46 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 >Bottom

TMnet confirms they are throttling P2P, CEO staff admits to P2P throttling

darkprince_19us
post Jan 23 2007, 12:31 AM

QUOTE(rizzy @ Jan 4 2007, 11:27 PM)
Honestly, TMnet wanted to and has monopolized broadband internet in Malaysia yet they provide us with the shittiest service ever. When I subscribed for Streamyx the instant it came out they told me it was already available in my area, so I stopped by ISDN connection. Right after that they called me and said I had to wait 2 months. When I finally got it, service had problems in 3 days or so.

They blame the users (that pay their salary) for consuming all their bandwidth. With the 'unlimited bandwidth' slogan and a monopoly on the business, I would assume they'd have quite a large amount of funding for extra international links. Even if they don't at least be frank with us from the beginning and not lie to us about the condition of things. 'Best effort' basis?  Yeah right. I used to believe 20KB/s was the max I could pull out of my line till I got introduced to Mass Downloader + Telstra proxies (160KB/s now). I think they've had a messed up network infrastructure from the start. I ping less with friends in Singapore compared to the Streamyx DNS servers themselves.
Since when does malaysia have 1st class service? Best effort basis means as far as their lazy butts will carry them.
duckevo
post Jan 23 2007, 02:54 AM

Yoona-licious
584 posts

if tmnut say by the end of the year, everything shld be fine.... this is crazy....

by the end of the year (msia timing) means few more years lar.....

better dun say lar........ give timing means things will not be done...
imzate03
post Jan 23 2007, 06:50 AM

81 posts

my opinion is even with all the throttlings, tmnut broadband speed will not increase. if only we have more independent isps, which would not happen. i don't do much p2p but one must follow the trend. as many of us forumers say, no point of subscribing to broadband if just to chat and e-mail. even dial-up would be more than enough.
darkprince_19us
post Jan 23 2007, 07:21 AM

Unfortunately chatting and e-mailing is the ultimate internet experience to most people in tmnet and perhaps that is vision 2020 for them. Some one should forward this forum to some reporter in CNN and ask them to make a story of it. i have never seen a company so hated before.
madspeed02
post Jan 26 2007, 11:41 PM

1,170 posts

wat is p2p?may i know?u guys mean tat is all p2ps application like limewire,emule, and morpheus are being throttling by tmnet?plz reply me ah?i need to know the answer.coz i am using limewire and can't connect to internet.i thought was the earthquake in taiwan.plz reply me ah sad.gif
matt_rix
post Jan 27 2007, 10:48 AM

1,680 posts

p2p-peer to peer
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peer-to-peer
yes like limewire n such thing
i dont know if they throttle limewire or not but bt, mirc n emule..confirm throttle
beelzebob13
post Jan 27 2007, 12:38 PM

**Newbie DeIllusionist**
591 posts

QUOTE(darkprince_19us @ Jan 23 2007, 07:21 AM)
Unfortunately chatting and e-mailing is the ultimate internet experience to most people in tmnet and perhaps that is vision 2020 for them. Some one should forward this forum to some reporter in CNN and ask them to make a story of it. i have never seen a company so hated before.
hang on to your hat! hold your horses! CNN reporter? what? unless that means China NewsNetwork widely exposing that malaysian broadband users are downloading what? and what??? a CNN reporter would lean support for the "embattled" "tmnut" most likely! and against its subscribers for blatantly demanding to infringe IP, copyright laws. rclxub.gif

the customer is right only IF the vendor is wrong - black and white. the customer is not always right nor the vendor always wrong. whistling.gif

so far "everyone" is in the "gray zone" and struggling to keep it so. keep it so.

This post has been edited by beelzebob13: Jan 27 2007, 12:45 PM
zencymru
post Jan 27 2007, 12:48 PM

48 posts

Should i say time to vote for NEw goverment that promise Not to throttle p2p?

silva83
post Jan 27 2007, 01:02 PM

we have a government that SEEM like they always care about their country population but the actual fact show they don't give a damn about their own citizen's opinion.
scorps
post Jan 27 2007, 04:36 PM

Something you call love, but I call sex
9,572 posts

my respect to nwk...
Dr Fadhullah Suhaimi Abdul Malek, general manager of TM Net's corporate and strategy services:
"We are not against our customers using P2P. However, it is an unfair situation which needs to be addressed, as we cannot upgrade our infrastructure (merely) for the benefit of the minority," he said. " Emphasis is mine, not the author

Malaysian ISP Throttles P2P Traffic by 90%!

First the Australian ISP Exetel, now the Malaysian ISP TM Net has decided to throttle P2P traffic as well. This time the action isn't as overt and publicized as the Exetel matter was but, apparently enough customers have noticed a difference and conversed with people "on the inside" that it lends credence to the claims.

On a Malaysian blog called Lowyat.net, a self-described "Tech Enthusiast Resource" forum board, a guy using the alias "nwk" starts the thread that first reports the TM Net throttling situation. He says that he has talked with a guy from the TM Net CEO's office who "... confirmed they are throttling all P2P traffic 24 hours everyday." So instead of the Exetel plan to "reclaim" bandwidth by throttling P2P traffic only from noon to midnight, TM Net wants to take back midnight to noon from their paying customers as well .

