135 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Bottom

Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

Bonescythe
post Jan 5 2015, 03:20 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 5 2015, 02:50 PM)

RHB branch manager also said the same thing..  biggrin.gif
That's why I am not locking any long term FD rates now..

Haha.. Either monthly, or 6mths..

The best is always the last right?
Hahaha
magika
post Jan 5 2015, 03:21 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 5 2015, 02:50 PM)
Ah Goat Sir, monthly interest is for 50 years old and above..  brows.gif

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

Now got all confused already which bank has the higher rate hmm.gif
Got FD maturing middle of the month, yet still not decided on the remainder amount ex EPF portion. rclxub.gif

If BNM raised rates, i better moved my monies overseas, as all hell will break loose considering public debt so high.

This post has been edited by magika: Jan 5 2015, 03:23 PM
Human Nature
post Jan 5 2015, 03:31 PM

- student of human nature -
26,511 posts

Just went to UOB. No new promo yet.
bbgoat
post Jan 5 2015, 03:35 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jan 5 2015, 03:21 PM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

Now got all confused already which bank has the higher rate  hmm.gif
Got FD maturing  middle of the month, yet still not decided on the remainder amount ex EPF portion. rclxub.gif

If BNM raised rates, i better moved my monies overseas, as all hell will break loose considering public debt so high.
Have you read my reply to Ah Boom on young grandfather ? hmm.gif brows.gif

Oh, thank you for your reminder ! Forgot about EPF, need to move some bullets to there. thumbup.gif

Wow, such a drastic action of moving funds out ? brows.gif
magika
post Jan 5 2015, 03:47 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 5 2015, 03:31 PM)
Just went to UOB. No new promo yet.
Is the Christmas promo still available ?

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2015, 03:35 PM)
Have you read my reply to Ah Boom on young grandfather ?  hmm.gif  brows.gif

Oh, thank you for your reminder ! Forgot about EPF, need to move some bullets to there.  thumbup.gif

Wow, such a drastic action of moving funds out ?  brows.gif
sweat.gif

Human Nature
post Jan 5 2015, 04:21 PM

- student of human nature -
26,511 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jan 5 2015, 03:47 PM)
Is the Christmas promo still available ?
sweat.gif
Yup, both the CNY and Christmas promo are still available
magika
post Jan 5 2015, 04:24 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 5 2015, 04:21 PM)
Thanks. notworthy.gif
So since 4.20% for 12 months is the highest, then will deposit it there.

bbgoat
post Jan 5 2015, 04:29 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(magika @ Jan 5 2015, 04:24 PM)
Thanks. notworthy.gif
So since 4.20% for 12 months is the highest, then will deposit it there.
You lucky soul, I was thinking that the 4.2% not available. Will put some bullets there soon ! rclxms.gif thumbup.gif
magika
post Jan 5 2015, 04:35 PM

2,605 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2015, 04:29 PM)
You lucky soul, I was thinking that the 4.2% not available. Will put some bullets there soon !  rclxms.gif  thumbup.gif
vmad.gif
Called UOB Christmas FD promo extended until 11 January 2015. Mine maturity date only middle of the month.

cherroy
post Jan 5 2015, 04:55 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 4 2015, 05:32 PM)
Brw.. i think around march will see opr hike again smile.gif

Let's see
With current situation unfolding, I would say very unlikely.

Economy very slow out there, export slow down, GDP trending lower.
Goods price, steel, oil, dropping, property price more and less stagnant, inflation threat is reducing.
Household debt growth already slow down significantly.

You don't hike rate when economy growth is trending lower.
Bonescythe
post Jan 5 2015, 04:59 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 5 2015, 04:55 PM)
With current situation unfolding, I would say very unlikely.

Economy very slow out there, export slow down, GDP trending lower.
Goods price, steel, oil, dropping, property price more and less stagnant, inflation threat is reducing.
Household debt growth already slow down significantly.

You don't hike rate when economy growth is trending lower.
That is the logical thinking..

Can BNM be illogical?

