AMD Radeon™ Discussion V12, Latest - 14.12 | WHQL - 14.12
Jan 21 2015, 12:47 PM
11,245 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Awww bad moves 4 the amd users
Jan 21 2015, 01:15 PM
1,943 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
Jan 21 2015, 07:40 PM
2,337 posts Joined: Dec 2008 From: KING CANNEL JB |
Jan 21 2015, 07:42 PM
so R9 380X will be out on Q2 2015... and is 45% faster R9 290X...
http://www.custompcreview.com/news/amd-rad...5-launch/22803/ |
Jan 21 2015, 07:59 PM
1,294 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: Taman Rasa Sayang, Cheras |
QUOTE(Ryeeson @ Jan 21 2015, 07:09 AM) Guys, Set your fan mode to maximum and do the benchmark tests again, try furmark and see . Wow the temp reaches 94c Have you ever experience your r9 290 fan limits its fan speed? Mine only run at 1070rpm max. This will cause the core to declock from 947mhz to about 300mhz at94 degree C temp. I have tried with afterburner... Flash performance bios, switch to uber, enable overdrive... And etc. This gc of mine seem defected with maximum fan speed at 1070 rpm. I know the fan can spin up to 2650rpm at max. When booting, I can hear the fan spin at higher rpm but when doing uningine test, or playing game, it's just not responding to the increases of temp. |
Jan 21 2015, 10:22 PM
11,245 posts Joined: Jul 2005 |
Jan 22 2015, 09:47 AM
1,604 posts Joined: Oct 2004 From: Seremban |
QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jan 21 2015, 07:42 PM) so R9 380X will be out on Q2 2015... and is 45% faster R9 290X... Any idea how much it will sell for? I've been looking for an upgrade for my 7850 and as an AMD fanboy, its natural that I'll be looking for and AMD card. But right now nothing beats the GTX970 for my budget and I wonder if it is worth the wait. http://www.custompcreview.com/news/amd-rad...5-launch/22803/ Whild the TDP is not really an issue for me, I have only 2 slots to fit in the card since I got a PCIe sound card. And right now most 290x will occupy more than 2 slots. Judging from the allegedly leaked 300 series benchmarks, it seems that the TDP is quite low and by right a 2 slot cooler should be enough. Then again, it will only ship out in Q2, I don't know if I can wait that long and I don't know it will be justified since I have no plans to go beyond 1080p 60Hz gaming. Any thoughts? |
Jan 22 2015, 10:08 AM
351 posts Joined: Sep 2010 From: alor setar, kedah |
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jan 22 2015, 09:47 AM) Any idea how much it will sell for? I've been looking for an upgrade for my 7850 and as an AMD fanboy, its natural that I'll be looking for and AMD card. But right now nothing beats the GTX970 for my budget and I wonder if it is worth the wait. i think the price will be a slightly lower than the price of gtx 980/970.. thats what amd always did with its previous cards. i suggest you wait a little bit more for the new amd cards.. trust me it is worth it. Or if you still wanna upgrade now, and TDP is not your prob, look for r9 290x lightning.. its totally beat gtx970 and the price right now really nice around rm1.2k++.. eh you using matx board? Whild the TDP is not really an issue for me, I have only 2 slots to fit in the card since I got a PCIe sound card. And right now most 290x will occupy more than 2 slots. Judging from the allegedly leaked 300 series benchmarks, it seems that the TDP is quite low and by right a 2 slot cooler should be enough. Then again, it will only ship out in Q2, I don't know if I can wait that long and I don't know it will be justified since I have no plans to go beyond 1080p 60Hz gaming. Any thoughts? |
Jan 22 2015, 10:34 AM
I am using this mobo:
http://www.gigabyte.my/products/product-pa...spx?pid=4491#ov I don't remember it quite clearly but I remember that the sound card is so close to the GPU and don't think anything thicker than 2 slot cooler can fit. But I will check it once I get home. |
Jan 22 2015, 10:55 AM
1,294 posts Joined: Feb 2012 From: Taman Rasa Sayang, Cheras |
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jan 22 2015, 10:34 AM) I am using this mobo: Depends on your sound card, if yours is Asus Xonar DX like mine which uses PCIE, you can move the card to the bottom slot. But if use PCI then yeah you don't have much space to work with.http://www.gigabyte.my/products/product-pa...spx?pid=4491#ov I don't remember it quite clearly but I remember that the sound card is so close to the GPU and don't think anything thicker than 2 slot cooler can fit. But I will check it once I get home. |
Jan 22 2015, 11:02 AM
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jan 22 2015, 10:34 AM) I am using this mobo: your mobo have 4 pcie slot.. the top one will be used for 3 slotted gpu and the last one can be use for your sound card. its going to be a bit tight but it should fit. dont worry about the temp, sound card is not big and also generate small heat so it will not suffocate the gpu. http://www.gigabyte.my/products/product-pa...spx?pid=4491#ov I don't remember it quite clearly but I remember that the sound card is so close to the GPU and don't think anything thicker than 2 slot cooler can fit. But I will check it once I get home. and also you can try put in you sound card in the last two pci slot of your mobo.. someone told me before that pcie x2/x1 card such as network or sound card can be use with old pci slot.. not sure its true or not.. haven't tried myself. |
Jan 22 2015, 11:44 AM
So you guys are saying that my PCIe sound card can be fitted into the PCIe slot meant for GPU? I never tried that..
