they are all very selectively enforced and even then you can probably buy your way around them.

As for the high flying lawyers you mentioned, I have no idea what their take might be on this whole situation, I can be fairly sure they aren't P2P users so the issue wouldn't mean much to them like it does to all of us. Maybe all it would take is that someone go and ask for their help and they would step up, I have no idea, and I would never try to second guess any lawyer.

HAHA you sure have faith in TMnet don't you

"I'm sure right this moment, many crews of contractors are digging holes, marketing staff are negotiating bringing in more international bandwidth to Malaysia."

I doubt they are doing doing anything much at all myself, it's been an ongoing problem for months now and I know that if I had such a critical problem with the network I was administering it would have been fixed a hell of a lot faster than this. I won't cut TMnet any slack, if we all take this sort of treatment lying down they won't treat it with any urgency at all, we need to make more noise! Write to TMnet's CEO, service and the newspapers, tv channels, your local member of parliament, call them all as well, if it gets them to move and fix this problem faster GREAT mission accomplished but until then I am doing whatever I can to have my service restored to it's once properly working glory.

FYI, I have managed several companies, I am not a schoolboy as you seem to think I am. Oh and I have a thorough working knowledge when it comes to networks as well, so no there is nothing wrong with my connection as it all checks out fine to the DSLAM up the road beyond that who knows. My connection is sporadic yet my DSL link is solid, I have high SNR and very low attenuation, I get 10KB/sec on P2P and HTTP downloads and webpages will lock up intermittently as well. Yes I do get some large emails, and yes I have a gmail account or two, I also have a web server or two and a mail server, but timeouts suck in any language. I have great bandwidth to Singapore, yet none to the UK or the US, and average to Australia.

I like DSL, those other technologies you mentioned are not suited to me, I liked Streamyx and will again once it is fixed. And I am not going to pay RM12K for what I should be able to get as a regular user.

On that note I hope you get that job in TMnet when you finish school, you would do them proud as a service rep marketing their obviously inadequate network.
morphware
post Oct 28 2006, 08:00 PM

excit3 you are one of the most on the fence people I have come across in the longest time, one minute your putting shit on TMnet then your saying poor TMnet.

I have said what I want to say, if you don't like it too bad, it is my opinion and I really feel it reflects a lot of other peoples opinions as well. I am going to speak to my lawyers this week and see what they have to say, surely I can get something back for all the trouble they are causing and the lost productivity I have suffered.

I couldn't even remote admin one of my servers in Shah Alam the other day, had no hope of reaching any of the others. Even Maybank2U will 404 sometimes how is that excusable?

There is certainly nothing wrong with my system and I have 3 different brand modems and a high end gateway here that all produce identical symptoms. My half open connections are also set properly. I can send and receive files with my neighbor perfectly, I can create a remote season to his system also with no trouble, the problems seem to be further upstream. I think it feels like a dodgy router, router table, or cable, I wish I could go to the TMnet data center and do some of my own diagnostics, but I highly doubt thats going to happen even with the people I know.

Good luck with your Ferrari, won't last long on Malaysian roads wink.gif I guess thats the Caps on the Ferrari huh?

morphware
post Oct 28 2006, 09:04 PM

QUOTE(excit3 @ Oct 28 2006, 06:35 PM)
A little article I wrote. Hopefully it will be published on front page!!

Solution for TM Bandwidth Problems
by excit3 (exciting.spam@gmail.com)

Sunday, 28th October 2006

I think this is a step backwards, the internet should be easy to access and use not have these confusing plans (they will be for most). TMnet should continue to provide a reasonably priced service as they already do, but they need to step up to the plate with higher quality of service OR open the market to other "last mile" providers. At the very least TM should be looking at wholesaling their service to third party ISPs to provide (Maybe then the quality will rise).

To say that this prioritizing system that TMnet has implemented is smart, is nothing short of the total idiocy of the implementation itself. This "controlling" as TMnet would prefer it referred to as, is not functioning correctly and is not being fixed. Instead of just deprioritizing P2P traffic, ALL my traffic is slow or failed and there are many more suffering the same as I am.

To say that P2P is for piracy is like saying air travel is for drug smugglers, it makes no sense at all, P2P has been adopted by many companies as the preferred way to deliver large files as it takes the load off the server a distributes it among other downloaders. If P2P is made the bad guy of the internet then progress is shot in the foot and what's next? Ohhhh we better limit how much people can transfer all together whether its P2P or other because they must be pirating!

What happens once IPTV starts in Malaysia? that will use huge amounts of daily data won't it? And those connections are going to be 8Mb/sec connections. What about other future technologies and applications? The more bandwidth that is available the more we will all demand feature rich, high bandwidth applications to enrich our online experience.

The reality is that TMnet needs to upgrade the whole network (what happened to DSL2?) and the International bandwidth to a point that is at least a year or two ahead of the current required bandwidth, you know maybe draw up a graph or two. Just imagine what the network would be like if the government was actually reaching its desired broadband Internet penetration! They had hoped to be at 30% by the end of this year I think.

Forget about all your wonderful little limiting plans, as long as TMnet has the monopoly on the last mile, they should not be allowed to put any limitations on anything. So typical that a big company would want to have its cake and eat it to.

If TM did what needs to done instead of sitting around gloating about this years record profits, maybe, just maybe Malaysia would have the WORLD CLASS Internet provider the government would like to think it has. Scream it from the hill tops, write to the media, get this situation fixed for the betterment of the country. Malaysian Internet is a joke by international standards, how long can they hide behind the "We are only just starting as a broadband provider." come on seriously, its a huge company and it has the resources to make it all happen, but its not, WHY?

morphware
post Oct 28 2006, 09:30 PM

Personally I think Abdullah is as corrupt as most of the other politicians in this country, not saying the Dr M was any less corrupt but at least he got things done, and Abdullah just does what you would like us all to do, kick back and wait for it all to happen. (way off topic anyway)

"Whoa.. you're a server admin and don't even know how a Network works? You think you have a direct connection via Streamyx to your servers in Shah Alam?? Heck no. Its your computer -> your modem -> your DSLAM -> hop 1 -> Kelana / Cyber -> hop 2 -> hop 3 -> some router -> some other ISP -> some other ISP's mama's router -> some server -> some bandwidth provider -> your server provider -> your server.