Well, I dunno la.. I just hear based on some source.. Saying will hike OPR again this year.
elea88
post Jan 5 2015, 05:20 PM

4,174 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 5 2015, 03:09 PM)
Ah Boom Sir, I replied to gsc as he has grandson, so assuming that he is eligible for the monthly interest lah.  hmm.gif Unless he is a young grand father <50 yrs old.  tongue.gif
Really, I will be very happy.  biggrin.gif  Some gloomy news that OPR will stay flat for this year.  cry.gif

Thats why I am eyeing 3 yrs 4.5% of AmBank & 2 yrs 4.38% of Affin.  drool.gif My earlier 3 mth & 5 mth FD are maturing now so I can go for the >4% FD's !!  thumbup.gif
I just put in ALLIANCE 4% for 1 yr.. .and interest credited monthly to savings pass book.
I hv some old FD due soon.. maybe will go for AFFIN 2 yrs.

At a blink of an eye all my HLB FD 5% from 5 yrs ago will be due early this year.. time Really flies....

any other better rates around?
cybpsych
post Jan 5 2015, 05:25 PM

---------------------
65,263 posts

QUOTE(elea88 @ Jan 5 2015, 05:20 PM)
I just put in ALLIANCE 4% for 1 yr.. .and interest credited monthly to savings pass book.
I hv some old FD due soon.. maybe will go for AFFIN 2 yrs.

At a blink of an eye all my HLB FD 5% from 5 yrs ago will be due early this year.. time Really flies....

any other better rates around?
depends on your fund usage for the coming 2-3 years ahead.

if there's no immediate use of the fund. considering you did place at HLB 5yrs 5% rate, Ambank's 3yrs 4.5% or Affin 2yrs 4.38% would be your best choice.
Bonescythe
post Jan 5 2015, 05:41 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

1 fact in 2015 tat we cannot run away.

the US will raise rate this year.

and their monetary policy will have global effect.. now usd 1 = myr 3.54

when rates hike.. probably become 3.70 3.80...

no choice but to hike rates to preserve money in malaysia.. if not, more outflow.
nexona88
post Jan 5 2015, 05:46 PM

The Royal Club Member
48,418 posts

wah suddenly Bonescythe active in FD thread tongue.gif need to park some $$ temporary in FD before buying spree rclxm9.gif
MGM
post Jan 5 2015, 05:49 PM

18,398 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 5 2015, 12:46 PM)
Bro, whenever you do post, I learn something from you  notworthy.gif

Yeah, you are right about PBB Step Up. I think MBB step up promos also same but their initial month(s) interest rates kind of low.

However, there is also a risk of getting lower interest rate in the case of PBB Step Up where it did mentioned in T&C that future rates are dependent on BLR (now is BR effective 1st January).

Anyway, with USD strengthening, gold price in terms of RM has increased 1% since 2nd Jan.
Bro, thanks for the compliment but it should be credited to fellow forumers who unselfishly shared valuable info here. I am still learning and merely applying what I learned here. I have also learned a lot from your blog and wish how I can write like u.

Today my UOB 6-month 3.65% FD matured and I have moved it to PBB 3-month Stepup FD. Since I do not have any account at PBB, I need to open a SA just to deposit the 3-month interest. 'Wasted' 1 hour each at UOB & PBB.
FDInvestor
post Jan 5 2015, 05:51 PM

104 posts

How should I protect my FD if something unexpected happen to me ?

Vio
post Jan 5 2015, 05:57 PM

829 posts

QUOTE(Ramjade @ Jan 5 2015, 10:21 AM)
I think it means you need to ask PB for the interest than only they will give you the interest. Not sure. Wait for other people to comment.

Well if you don't keep your options open, you will not be able to get the best rates just by sticking with just one bank. Hence this FD promos are called musical chairs because you move your funds from one bank to another to get the best rates.  biggrin.gif
ahh so troublesome . why dont they just give what they are supposed to give.

hmm guess maybe for the time being ambank will be my choice.
haur
post Jan 5 2015, 06:14 PM

99 posts

QUOTE(Human Nature @ Jan 5 2015, 04:21 PM)
Crap....... I thought it had ended. Just went to AM Bank for 4% 6 months at 4.15pm just now. Surprisingly quick, everything done by 4.30!
Bonescythe
post Jan 5 2015, 06:23 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jan 5 2015, 05:46 PM)
wah suddenly Bonescythe active in FD thread  tongue.gif  need to park some $$ temporary in FD before buying spree rclxm9.gif
Patk for1- 2 years also not bad ma smile.gif

135 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 7 > » Top

0.0278sec    0.45    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:20 AM