please vote your opinion here. I need more votes. thanks.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=356672
TMnet confirms they are throttling P2P, CEO staff admits to P2P throttling
Oct 23 2006, 06:41 AM
4,583 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: ... suddenly 1 week |
please vote your opinion here. I need more votes. thanks.
http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=356672 |
Oct 23 2006, 06:46 AM
1,704 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
QUOTE(soulxtc @ Oct 23 2006, 12:41 AM) Just finished up a story on this throttling by TM Net, we in the P2P community have to stick togther. Exetel already started throttling its Australian customers, before you know it all the ISPs may follow suit. Err LOL, my user name got reported as well >_< There's a typo on my name though...Anyways, read the story and be sure to Digg It!! if you dig it. Malaysian ISP Throttles P2P Traffic by 90% TO DIGG IT!> http://digg.com/tech_news/Malaysian_ISP_Th...P_Traffic_by_90 Heh >_< |
Oct 23 2006, 07:25 AM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Haruji Sora @ Oct 23 2006, 06:46 AM) Yah, noticed that, I fixed it.....sorry. Used to simpler names like Steve Jobs or JAck Thompson. Malaysian names are a bit trickier to keep straight in my head This post has been edited by soulxtc: Oct 23 2006, 07:28 AM |
Oct 23 2006, 07:55 AM
491 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Kuala Lumpur |
Cases like this throttle thingy, it's just useless if you complained to the Customer Service, most of the level 1's doesnt know anything about this throttling thingy because the thing is that they were told by the upper management that there are some downtime in certain areas, and at what time. So even if you want argue about throttling, just make sure to explained to them. Or they will just close the case and you'll just have to make a call another day and lodge a report. And they'll might said that they need two to three working days to process your report.BAH!.
And furthermore, they have a lot of level 1's (ppl who answered the phone when you dial the 1300889515 number) but then ppl tends to quit this job after like one or two month working here, what im trying to say is that they recruit freshies and newbies everyweek and most of them doesnt even know what is a modem or worst doesnt know how does standard streamyx modem looks like. How they troubleshoot you said? they just following the script given. They have certain script for certain normal case. Eg: Slow speed, cant browse, dsl light blinking. Last time my case was i can get bt connection (very slow), but i cant browse into the net. It's frustrated when mose of them doesnt know what torrent is. And then they keep saying that they'll process your case within some time frame, usually 3 to 4 working days. WORKING DAYS? yeah right. And sometime when you wait too long and u called and they'll said that your case is still in process, from what i know 90% of that kinda call, some newbies closed the case already without even escalating the case to 2nd level. |
Oct 23 2006, 08:22 AM
agree ... throttle thingy was done by upper lever person.
Oct 23 2006, 09:05 AM
185 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
QUOTE(yangxi @ Oct 23 2006, 01:02 AM) walao , even overseas also concern this. i agreed.. someone should post that on our local newspaper.. it's totally ridicurious.. i've the same problem.. my msn kept on disconnecting itself every 5 minutes.. i like what Mrs Giggles said about the throtting equipment being set by some bamboon who doesn't even know how to read the english manual.. http://kg184613.bravejournal.com/entry/25067/ can somebody post to all malaysia newspaper. |
Oct 23 2006, 09:50 AM
maybe tell this to Dr Mahathir. Later Dr Mahathir will tell our PM ..