ANYTHING CAN GO F*KING WRONG in between ok? And its totally wrong to diss TM becuz of that."

Yes I do know how a network works, I was building networks back when you were a dirty thought in your fathers head.

And yes it has everything to do with TM because in the situation I mentioned I'm not even accessing a network outside the TMnet network.

I was under the same impression about my physical connection some weeks ago and demanded that TM send a tech out to test it, they did that, he re terminated all my wires just to be sure and plugged in his test equipment and everything checked out 100%. So its not that. Its also not my PC, I have 3 different ones here XP, Server2003, and a linux box and all do exactly the same thing and no its not my router, I have tested without the router on all my systems and again the same thing.

The problem is with TMnet, I know this for sure, what it is in TM that is screwed up I have no idea. Thats their job to find and fix, it is my job to demand that it be fixed.
morphware
post Oct 28 2006, 09:57 PM

Revenue Composition for the financial year ended 31 December 2005

RM million % Contribution

Fixed Line Business 3,144.0 22.6

Fixed Line Residential 2,414.2 17.3

Leased & Data Services 908.6 6.5

Mobile 5,983.9 42.9

Internet & Multimedia 702.7 5.1

Other telecommunication 575.9 4.1

Non-telecommunication 213.1 1.5

TOTAL REVENUE 13,942.4 100.0

Internet and Multimedia
Internet and multimedia business registered a strong year-on-year growth of 36.4%. Its contribution to the Group revenue grew to RM702.7 million from RM515.4 million recorded in 2004. TM Net Sdn Bhd's broadband customers expanded by 92% to 495,000 from 258,000 in 2004. Whilst its dial-up customers increased to 2.1 million from 1.9 million last year.

TM Net maintains its leadership position with 97% market share in broadband market and 58% in narrowband market by offering competitively priced products and services.

PS.

For all your smarts you don't read and understand very well, go back and re-read what I said before. Think about it a little then reply. Your off the cuff reply does not do justice to you and your previous replies.

This post has been edited by morphware: Oct 28 2006, 10:20 PM
morphware
post Oct 28 2006, 10:11 PM

Yeah thats another thing, you can't say that it costs $x in whatever country, we are in Malaysia, TMnet is for Malaysians, and we all spend Ringit not Dollars here.

With all the travel I have done around the world one thing I have noticed is that most things in most countries cost about the same in that countries money. eeerrggghhh there has to be a better way to explain that.....

But anyway, whatever it costs broadband needs to be affordable for all the public in Malaysia or the government will fail in its desire to attain whatever levels of broadband penetration.

And excit3, remember sarcasm is the lowest form of wit.
morphware
post Oct 28 2006, 10:28 PM

QUOTE(TC_Boy @ Oct 28 2006, 10:19 PM)
It's like this my sis in USA woks for about US$1000-2000 per month and she pays US$10 for cinema while most around here earn that in Ringgit same numbers range and also pay 10 for cinema but in ringgit.
Yeah thats it thanks.
morphware
post Oct 29 2006, 03:49 AM

Why is TMnet making the problem worse by upgrading everyone to faster connections then? Wouldn't a slower connection put less strain on the obviously maxed out International connection?

Right now I would prefer a slower connection with good QOS.

This post has been edited by morphware: Oct 29 2006, 03:49 AM
morphware
post Oct 29 2006, 11:00 PM

hey I rebooted my modem and got a 124.x.x.x IP and am now getting 200KB/s down and 55KB/s up from my BT.

I haven't been able to get this type of IP for all the rebooting I have done and I won't be rebooting ever again if my speed stays like this. All the 60.x.x.x IPs don't work properly, something is very wrong on that route.

If only TMnet could listen to us all and work out this problem. Also now I have this connection how do I justify any sort of legal action? Oh well, I'm happy again now smile.gif

This post has been edited by morphware: Oct 29 2006, 11:00 PM
morphware
post Oct 30 2006, 02:25 PM

QUOTE(sequioa @ Oct 30 2006, 12:28 PM)
should be

0.5 MB / day - RM 80
1 GB / day - RM 66
2 GB / day - RM 110
5 GB / day - RM 150
10 GB / day - RM 200

b'cos im a tmNET bigshareholder

everyday also trafic jam why never complain? got money use tolled road no money enjoy yourjam
You must be happy then with all the huge dividend you got paid this year, something like 35% return on investment this year alone (less tax). Isn't that too much ROI? TM should be putting more back into providing better quality service for all its users and not trying so hard to return so much to shareholders, well at least not yet while there is still a lack of quality service.

Every day I complain about the traffic jams I get stuck in, but this is a forum about broadband not traffic jams, let me know where that forum is so I can complain there ok?

FYI. After getting 124.x.x.x IP I am still at full speed, have been for more than 12 hours now, and I have not seen any deprioritizing or any of my network traffic. Yes I am happy about this, but I would still like to know why other IPs are suffering so much. I plan to never restart my gateway again hehehe.
morphware
post Oct 30 2006, 09:26 PM

Still got very fast connection biggrin.gif
morphware
post Oct 31 2006, 12:01 AM

HAHAHA I have just about done that myself, downloaded just over 10GB in the last 24 hours. tongue.gif

0.0484sec    0.29    8 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 05:29 AM