126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Bottom

The SSD Thread V5, Solid State Drive

kasutkoyak
post Dec 27 2015, 06:21 PM

38 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Dec 26 2015, 01:55 AM)
Use Macrium Reflect software. For cloning Windows drive, better clone the whole disk or you will have problem booting windows.
QUOTE(horns @ Dec 27 2015, 09:59 AM)
cloning the os partition only will not work. you need related system partitions also. if you don't know what you're doing with easeus todo, like kizwan said, try use Macrium Reflect.
yes, you can. try do that with Macrium Reflect.
YA.. i understand bcos now im having prob wth boot. but how to clone 1tb hdd to 240gb ssd. help plz wth tips..... thanks

horns
post Dec 27 2015, 07:47 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(kasutkoyak @ Dec 27 2015, 06:21 PM)
YA.. i understand bcos now im having prob wth boot. but how to clone 1tb hdd to 240gb ssd. help plz wth tips..... thanks
oh my. it's not that hard to find a video tutorial like this, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jh4uRhWwZT0 at youtube :/
Oyaji
post Dec 28 2015, 12:59 AM

516 posts

Just bought the Liteon 900s for RM390. Such a good deal. Unfortunately don't have enough time to install windows in it.
sue_cinta
post Dec 28 2015, 01:40 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(NightFelix @ Dec 18 2015, 10:39 AM)
CQ40 I think is still running Sata2.
yup.. I can confirmed this as an owner of CQ40 lappy smile.gif
But what the heck, still using a transcend 256GB with it
Atleast it faster than the hdd

sue_cinta
post Dec 28 2015, 01:54 AM

315 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 27 2015, 07:47 PM)
oh my. it's not that hard to find a video tutorial like this, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jh4uRhWwZT0 at youtube :/
that's sifoo horns for ya... hahaha...
I did do the Raid0 config on my system as u suggested long time ago bro...
Pairing my 2x 256GB Transcend 370s and have removed all the hdd to and docking...
and taking out 4GB from ram for ramdisk setup for all temp & scratch disk...
but the ramdisk is only run at 4k read, 6k write since it was DDR3 1866mhz...
unfortunately, i havent sent my mobo yet to repair the dead #3 & #4 ram slot...
so, sticking with 16GB single-channel atm... another 16GB is kept fine in their box...

horns
post Dec 28 2015, 09:21 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(Oyaji @ Dec 28 2015, 12:59 AM)
Just bought the Liteon 900s for RM390. Such a good deal. Unfortunately don't have enough time to install windows in it.
wow. considering weak ringgit and all, it's really a damn good deal.

QUOTE(sue_cinta @ Dec 28 2015, 01:54 AM)
I did do the Raid0 config on my system as u suggested long time ago bro...
Pairing my 2x 256GB Transcend 370s and have removed all the hdd to and docking...
and taking out 4GB from ram for ramdisk setup for all temp & scratch disk...
but the ramdisk is only run at 4k read, 6k write since it was DDR3 1866mhz...
unfortunately, i havent sent my mobo yet to repair the dead #3 & #4 ram slot...
so, sticking with 16GB single-channel atm... another 16GB is kept fine in their box...
yeah ssd raid0 should speed up productivity in your work. however, why do you need to remove hdds? i think it's still better to have a fixed hdd for data storage. (much faster than external storage)

although it doesn't matter, your ramdisk is kind of slow. (maybe due to single-channel mode) but how come your ram is running at single-channel mode? 16gb should be 2x8gb no? i thought with a pair of ram should run at dual-channel mode. the seq. speeds of my laptop with ddr3 1600mhz is running at 9k read, 12k write:

on a side note about single-channel, dual-channel and quad-channel modes in ram, tbh their performance is about the same in common usage. yeah benchmarks will show otherwise, but most users don't buy computers just to run benchmarks.

.. and imo it's better for you to find time to fix the mobo.

ikan_semilang
post Dec 29 2015, 05:51 PM

4,504 posts

Guys, between Samsung EVO 750 120GB SSD VS Patriot Blast 120GB SSD which one u will choose? Diffrrent price Samsung is more expensive RM40 from Patriot Blast.

This post has been edited by ikan_semilang: Dec 29 2015, 05:52 PM
skylinelover
post Dec 29 2015, 08:53 PM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

QUOTE(sue_cinta @ Dec 28 2015, 01:54 AM)
that's sifoo horns for ya... hahaha...
you say like this must belanja sifoo horns teh tarik tau laugh.gif
horns
post Dec 30 2015, 01:02 AM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Dec 29 2015, 08:53 PM)
you say like this must belanja sifoo horns teh tarik tau laugh.gif
haha.. btw i have made a mistake. since there were 2 posts asking about 750 evo already, so i think i must have missed something out. apparently, there were rumors floating around about samsung 750 evo (it was said that the page for this ssd was accidentally published very briefly then taken down at samsung japan website). here is what i found out:

1. grade - value/ entry-level ssd;
2. controller - samsung mgx; the same one used in 850 evo and large-capacity 850 pro;
3. nand flash - 2d tlc (it was said to be similar to 840 evo)

if the rumor is good, then imo it's a 840 evo with a new controller.

edit: many said the price will be much cheaper. how much cheaper, not sure yet.