Jan 22 2015, 12:12 PM
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jan 22 2015, 11:44 AM) So you guys are saying that my PCIe sound card can be fitted into the PCIe slot meant for GPU? I never tried that.. yeah your pcie sound card can be fitted into the 'long' pcie slot no problem.. pcie x1/x2/x4 card can be fit into the pcie x16 slot for sure.edit: but of course this will sacrifice your option to put 2nd gpu into the rig This post has been edited by arifhasim85: Jan 22 2015, 12:13 PM |
Jan 22 2015, 02:44 PM
1,943 posts Joined: Apr 2005 |
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jan 22 2015, 10:34 AM) I am using this mobo: Some high performance coolers for 290/290X only uses 2 slot like the Sapphire Tri-Xhttp://www.gigabyte.my/products/product-pa...spx?pid=4491#ov I don't remember it quite clearly but I remember that the sound card is so close to the GPU and don't think anything thicker than 2 slot cooler can fit. But I will check it once I get home. |
Jan 22 2015, 09:24 PM
35 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
Hi all, I'm currently a single HD 7870 user and a previous HD7870 Crossfire user (Asus + sapphire, Asus 7870 died a few months ago). I would like to upgrade my GPU before our grand GST arrive.
Would 290X lightning still be a viable choice? since the competitor green camp been quite aggressive lately. |
Jan 22 2015, 11:50 PM
6,612 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tomorrow |
QUOTE(wongkoewei @ Jan 22 2015, 09:24 PM) Hi all, I'm currently a single HD 7870 user and a previous HD7870 Crossfire user (Asus + sapphire, Asus 7870 died a few months ago). I would like to upgrade my GPU before our grand GST arrive. Can't go wrong with the Lightning if you can still get it around 1.2k-1.3k, what's your PSU though?Would 290X lightning still be a viable choice? since the competitor green camp been quite aggressive lately. |
Jan 23 2015, 12:44 AM
QUOTE(faidz85 @ Jan 22 2015, 09:47 AM) Any idea how much it will sell for? I've been looking for an upgrade for my 7850 and as an AMD fanboy, its natural that I'll be looking for and AMD card. But right now nothing beats the GTX970 for my budget and I wonder if it is worth the wait. PRice R9 380X .. to be honest i think is going to be higher than GTX 970 Why i say so Cause the Cooling Hybrid.. than cost surely be a bit higher than normal.. ANd when Gpu been call "kinF of The Hill" or something sound like suppose to be AMD first Flagship and it suppose to counter GTX 970/980 in performance... and i dun recommend Hybrid cooling.. need more space for GPU AIO Cooling (apply only too ppl with small/medium case and average joe gamer)Whild the TDP is not really an issue for me, I have only 2 slots to fit in the card since I got a PCIe sound card. And right now most 290x will occupy more than 2 slots. Judging from the allegedly leaked 300 series benchmarks, it seems that the TDP is quite low and by right a 2 slot cooler should be enough. Then again, it will only ship out in Q2, I don't know if I can wait that long and I don't know it will be justified since I have no plans to go beyond 1080p 60Hz gaming. Any thoughts? Good your not be dumb play by the Low TDP... hahaha.. seriously.. both R9 290X GTX 980 ON LOAD both running 350-390 Watts.. Monthly bill barely see the effect.. check out review show Load TDP... see not much different Load TDP.. http://www.tweaktown.com/reviews/6816/asus...index16.html (note : look at power consumption) way they test is very accurate as it direct power measurement from main socket power draw.. x wanna beat GTX 970 go for Sapphire R9 290X TriX OC is 2 slot Gpu BUT ! make sure good/Efficient Power Supply UPDATE : well wait end of Febuary.. 2015 hmm This post has been edited by Unseen83: Jan 23 2015, 12:54 AM |
Jan 23 2015, 01:12 AM
6,612 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Tomorrow |
QUOTE(Unseen83 @ Jan 23 2015, 12:44 AM) More like April at the earliest, Lisa Su confirmed a new card will come on Q2 this year just we don't know which 1 will drop first. Sauce: AMD CEO Confirms Graphics Refresh Coming in Q2 2015 – Rx 300 Series QUOTE AMD’s CEO Lisa Su confirmed in the Q4 earnings call that the company has “very good” graphics products that will begin shipping in Q2 2015. Su revealed that AMD has several product launches planned for “the next couple of quarters” referring to Q2 and Q3 of this year. The bulk of which will land between the April to June time-frame. |
Jan 23 2015, 02:03 AM
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jan 23 2015, 01:12 AM) More like April at the earliest, Lisa Su confirmed a new card will come on Q2 this year just we don't know which 1 will drop first. eh april than eh... well DR.Lisa Su confirm it.. Sauce: AMD CEO Confirms Graphics Refresh Coming in Q2 2015 – Rx 300 Series |
Jan 23 2015, 11:44 AM
35 posts Joined: Nov 2014 |
QUOTE(Acid_RuleZz @ Jan 22 2015, 11:50 PM) Sad fact my current PSU are 620W Cooler Master Silent Pro M2, and it most probably not sufficient to support 290X lightning beast. Planning to buy 850W PSU from either Cooler Master, Seasonic or Silverstone. The most thing i need to consider it 290X + PSU are roughly at GTX 980 price, this make me as the long time ATI/AMD card user feel a bit in dilemma. My options are as below: 1. 290X Lightning + Cooler Master V1000 = 1299+649=1948 2. 290X Lightning + Seasonic X1050 = 1299+795=2094 3. GTX 980 (ASUS/GIGA/MSI) = 2299 4. GTX 980 (Leadtek) = 1999 5. GTX 970 (ASUS/GIGA/MSI) = 1499 6. Sapphire 290X 8GB + CM V1000 = 1699+649 = 2348 Another enquiry, do you think the 8GB VRAM worth the price premium? |
| Change to: | 0.0424sec
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 09:06 PM |