How about that ?? |
Oct 23 2006, 10:31 AM
256 posts Joined: Sep 2006 From: Britannia |
QUOTE(soulxtc @ Oct 22 2006, 11:09 PM) Hey all, Im the news editor for Zeropaid.com, a P2P, file-sharing website and am doing an article on this development with TM Net. Wow, I am famous! Thanks for quoting me in your article. Hopefully everyone in the whole wide world will read about how our so called "best broadband provider" in Malaysia is cheating it's customers in broad daylight. I also hope this article will be read by TMnut's CEO and all the politicians in Malaysia so that it will embarrass them until they do something about this unfair situation we are in.Exetel, an Australian ISP, did this previously, cutting P2P speeds in halb from Noon to Midnight, for the same reason supposedly but looks as though will be permanent. Any comments I an use for my article would be appreciated, like how different your speeds are now and anything you may know as to what's going on . THX soulxtc chief news editor zeropaid.com jared@zeropaid.com |
Oct 23 2006, 10:42 AM
QUOTE(yangxi @ Oct 23 2006, 01:02 AM) walao , even overseas also concern this. Somebody has sabotaged mrs giggles blog about TMnut, because when I open the page, the text is all scribbled all over the place until it looks like garbage. Is it me or it's my browser acting up? I am using IE7 by the way.http://kg184613.bravejournal.com/entry/25067/ can somebody post to all malaysia newspaper. |
Oct 23 2006, 10:53 AM
185 posts Joined: Oct 2006 From: Kota Kinabalu, Sabah |
QUOTE(nwk @ Oct 23 2006, 10:42 AM) Somebody has sabotaged mrs giggles blog about TMnut, because when I open the page, the text is all scribbled all over the place until it looks like garbage. Is it me or it's my browser acting up? I am using IE7 by the way. it's look fine to me.. try firefox.. anyway here is the news...QUOTE October 22nd, 2006 8:14 PM Stupid Malaysian ISP finally comes clean! People outside of Malaysia think I'm just using it as an excuse to avoid updating the site, but I really had a problem with stable Web connection since the last month. And finally, stupid crappy Malaysian ISP finally comes clean about the reason: they are throttling P2P bandwidth. If they want to throttle P2P bandwidth because they don't want to spend money to increase their already too-small bandwidth, fine. Many ISPs in many countries are doing that. The thing is, these ISPs reduce the bandwidth by, say, 50%. Being a Malaysian company and therefore by Malaysian law run by idiots of the nth degree, TMNet however "throttle" P2P bandwidth by doing... I don't what they do, to be honest, but they have succeeded in making my connection to hosts and servers outside of Malaysia completely FUBAR! If the connection is not as slow as a tortoise on its last legs, I cannot connect at all. It isn't just P2P that is affected - every kind of international connection is affected from simple browsing to using MSN to chat to someone outside of Malaysia! I don't know what the babboons in TMNet did but I suspect that they must have hired, as the norm, failed MARA scholars who couldn't read the English manual and just used the eeny-meeny-mo method to determine what buttons to press. At least other countries have options. In Malaysia, there is only one ISP, which explains why it doesn't give a damn about the quality of its service. My 1MB broadband connection is pretty much the pits, but the joke is, TMNet is offering now a 2MB broadband service. When they already admitted, after pressure from many people to come clean, that they could barely provide the bandwidth currently needed by the 1MB broadband client base. If this doesn't prove that TMNet is run by spastic babboons from Planet Dumb, I don't know what will. 1 people have flushed. |
Oct 23 2006, 11:08 AM
0 posts Joined: Oct 2006 |
QUOTE(Amika @ Oct 23 2006, 10:53 AM) it's look fine to me.. try firefox.. anyway here is the news... no prob....just wanted to get your guy's mesage out....I wont brag and say what my connection speeds are right now btw, thanks soulxtc for quoting me in your report.. hope those bugger in tmnet can see your article.. Just all you guys remember to Digg the story and comment on it so it can make the Digg Homepage and get your message out, then you are guaranteed to have tons of people hear and read about your plight and hopefully put pressure on TM Net to get its act together... Its like Hornet said, its the guys using P2P software who are the ones causing the demand for the fast connections in the first place. CLICK HERE TO DIGG THE STORY ...and if u guys have any further info I can use to update the story PM me or e-mail me at jared@zeropaid.com. "Long Live P2P!" This post has been edited by soulxtc: Oct 23 2006, 01:02 PM |
Oct 23 2006, 12:31 PM
