134 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Bottom

U-Mobile Thread V6, www.u.com.my

zher4883
post Nov 22 2015, 09:30 PM

4,490 posts

QUOTE(johntg100 @ Nov 22 2015, 09:19 PM)
No it's not as straightforward as you mention. I believe uMobile is playing games with their subscribers intentionally tricking their subscribers to use the shortcode by force to know their quota balance.

Their USSD *118*2*3# method is buggy and sometimes don't show "off-peak" quota balance only daytime balance quota. Certain months it list your quota in full and sometimes it doesn't.

While at night their USSD service always down for maintenance and inaccessible, so the only way to find out your quota is force you to use the shortcode method which is chargeable.

As for the Android app, I don't use my mobile broadband SIM inside a smartphone and don't intend to in future, my smartphone very hard to remove and install SIM, it is always in my USB modem.

Always pull in and out, my modem SIM holder sure gets loosen and damaged in long run.

That's 1 issue.

Also uMobile Mobile Broadband seems to block many ports and lots of services that you can access.
Their peering with Europe is so bad that many VPNs based in Sweden, Romania and France would fail for timeouts.

Even more angry is that my old PC has its CMOS battery already drained, so I rely on internet to sync my time.
Windows internet time synching uses SNTP port 123 to connect to their servers. You don't believe me try using uMobile and sync your Windows time. It always fail because the port is blocked.

When using TM, Celcom or even DiGi no such problem.If you say its security protection, why other operators can uMobile cannot?
Even some VOIP ports are blocked vmad.gif vmad.gif
cfa28
post Nov 23 2015, 08:36 AM

4,829 posts

Actually, how is the U-Mobile Data Networlk recently

Currently using Digi cos they gave me 50% discount on their 2GB Plan. Paying only RM24 instead of RM48 but gonna expire in Jan 2016

I did use U-Mobile for few mths, last time their U28 had only 1GB and was quite satisfied but I cancelled it when Digi gave me the offer

Now need a new Data plan cos unlikely for Digi to extend the discount

syumul
post Nov 23 2015, 08:50 AM

215 posts

hi all,

Just want to know what is the problem.

Currently i am using iphone 6+ umobile prepaid iplan i60 which suppose to auto renew subscription on 10/11/15.

The thing is I topup on 9/11/15 but the auto renew is fail as the credit is suddenly missing(I topup rm60). So i was furious at first then a topup again with the same amount(RM60) and manually do the iplan i60 subscription.

When I tried to confirm my subscription, it says "the service is unavailable, please try later". It has been 2weeks already my phone without any plan.

So just want to know is it the iplan is now unavailable to manually subscribe?
digilife
post Nov 23 2015, 09:00 AM

The MNP guy, its me yeah.
8,025 posts

QUOTE(syumul @ Nov 23 2015, 08:50 AM)
hi all,

Just want to know what is the problem.

Currently i am using iphone 6+ umobile prepaid iplan i60 which suppose to auto renew subscription on 10/11/15.

The thing is I topup on 9/11/15 but the auto renew is fail as the credit is suddenly missing(I topup rm60). So i was furious at first then a topup again with the same amount(RM60) and manually do the iplan i60 subscription.

When I tried to confirm my subscription, it says "the service is unavailable, please try later". It has been 2weeks already my phone without any plan.

So just want to know is it the iplan is now unavailable to manually subscribe?
The first renewal COULD ACTUALLY have been renewed but UM slow in notifying you.

The second topup would not be able to renew your Plan cause you Plan is in actual in use. ~ just my opinion
syumul
post Nov 23 2015, 10:07 AM

215 posts

QUOTE(digilife @ Nov 23 2015, 09:00 AM)
The first renewal COULD ACTUALLY have been renewed but UM slow in notifying you.

The second topup would not be able to renew your Plan cause you Plan is in actual in use. ~ just my opinion
i did checked if i already subscribe or not.
unfortunately i did not subscribe to any plan right now.
every time i on data, the credit is decreasing very much.

chuahcs79
post Nov 23 2015, 01:07 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(syumul @ Nov 23 2015, 10:07 AM)
i did checked if i already subscribe or not.
unfortunately i did not subscribe to any plan right now.
every time i on data, the credit is decreasing very much.
you should give umobile hotline a call,.. to make sure whether you are on or off any plan,..
syumul
post Nov 23 2015, 02:53 PM

215 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 23 2015, 01:07 PM)
you should give umobile hotline a call,.. to make sure whether you are on or off any plan,..
hi,
if i call the hotline, am i kena charge?
CnY Garage
post Nov 23 2015, 02:56 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(johntg100 @ Nov 22 2015, 09:19 PM)
No it's not as straightforward as you mention. I believe uMobile is playing games with their subscribers intentionally tricking their subscribers to use the shortcode by force to know their quota balance.

