Fixed Deposit Rates In Malaysia V. No.8, Please Read Post#1 and #2

Bonescythe
post Jan 4 2015, 11:49 AM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(cherroy @ Jan 4 2015, 08:01 AM)
You need to count against the board rate, aka how many "extra" interest earned, not the total FD interest.
100K 6.98% vs board rate 3.25% is extra RM640, as without need to invest in UT, you still easily can get 3.25% 2 months FD out there.

You get extra Rm640 by going into the deal, while incurred front charge of 1.5K (if it is 3%).

I never said it is a waterfish deal, it is a good deal is one original wanted to buy the UT in the first place.

But if one never interest in UT, and solely want the higher FD rate, then it is a different story.
Yea u are right..

good for those with priority on investing in UT first.. then FD is a bonus.

else might not suit the objective
cklimm
post Jan 4 2015, 03:02 PM

2,337 posts

i discovered that Premier Mudharabah Account-i gives 3.15% pa, FD rate for balance more than 50k,
can anyone tell me that the interest is for the full 50k balance or only the amount above 50k?

SOS
bbgoat
post Jan 4 2015, 03:08 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(gsc @ Jan 4 2015, 01:37 AM)
I thought I have seen before in this thread mentioning grandparents can place  Junior FD. Last Dec I went to HL and the counter staff said no. Ended up get my daughter to sign up Junior FD for my granddaughter. I am still interested in the 4.28% with monthly interest credited.  drool.gif
For now, AmBank 3 yrs 4.5% with monthly interest is even better ? hmm.gif
CP88
post Jan 4 2015, 03:12 PM

2,677 posts

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 4 2015, 11:49 AM)
Yea u are right..

good for those with priority on investing in UT first.. then FD is a bonus.

else might not suit the objective
Bones cashing out from KLSE and moving to FD/UT ar? laugh.gif
raulxiver
post Jan 4 2015, 04:12 PM

348 posts

Ambank 4.1% pa need to open casa or need to keep % of FD in casa like affin?
Garroth
post Jan 4 2015, 05:24 PM

46 posts

Guys, do you need to open a PLUS Saving Account with PBB for PB Step Up FD or a Basic Saving Account will suffice?
Bonescythe
post Jan 4 2015, 05:27 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

QUOTE(CP88 @ Jan 4 2015, 03:12 PM)
Bones cashing out from KLSE and moving to FD/UT ar?  laugh.gif
UT then no thank you la
FD ok smile.gif

Well.. just came across such offer ma.. so share here lo since 6.98% for 2 mth is very high indeed..
Bonescythe
post Jan 4 2015, 05:32 PM

One Quarter In...
28,187 posts

Brw.. i think around march will see opr hike again smile.gif

Let's see
wil-i-am
post Jan 4 2015, 05:43 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(cklimm @ Jan 4 2015, 03:02 PM)
i discovered that Premier Mudharabah Account-i gives 3.15% pa, FD rate for balance more than 50k,
can anyone tell me that the interest is for the full 50k balance or only the amount above 50k?
SOS
1st 50k ony
wil-i-am
post Jan 4 2015, 05:47 PM

10,001 posts

QUOTE(raulxiver @ Jan 4 2015, 04:12 PM)
Ambank 4.1% pa need to open casa or need to keep % of FD in casa like affin?
Straight forward deal
MGM
post Jan 4 2015, 06:07 PM

18,399 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 3 2015, 01:40 PM)
gen-x wow, didn't realise conditions are same as 2008! few thoughts come to mind reading your post...

klse started decline in dec 2007 from 1440s all the way down to 860s before starting its rise in iirc jan 2009. I suspect the low fd rates probly motivated locals to buy into the market then? Of some significance, I think looking back, that was also when the US started its QE program. I think read somewhere they have officially ended QE and the Fed chairwoman talk about possibility of upping interest rates later this year? Salvador Dali on BFM radio show mentioned the real KLSE market ie ex-index stocks probly lost 50-60% already, index stocks GLC "cornered" ... will MBB ever go down?

But locally, petrol prices also go down upon free-floating, property market losing steam, looks like BNM got no motivation to raise interest rates

hahaha I so confused ... lock in 3 years or not? If lock in, and KLSE reveals opportunities, premature w/drawal & forego interest earned? If don't lock in, and KLSE languishes neither here nor there, & interest rates get slashed like in 2008/9?

helppp  rclxub.gif
I think the Step-up FD comes in handy for your situation cos it gives reasonably high interest plus u can cash out during the rollover to take opportunity of the stockmarket downturn without forgoing all the interest earned. I am in this situation and considering those Step up FD from PBB.
Yes condition now similar to 2008, except in US interest then was going downwards but now interest should be moving upwards.

This post has been edited by MGM: Jan 4 2015, 06:15 PM
Vio
post Jan 4 2015, 06:14 PM

829 posts

hey guys i've been keeping my FD with PB for quite some years cant really rmb whats the rate, would like to ask, what does the following statement refers to? do i need to check with them? how is it possible for me to check whether interest is paid to my account?