QUOTE(soulxtc @ Oct 23 2006, 11:08 AM) no prob....just wanted to get your guy's mesage out....I wont brag and say what my connection speeds are right now Thanks soulxtc for highlighting our problems about P2P throttling on your website. I hope there will be more guys like you who will tell our story to the world about our unfair ISP throttling P2P 24 hours everyday.Just all you guys remember to Digg the story and comment on it so it can make the Digg Homepage and get your message out, then you are guaranteed to have tons of people hear and read about your plight and hopefully put pressure on TM Net to get its act together... Its like Hornet said, its the guys using P2P software who are the ones causing the demand for the fast connections in the first place. CLICK HERE TO DIGG THE STORY Guys please click the link on soulxtc's post and vote for his story and comment on it so more people around the world will hear of it and put pressure on TMnut!!! This post has been edited by nwk: Oct 23 2006, 12:32 PM |
Oct 23 2006, 12:56 PM
Oct 23 2006, 01:40 PM
311 posts Joined: Sep 2006 |
maybe the streamyx dept uses some kinda strategy to throttle,
eg. throttle melaka, penang, johor, but free other regions, then next day throttle other regions but free melaka, penang & johor or etc. (well, the basic idea is to let us fights and disagree among ourselves) i hope there is a/some wealthy & nice guy from malaysia that want to start up ISP business. providing internal malaysia internet that run at high speed, so more local people would try to build local internet services. for tm nut, stop treating us like idiots, ok! |
Oct 23 2006, 02:38 PM
1 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
QUOTE maybe the streamyx dept uses some kinda strategy to throttle, Brother, you are total right for my mine.eg. throttle melaka, penang, johor, but free other regions, then next day throttle other regions but free melaka, penang & johor or etc. (well, the basic idea is to let us fights and disagree among ourselves) i hope there is a/some wealthy & nice guy from malaysia that want to start up ISP business. providing internal malaysia internet that run at high speed, so more local people would try to build local internet services. for tm nut, stop treating us like idiots, ok! I at Ipoh Perak, are arealdy throttle arealdy 1 month, but unlucky in my area only have 1 ISP services. And the line problem also alway happen 3~4 months once. Few of my friend are using the streamyx also facing the same problem. And we are not all happen at same time, we are happen like queue 1 by 1 in different time, some are life in same area and some are life in same street also happen at different time. This post has been edited by sholtsy: Oct 23 2006, 02:39 PM |
Oct 23 2006, 08:03 PM
3,055 posts Joined: Jan 2003 |
QUOTE(soulxtc @ Oct 22 2006, 11:19 PM) Whats you'r normal connection speed? One guy makes it seem that he's got maybe 10% of what he once had, from 100kbs to now like 10kbs, is this really true? For god's sakes, can you guys please exercise a bit of caution? You're posting screenshots of your downloads. And they're not exactly legal now are they? As for TM Net's broadband service, I can now officially say that I'm paying RM88 a month for not 1Mbps but 0Mbps broadband. If not for the fact that I'm using a proxy, I wouldn't even be able to surf, let alone do anything else on the net. Literally nothing I send or request is getting in. Wow. It's like I'm paying money for a brick wall on my line. Even internet browsing will not work unless I use that proxy. I get page errors when I don't use the proxy. And it's not to say the proxy is fast or something. This throttling is unethical and when I see them advertising their 2Mbps lines, I'm thinking to myself that they're falsely advertising cause they're not gonna give anybody the full "unlimited 2Mbps/1Mbps/etc speeds" that they're claiming to give. It's liek we're paying RM88 for slower than dial up speeds. This post has been edited by +Newbie+: Oct 23 2006, 08:04 PM |
Oct 23 2006, 08:40 PM
5,886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BM |
Oct 24 2006, 12:12 AM
QUOTE(evilhomura89 @ Oct 23 2006, 08:40 PM) Update u guyz on my BT speed 2day - still running full speed don't be so happy. there are plenty of TMnut spies here and you can bet your life, that they are reading this thread now and they know you are still unthrottled. Don't be surprised when in the next couple of days, you find your speeds drop down to zero and you will be in the same boat with us.Downloaded stuff etc are censored.....hehe |
Oct 24 2006, 12:47 AM
I have just sent an email to soulxtc regarding our P2P throttling. I told him everything from start to finish and how TMnut denied everything until they admitted it to us. I hope he will update his story in his website and more people around the world will know how TMnut is cheating all our money away with this unfair P2P throttling.
If you guys have anything more you would like to tell soulxtc, please email him at jared@zeropaid.com so he can further update his story on his website. LONG LIVE P2P!!!!!!!!! |
Oct 24 2006, 03:28 PM
5,886 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: BM |
QUOTE(nwk @ Oct 24 2006, 12:12 AM) don't be so happy. there are plenty of TMnut spies here and you can bet your life, that they are reading this thread now and they know you are still unthrottled. Don't be surprised when in the next couple of days, you find your speeds drop down to zero and you will be in the same boat with us. hopefully they won't do so......hehe in case if my speed goes down, i'll inform u guyz |
| Change to: | 0.0163sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:09 AM |