Why would TM Net do this? Well "nwk" explains that he was told the following:

...they are doing this because they are running out of bandwidth and also because of Lim Keng Yaek ordering them to improve their service due to a lot of people complaining to him about slow browsing speeds. He said they are aware of the situation and our speeds should return once TMnut add in more bandwidth by the end of the year. He says we have to bear with the slow speeds until TMnut acquires more bandwidth.

I like the vague "end of the year" phrase. Too bad customers still have to pay all of their monthly bills until the end of the year. Customers can't "throttle their bills" if they're having a probably with too much demand for their money. Once again a company provides half a service for the full price of that service.

http://www.zeropaid.com/news/7824/Malaysia...raffic+by+90%25!

This post has been edited by scorps: Jan 27 2007, 04:37 PM
work_tgr
post Jan 27 2007, 04:43 PM

501 - Not Implemented
4,583 posts

off topic : nwk is awesome
HeHeHunter
post Jan 27 2007, 11:55 PM

664 posts

What is zero paid anyway?

I don't get it, why they link it to LYN?
TSnwk
post Jan 28 2007, 12:25 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(HeHeHunter @ Jan 27 2007, 11:55 PM)
What is zero paid anyway?

I don't get it, why they link it to LYN?
you don't get it? perhaps you should try reading from page 1 to page 45. then you will get it. we are too lazy to explain it to you.
HeHeHunter
post Jan 28 2007, 12:39 AM

664 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Jan 28 2007, 12:25 AM)
you don't get it? perhaps you should try reading from page 1 to page 45. then you will get it. we are too lazy to explain it to you.
well, nwk is here..
killerloop81
post Jan 28 2007, 12:42 AM

SpLiTfIrE
1,429 posts

i oso experienced my BT dl +/-10Kb/s!!!
VERY in hot tempered!!!
s@ni
post Jan 28 2007, 12:43 AM

Gambar Di Lesen Kereta Saya
2,842 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Jan 28 2007, 12:25 AM)
taiko notworthy.gif notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
hmm..why major europe country didnt limit their internet.
answer me answer me... wink.gif

TSnwk
post Jan 28 2007, 01:29 AM

256 posts

QUOTE(sani_othman @ Jan 28 2007, 12:43 AM)
taiko  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif  notworthy.gif
hmm..why major europe country didnt limit their internet.
answer me answer me... wink.gif

ISPs in US & Europe don't throttle their bandwidth because they have a law that protects their customers and it's called CONSUMER RIGHTS. If they did what tmnut is doing right now, most of their customers would just go to another ISP (because they have more choices there, unlike us) and they can get sued for false advertising. Unfortunately for us, there is no such law in this backward, poor excuse for a shithole country, that protects consumers like us from being cheated by the greatest conman ISP in the world - TMnet. We in Malaysia, have nothing to protect our consumer rights. The farking corrupt malaysian goverment protects corrupt crony companies like tmnut instead of protecting the consumer rights of the RAKYAT! So that is why tmnut can say things like "Best Effort" & "We are throttling P2P to ensure FAIR usage", etc. until the cow comes home. Nobody can take any action against them because they are protected by the MAFIA Goverment of Malaysia. Understand?
RitzyMazzy
post Jan 28 2007, 01:48 AM

76 posts

damn tmnet
Taman Linkin
post Jan 28 2007, 03:36 AM

Bijes
1,657 posts

wah throttle relli crazy one haha.
Polaris
post Jan 28 2007, 06:44 AM

Trust Fund Baby
2,850 posts

QUOTE(nwk @ Oct 17 2006, 04:52 PM)
He admitted to me that they are doing this because they are running out of bandwidth and also because of Lim Keng Yaek ordering them to improve their service due to a lot of people complaining to him about slow browsing speeds. He said they are aware of the situation and our speeds should return once TMnut add in more bandwidth by the end of the year. He says we have to bear with the slow speeds until TMnut acquires more bandwidth.*
A policy of stealing from Bill to pay Bob so to speak. Isn't that like those pyramid Ponzi schemes?

I wonder where this "Not enough bandwidth" issue is coming from since all the paying users contribute millions to TM's coffer every month.

Also, being a MONOPOLY and a subsidiary of the country's telecommunication's MONOPOLY, I wonder how could they arrive at a point where funds and resources are not enough for proper scalability?

How come other countries with MORE users, faster speeds and greater p2p awareness and usage can sustain their business without resorting to this?

How come Keng Yaek has not suggested introducing real competition into the country to kick start some customer service improvement? If the mobile telcos can be structured like oligopolies why can't the internet business do the same?

How come Singapore has so many broadband options even though it's a tiny island with a much smaller population?

Can anyone answer these questions? Keng Yaek, your intentions are GOOD, but can you see beyond the facade they are errecting to please you??!

46 Pages « < 43 44 45 46 >Top

0.0272sec    0.64    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 01:39 AM