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 30 2015, 07:06 AM
ikan_semilang
post Dec 30 2015, 12:24 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 30 2015, 01:02 AM)
haha.. btw i have made a mistake. since there were 2 posts asking about 750 evo already, so i think i must have missed something out. apparently, there were rumors floating around about samsung 750 evo (it was said that the page for this ssd was accidentally published very briefly then taken down at samsung japan website). here is what i found out:

1. grade - value/ entry-level ssd;
2. controller - samsung mgx; the same one used in 850 evo and large-capacity 850 pro;
3. nand flash - 2d tlc (it was said to be similar to 840 evo)

if the rumor is good, then imo it's a 840 evo with a new controller.

edit: many said the price will be much cheaper. how much cheaper, not sure yet.
Samsung 750 EVO 120GB RM225 inclusive 6% GST
bonez_xy
post Dec 30 2015, 01:57 PM

523 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 30 2015, 12:24 PM)
can i know where u can get for that price rclxm9.gif rclxm9.gif
ikan_semilang
post Dec 30 2015, 02:02 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(bonez_xy @ Dec 30 2015, 01:57 PM)
can i know where u can get for that price  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
It's a good deal? tongue.gif
kizwan
post Dec 30 2015, 02:16 PM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 30 2015, 02:02 PM)
It's a good deal? tongue.gif
Sounds about right for 120GB.
sue_cinta
post Dec 30 2015, 03:16 PM

315 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 28 2015, 09:21 AM)
wow. considering weak ringgit and all, it's really a damn good deal.
yeah ssd raid0 should speed up productivity in your work. however, why do you need to remove hdds? i think it's still better to have a fixed hdd for data storage. (much faster than external storage)

although it doesn't matter, your ramdisk is kind of slow. (maybe due to single-channel mode) but how come your ram is running at single-channel mode? 16gb should be 2x8gb no? i thought with a pair of ram should run at dual-channel mode. the seq. speeds of my laptop with ddr3 1600mhz is running at 9k read, 12k write:

on a side note about single-channel, dual-channel and quad-channel modes in ram, tbh their performance is about the same in common usage. yeah benchmarks will show otherwise, but most users don't buy computers just to run benchmarks.

.. and imo it's better for you to find time to fix the mobo.
not all of em.. just the all 1TB hdds... there's a single 3TB in there thought... storage for all my videos and images for work...

yes, 2x8GB stick... but, like i said earlier...i had a broken slots #3 & #4 so, i'm not being able to run a dual-channel mode... tongue.gif

i had found the replacement for my old LGA1156 mobo... maybe after replace it into my rig, i'm gonna sent the mobo thought...
horns
post Dec 30 2015, 07:16 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 30 2015, 12:24 PM)
oh so it's here now. it should be a good news for many imo. the price is competitive. what about the price of other capacities?

QUOTE(sue_cinta @ Dec 30 2015, 03:16 PM)
not all of em.. just the all 1TB hdds... there's a single 3TB in there thought... storage for all my videos and images for work...

yes, 2x8GB stick... but, like i said earlier...i had a broken slots #3 & #4 so, i'm not being able to run a dual-channel mode... tongue.gif

i had found the replacement for my old LGA1156 mobo... maybe after replace it into my rig, i'm gonna sent the mobo thought...
oh haha

yeah now i understand why you got single-channel mode lol!

i got some ssd370s 256gb for some work thing. now do a disk-to-disk cloning with its ssd scope.
ikan_semilang
post Dec 30 2015, 07:17 PM

4,504 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 30 2015, 07:16 PM)
oh so it's here now. it should be a good news for many imo. the price is competitive. what about the price of other capacities?
oh haha

yeah now i understand why you got single-channel mode lol!

i got some ssd370s 256gb for some work thing. now do a disk-to-disk cloning with its ssd scope.
For at the moment got 120gb only..
horns
post Dec 30 2015, 07:25 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(ikan_semilang @ Dec 30 2015, 07:17 PM)
For at the moment got 120gb only..
oh ok. hopefully 240gb and up will follow very soon biggrin.gif imo it's the sign of ssd price dropping next year onward.

edit: cloning done. well, i must say, the system cloning feature in transcend ssd scope is very straight forward, and the migration (w10 home single language) was painless. i connected ssd370s to the laptop via sata usb adapter. ran ssd scope, and choose system cloning, then select os partition only. i have resized the os partition to become smaller than my ssd (via disk management), so it started straight away. after the cloning was complete, shut down the computer, and just replace the stock hdd with ssd and boot. everything is good.

performance wise, it's good enough. for those who use performance drives regularly, you will definitely notice performance differences. imo, it's still good enough for common use.

This post has been edited by horns: Dec 30 2015, 08:49 PM
skylinelover
post Jan 2 2016, 10:13 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,245 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Dec 30 2015, 07:25 PM)
oh ok. hopefully 240gb and up will follow very soon biggrin.gif imo it's the sign of ssd price dropping next year onward.
I am hoping 1tb ssd can get leas than 1k laugh.gif brows.gif i will grab it 4 sure
horns
post Jan 2 2016, 12:28 PM

\m/
3,038 posts

QUOTE(skylinelover @ Jan 2 2016, 10:13 AM)
I am hoping 1tb ssd can get leas than 1k laugh.gif brows.gif i will grab it 4 sure
maybe this will be true this or next year. with tlc nand, it will be available sooner or later. note that while tlc ssds are taking over and making ssd price much more affordable, mlc ssds are expected to get more expensive in near future.

for most users, it's not that important, as long as tlc chip performance is improved to become close to mlc.

MichaelJohn
post Jan 2 2016, 12:53 PM

Pan Paka Pan <3
2,514 posts

guys, so i kinda noticed that my motherboard (Asus Maximus VII Gene) has a M.2 slot (picture below), was wondering are there any real differences
in performance when comparing between both M.2 vs standard sata ssd? (apart from speed ofc).

If yes, i might be inclined on using that opportunity and buying a M.2 stick myself. Do you have any recommendation on the models around 120GB range?

Thanks notworthy.gif

This post has been edited by MichaelJohn: Jan 2 2016, 12:54 PM

126 Pages « < 47 48 49 50 51 > » Top

0.0282sec    0.18    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 09:20 AM