Their USSD *118*2*3# method is buggy and sometimes don't show "off-peak" quota balance only daytime balance quota. Certain months it list your quota in full and sometimes it doesn't.

While at night their USSD service always down for maintenance and inaccessible, so the only way to find out your quota is force you to use the shortcode method which is chargeable.

As for the Android app, I don't use my mobile broadband SIM inside a smartphone and don't intend to in future, my smartphone very hard to remove and install SIM, it is always in my USB modem.

Always pull in and out, my modem SIM holder sure gets loosen and damaged in long run.

That's 1 issue.

Also uMobile Mobile Broadband seems to block many ports and lots of services that you can access.
Their peering with Europe is so bad that many VPNs based in Sweden, Romania and France would fail for timeouts.

Even more angry is that my old PC has its CMOS battery already drained, so I rely on internet to sync my time.
Windows internet time synching uses SNTP port 123 to connect to their servers. You don't believe me try using uMobile and sync your Windows time. It always fail because the port is blocked.

When using TM, Celcom or even DiGi no such problem.If you say its security protection, why other operators can uMobile cannot?
thats too technical for me rclxub.gif
as an umobile user and dealer, what i believe is they rather to save the cost than playing any tricks, because mainly they aim light usage users and consumers that looking for low price plan rather than BEST coverage or BEST speed or BEST service tongue.gif
so they start cutting lots benefit to get some profit including shorten the validity for new prepaid, shorten the PASSIVE period, NEVER able to share/transfer prepaid credit, couldn't cancel itemized bill thru self care....

QUOTE(cfa28 @ Nov 23 2015, 08:36 AM)
Actually, how is the U-Mobile Data Networlk recently

Currently using Digi cos they gave me 50% discount on their 2GB Plan.  Paying only RM24 instead of RM48 but gonna expire in Jan 2016

I did use U-Mobile for few mths, last time their U28 had only 1GB and was quite satisfied but I cancelled it when Digi gave me the offer

Now need a new Data plan cos unlikely for Digi to extend the discount
the smarter and safer way still the same, get a prepaid to test hahaha, what i can tell is 4g ready places considered stable for now, some 3g only places currently upgrading then might interrupted.
LostAndFound
post Nov 25 2015, 07:25 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(johntg100 @ Nov 24 2015, 08:39 PM)
Few months back after signing up for postpaid plan, the customer staff asked me to sign a personal information disclosure form as though you're being forced to sign or not proceed to register.

Can I choose not to sign it? They make it as though it's part of the registration process to force you to give in your personal privacy and sell your personal information details to them.

What if I don't sign? Can't proceed to register a line?

Banks are also playing this trick now asking their customers to sign some form of personal information declaration form when you're busy finalizing your transactions over the counter. They try to slip it in while you're "unattended".

Why? Is this a dirty trick to force Malaysians now to sell their privacy/personal details to corporations and invalidate their rights when trying to sue these companies in courts?

Days after registration some advertizing SMS came in from some company called Sabahbet or something similar to that name.

Can you clarify anyone from uMobile?
Do you even read the form? vmad.gif
cybpsych
post Nov 25 2015, 07:53 AM

---------------------
65,272 posts

QUOTE(johntg100 @ Nov 24 2015, 08:39 PM)
Few months back after signing up for postpaid plan, the customer staff asked me to sign a personal information disclosure form as though you're being forced to sign or not proceed to register.

Can I choose not to sign it? They make it as though it's part of the registration process to force you to give in your personal privacy and sell your personal information details to them.

What if I don't sign? Can't proceed to register a line?

Banks are also playing this trick now asking their customers to sign some form of personal information declaration form when you're busy finalizing your transactions over the counter. They try to slip it in while you're "unattended".

Why? Is this a dirty trick to force Malaysians now to sell their privacy/personal details to corporations and invalidate their rights when trying to sue these companies in courts?

Days after registration some advertizing SMS came in from some company called Sabahbet or something similar to that name.

