126 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

Oyaji
post Dec 20 2015, 06:36 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 20 2015, 05:33 PM)
i guaran-dam-tee you wont look at HDD ever again if you see windows booting less than 20 seconds laugh.gif
Yup, after parting with SSD for a while, (I used to have an intel 330 until it died on me). Then settled for a HDD for booting but now cannot stand the slowness. I just can't wait to get another SSD. laugh.gif
horns
post Dec 21 2015, 12:37 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Dec 20 2015, 04:04 PM)
I have read whatever reviews available for the 900s and other SSD and decided to get the 900s due to mostly positive feedback I read in the internet. Plus the pricing is still affordable. smile.gif
nice haha

QUOTE(kizwan @ Dec 20 2015, 05:16 PM)
I agree. I also prefer performance too. That's why instead of single SSD, I go for two SSDs for RAID0 setup.  smile.gif I got two Plextor M5S that time because single 256GB cost more that time.

I got Kingston Hyperx Fury 120GB for my laptop. Even with SATA 2 only, SSD is a loooot faster than HDD.
right. sata2 still can benefit from its performance of random iops.

ssds are really getting cheaper. now you can get a decent one with half a price a few years ago. (a mainstream drive, that is)
rurushu
post Dec 22 2015, 06:21 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 20 2015, 03:55 PM)
yes. at least to me, i call it best bang for bucks for many reasons.

however, i do hope all users to do their own research too. like any other review sites, don't just take our words for it. this is because we all have different needs, budgets, and expectations. to me, most mainstream sata ssds are good for common usage, for work, i prefer performance ssds. some others might think otherwise.
Couldnt agree more.
Previously I also deadset on getting the 900s, but then there are someone claimed that Liteon and Plextor drives have high RMA rates at their shop.
Hence got another recommendation from sifu, which is HyperX Fury SSD.

After another round of researching and reading reviews, found that the 900s is still the better pick for me laugh.gif

so right now, am using the Liteon 900s 256GB as bootdrive, never felt so fast in my life before shocking.gif (an HDD user all this while)
goedemorgen
post Dec 22 2015, 10:00 PM

45 posts

Is Crucial still a good brand for SSD? I'm thinking to get M550 120gb.
Oyaji
post Dec 22 2015, 10:07 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(goedemorgen @ Dec 22 2015, 10:00 PM)
I think it is a good brand and that is a good ssd but like others said, go for 240/256gb, much better.
goedemorgen
post Dec 22 2015, 10:16 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Dec 22 2015, 10:07 PM)
I think it is a good brand and that is a good ssd but like others said, go for 240/256gb, much better.

However I'm stuck with SATA2 interface, don't think going for 256gb ssd would make much difference and my budget 200-300 only.
Oyaji
post Dec 22 2015, 10:19 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(goedemorgen @ Dec 22 2015, 10:16 PM)

However I'm stuck with SATA2 interface, don't think going for 256gb ssd would make much difference and my budget 200-300 only.
Maybe you could try finding a samsung 650 basic 120gb. It is a whole lot cheaper and perhaps maybe better?
goedemorgen
post Dec 22 2015, 10:21 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Dec 22 2015, 10:19 PM)
Maybe you could try finding a samsung 650 basic 120gb. It is a whole lot cheaper and perhaps maybe better?
Yea I did. But <10k IOps only, not sure if I see correctly.
rurushu
post Dec 22 2015, 10:27 PM

2,021 posts

Intel/ Crucial is one of the largest maker of SSD other than Sammy, Sandisk/ Toshiba laugh.gif
Oyaji
post Dec 22 2015, 10:28 PM

516 posts

QUOTE(goedemorgen @ Dec 22 2015, 10:21 PM)
Yea I did. But <10k IOps only, not sure if I see correctly.
If like that then go for crucial. reliability wise it should be good. a friend of mine used crucial ssd for quite some time now and it still doing fine.
goedemorgen
post Dec 22 2015, 10:33 PM

45 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Dec 22 2015, 10:27 PM)
Intel/ Crucial is one of the largest maker of SSD other than Sammy, Sandisk/ Toshiba  laugh.gif
QUOTE(Oyaji @ Dec 22 2015, 10:28 PM)
If like that then go for crucial. reliability wise it should be good. a friend of mine used crucial ssd for quite some time now and it still doing fine.
Thank you both for the info.

I was right about Samsung 650, random read was on the low side, according to the review below.

