Planted Aquarium V14

junsheng
post Mar 3 2021, 08:47 AM

---> pokemon ftw <---
1,257 posts

QUOTE(tachlio @ Mar 1 2021, 10:11 PM)
Yes, not cheap and cant find in Msia also.
Thereby looking althernaive now.

I got a decent light as well Chihiros RGB A601 for my dual cube tank setup.

Been bought some normal black aquarium sticker, really dont like the effect, so looking for better quality one
any film would be fine, even those blackout film for windows

aquarium ones are usually thicker and softer, no much care needed,
most gives a lot mishandling leeway, but expensive
windows film its cheaper, you can buy a lot, if fail try again
but you need to be gentle with it, cause if folded line will appear

if you are looking for blackout, generally all are the same after 5-6 days of drying period

K-o-E
post Mar 3 2021, 12:37 PM

279 posts

Can someone identify this moss please. Thanks! Sorry for the blurred image..i had to crop it down to size

brapa?
post Mar 3 2021, 04:14 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(Clueless07 @ Mar 1 2021, 09:34 AM)
Bro... why so much work. the soil is not cheap but you will need like 3-5 liter?
just buy it off the self.

Aquascaping got too many variables...you dont want to spend too much effort on DIY soil.
later if things tak jadi-  you can at least rule out the soil and move on to others.

things like filter, fert, CO2 lights etc can change easily. how are you gonna change the soil with out destroying all the scape?
ya
i agree soil is the most messy part
like i m asking for trouble haha..
this is making me nervous actually
i tinkered with it b4
& caused an algae bloom

but i got itchy hands unfortunately
wana try the cheap method 1st haha
i like to experiment & try things actually
thats partt of the fun for me
i read feedback that the real soil can last a long time
compared to artificial aquasoil need replacement after 1yr
actually can insert fert tabs if need further enrichment
i plan to make my own tabs from osmocote fertiliser
for me a bit here & there
adds up a lot
this is not a cheap hobby ayoo

btw were u mentioning about ro system last time ?
just to share
i just bought a cheap vontron
the tds is only 1
compared to tesco ro is 9

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 1 2021, 04:39 PM)
Well, in dirted planted tank, the soil we use will make the water cloudy. That is why you will need to add cap which is one inch of fine gravel. There is no need to mix with gravel because dirt/organic soil (compost/top soil/potting soil) are cheap. It is very easy, not complicated at all; one inch of organic soil & one inch of fine gravel.

There are several other ways to prepare the organic soil like bake it in oven or microwave oven. There also another method like mixing it with clay. But you can skip these.

I don't know the composition of red potting soil. So I cannot recommend it. There is also organic soil labeled with "nursery soil" which you can use.

I would advice you to try this in nano tank, to get the experience. Go with dutch style.
You can see my dirted low tech tank in early days, using organic compost soil. See how well the two stem plants grows, under 10 days & after 28 days; bacopa caroliniana & ludwigia sp. 'dark orange'. Just ignore other plants that I tried to grow underwater. The moss & hairgrass failed because I was lazy & didn't care the tank properly, allowing algae to take over.

This is [url=https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php showtopic=3465888&view=findpost&p=94957632]my first trim[/url]. See how healthy those stem plants are.
glad to know someone here with 1st hand knowledge
for soil capping
can i use the existing 2mm aquasoil ?
or does fine gravel mean fine sand ?
my worry is the soil escaping or slowly leaking
maybe i will go for 1.5" soil
give the plants more nutrition

i did further reading
it seems some people have used red soil & loam
& various other types soil
the trick is to avoid too much organics
but can be reduced
as u described previously by sifting
will certainly not do some baking
i think i wont dare use the oven for food after that
hahaha

as for clay
i got bentonite
maybe will mix a bit
as i tested it on the water directly
really helped the water clarity
& the shrimps seem ok too

yr 2nd foto
i guess the result speaks for itself
the plants do look thick & plush
do u use co2 or add any npk ?

tehoice
post Mar 5 2021, 11:10 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(K-o-E @ Mar 3 2021, 12:37 PM)
Can someone identify this moss please. Thanks! Sorry for the blurred image..i had to crop it down to size

this look like mini pelia to me.
tehoice
post Mar 5 2021, 11:18 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(brapa? @ Mar 3 2021, 04:14 PM)
ya
i agree soil is the most messy part
like i m asking for trouble haha..
this is making me nervous actually
i tinkered with it b4
& caused an algae bloom

but i got itchy hands unfortunately
wana try the cheap method 1st haha
i like to experiment & try things actually
thats partt of the fun for me
i read feedback that the real soil can last a long time
compared to artificial aquasoil need replacement after 1yr
actually can insert fert tabs if need further enrichment
i plan to make my own tabs from osmocote fertiliser
for me a bit here & there
adds up a lot
this is not a cheap hobby ayoo

