nice!
The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive
Mar 6 2015, 08:17 PM
3,038 posts Joined: Nov 2009 |
nice!
Mar 7 2015, 01:44 AM
Mar 7 2015, 10:14 AM
QUOTE(smallcrab @ Mar 7 2015, 01:59 AM) Just managed to clone my multi partition HDD tp SSD (have issues from the last thread https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2874570/+2540) nice and thanks for sharing Found Drive Clone 11 (Farstone) , free for personal use. Excellent! So far this the only software i know that can clone multi partitions and auto resize it. Damn easy to use. http://www.farstone.com/software/drive-clone.php I don't have to reinstall all my licensed program again. Ok. my SSD upgrade review. So far, the boot up time of Win 7 Pro is much quicker (now only took 30% loading time vs my old HDD, and programs load up faster as well on my Transcend370 256GB SSD. Money well spent ! This is after all budget class SSD. well, fyi for general use, you can hardly notice the performance differences between mainstream and enthusiast ssds. this is why it's sufficient to get mainstream drives. it's cheaper, and you get more space to use. |
Mar 7 2015, 11:46 AM
QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 7 2015, 10:42 AM) yes for common usage, consumer sata ssds are almost the same these days. you hardly feel the differences.once my new gpus are here, i will do sata raid0 setup also because of pcie lane limitations (making use of my old 840 pro). i'm glad i have plenty of sata ports lol! |
Mar 7 2015, 04:23 PM
Mar 7 2015, 10:15 PM
QUOTE(christina1 @ Mar 7 2015, 08:00 PM) Hi All, go for liteon s900 256gb. as a plextor and liteon user of some of their drives, imo they are more than good in terms of stability and reliability (as an addition to my previous reply to your thread).Planning to get liteon s900 120GB or transcend ssd370 120GB ? What you guys suggest since I dont plan to get Samsung Pro or Evo to me, brands like plextor/liteon and crucial look for stability and reliability in their ssds more than performance. the controllers and nand flash they use are of decent quality and have proven quality records. as a long-time manufacturer of oem drives for high-end systems, i think it's in liteon's core values that their products must meet certain levels of confidence to convince their oem partners so that they can take up good volumes of their products regularly (apart from attractive pricing) this is different from samsung, which produce retail drives based on new technologies most of the times. |
Mar 8 2015, 12:40 AM
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 7 2015, 10:53 PM) yes, their reputation in optical drive industry has overshadowed their ventures in ssd industry for quite some times. crucial and plextor/liteon have always been the main force to drive aggressive price cuts. i think the latter is more impressive that they don't produce their own nand flash or controllers but yet can offer very affordable drives without sacrificing quality. |
Mar 8 2015, 10:02 AM
Mar 9 2015, 12:09 AM
Mar 9 2015, 09:23 AM
QUOTE(stromae @ Mar 9 2015, 12:20 AM) no it's not ok. if you haven't done research even on this single option, i really suggest you do so. although it might be fine for people who are getting their first ssd because of the massive performance improvements over hdd, i still think it's wiser to get others than v300 for your money. in short, when there are a lot of options using sync nand flash, skip async nand. even though the drive performance is subject to mainly controller, imo there is no need to challenge physical differences between these two types of nand, and still go for the much slower option. (unless you are really having no choice) you can consider liteon s900, transcend ssd370, or toshiba q series pro at 120gb range. as of now, know that the actual sweet spot is 240gb range. |
Mar 9 2015, 09:32 AM
Mar 9 2015, 09:34 AM
Mar 9 2015, 09:54 AM
QUOTE(dun_panic @ Mar 9 2015, 09:40 AM) yeah. my ocz vertex 4 (256gb), plextor m5pro xtreme (512gb), and plextor m5m (256gb) are all 2 years+ old.it depends on usage actually. i think if you apply the common ssd optimizations, tips and tricks found on the first page of this thread, it's very likely your ssd can survive for quite some times. furthermore, i download my stuff into hdd. i also use ram cache and ram disk. |