This post has been edited by goedemorgen: Dec 22 2015, 10:34 PM
horns
post Dec 23 2015, 12:52 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Dec 22 2015, 06:21 PM)
Couldnt agree more.
Previously I also deadset on getting the 900s, but then there are someone claimed that Liteon and Plextor drives have high RMA rates at their shop.
Hence got another recommendation from sifu, which is HyperX Fury SSD.
After another round of researching and reading reviews, found that the 900s is still the better pick for me  laugh.gif

so right now, am using the Liteon 900s 256GB as bootdrive, never felt so fast in my life before  shocking.gif  (an HDD user all this while)
there will be lemons in all mass-manufactured goods. it's hard to avoid this one. that's why it's important to have good warranty and rma service.

yeah hdd is still good for storage for today's computer systems, but you just can't do anything productive with it as os drive, even if you have a good cpu and more ram.

yes crucial is a good brand. however, i suggest you go for samsung 850 evo 250gb (around MYR 450), with 5-year warranty. a typical mainstream ssd normally has 3-year warranty and will cost you about 350+. with top up of 100, you get additional 2 years of warranty with 850 evo. i think it's a good deal.
rurushu
post Dec 23 2015, 02:25 PM

2,021 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 23 2015, 12:52 AM)
there will be lemons in all mass-manufactured goods. it's hard to avoid this one. that's why it's important to have good warranty and rma service.

yeah hdd is still good for storage for today's computer systems, but you just can't do anything productive with it as os drive, even if you have a good cpu and more ram.
Hahah.... yea, thanks to your advice last time to make the jump to SSD laugh.gif

The reason I chosen Liteon is still because of the its reputation being the parent company of Plextor, and also shame on Kingston for ruining their reputation with the V300 series that made me lose confidence in them sweat.gif

But yea, good ole' HDD is still good for mass storage, nevertheless biggrin.gif

Currently the setup of my wub.gif is liteon 900s as the bootdrive, and a WD Blue 3TB to run games/ torrent/ storage tongue.gif

This post has been edited by rurushu: Dec 23 2015, 02:34 PM
horns
post Dec 23 2015, 04:31 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(rurushu @ Dec 23 2015, 02:25 PM)
Hahah.... yea, thanks to your advice last time to make the jump to SSD  laugh.gif

The reason I chosen Liteon is still because of the its reputation being the parent company of Plextor, and also shame on Kingston for ruining their reputation with the V300 series that made me lose confidence in them  sweat.gif

But yea, good ole' HDD is still good for mass storage, nevertheless  biggrin.gif

Currently the setup of my  wub.gif  is liteon 900s as the bootdrive, and a WD Blue 3TB to run games/ torrent/ storage  tongue.gif
haha glad i could help.

right the minimal but optimal setup is 1x ssd and 1x hdd. in terms of performance and disk space, the setup takes the best of both worlds.

bonez_xy
post Dec 25 2015, 11:20 AM

523 posts

should i get samsung 750 evo or kingston hyper x fury?
horns
post Dec 26 2015, 01:00 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(bonez_xy @ Dec 25 2015, 11:20 AM)
should i get samsung 750 evo or kingston hyper x fury?
there is no samsung 750 evo.

if you meant 850 evo, imo it's a better drive (mainstream; 5-year warranty) than kingston hyperx fury (value; 3-year warranty).

however it's really subject to your personal preference.

kasutkoyak
post Dec 26 2015, 01:40 AM

38 posts

hello there. i need help here. just buy ssd n try on my own to clone it. i clone my C: partition with easeus todo software. no issue buy when i plug in ssd alone in my laptop idoes not have boot. can u help me on how to clone it right. thanks
kizwan
post Dec 26 2015, 01:55 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(kasutkoyak @ Dec 26 2015, 01:40 AM)
hello there. i need help here. just buy ssd n try on my own to clone it. i clone my C: partition with easeus todo software. no issue buy when i plug in ssd alone in my laptop idoes not have boot. can u help me on how to clone it right. thanks
Use Macrium Reflect software. For cloning Windows drive, better clone the whole disk or you will have problem booting windows.
nuekkacak
post Dec 27 2015, 09:24 AM

109 posts

Hai friends.. I have one hdd with 2 partitions.. can I copy only os partition to my ssd?
horns
post Dec 27 2015, 09:59 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kasutkoyak @ Dec 26 2015, 01:40 AM)
cloning the os partition only will not work. you need related system partitions also. if you don't know what you're doing with easeus todo, like kizwan said, try use Macrium Reflect.

QUOTE(nuekkacak @ Dec 27 2015, 09:24 AM)
Hai friends.. I have one hdd with 2 partitions.. can I copy only os partition to my ssd?
yes, you can. try do that with Macrium Reflect.

126 Pages « < 46 47 48 49 50 > » Top

0.0315sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:30 AM