"Bank that non-voluntary credit interest unless appeal
Public Bank (Need to complain to BNM then only pay interest)"

and also seems like ambank is having a very attractive rate for FD, is it wise to change over? ( i do not have any accounts with ambank at the moment)

Ramjade
post Jan 5 2015, 10:21 AM

24,333 posts

QUOTE(Vio @ Jan 4 2015, 06:14 PM)
hey guys i've been keeping my FD with PB for quite some years cant really rmb whats the rate, would like to ask, what does the following statement refers to? do i need to check with them? how is it possible for me to check whether interest is paid to my account?

"Bank that non-voluntary credit interest unless appeal
Public Bank (Need to complain to BNM then only pay interest)"

and also seems like ambank is having a very attractive rate for FD, is it wise to change over? ( i do not have any accounts with ambank at the moment)
I think it means you need to ask PB for the interest than only they will give you the interest. Not sure. Wait for other people to comment.

Well if you don't keep your options open, you will not be able to get the best rates just by sticking with just one bank. Hence this FD promos are called musical chairs because you move your funds from one bank to another to get the best rates. biggrin.gif
cherroy
post Jan 5 2015, 11:09 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Garroth @ Jan 4 2015, 05:24 PM)
Guys, do you need to open a PLUS Saving Account with PBB for PB Step Up FD or a Basic Saving Account will suffice?
Any saving/current account will do as long as can credit in the interest.

But the account name needs to be same with FD account name as far as I was told by the cashier.
cherroy
post Jan 5 2015, 11:10 AM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 4 2015, 06:07 PM)
I think the Step-up FD comes in handy for your situation cos it gives reasonably high interest plus u can cash out during the rollover to take opportunity of the stockmarket downturn without forgoing all the interest earned. I am in this situation and considering those Step up FD from PBB.
Yes condition now similar to 2008, except in US interest then was going downwards but now interest should be moving upwards.
Step Up FD is the good option for one that money is intended for temporarily parking before invest elsewhere.
TSGen-X
post Jan 5 2015, 12:46 PM

Lifetime LYN Member
8,601 posts

QUOTE(MGM @ Jan 4 2015, 06:07 PM)
Bro, whenever you do post, I learn something from you notworthy.gif

Yeah, you are right about PBB Step Up. I think MBB step up promos also same but their initial month(s) interest rates kind of low.

However, there is also a risk of getting lower interest rate in the case of PBB Step Up where it did mentioned in T&C that future rates are dependent on BLR (now is BR effective 1st January).

Anyway, with USD strengthening, gold price in terms of RM has increased 1% since 2nd Jan.
cherroy
post Jan 5 2015, 02:35 PM

25,802 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 5 2015, 12:46 PM)
Bro, whenever you do post, I learn something from you  notworthy.gif

Yeah, you are right about PBB Step Up. I think MBB step up promos also same but their initial month(s) interest rates kind of low.

However, there is also a risk of getting lower interest rate in the case of PBB Step Up where it did mentioned in T&C that future rates are dependent on BLR (now is BR effective 1st January).

Anyway, with USD strengthening, gold price in terms of RM has increased 1% since 2nd Jan.
Rate normally won't have drastic move one, while those step up just 3 months, 6 months for each step, it is unlikely for interest rate to have some significant change within the short tenure that result the step up interest rate is significant difference compared to original stated.

BoomChaCha
post Jan 5 2015, 02:50 PM

2,490 posts

QUOTE(bbgoat @ Jan 4 2015, 03:08 PM)
For now, AmBank 3 yrs 4.5% with monthly interest is even better ?  hmm.gif
Ah Goat Sir, monthly interest is for 50 years old and above.. brows.gif
For below 50 years old, they can get semi yearly interest.

QUOTE(Bonescythe @ Jan 4 2015, 05:32 PM)
Brw.. i think around march will see opr hike again smile.gif

Let's see
RHB branch manager also said the same thing.. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 5 2015, 02:53 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(Gen-X @ Jan 5 2015, 12:46 PM)

Called to Maybank on FD promo, only one is still as reported 1 year 4.12% (step-up). The step up rate is moving slowly, similar to RHB one last year, slowly moving up until final months.

PBB new step up FD of 3.88% for first 3 months is rather attractive. drool.gif Option to drop out if KLSE goes down, other FD promo etc. biggrin.gif
bbgoat
post Jan 5 2015, 03:09 PM

6,614 posts

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 5 2015, 02:50 PM)
Ah Goat Sir, monthly interest is for 50 years old and above..  brows.gif
Ah Boom Sir, I replied to gsc as he has grandson, so assuming that he is eligible for the monthly interest lah. hmm.gif Unless he is a young grand father <50 yrs old. tongue.gif

QUOTE(BoomChaCha @ Jan 5 2015, 02:50 PM)
RHB branch manager also said the same thing..  biggrin.gif
Really, I will be very happy. biggrin.gif Some gloomy news that OPR will stay flat for this year. cry.gif

Thats why I am eyeing 3 yrs 4.5% of AmBank & 2 yrs 4.38% of Affin. drool.gif My earlier 3 mth & 5 mth FD are maturing now so I can go for the >4% FD's !! thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bbgoat: Jan 5 2015, 03:13 PM

135 Pages « < 2 3 4 5 6 > » Top

0.0284sec    0.50    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th November 2025 - 08:20 PM