Mar 9 2015, 02:33 PM
QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 9 2015, 01:44 PM) yes. i will do a secure erase to it when i am free these days. it's been quite some times i am running the machine 24/7 hehehemy ocz vertex 3 is also still alive and kicking ssd optimizations, ram-based enhancements, and using hdd as downloads an data storage can make sure your ssd have a very long life. |
Mar 9 2015, 03:24 PM
QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 9 2015, 02:13 PM) Intel G2020 uh? with w8.1 it should be even faster. the first thing to check is to run crystal diskmark and see if it runs at advertised speed. if it's lower, check if you're connected to intel sata3 port. have you updated the firmware?Asrock H71-DGS Team Elite 4gb 1600 x2 Lite-on 256 SSD Asus Nvidia GeForce 650Ti Boost 2gb Win 8.1 Pro 64 bit |
Mar 9 2015, 09:13 PM
Mar 9 2015, 09:46 PM
QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 9 2015, 09:19 PM) yes. just checked your mobo manual (i took a look at h71m-dgs; couldn't find h71-dgs at asrock website), the mobo has only sata2 ports. there is no sata3 ports. from your diskmark test, your ssd is actually running at full sata2 speed. that's nothing wrong with it. |
Mar 9 2015, 11:05 PM
QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 9 2015, 09:53 PM) sorry it's h71m-dgs, my bad. so the speed i'm experiencing is perfectly normal? kinda disappointing though yes that's normal. it's the sata2 bottleneck that hinders the performance of your ssd.don't get the wrong idea that when you have a ssd then you must be able to cold-boot it faster than a hdd, especially when you are running w8.x. (like TristanX pointed out, there are things that need time to load during boot time. the more hardware you put in, the long time it takes) the more important part imo is always when you use a computer, e.g. loading apps/games, and working on stuff. it should be more responsive than before with a ssd. sorry but i don't get the part that you are disappointing to have a ssd in your system. QUOTE(NightFelix @ Mar 9 2015, 09:55 PM) QUOTE(ngkhanmein @ Mar 9 2015, 10:17 PM) i didn't enable the asrock instant boot cos i worried too fast until i can't get used to it. maybe you guys should share some pointers to limadekad on how you make it run fast so far less than 10 sec consider standard already. |
Mar 11 2015, 07:50 PM
QUOTE(limadekad @ Mar 10 2015, 11:11 AM) well, i was hoping for a noticable speed bump when i upgraded my system with an ssd and additional ram. i did use ssd with sata2 connections before. like others pointed out, it's still better than a hdd, because what matters most is the user experience when you use a computer. hdd is the slowest storage component in a computer. it has very low iops that results in much lower responsiveness than ssd.what option do i have? upgrade my mobo? no, ram upgrade (8gb and above) will not show significant performance improvements as much as ssd upgrade. QUOTE(stromae @ Mar 11 2015, 05:07 PM) hi guys which is better... like what TristanX said, just get the cheaper ones will do (liteon or transcend).my maximum budget is rm300.. LITE-ON 900S 128GB (M5PRO) 92K/82K 540/330 RM240 KINGSTON HYPER X 120G 20K/60K 555/510 RM275 TRANSCEND 370 128GB 75K/75K 570/470 RM219 PLEXTOR M6S 128GB 88K/75K 520/300 RM289 btw in my mind is transcend 370... btw my pc will bottleneck.. since still using SATA 3Gbps port.. thx.. |
Mar 11 2015, 08:19 PM
QUOTE(arifhasim85 @ Mar 11 2015, 08:05 PM) please be noted that transcend ssd370 128gb version have write speed kinda low.. only at 170mb/s.. 470mb/s write is only for 512gb and 1tb version. i think the best is lite-on 900s 128gb. Nice thanks for bringing this up edit: source http://www.anandtech.com/show/8792/transce...gb-512gb-review Edit: when i checked out the recent garage sales threads, i stumbled upon a seller who offers the pcie m.2 ssd adapter by asus, which is compatible upto pcie 3.0 x4 nvme ssd. If your mobo doesn't have a m.2 slot, you can use this adapter to mount and run it. For better effects you can add a heat sink on top of your ssd. (I am thinking of using plastic clips or rubber bands to secure it hehe) This post has been edited by horns: Mar 11 2015, 08:35 PM |
| Change to: | 0.0670sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 04:53 PM |