btw were u mentioning about ro system last time ?
just to share
i just bought a cheap vontron
the tds is only 1
compared to tesco ro is 9
glad to know someone here with 1st hand knowledge
for soil capping
can i use the existing 2mm aquasoil ?
or does fine gravel mean fine sand ?
my worry is the soil escaping or slowly leaking
maybe i will go for 1.5" soil
give the plants more nutrition

i did further reading
it seems some people have used red soil & loam
& various other types soil
the trick is to avoid too much organics
but can be reduced
as u described previously by sifting
will certainly not do some baking
i think i wont dare use the oven for food after that
hahaha

as for clay
i got bentonite
maybe will mix a bit
as i tested it on the water directly
really helped the water clarity
& the shrimps seem ok too

yr 2nd foto
i think you are putting a bit too much of effort on the DIY soil. which i don't think you should do this.
unless you are absolutely sure what you are doing, otherwise not suggested as you wont know where gone wrong if things didnt turn out to be good.
like others said, too many variable in a planted tank may cause you trouble and you may not be able to find out what's the real issue if you keep creating issues without know which are the real issues.
ferts those things you can still change and then observe, but soil? you going to rescape every time when it fails?

just not worth the hassle.
by the way ADA Amazonia soils can last very very very long. Easily 5 years in the same tank.

On the RO water, no need to be so particular about all those brands and what not, if you need only in small quantity, buy those bottled ones, just buy a bottle and test it first before getting in bulk, anything below 10 TDS is good enough. if you need in big volume, getting a RO water kit is much sustainable way.

I think you are focusing on the unnecessary things.

lastly, why do you need RO water in a planted tank? If for shrimp tank, then yes, understandable. but generally speaking, aquatic plants won't thrive in a RO water tank.

tehoice
post Mar 5 2021, 11:26 AM

5,529 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Feb 22 2021, 03:21 PM)
My tank is standard tank. I mean it is not standard size for planted aquarium but standard. 60x30x30 cm or 2 x 1 x 1 feet.

Btw I want to ask about my fertilizing routine. Right now I'm dosing Aquaforest AF Macro three times a week.

This is manufacturer data:-
1 ml in 10 l of aquarium water will raise levels:

N Nitrogen 7,0 mg/l (ppm)
P Phosphorus 0,3 mg/l (ppm)
K Potassium 7,00 mg/l (ppm)
Mg Magnesium 0,9 mg/l (ppm)
Ca Calcium 0,2 mg/l (ppm) 

So I have been dosing around 3 ml for three times a week

3 ml in 56 l of aquarium water will raise levels:

N Nitrogen = 3 * 7.0 * (10 / 56) = 3.75 mg/l (ppm)
P Phosphorus = 3 * 0.3 * (10 / 56) = 0.16 mg/l (ppm)
K Potassium = 3 * 7.00 * (10 / 56) = 3.75 mg/l (ppm)
Mg Magnesium = 3 * 0.9 * (10 / 56) = 0.48 mg/l (ppm)
Ca Calcium = 3 * 0.2 * (10 / 56) = 0.11 mg/l (ppm) 

So, for phosphorus, 3 * 0.16 = 0.48 ppm a week. That is low right? Should I increase the dosage? I do see slow growth in one of my tank but not in bad way. It just too slow or too lean for my taste & nitrate is high, around 40 ppm (weekly partial water change). I just want to boost it a little bit & this also will help increase nitrate uptake. I know all in one macro is not the best. smile.gif
how's your dosing regime going bro?
I am using the Seachem recommended dose and don't really have any algae issue.
I now dose almost everything, except for Seachem Advance which i don't think it is necessary.

By the way, why is one in one macro fert is not as good as individual dosing? i start getting a bit lazy to dose separately ady. might even consider dosing the 2hr aquarist all-in-one fert once my existing ferts finished. lol.
kizwan
post Mar 6 2021, 01:57 AM

BÖw DÖwn TÖ LÖrd PringlËs
826 posts

QUOTE(brapa? @ Mar 3 2021, 04:14 PM)
yr 2nd foto
Don't mix anything. Keep it simple.

Back then, no CO2 & no ferts. Right now I dose ferts because phosphate somehow low or limited.

I have few extra stem plants after trim that I don't want to throw away. So, here it is mini planted aquarium using oat container. Using "free peat" brand organic soil. 😁 It is so simple, there is no need to mix with anything.

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 5 2021, 11:26 AM)
how's your dosing regime going bro?
I am using the Seachem recommended dose and don't really have any algae issue.
I now dose almost everything, except for Seachem Advance which i don't think it is necessary.