Can you clarify anyone from uMobile?
read and understand what is PDPA and their Privacy Policy

the form is ASKING for your CONSENT whether they can use your information for marketing/etc purposes.

the only default option you accept is whereby the company uses your information for internal use only without disclosing/sell to 3rd-party (unrelated to the company).

e.g. the send you a bill, they need to USE your information (name, NRIC) to extract the bill data, then send to you, right? if this even you don't allow, they tell you that they cant provide you the service without any adequate clearance to operational-stuffs.

there are options to accept/allow/opt-in OR reject/not allow/opt-out. like most of us do, choose NOT ALLOW/OPT-OUT.

then sign the form after making your selection.

same to banks too. opening account, opening FD, etc etc. there's a form ASKING for CONSENT.

now, once you've signed the form, if you know they are blasting marketing stuffs to you, even after you've told them specifically (from the form that you signed) NOT to send/contact you any marketing stuffs, then you can file an official complaint.

without signing, there's no binding agreement.

again, if you're so paranoid, photocopy the forms that you signed, or go to other telcos. am sure they are also asking you to sign a disclosure/PDPA-compliant form.

This post has been edited by cybpsych: Nov 25 2015, 08:00 AM
a2zextra
post Nov 25 2015, 02:01 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(chuahcs79 @ Nov 9 2015, 07:07 PM)
funny thing is when in pangkor island, u mobile speed is much higher faster than hotlink ...
Sometime at kampung area, Umobile internet are good nowadays. I knew because I'm using expired SIM biggrin.gif
a2zextra
post Nov 25 2015, 02:40 PM

462 posts

QUOTE(musej @ Oct 7 2015, 01:10 AM)
Why my speed doesn't go more than 1mbps? I recently subscribe the umobile u28 postpaid plan..
Poor customer.
fat16
post Nov 25 2015, 03:48 PM

4,582 posts

QUOTE(a2zextra @ Nov 25 2015, 02:40 PM)
Poor customer.
u have something to hide ? vpn for unlimited umobile ?

cybpsych
post Nov 25 2015, 07:53 PM

---------------------
65,272 posts

QUOTE(johntg100 @ Nov 25 2015, 07:07 PM)
They seem to make it look like a transparent process and rushing you through all the signing procedures while you are made busy with your registration form filling. It's like forcing everyone by default to opt-in so that they would have their personal information used towards marketing purposes.

We all know who is the owner of uMobile, he's also involved in gaming(gambling) industry.

Just recently after I registered my line, some weird SMS ads started coming in from "SabahBet". Is this company affiliated or somehow related to uMobile?
This is true if only Malaysians know their RIGHTS and are brave enough to stand up and demand that the customer staff handling his paperwork provide valid reasons behind what he is about to do.

I remembered that there were no extra columns, boxes or options to opt-out to fill up. The customer staff just pointed quickly to all the dotted lines like it was some transparent process and made you sign there on each page.

So far only uMobile postpaid registration has made me go through this extra step of signing PDA forms besides the standard registration forms.

My past experience with TM and the other telcos did not even required me to do so. All it took was just a photocopy of my IC and registration forms fillouts.
With due respect, it's the courtesy for the banks/telco companies to always provide you a carbon copy of the agreement you've signed to prove that both ends have a mutually agreed on the terms. But this is not true with practices of what banks and telco companies are doing right now in Malaysia.

The customer should never be required to ask but it's compulsory to provide a "carbon copy" of the agreement he just signed. The onus is on the company or service provider to convince their customers. shocking.gif

What they're doing is making the customer sign a PDA document for themselves while the customer walks away empty handed. How would I know if the document have been tempered or modified later on?

I don't have anything in my hand while the defendant reads out all the clauses which I've signed?Wouldn't the scammer be at full advantage?

This is like signing an empty cheque without knowing what you've signed in the first place? How can that be made legal?

Do Malaysian courts and judiciary allow the agreements to take effect even if only one side of the party keeps the binding agreement while the customer does not have a carbon copy of what he has signed for record purposes?

The carbon copy is proof that the document was actually signed/agreed mutually by the customer and a photostat blank copy is "unacceptable" because it is not the same document as what you've signed. As I mentioned, it could be modified and how would our law actually accepts this.

All the clauses in such agreements be nullified immediately if the customer does not obtained a "carbon" copy of what he has signed previously.

This is very unfair and only a mafia state would approve of such things favoring the corporations.
then your only choice is other telcos lor. just ignore umobile if you're not comfortable with their processes & policies. simple.

chuahcs79
post Nov 25 2015, 09:46 PM

6,931 posts

QUOTE(fat16 @ Nov 25 2015, 03:48 PM)
u have something to hide ? vpn for unlimited umobile ?
that is new latest vpn for bypass,... biggrin.gif
LostAndFound
post Nov 26 2015, 07:47 AM

6,257 posts

QUOTE(johntg100 @ Nov 25 2015, 06:04 PM)
Do you even have the time to read the form?

There's a long impatient queue waiting behind and the customer staff like pushing all the forms to you trying to hide it. He would just say sign here and here assuming Malaysians are uneducated fools.