By the way, why is one in one macro fert is not as good as individual dosing? i start getting a bit lazy to dose separately ady. might even consider dosing the 2hr aquarist all-in-one fert once my existing ferts finished. lol.
For Flourish, I dose using recommended dosage two times a week. For macro, I use Aquaforest AF Macro, dosing everyday except Sunday. In one of my tank, I need to double the dosage for macro because the plant behaved like phosphate is limited especially bacopa caroliniana growth are slow. After two weeks using this dosing regime, I can see new & bigger new leaves on bacopa caroliniana.

In my tank that I killed most plants in it after bleach dip earlier this year, I'm having problem getting new plant growing roots. I don't know what's wrong. I already add root tabs. The stem plants are growing though, just problem with roots not developing. The Ludwigia sp. 'Dark Orange' are not healthy though where old leaves damaged either partial melting becauae in new environment or necrosis. The new leaves show sign of iron deficiency; light green with dark vein. Both of my tanks is in same dosing regime except in this problematic tank, single dosage for macro. Let's give this tank a couple of more weeks if it can recover.

Not good in a way you cannot tune it. For example, nitrate is high but phosphate is low. The best way to deal with nitrate in this case is to increase phosphate. With all in one, you increase everything. I use all in one because buying individually are too much for me. 😁

This post has been edited by kizwan: Mar 6 2021, 09:34 AM
brapa?
post Mar 6 2021, 11:11 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 5 2021, 11:18 AM)
i think you are putting a bit too much of effort on the DIY soil. which i don't think you should do this.
unless you are absolutely sure what you are doing, otherwise not suggested as you wont know where gone wrong if things didnt turn out to be good.
like others said, too many variable in a planted tank may cause you trouble and you may not be able to find out what's the real issue if you keep creating issues without know which are the real issues.
ferts those things you can still change and then observe, but soil? you going to rescape every time when it fails?

just not worth the hassle.
by the way ADA Amazonia soils can last very very very long. Easily 5 years in the same tank.

On the RO water, no need to be so particular about all those brands and what not, if you need only in small quantity, buy those bottled ones, just buy a bottle and test it first before getting in bulk, anything below 10 TDS is good enough. if you need in big volume, getting a RO water kit is much sustainable way.

I think you are focusing on the unnecessary things.

lastly, why do you need RO water in a planted tank? If for shrimp tank, then yes, understandable. but generally speaking, aquatic plants won't thrive in a RO water tank.
oh
right now i have an existing shrimp tank
so i m using the ro for them

oh tx for the clarification on the ada soil
seems someone claim its not lasting

as i m into gardening
i wanna do water gardening this time hahaa..
this new tank will be a planted one
once stabilised
i will see if it can be adapted for fish / crustacean

since i m just starting into this aqua thing
i m very curious to try different things
ya
the danger is there
but if i dont try now
i think after settling into this hobby
i will b too lazy to try new things later

the more i do my research
the more confident i feel i can handle it

1 of the videos i stumbled on
he did some comparison of the soils

This post has been edited by brapa?: Mar 6 2021, 11:13 PM
brapa?
post Mar 7 2021, 11:15 AM

154 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 6 2021, 01:57 AM)
Don't mix anything. Keep it simple.

Back then, no CO2 & no ferts. Right now I dose ferts because phosphate somehow low or limited.

I have few extra stem plants after trim that I don't want to throw away. So, here it is mini planted aquarium using oat container. Using "free peat" brand organic soil. 😁 It is so simple, there is no need to mix with anything.
ayo
next time got xtra plants
can throw my way laugh.gif

wanna ask ..
is it advisable to do slope with earth ?
will it b too soft to stand ?
kizwan
post Mar 7 2021, 03:02 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(brapa? @ Mar 7 2021, 11:15 AM)
ayo
next time got xtra plants
can throw my way laugh.gif

wanna ask ..
is it advisable to do slope with earth ?
will it b too soft to stand ?
I think standard slope like lower in the front & higher in the back, I think it is doable as long as you don't have any fish that like to dig into the soil.

Have you read this yet?
https://barrreport.com/threads/earth-worm-c...ts-how-to.5533/

This post has been edited by kizwan: Mar 7 2021, 04:04 PM
brapa?
post Mar 7 2021, 11:10 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 7 2021, 03:02 PM)
I think standard slope like lower in the front & higher in the back, I think it is doable as long as you don't have any fish that like to dig into the soil.

Have you read this yet?
https://barrreport.com/threads/earth-worm-c...ts-how-to.5533/
havent seen this b4
tx for sharing
very detailed & food for thought

thats what i'm afraid of
washing & cooking haha..
ayoyo
also
wont this kill off the beneficial bacteria
within the worm casting ?
or other enzyme or nutrients
its supposed to b a 'living' nutrient
hmm.gif

btw
referring to post 4048
the guy said wetting & drying to remineralise
is no more needed as its an old concept
it was in 1 of his videos
will need to do more reading up on this ..
K-o-E
post Mar 8 2021, 11:04 AM

279 posts

QUOTE(tehoice @ Mar 5 2021, 11:10 AM)
this look like mini pelia to me.
Thanks man!
kizwan
post Mar 8 2021, 01:43 PM

826 posts

QUOTE(brapa? @ Mar 7 2021, 11:10 PM)
havent seen this b4
tx for sharing
very detailed & food for thought

thats what i'm afraid of
washing & cooking haha..
ayoyo
also
wont this kill off the beneficial bacteria
within the worm casting ?
or other enzyme or nutrients
its supposed to b a 'living' nutrient
hmm.gif

btw
referring to post 4048
the guy said wetting & drying to remineralise
is no more needed as its an old concept
it was in 1 of his videos
will need to do more reading up on this ..
I've never tried worm casting before, so I can't comment but usually there's more than one option to prepare the substrate. Like dirt (organic soil), when I first learned about it, you need to bake it, you need to add clay to it but when I explore further, actually I don't need to do all that. That's what works for them, so they share it. Try google more, see if there's other people that use worm casting without complex step to prepare them. The link to a website that I post before, doesn't say anything about preparing them.

BTW, I bought cheap root tabs like RM15 for 30 (+10 free = 40) root tabs from Shopee. Inside the capsules, it's looks like osmocote.

This post has been edited by kizwan: Mar 8 2021, 01:44 PM
brapa?
post Mar 8 2021, 11:09 PM

154 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 8 2021, 01:43 PM)
I've never tried worm casting before, so I can't comment but usually there's more than one option to prepare the substrate. Like dirt (organic soil), when I first learned about it, you need to bake it, you need to add clay to it but when I explore further, actually I don't need to do all that. That's what works for them, so they share it. Try google more, see if there's other people that use worm casting without complex step to prepare them. The link to a website that I post before, doesn't say anything about preparing them.

BTW, I bought cheap root tabs like RM15 for 30 (+10 free = 40) root tabs from Shopee. Inside the capsules, it's looks like osmocote.

ayoh
all this research & reading text
making me dizzy
i think will play with my shrimps
for time being blush.gif

yah ah..
looks like osmocote
is the capsule necessary ?
mayb easier to insert into soil hmm.gif
maybe u can source for the capsules
& insert the osmocote ourself
save some $$
but maybe not worth the time
many things sold can diy actually
but mark up when sellers package nicely

i bought the soy hulls tehoice recommend
frm feedstock supplieer
1 big bag only rm5
so happy
but my shrimps dang choosy
eat a bit then ciao

unequalteck
post Mar 10 2021, 02:05 PM

Custom member title
2,690 posts

just started aquarium few days ago. before putting fish inside, just want to know, beside anti chlorine, what else i need to do with the water?
frankzane
post Mar 10 2021, 04:47 PM

664 posts

QUOTE(kizwan @ Mar 8 2021, 01:43 PM)

Is this unbranded fert any good?
tachlio
post Mar 11 2021, 04:38 PM

de~sign "ing"
3,102 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Mar 10 2021, 02:05 PM)
just started aquarium few days ago. before putting fish inside, just want to know, beside anti chlorine, what else i need to do with the water?
Just normal fish tank, not plant tank right?
Normally you can buy some cheap fish and try, once you start feeding fish food, the tank bacteria will start growing. (could took 2week to month)
A good tank able cycle Ammonia, Nitrate, Nitride by it own... Market do had tester for it

but if just normal fish tank, nothing need to worry. Chlorine will auto gone after few day if you let the pump cycle....

Jenglot
post Mar 12 2021, 09:28 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(Wonka @ Feb 28 2021, 08:08 PM)
Hi all,
I have a CO2 tank to let go tho. Anyone know where can I post for sales?

how much?

Jenglot
post Mar 12 2021, 09:31 AM

308 posts

QUOTE(unequalteck @ Mar 10 2021, 02:05 PM)
BB starter. what type of filter u using? no soil/sand?
Wonka
post Mar 12 2021, 03:21 PM

U n k o ™
1,643 posts

QUOTE(Jenglot @ Mar 12 2021, 09:28 AM)
how much?
Sorry sir its sold smile.gif

214 Pages « < 201 202 203 204 205 > » Top

0.0438sec    0.38    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:39 PM