The personal data disclosure agreement "contract" is at least 2 full pages of gibberish texts in fine prints.

Trying to catch Malaysians off handed huh?

Only uMobile Postpaid signup so far among all the telcos made me experience this just like banks.

The other telcos just made me sign the regular  registration forms and just that.
This PDA form is (relatively) new measure, please go sign up new line for other telco now.... if they don't make you sign it then they're either breaking the rules or secretly just ticking for you.

If you don't have time to read then just ask. How to talk about 'catch customer off guard' but sendiri simply sign? 2 pages already don't want to read, have you ever bought/sold a house?

Malaysians... we want first world protection but don't want to be inconvenienced at all. You prefer they don't give you the form it seems. Sia-sia government implement data protection/privacy act only.
CnY Garage
post Nov 26 2015, 04:56 PM

1,569 posts

QUOTE(johntg100 @ Nov 26 2015, 01:58 PM)
You don't make your customers sign Personal Disclosure agreements if there's nothing hidden in place instead you create awareness through campaigns and the media.
Why don't you tell the customer staff, can I take back the form back home and read it clearly first? If I feel it's appropriate after reading through properly and feel it's fair, I sign it and hand it back to you with me retaining a carbon copy for proof of acknowledgement?

Can a not? Must sign immediately in so little time? You can't even demonstrate that you understand my last post and you expect people to read through more than 2 full pages of gibberish lawyer language in a short time while registering your line?

I wonder if you really have bought or sold a house before instead. Do you have your own lawyer accompany you before? Do you sign immediately on the same day if the contract was prepared by the other party before properly confirming their contents?

Do you retain a carbon copy of what you've sign just in case the other party amend or modify its contents in future without your knowledge?
Quite the opposite actually. I want to stress that if the customer does not receive a carbon copy of what he had signed, all claims that is made in the agreement should be NULLIFIED or MADE INVALID immediately without notice.

A contract is a mutual agreement that is made between 2 parties and none should be kept uninformed.
You cannot make one party sign a document and only the other side holding the official proof alone. In fact in real official signing events you even need 3 neutral witnesses/ respected trustees to oversee the signing ceremony took place with 2 parties mutually agreeing to accept the terms.

It CLEARLY show that you did not even understand my previous post let alone you want to argue about not reading gibberish agreement forms?

Even TM registration forms have 3 layer copies, one being the original top later and 2 carbon copies(yellow and blue) beneath. After you signed the forms, the customer is given back a carbon copy for proof.

This is not the case with the Personal Information Disclosure forms which were recently introduced to the public. Customers are made to sign them without given any carbon copy to hold which makes the entire process really "dubious". The staffs would just pull out the form and just ask the customer, "You sign here and here, that's all". They don't even tell you or take the time to explain carefully what the form is actually is unless you're alert enough to turn to the front page and read the "Title" of the document.

uMobile is one example. The other is Public Bank.

I urge Malaysians to deal CAREFULLY with them when making over the counter transactions the next time.
You don't know that many of our government official family members are actually running our national corporations?

Given if you're in their position, would you protect the interests of the public or your own family's companies/businesses?
After reading your long explanation, I agree with you. The fact is just same as what you mentioned, there are too many leakages and we are lack of protection on these subscriptions especially for Telco, IC abused easily, and hardly to waive the BILL that created by the conman, due to lack of knowledge and relative support. As a Telco dealer, I can tell how poor knowledge of my customers on these issues, therefore sharing experience or knowledge here is necessary for us to increase our awareness of our rights. I do explain clearly on the charge, t&c, help to check on billing issue like (virus sms, roaming charge, suggest for suitable plan to reduce charges...), but what Lost andFound telling is true as well, Malaysian prefer a EASY way than a SAFE & SMART way like, transfer ownership or usim replacement without owner present, getting a prepaid internet package without understand how to subscribe / renew, separate supp line to prepaid without notice of 1 month locking period by DiGi/ Maxis.... doh.gif

btw, thank You for your information.
sean6219
post Nov 28 2015, 04:58 AM

97 posts

my postpaid number is dead, is there another way to retrieve it? The payment due date is on December but it already deactivated the service hmmm
Killmeplsok
post Nov 28 2015, 09:04 AM

161 posts

Does anyone knows how to disable advertisements from Umobile? The SMS spam is getting out of hand lately that I receive messages almost daily.
SUSMNet
post Nov 28 2015, 10:38 AM

11,954 posts

Yes me too.
Please guide us how to opt-out from these useless sms

134 Pages « < 29 30 31 32 33 > » Top

0.0197sec    0.30    6 queries    GZIP Disabled